PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brewer's Alley - Frederick, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 28, 2014 @ 06:06 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Frederick > Brewer's Alley
Brewer's Alley Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Brewer's Alley
Overall: Great    Score: 78.8 / 100
124 North Market Street
Frederick, MD 21702
United States
(301) 631-0089
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: November 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Frederick, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
89 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast Accomodations
2) Hill House Bed & Breakfast
3) Mc Cleery's Flat
4) Spring Bank Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) OAKWOOD FREDRICK
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Frederick Armory
2) Hessian Barracks
3) Loats Female Orphan Asylum of Frederick City
4) Motter, John C., House
5) Nallin Farm House
6) Nallin Farm Springhouse and Bank Barn
7) Nallin Farm Springhouse and Bank Barn
8) One-Million-Liter Test Sphere
9) Scheifferstadt
10) Utica Covered Bridge
11) Wolfe, James K.P., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Baskin-Robbins
2) Cactus Flats
3) Cafe Latino Restaurant
4) Canapes Catering
5) Carabos Italian Restaurant
6) Emma
7) Fox's Pizza Den
8) Frederick Badaar
9) Frederick Towne Mall
10) Fuzasian Noodles & Grill
11) Ground Round
12) Gyro King
13) Hard Times Cafe & Cue
14) Lallo's Pizza
15) Lillies Cafe & Deli
16) Lintini's Pizzeria
17) Lucky House
18) Lynfield Event Complex
19) Masonic Temple
20) Mel's Airport Inn
21) Mira-Z-Go Inc
22) Miyako Japanese Steak
23) Old Town Diner
24) Paparoniz Pizza & Subs
25) Pizza Express Rstrnt Carry Out
26) Plamondon Enterprises Inc
27) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
28) Quiznos Sub
29) Quiznos Sub
30) Shogun
31) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
32) Venues Inc
33) Zi Pani
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Good
I think someone forgot to put the hops in the IPA. The Porter was pretty. French Onion soup better than my last visit. Blackened Talapia was excellant. Server was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(09/05/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
I've been to this place so many times I feel like I should be a part owner. I've tried all the beers and most of the food, and I'm puzzled as to the mediocre reviews that the IPA has received by other reviewers. I love IPAs, and consider myself a true connoisseur. In my opinion, Brewers Alley has an excellent IPA. The Kolsch is also excellent. My favorite, however, is their Trinity Stoudt. It's a normal stoudt (not oatmeal or chocolate) and they only serve it around Saint Patrick's Day. The pub food is a pretty good collection of burgers, Poboys and pizzas. The lobster on a Thursday night is excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Hower Scott Hower, Sanibel, FL
(02/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Stopped in for a lunch on the way back from North Carolina. They had 6 brews on tap. We sampled 4 (Kolsch, Scottish, Nut Brown, Oatmeal Stout). All had a good aroma and flavor, but lacked body.

Service and food were great. We had the cheesy fries with the Stout gravy for a starter. My wife had the muffuletta; while I tried the Beef Burrito Pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al Al , Lower Burrell, PA
(10/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
Wow ... what a disappointment. I've wanted to try this place out for a while, and recently had two opportunities to do so. The first time was Tuesday, Sept. 18, 2007. Mt wife and I sat outside and ordered dinner. I had the IPA which was OK. They brought her food out twice and both times it was the wrong order. I had the pork barbeque sandwich which was greasy, cold and dry. Yuk. The following Tuesday I gave them another try. I sat at the bar ... they allow smoking inside but not outside ... the bar was dirty and stinky. The bartender was more of a beer pusher than a bar tender. I ordered a burger, thinking that was hard to mess up. Wrong. It was drt and tasteless. The bartender was unfriendly and kept puching me to order more beer. Even the chairs were cheap and uncomfortable. I did have the pilsner, which was excellent. The IPA and the Stout were OK. Can't recommend this place, and I will not go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Etheridge Mark Etheridge, Myersville, MD
(09/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Located in the downtown district, we were there on a Saturday night about 7:30 pm. It was very busy however we were seated quite quickly. The food arrived fast and hot and quite tasty. HOWEVER, the IPA qualifies as a mild ale. There was almost no hop flavor, which is the trademark of an IPA. The pale ale was horrendous, the smell of and taste of cloves was so overpowering that it was difficult to drink. It reminded me some of the awful Christmas ales that come out. I would only go back for the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Peotone, IL
(09/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
When in Frederick hit all the spots. This one is downtown I found the IPA pretty ordinary.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Brown ale were excellent -- very smooth and on par with some of the best that I've had. The stout was good but lacked character. Food was good, but nothing outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jeannette, PA
(11/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Last stop by had the Wedding Alt which had a nice amount of malt and was not too hoppy or a big as some alts I've tasted before. A nice brew. IPA seemed to be a tad shy on the hops compared to previous visits. Good after work crowd.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(11/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
Beautifully restored building in the heart of this historic city is reason enough for a visit. Add unique beers and an impressive menu and this becomes a destination. There are several mainstays on the beer list that will not disappoint, but seek out the seasonals and specials for a real treat. Had their Anniversary Ale on the latest trip and it was excellent. Something for everyone on the food menu, well presented and nicely prepared. Minor glitch: waitstaff was spread too thin and service in the bar area suffered a little.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from lawrence breiner lawrence breiner, hanover, MD
(07/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
This was our second stop at this wonderful venue. The service is outstanding and the beers are great. I was disappointed they ran out of cask-conditioned beer when we arrived. I had the Hefe and my wife the Oatmeal Stout. I enjoyed the meat loaf and my wife fish and chips which was huge! The jazz combo was playing in the bar area and we got to enjoy some good music while we ate.I'd like to stop here when we can spend more time in the bar to soak up the ambiance there. We will be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Haynie Mark Haynie, Somers Point, NJ
(06/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
This is a really nice place in the middle of downtown, very nice atmosphere, beautiful bar area. Food was outstanding! We visited 10/25 and I had chicken pot pie done Santa Fe style, and my wife had meatloaf and garlic mashed. Creme brulee for dessert. We really enjoyed it.

I limited myself to the beer sampler (I had a ways to drive and another brewpub to hit before the day was over). It was six beers in what appeared to be five-ounce glasses. I'll second the opinions here that the Kolsch is quite good. I'm not a big fan of porters, but the Smoked Porter here was pretty drinkable. If I had to pick one of the six to have again, I'd take the Kolsch.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the waitress and the guy who worked with me to get a souvenir T-shirt.

I'd make it a point to stop here again if we're in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(10/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
7 taps, 1 cask, 2 guests and 1 cider. 1862 was a "Mexican lager" ala Dos Equis, not bad. The cask was a blend of their IPA and Trinity Stout which was a nice touch, unique, very drinkable. The server was engaging and helpful. It is apparant immediately that this man enjoys his job!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
6 beers on tap, one of which was a cask offering. Their IPA is well balanced, with slight citrus notes. Trinity Stout on cask had some nice coffee flavor and was very smooth. The Alpenkindl was a wheat beer somewhat in the style of a Berliner Weiss--tart, refreshing. Brewers Alley is a definite stop if you're in Fredrick, or just passing through!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(04/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Fun place in nice historic downtown location. Glad I made the effort to find a true local place rather than chain along the interstate. Service was friendly and knowledgable. It was another patron who informed me of Pubcrawler. Only complaint was stout was too cold. Would definitely visit again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Parker, CO
(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A Good Good Good
Stopped in for a quick drink and some nacho's on the way to dinner. We had the cask ale on the beer engine. Simply amazing. To me ranked one of the top 10 microbrews I've had. Smooth, hint of sweetness, good body.

Nacho's were very good as well. Went with a buddy who generally drinks wine so I didn't get to try other stuff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Romano Michael Romano, Morgantown, WV
(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
I've tried thie place a few times, and always come away wishing I'd gone someplace else. The beers are good ... but they're not over-the-top good, the food I've had there was not so great. The place is always packed, though ... so somebody must like it! Not a bad place, just not my favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Etheridge Mark Etheridge, Myersville, MD
(10/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I agree, very good food, beer, and service in this delightful brewpub and its sister Summit Station in nearby Gaitherburg, MD. The Kolsch here is possibly the best of this style I have ever had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Leesburg, VA
(08/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Stopped in on a Saturday to meet my brother-in-law and his family, the eight of us stayed for a delicious late lunch. We tried the cask barleywine (marvelous, rich, round, not over-hopped, beautiful beer at the peak of condition), hefe (excellent, right on form), oatmeal stout (very nice, could have been a bit "silkier"), k├Âlsch (excellent beer, clean but able to stand up for itself, no wimp), and IPA (slightly disappointing, seemed a bit low on body...but the growler of it we took home tasted awfully good last night: might have been me). If I'd been whisked there blindfolded, I might have thought I was at Selin's Grove. The food was excellent, I had the wood-oven mac & cheese with Maryland country ham, my bro-in-law's steak salad with blue cheese rocked. Service was quite good, though beer service was a bit slow at times. Brewer's Alley was a hit with everyone, getting four thumbs up from the adults, the kids loved it, too. Great place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
The Kolsch was very true to style and very enjoyable on the outdoor patio. the I.P.A. was not a classic; too litle hoppiness, not enough malt nor alcohol in the finish. Weizen was a german style and again lacking the "banannas and clove" taste along with very little keg conditioned head - probalby not with hefe (yeast) in the conditiong. Nut brown was great with a nice pleasant nuttiness with very clean finish - refreshing! Their stouts were excellent with one on the beer-engine and the other a CO2 tap - Would relly be better with mix-gas CO2 and Nitrogen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bloombrews bloombrews, Pittsburgh, PA
(06/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Excellent Maibock; other beers were all good. Service from Tom the bartender was exceptional, as it was for everyone else at the bar; Tom's a talented guy. The feel of Brewer's Alley is upscale without being intimidating, and when the sidewalk area's open, it's one of the best places to be in Frederick.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(05/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
We sat at the bar and both had pale ale, so we can't speak about anything beyond that. What we had was very good. It was not too far from the ballpark and if you're heading out that way for a Keys game this is a good place to stop.

Our service was excellent. I'm guessing the complaint below hit someone on staff who was having a bad day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alex Bensky Alex Bensky, Detroit, MI
(11/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
When we travel, we tend to look for brew pubs for meals and a good brew and we do have our favorites but I have to put this one as one of our top 3 or 4. I had salmon and I have to say it was the best salmon I ever had. Just excellent!!! My wife had crab cakes and she felt the same way. The brews were great but next time in Maryland, I'm going back for the great food. Just a great place

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from N Johnson N Johnson, Waukesha, WI
(10/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy So So
Had a horrible experience. Beer & Food was really good. Only took over an hour to get with no explanation given. Waitress was very snotty and management did nothing to rectify the situation when advised. Hopefully it was only a one-time thing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P.H. P.H., Middletown, MD
(09/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We had a wonderful time taking a late lunch. The pulled pork sandwich was delicious, as was the (amplified) BLT. The hefe-weisen had a peach or apricot overtone -- very interesting. Lunch dishes were under $10; dinner under $20. We'll be be happy to return as circumstances permit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russell Pavlicek Russell Pavlicek, Mount Airy, MD
(09/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Good
Beer is great for the most part but food brought overall rating down to good. French Onion Soup was horrible. No taste to the broth or the onions. Ceasar Salad was bearable but nothing special. I tried their seasonal which was a Hop-something or other - but where the hops were I have no idea. Pale Ale and Stout were pretty good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(09/01/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.307 seconds) 18:06:39 54.205.179.23, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS