PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Great Northern Brewing Company - Whitefish, MT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 21, 2014 @ 07:18 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MT > Whitefish > Great Northern Brewing Company
Great Northern Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Great Northern Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.2 / 100
2 Central Avenue
Whitefish, MT 59937
United States
(406) 863-1000
Listed Since: September 1996
Last Updated: July 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Whitefish, MT
Beer Guide for Montana

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
19 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Whitefish Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Dire Wolf Pub
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Montana Bed & Breakfast Assoc
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW ROCKY MOUNTAIN LODGE
2) DOWNTOWNER MOTEL
3) GROUSE MOUNTAIN LODGE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Stillwater Ranger Station Historic District
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Hot Beans Espresso
2) Java Joe's
3) Lou La's
4) Luizanne's Inc
5) Mac Kenzie River Pizza
6) Mc Garry's Roadhouse
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So
I tried 4 beers here, and The Pack String Porter made my good rating. The other 3 were were varying amounts less than good. The Wheatfish I felt pointlessly lacking in flavor or character. They have the Blackstar lager past reviews have talked about on tap. Apparently this one is contract brewed for them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from db db, Billings, MT
(05/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Let me start by saying that the Montana laws for beer and food are...well...stupid. I would love to hear the rationale for the law but thats another web site I'm sure. Anyways, the beer hear was all very good with the acception of the IPA. It wasn't bad just not one I would go back for. However, the ESB was the best I've ever had anywhere to this point. Not a wheat fan either but it was better than any I've ever had. I guess this place has been around for at least 10 years and for the life of me I can't figure out why this place isn't more of a house hold name because of the quality of beer. Check it out for yourself and you'll see what I'm talking about. The building is very cool but underutilized (plans are in the works I was told to maximize the building). You are the cream of the crop in Montana from what I've tasted...act like it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Boersema Rick Boersema, Phoenix, AZ
(07/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Since I drank Black Star by the gallon in college I was surprised to hear it was no longer brewed by Great Northern Brewery. The waitress said she thought it was being bottled by a different brewery, possibly in the Midwest. Fred's Black Lager was decent and the IPA was average. It seems that Snow Ghost is the breweries flagship. I'll have to visit again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Smith Tim Smith, Bozeman, MT
(03/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Great So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Billings, MT
(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great
Tasting Room is a nice touch! The staff is always friendly and the view off the deck is incredible. Snow Ghost is my current favorite beer. I bring it home to Denver after each of my visits to Whitefish, but it's best fresh from the brewery. I like to stop in for a free taster and then fill up my growler for later. Wheatfish and Hellroaring are tasty, and Huckleberry is unique and refreshing in the summer. I don't care for Fred's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Cox Joe Cox, Denver, CO
(12/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So
Where 10 is best: Huckleberry Wheat Lager 1/10; Wheatfish Hefeweizen 1/10; Buckin' Horse Pilsner 3/10; Big Fog Amber Lager 4/10.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(11/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A Good
Fred's and snow ghost are good. View is terrific! Free samples appreciated.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stuart Stuart, Elkhart, IN
(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
Nice Tap Room. Nice Ski Town. Fred's Black Lager: Smooth, Approaching a Stout. Snow Ghost:Filtered well, but bitter. Hellroaring Amber Lager: Soft, well bodied. Be sure to tip the waiter!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neil Serafin Neil Serafin, Bailey, CO
(06/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
A friendly place with a good local feel. Had a fairly tasty amber ale. Ktchen staff could have been a little more enthusiastic, but made a pretty good 1/3 LB burger. With a heap of fries on the side, a lot of grub for the buck. Overall good service and great atmosphere. I'll be back on my next trip to Glacier.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Fauskin Eric Fauskin, Coeur d'Alene, ID
(04/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
Awesome brews, but Blackstar isn't available there any more. I don't know if it's available at all, but if you get the chance, go here. Try the Big Fog, great stuff!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Wayne Allridge Wayne Allridge, Leander, TX
(06/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Nice cozy taproom. Don't know when I'll get back,but i took a little with me for home. Couldn't beat the price

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bryan bryan, Sterling Heights, MI
(10/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
A fantastic tasting room. Gotta go back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good
I had a Black Star Golden Lager at the airport bar in Bozeman, Montana. It's a good, crisp beer -- pretty much what a golden lager should be. Their web site is giving away a T-shirt every week through the end of March.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(01/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I worked at Glacier Nat'l Park over the summer and frequently drank these brews. I still miss the Wild Huckleberry and Black Star. When are they going to be available down south??!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Catherine Catherine, Tuscaloosa, AL
(01/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Battle Creek, MI
(10/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Northfield, MN
(06/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Francisco, CA
(04/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great
They have a computer, so that while you are sampling the beer, you can surf the net. You also can send postcards to your friends and family from there. They supply the postcards and stamps! Oh yes, they also supply the pretzels.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Dyer, IN
(03/28/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.87 seconds) 07:18:57 54.82.31.133, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS