PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Big Sky Brewing Company - Missoula, MT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 22, 2014 @ 08:29 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MT > Missoula > Big Sky Brewing Company
Big Sky Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Big Sky Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.2 / 100
120-A Hickory Street
Missoula, MT 59801
United States
(406) 549-2777
Listed Since: September 1996
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Missoula, MT
Beer Guide for Montana

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Big Sky Brewing Company
26 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Bayern Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Kettlehouse Brewing Company, LLC
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Foxglove Cottage Bed & Brkfst
2) Gibson Mansion
3) Goldsmith Bed & Breakfast Inn
4) Gracenote Garden Bed & Brkfst
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICA BEST INN MISSOULA SOUTH
2) AMERICAS BEST INN MISSOULA
3) BEST WESTERN GRANT CREEK INN
4) COMFORT INN MISSOULA
5) INN ON BROADWAY
6) MISSOULA MICROTEL INN AND STS
7) RAMADA INN MISSOULA MT
8) RED LION INN MISSOULA
9) SLEEP INN MISSOULA
10) SUPER 8 MISSOULA BROOK ST MT
11) VAL U INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Apartment Building at 116 Spruce Street
2) Atlantic Hotel
3) Bellows House
4) Belmont Hotel
5) Bluebird Building
6) Brunswick Hotel
7) Carnegie Public Library
8) Christie, Thomas J., House
9) Dixon--Duncan Block
10) Florence Hotel
11) Flynn Farm
12) Forkenbrock Funeral Home
13) Garden City Drug
14) Gibson, A. J., House
15) Gleim Building
16) Gleim Building II
17) Grand Pacific Hotel
18) Hammond Arcade
19) Headquarters Building and Daily Company Annex
20) Hellgate Lodge 383 BPOE
21) Herzog, J. M., House
22) Higgins Block
23) Independent Telephone Company Building
24) Johnston, John S., House
25) Keith, John M., House
26) Knowles Building
27) Labor Temple
28) Lenox Flats
29) Lincoln School
30) Lucy Building
31) Marsh and Powell Funeral Home
32) Masonic Lodge
33) Milwaukee Depot
34) Missoula County Courthouse
35) Missoula Laundry Company
36) Missoula Mercantile
37) Model Laundry and Apartments
38) Montgomery Ward
39) Mrs. Lydia McCaffery's Furnished Rooms
40) Northern Pacific Railroad Depot
41) Palace Hotel
42) Paxson, Edgar, House
43) Prescott, Clarence R., House
44) Simons Block
45) St. Francis Xavier Church
46) Sterling, Fred T., House
47) Studebaker Building
48) Toole, John R., House
49) U.S. Post Office
50) University Apartments
51) Wilma Theatre
52) Zip Auto
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Family Restaurant
2) Acropolis Gyros & Greek Spec
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Arby's
5) Bagels On Broadway
6) Bangkok Thai Restaurant
7) Big Sky Bistro
8) Big Sky Drive In
9) Black Dog Cafe
10) Bridge Bistro
11) Burger King
12) Casa Pablo's
13) China Buffet
14) China Garden Restaurant
15) Chinook Restaurant
16) Claim Jumper Casino
17) Clc Restaurants Inc
18) Cruise In
19) Curley's Broiler
20) Cyber Shock
21) Dairy Queen
22) Dairy Queen
23) Dairy Queen
24) Dairy Queen
25) Del's Place
26) Del's Place
27) Denny's
28) Depot Restaurant & Bar
29) Dinasaur Cafe
30) Doc's Gourmet Sandwich Express
31) Domino's Pizza
32) Double Front Cafe
33) Edgewater Steak & Seafood
34) El Cazador
35) El Matador Mexican Restaurant
36) Encore Restaurant
37) Food For Thought
38) Friends
39) Golden Corral Family Steak Hse
40) Greek Gyros
41) Greek Gyros & Pastry Shop
42) Hardee's
43) Hoagieville
44) Hoagieville
45) Hoagieville
46) Hoagieville
47) Hobnob Cafe
48) Hong Kong Chef
49) Howard's Pizza Villa
50) Hunny's Bar
51) Iron Horse Brew Pub
52) Jay's Bar
53) Joey's Only Seafood Rstrnt
54) Johnny's Restaurant
55) Junga Juice
56) Junga Juice
57) Kadenas
58) Kfc
59) Lisa's Pasty Pantry
60) Little Caesars Pizza
61) Lucky Strike Casino
62) Mac Kenzie River Pizza Co
63) Marianne's At The Wilma
64) Max Subs
65) Mc Donald's
66) Mc Donald's
67) Mean Gene's
68) Missoula Apple Inc
69) Missoula Salad Co
70) Montana Club
71) Montana Jacks Casino
72) Muse Cafe
73) Mustard Seed Asian Cafe
74) Noodle Express
75) Northwest Noodles'n Wrap
76) Old Post
77) Orange Julius
78) Pagoda Chinese Food
79) Paul's Pancake Parlor & Cafe
80) Perugia Old World Cooking
81) Pickle Barrel
82) Pizza Hut
83) Pizza Pipeline
84) Pockets Sandwich Shop
85) Red Bird
86) Reserve Street Drive-Inn
87) Robin's On Broadway
88) Romeo's Italian Grill
89) Rosa's Pizza
90) Rosauer's Family Restaurant
91) Ruby's Cafe
92) Salad Bar & Sandwich Co
93) Sawaddee Thai Restaurant
94) Sean Kelly's A Public House
95) Second Thoughts News & Deli
96) Shack Restaurant
97) Silver Tip Casino
98) Southgate Grill
99) Speakeasy
100) Stageline Pizza
101) Staggering Ox
102) Staggering Ox Sandwiches
103) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
104) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
105) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
106) Taco Bell
107) Taco Del Sol
108) Taco John's
109) Taco John's
110) Taco Treat Mexican Restaurants
111) Thai Spicy
112) Tipu's Tiger East Indian
113) Tipu's Tiger World Deli
114) Torrey's Home Cooking & Food
115) Tower Pizza
116) Trenary's Irish Pub & Rstrnt
117) Two Sisters
118) Uptown Diner
119) Viva Mexico
120) Wah Hing
121) Wendy's
122) Worden's Deli
123) Zimorino's Red Pies Over Mt
124) Zimorino's Red Pies Over Mt
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
A large modern brewery near the airport. Here they give you up to 4 free samples per day. They don't sell beer for on premises consumption, but sell 6 packs and growler fills. The sample room is also a big sales floor of every kind of Big Sky merchandise. Most of their beers are consistently good. My pick was the IPA, but the famous Moose Drool brown, Scapegoat pale, and Bo Bo's porter were close behind and all good. The Coffee Porter disappointed. Bicycle friendly and had some good specials for them the day I was there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from db db, Billings, MT
(07/11/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great
Here is my story: My wife and I were on a ten-day tour of the west, ended in Missoula for a convention in July 2005. Went to Big Sky brewery for taste, was there for several hours. The wait staff was fantastic and went out of their way to take care of thirsty travelers from the east. My wife and I were so impressed that we bought several shirts and glasses. Too bad we could not take Moose drool on the plane. Out of the 8 breweries that we visited, BIG SKY WAS THE BEST. Keep up the good work and the friendly atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Woodruff John Woodruff, Waltersburg, PA
(12/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
friendly locals too

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from charles sroczynski charles sroczynski, bedford, MA
(12/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
This visit was in late 2003. Look forward to next visit with anticipation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stuart Stuart, Elkhart, IN
(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Apparently the MT beer laws are such that they can't sell beer by the pint but you could get free samples. I had pale ale (so-so), Moose Drool (very good), a robust porter (bought a 1/2 gallon to bring back home) & the imperial stout (very good). Really enjoyed the beer, they did a great job with all styles.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paynter Eric Paynter, Richmond, OTHER
(05/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
They have moved. They are now out by the Missoula Airport. Too bad, the downtown location was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Missoula, MT
(01/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
I had Moose Drool Brown Ale on tap as often as I could while on vacation. I even brought home a six pack. This stuff is great!!! I wish you guys could ship to NY!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Leonardi Bill Leonardi, Laurel, NY
(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Moose Drool is like Manna from God. Fantastic stuff!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review John Johnson, Belgrade, MT
(03/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Toured the new brewery under construction and it's gonna look funny when they put the old small system in the huge building. Beer is superb as usual. Boy I love Missoula.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jorg Jorg, bowdoin, ME
(09/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Tried the Moose Drool while I was in Helena in July and became addicted. If anyone knows where/how i can get in the NYC area please write

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Mclean Brian Mclean, New York, NY
(09/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Margie Nagle Margie Nagle, Missoula, MT
(03/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
My daughter gave me a six-pack of Moose Drool for Christmas and I loved everydrop. And visiting this little brewery is a treat - lots of beer loving paraphenalia!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mark sisler mark sisler, richmond, VA
(02/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good
Scape Goat Pale Ale (bottled): good, well-balanced, amber colored. Their web site is http://www.bigskybrew.com/"> bigskybrew.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(01/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A
There are very few times that I won't at least finish a beer, but Moose Drool was certainly one of them. Ick! I am normally a fan of brown ales but this was bitter, stinky and left a horrible aftertase. I like a strong beer (North Coast's Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout for example) but this was just plain nasty. I love the logo and the name but I'll leave the beer for the locals who seem to like it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Junction, CO
(06/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good
I tried Moose Drool brown ale on-tap at the Mangy Moose in Teton Village, WY (Jackson Hole ski resort), where one waitress thought it was a stout. I thought it was a good beer. I might rate it higher if I were a brown ale fan.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(01/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
We stopped here in 8/98. These folks are very friendly (as are the Labs!) and take the time to shoot the sh-- all you want. In fact, we had been in Jackson, WYO a week earlier and were offered a Moose Drool pint glass in exchange for an EMPTY 12 oz. bottle of Zonker Stout from Snake River Brewing!! The Drool is their most popular beer, but we liked the Montana Mauler better, bought a growler to go, and enjoyed it the next day at Hungry Horse Resevoir. Missoula is a must for beer trekkers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Del  Vaglio Peter Del Vaglio, Thomaston, CT
(09/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A N/A
I've tried many and Mosse Drool, after a day of skiing, is a perfect fortifier. OIly, rich, and sustaining.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dillon, MT
(12/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Please remember - this is a microbrewery, not a brewpub. However, you may sample the beers FREE and they sell growlers (1/2 gallon jugs) for take out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joel Fleischer Joel Fleischer, Missoula, MT
(11/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Didn't visit the brewery, but had the Moose Drool in a bar in Idaho; Excellent beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lakewood, CO
(09/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
This is on behalf of my father who lives in Seattle. He loves Moose Drool, and advises anyone who similarly loves brown ales to give it a try. Me, I'm staying out of it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phillip Hamilton Phillip Hamilton, Bozeman, MT
(08/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
This is not a Brewpub. We went to visit expecting one and it was closed at around 6 pm MST. However we tried the Moose Drool up in Whitefish, it was very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin & Vicki Fire Kevin & Vicki Fire, Alfred, ME
(07/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
Moose Drool is an excellent brown ale. Try it if you can get it!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Gaare Kevin Gaare, Great falls, MT
(05/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Bondo, Brad and Bjorn make outstanding beers! They continue to make the best microbrews in the Northwest.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Westrom Eric Westrom, Boise, ID
(02/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
We need this beer closer to home!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Karl Schneider Karl Schneider, Lynnwood, WA
(02/02/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.63 seconds) 08:29:38 54.198.142.4, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS