PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Montgomery Brewing Company - Montgomery, AL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 22, 2014 @ 10:42 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AL > Montgomery > Montgomery Brewing Company
Montgomery Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Montgomery Brewing Company
Overall: Good    Score: 69.8 / 100
12 West Jefferson Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
United States
(334) 834-BREW
Listed Since: December 1997
Last Updated: October 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Montgomery, AL
Beer Guide for Alabama

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
42 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Red Bluff Cottage
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CAPITOL INN MONTGOMERY
2) COMFORT INN MONTGOMERY
3) COUNTRY INN AND STE PRATTVILLE
4) DAYS INN AIRPORT
5) DAYS INN MONTGOMERY MIDTOWN
6) ECONO LODGE PRATTVILLE
7) GOVERNORS HOUSE HOTEL
8) RAMADA INN AIRPORT
9) TOWN PLAZA MOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alabama State Capitol
2) Bell Building
3) Brame House
4) Brittan, Patrick Henry, House
5) Building 800--Austin Hall
6) Building 836--Community College of the Air Force Building
7) Cassimus House
8) Cleveland Court Apartments 620--638
9) Davis, Jefferson, Hotel
10) Dexter Avenue Baptist Church
11) Dowe Historic District
12) Edgewood
13) First White House of the Confederacy
14) Gay House
15) Gerald-Dowdell House
16) Governor's Mansion
17) Jackson, Jefferson Franklin, House
18) Jones, Gov. Thomas G., House
19) McBryde-Screws-Tyson House
20) Montgomery Union Station and Trainshed
21) Mt. Zion AME Zion Church
22) Murphy House, The
23) Old Ship African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church
24) Opp Cottage
25) Ordeman-Shaw Historic District
26) Pastorium, Dexter Avenue Baptist Church
27) Pepperman House
28) Powder Magazine
29) Sayre Street School
30) Scott Street Firehouse
31) Semple House
32) Shepherd Building
33) Smith--Joseph--Stratton House
34) St. John's Episcopal Church
35) Stay House
36) Steiner-Lobman and Teague Hardware Buildings
37) Thigpen, Dr. C. A., House
38) Tulane Building
39) Tyson-Maner House
40) United States Post Office and Courthouse--Montgomery
41) Winter Building
42) Yancey, William Lowndes, Law Office
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 7th Floor
2) A Social Event Caterers
3) ACC Cafe
4) Alabama Activity Ctr
5) American Subs
6) Ashley's At The Elite
7) Bandana's
8) Burger King
9) Capital Stockyard Cafe
10) Capitol Inn
11) Chick-Fil-A
12) China Bowl Restaurant
13) Choices Chinese Restaurant
14) Chris' Hot Dog
15) Chuck's Coney Island
16) Church's Chicken
17) Church's Chicken
18) Commerce Cafeteria
19) Commerce Street Cafe
20) Corsino's Italian Foods
21) Cowboys
22) Cuco's Mexican Cafe Express
23) Daisy's Diner
24) Davis Cafe
25) Decker's Downtown Cafe
26) Dino's Bar & Package Store
27) Domino's Pizza
28) Earl's Place
29) Ed's
30) Eddie & Lillie's Place
31) Farmers Market Cafe
32) Fat Boy's Follies
33) Felder's Cafe Riverwalk
34) Flames Grill Downtown
35) Flava
36) Gambler
37) Guesthouse Hotel & Suites
38) Hamburger King
39) Hardee's
40) Hardee's
41) Isaiah's Restaurant
42) Jimmy's Uptown Grill
43) K & C Lounge
44) Lek's Railroad Thai
45) Mama's Sack Lunches To Go
46) Marshay's Uptown Grill
47) Martha's Place
48) Mc Donald's
49) Mc Donald's
50) MGTY Brewing Co & Cafe
51) Mitzi's Little Italy
52) Montgomery Brewing Co & Cafe
53) Montgomery Catering
54) Montgomery Civic Ctr
55) Montgomery Marina Bar & Grill
56) Montgomery's
57) Moose Creek Cafe
58) Nicole Payne Country Kitchen
59) Nobles
60) Off The Wagon
61) Olive Room
62) Pjr Fish & Barbeque Restaurant
63) Poster's Cafe
64) Reesie's Deli
65) Rose Supper Club Inc
66) Rsa Plaza Terrace & Grill
67) Samaring Deli
68) Scott Street Deli
69) Silver Spoon A-La-Carte
70) Sinbad's Seafood & Chicken
71) Sophia's Bbq
72) Sophia's Bbq
73) Sous LA Terre Downtown
74) State House Inn
75) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
76) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
77) Taco Bell
78) Tony's Pizza & Steak Rstrnt
79) Tyler's Lounge
80) Wagon Wheel Cafe
81) Wendy's
82) Young House Eatery & Pub
83) Young House Restaurant Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
We stopped at Montgomery Brewing for lunch on a Monday afternoon in June. The lunchtime business was fairly brisk. With further travel ahead of us that afternoon, we only tried the beers via the sampler, which included Montgomery Blonde (2008 GABF silver medal winner), Riverboat Red, Goat Hill Pale Ale, and Wipe Out Stout, along with a seasonal raspberry wheat beer and a high gravity Belgian-style farmhouse ale. Our sandwiches and fries were good and tasty. There is some parking available in the brewpub’s adjacent lot, something that was not made especially clear on the brewpub's website. From this brief visit, I would say that "The Brewpub", as it is known locally, seems a good beer stop in a state with still limited options.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/18/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Visited on 3-12-09. Had a live band playing that was very good. River boat red was very good followed by the seasonal Velvet Elvis which was a Scwartz(sp?) beer, a black lager. This was excellent. Wanted to try the others but had to drive to hotel. Definitely recommend the alligator appetizer. Bar staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donald Donald, manalapan, NJ
(03/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Place does not have a lot of personality. 6 beers on tap. I tried the two seasonal brew, Double Barrel Stout, and the Extra Innings IPA both were quite good. Food and service were OK

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(02/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Excellent Oktoberfest!!! Dunkelweizen is good too, had six beers on tap when I went. Blonde, Pale, Red, and Stout. Fun scene on the weekends, live music. Love the sauteed crab claws.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Montgomery, AL
(09/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Awesome!
Excellent old school pub feel. Brewing tanks in full view. Only 4 brews available on my visit - Blonde, Red, Stout, and Pale Ale. Tried all but the blonde. The Ale was my favorite, good color, nice hoppy bite, though the taste didn't linger as long as I would have liked. The stout came in a close 2nd - Almost a cross between a stout and a porter in texture with a good chocolate/coffee aftertaste. The red was a little harsh to start with a bit of a flowery aftertaste...but surprisingly after a half pint it went down smoothly and enjoyably. Will definitely make the one and a half hour drive again for the brew, the atmosphere, and excellent "Brewers Burger".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Dan, Ft. Rucker, AL
(09/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
sure, not even close to being one of the top brewpubs in the us, but the best one in montgomery anyways. mainstream offerings, nothing with any appreciable hops, food is good, but the bands and crowds later at night will drive ya outta there. better brews on tap other places, but a brewpub that keeps trying gets my money.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton Ric Kempton, Annapolis, MD
(09/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
The place has redeeming qualities, but you must look for them. The stout was okay. A vegetarian, I ordered a french dip sandwich with mushrooms instead of meat; they were cool with this. An old dude drunkenly gave out "confederate money" to the crowd later. Take your girl, not your beer drinking buds.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Pat, montgomery, AL
(05/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Established in 1995, "The Brewpub" is a well established eatery in historic downtown Montgomery. Stimulating commerce in the area, the city has recently completed a new baseball stadium, and outdoor amphitheater and is working on a Riverwalk. It's worth a look.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barry Barry, Montgomery, AL
(12/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barry Barry, Montgomery, AL
(12/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
I visited this brewpub on 11/26/04 and had the following brews; Montgomery Blond, River Boat Red, Goat Hill Pale Ale, Old World Porter, Rays White Ale, & Octoberfest. This place opens at 4pm and the kitchen does not open until after 5pm. Live music was on the venue for the evening and they seemed to be overstaffed. Too bad the staff didn't provide the service they could have with so few patrons in the bar. I found the White to be almost unpalatable and the Octoberfest was not very good either. Their four main beers were very good for their respective styles. They offer a pint glass for sale and you can have it filled with beer for an extra buck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(12/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Great Good
Beer was average, at best. It was plesant to find a Brew Pub in Montgomery, AL.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review COlorado SPrings, CO
(08/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Wow! The only place in town to get tap beer. The stout was excellent - creamy with chocolate and caramel flavors. I can't remember how the others tasted but they definetly weren't bad. The food was good and the I thought the atmosphere of the place was great. I loved the t-shirt I bought it is excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RANDY LIPSCY RANDY LIPSCY, Guthrie, MN
(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
The reason MBC stays in business is because the Air Force base 2 miles away trains around 17,000 young officers a year -- Officer Training School (new Lieutenants), and Squadron Officer College (new Lieutenants and Captains). It's trendy for people who don't live here...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Montgomery, AL
(05/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Awesome! Great Good
You can try to choke down the red, or maybe the stout. Mainly, it's a great place for sauteed crab claws! And the only place in this stupid town to get draft beer (enter the new millenium people!) But, you're better off ordering a bottle of your favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Butch Butch, Lexington, KY
(12/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good So So So So
A recent stop on a Monday afternoon was a great disappointment. Not the easiest place in the world to find and after I did I wished I hadn’t. I had the taster board, being a fisherman I think I recognized the Red. I fish I a river that tastes similar. The beer they call a Stout is more like a bad Porter and I will not even comment on the Blond. On to my favorite style, the IPA. I had a pint of it only because I was having lunch and wanted a beer to go with it. The name explains a lot, Flower Power IPA. But I have had other beers that had strange names and they did not taste like the name. I detected no hops in this ale, the only taste that really stood out was what I would have to say was rose petals. No thank you. The food was good, and that seems to be what they are in business for. So go for the food but have an iced tea.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Teeter Don Teeter, Arroyo City, TX
(12/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
The beer was good and the tuna with sesame was excellent. Had a great time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Washington, DC
(12/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great
Oktoberfest was excellent! Great food with varied menu. Good entertainment with no cover

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Montgomery, AL
(10/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Great Lousy Lousy
Ordered a steak, they were out of the fillets and they offerd to sub a fatty ribeye, (this was 7:30 Sat. night, mind you), order a beer, the pale, served in a steamy hot glass, sent it back, ordered a VO, we dont have VO ????? this is a bar you know!!! wound up eating an appetizer and drinking a Budweiser...got the flock out...They will fall to the wayside now, the entire county can sell draft now.....maybe a Hopps Brewery will come to town.......

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Lover Beer Lover, Montgomery, AL
(10/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Great So So Good
This was the worst beer I've tasted from a brewpub. I travel all over the US and try to hit all the local brewpubs. I'm on the hunt for the best porter style beer so I always give it a try. Montgomery Brewery is the worst. Weak nondiscript tast! BUT the food was very good. They should let go of the idea that they are brewers and get back to the kitchen where they ahve half a chance of getting repeat customers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gail Miller Gail Miller, Chapel Hill, NC
(09/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The food and the service at MBC keep me coming back! Its is EXCELLENT! I constantly bring friends here for lunch and continue to recommend it to other people. Keep up the GREAT work! PS. Mike R. is HOT!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Major Major, Montgomery, AL
(07/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
Bite me!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Millbrook, AL
(07/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
i THINK ALL YOU PEOPLE NEED TO BACK OFF! IF YOU DON'T LIKE THE MICRO'S, THEN DON'T COME BACK! THEY ARE OBVIOUSLY NOT DOING THAT BAD BECAUSE, THEY STILL KEEP A GREAT CROWD.THE BANDS ARE GREAT, AND THE FOOD KICKS ASS! SO ALL YALL YANKEES STAY THE HELL UP NORTH, AND QUITCHA BITCHIN!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MRS. NO IT ALL MRS. NO IT ALL, MOBILE HOME, PK
(06/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good So So So So
Being a displaced Yankee in the Heart of Dixie is bad enough, but when the only brew pub within 100 miles serves substandard ales and lager, that's just unsufferable. The light lager was served warm, and had the uncanny taste of coors light, the red pale ale tasted like someone left a penny in the fermentation tank, and the stout tasted like guinness if it had been mixed with a cup of week old Sanka. Not a redeeming brew on tap. The food was decent, but the cover band was unnecessarily loud and far too country for my taste. For a burger, it's better than Sonic, but for anything else, just drive Northeast until you hit Atlanta.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean C. Kielty Sean C. Kielty, Albany, NY
(06/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Good
The beers here won't make you think of the Northwest but they are fairly good and have some hop bite. This place is also an excellent restaurant with a full menu.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Greg Jenson, Chicago, IL
(04/27/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.375 seconds) 10:42:24 54.211.0.191, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS