PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Oaken Barrel Brewing Company - Greenwood, IN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 22, 2014 @ 08:09 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IN > Greenwood > Oaken Barrel Brewing Company
Oaken Barrel Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Oaken Barrel Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.9 / 100
50 North Airport Parkway
Greenwood, IN 46143
United States
(317) 887-2287
Listed Since: September 1996
Last Updated: January 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Greenwood, IN
Beer Guide for Indiana

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
36 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 01:00AM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Persimmon Tree Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) LEES INN & SUITES GREENWOOD
2) OAKWOOD SOUTHEAST INDIANAPOLIS
3) RED ROOF GREENWOOD
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Anderson--Thompson House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
2) Arby's
3) Arby's
4) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
5) Bob's TU Your Door Pizza
6) Burger King
7) Delafield's Ltd
8) Denny's
9) Donato's Pizza
10) El Camino Real
11) Fajitas
12) Great China Buffet
13) Hardee's
14) Jonathan Byrd's Bakery & Take
15) Jonathan Byrd's Catering
16) Kathy's Kitchen
17) Little Caesars Pizza
18) Long John Silver's
19) Marion's Pizza Inc
20) Mark Pi's China Gate
21) Mc Donald's
22) Mc Donald's
23) Mc Donald's
24) O'Charley's
25) Oaken Barrel Brewing Co
26) One-Liners Comedy & Music Hall
27) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
28) Quiznos Sub
29) Schultz's Restaurant
30) Shoney's Restaurant
31) Snappy Tomato Pizza Co
32) Stringer's Restaurant & Ctrng
33) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
34) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
35) Taco Bell
36) Tapatio Mexican Restaurant
37) Valle Vista Golf Club
38) Waffle & Steak Restaurant
39) Whit's Inn
40) White Castle
41) Wilson's Restaurant
1) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
2) Arby's
3) Arby's
4) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
5) Bob's TU Your Door Pizza
6) Burger King
7) Delafield's Ltd
8) Denny's
9) Donato's Pizza
10) El Camino Real
11) Fajitas
12) Great China Buffet
13) Hardee's
14) Jonathan Byrd's Bakery & Take
15) Jonathan Byrd's Catering
16) Kathy's Kitchen
17) Little Caesars Pizza
18) Long John Silver's
19) Marion's Pizza Inc
20) Mark Pi's China Gate
21) Mc Donald's
22) Mc Donald's
23) Mc Donald's
24) O'Charley's
25) Oaken Barrel Brewing Co
26) One-Liners Comedy & Music Hall
27) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
28) Quiznos Sub
29) Schultz's Restaurant
30) Shoney's Restaurant
31) Snappy Tomato Pizza Co
32) Stringer's Restaurant & Ctrng
33) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
34) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
35) Taco Bell
36) Tapatio Mexican Restaurant
37) Valle Vista Golf Club
38) Waffle & Steak Restaurant
39) Whit's Inn
40) White Castle
41) Wilson's Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
First Brew pub i ahave ever been in. That was 11 years ago i bought my first home brew kit from the brewmaster at the time who was very friendly and taught me alot about brewing beer now i make some pretty good beers. Havent been back in a while hope its still doin well and the bar on the end dont know if it still has the plane sticking out of the roof.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Ogletree Jay Ogletree, St. Petersburg, FL
(07/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Been there a million times. Drive 20 miles from Fishers just to taste their award winning craft brews. Good friend, nice servers. A real gem in the Indy area. Their Razz Wheat is so good that even other brew pubs sell, as well as a lot of other regular pubs. Very tasty stuff.

Thumbs way up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Fishers, IN
(12/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
Visited Oaken Barrel on 8/11/07 with my daughter (Just back from Iraq & several of her buddies), we were greeted at the door and went to the beer garden area (outdoor patio), very nice evening so not to bad. Waitress Ali, came over and took initial drink orders, since there were 6 of us we split a couple of samplers and she was willing to allow us to do a little variation on them so we were able to sample all the beers. Normal sampler consist of Indiana Amber, Razz-Wheat, Gnaw bone Pale Ale, Snake Pit Porter & the Special brew (Belgian White). They also had a Super fly IPA on tap. Indiana Amber - Amber in color, very nice nose, smooth, hoppy taste finished clean. (Took home a growler.) Razz-Wheat - Dark pink in color with slight cloudy appearance, for a fruity wheat beer it wasn't that bad, a little lite for me but overall a drinkable beer. Gnaw Bone - Copper in color, very bold taste to this Pale Ale, not overly bitter and hopped up nice to provide a good finish on the taste buds. Snake Pit - Chocolate in color, for porters this is a nice tasting beer, the chocolaty/caramel flavor leaves a slightly bitter taste in the back of the mouth. Super fly IPA - Dark Amber in color, hoppy beer, very assertive flavor. I was expecting a bit more of a bite to it for a true IPA. But it was a serviceable beer. Belgian White - Pale amber unfiltered color, not much to say about this one its a true unfiltered wheat beer and I've never really liked unfiltered wheats. It was ease on the taste factory. For eats: The bacon dip was out of this world, I would go back just to have this and a couple of beers alone. I put my trust in Ali and let her recommend what I had, she said the Steak sandwich with Au-jus for dipping was good. She didn't lie, cause it was darn good, fries were lightly seasoned and crispy. GOOD EATS Thanks ALI. Wife had the pizza, said it was okay, lacked a real flavor to it. Rest of the group had burgers in one form or the other all were happy with the meals, no one left hungry. Went inside and took pictures and met the owner, he took a moment to visit with me and listened to what I thought. Overall I would recommend stopping in to visit Oaken Barrel Brewing. When I get back up to visit my daughter this will be one of the places I make her take me too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt Wise Kurt Wise, Foley, MO
(09/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Visited Oaken Barrel on 8/11/07 with my daughter (Just back from Iraq & several of her buddies), we were greeted at the door and went to the beer garden area (outdoor patio), very nice evening so not to bad. Waitress Ali, came over and took initial drink orders, since there were 6 of us we split a couple of samplers and she was willing to allow us to do a little variation on them so we were able to sample all the beers. Normal sampler consist of Indiana Amber, Razz-Wheat, Gnaw bone Pale Ale, Snake Pit Porter & the Special brew (Belgian White). They also had a Super fly IPA on tap. Indiana Amber - Amber in color, very nice nose, smooth, hoppy taste finished clean. (Took home a growler.) Razz-Wheat - Dark pink in color with slight cloudy appearance, for a fruity wheat beer it wasn't that bad, a little lite for me but overall a drinkable beer. Gnaw Bone - Copper in color, very bold taste to this Pale Ale, not overly bitter and hopped up nice to provide a good finish on the taste buds. Snake Pit - Chocolate in color, for porters this is a nice tasting beer, the chocolaty/caramel flavor leaves a slightly bitter taste in the back of the mouth. Super fly IPA - Dark Amber in color, hoppy beer, very assertive flavor. I was expecting a bit more of a bite to it for a true IPA. But it was a serviceable beer. Belgian White - Pale amber unfiltered color, not much to say about this one its a true unfiltered wheat beer and I've never really liked unfiltered wheats. It was ease on the taste factory. For eats: The bacon dip was out of this world, I would go back just to have this and a couple of beers alone. I put my trust in Ali and let her recommend what I had, she said the Steak sandwich with Au-jus for dipping was good. She didn't lie, cause it was darn good, fries were lightly seasoned and crispy. GOOD EATS Thanks ALI. Wife had the pizza, said it was okay, lacked a real flavor to it. Rest of the group had burgers in one form or the other all were happy with the meals, no one left hungry. Went inside and took pictures and met the owner, he took a moment to visit with me and listened to what I thought. Overall I would recommend stopping in to visit Oaken Barrel Brewing. When I get back up to visit my daughter this will be one of the places I make her take me too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt Wise Kurt Wise, Foley, MO
(08/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is one of the finest micro's just south of Indy. Great food and service but the Snake-Pit Porter is the best Porter I've ever had with a hint of chocolate and rosted malt flavors coming out in every enjoyable sip. The Indiana Amber is also a great beer. Super atmosphere for the guys or the whole family and in the summer it has a beer garden out back. Just off I-65 at the Greenwood exit, it is worth the stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Herum Michael Herum, Helena, AL
(10/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
Stopped in with 4 people before seeing joe bonamassa kick some ass!! place was empty on monday,so the service was great.The beer was excellent! Cajun strips were soo tender,and the cajun shrimp and rice dish was very tasty.Everyone enjoyed there meals and beer.I would definetly come back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike mike, so.chicago heights, IL
(03/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Stopped shortly after the opening bell. 8 beers on tap; they offer a 5 beer sampler tray, but you can only pick one of the five. Rules, rules, rules!? Bu$ine$$?? Begian White nondescript, Maibock not bad, some maltiness there. Super Fly IPA pretty good--hops dominate but is not harsh. Bar area windows give view of brewery--dining area partitined off. Bleach aroma was almost overwhelming--makes you wonder...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy Good
We sit down at the bar and order two beers. I order a barley wine, and my girlfriend gets something else, I forget. The waitress snotily tells me "there is a limit of three on the barley wine". Thats fine, even makes sense, who would want more than three anyway. I ask her, "So if I am drinking shots of Jack I can order as many as I want?" She just muttered some more snotty stuff as she pretended to work on more important stuff. I encouraged my girlfriend to jump over the bar, pull the bartenders shirt over her face and beat her in the head hockey-style. She declined but admitted it was tempting. Blow this joint off, the beers are average at best and the service will drive you to drink (not that that is a bad thing).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(03/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Stopped by on an afternoon the Colts were in a playoff game, so the place was hopping. But, that said, the service was good.

They had ten beers on tap (well, actually nine--the tenth was their Belgian White mixed with blue food coloring for Colt fans.) They have a handpump, but they had nothing on cask.

I tried the IPA, a Pale Ale, a Porter, and a Razz Wheat. The IPA seemed to be a typical American style IPA and was heavy with the hops--it was good, but a little harsh for my taste. The Pale Ale has a very nice aroma and it was my favorite of the ones I tried. The Porter was served under nitrogen and was a bit of a disappointment--it was easy to drink, but there really wasn't anything distinctive about it. The Razz won a silver medal at the GABF and it is good--but would be better on a hot summer evening than on a cold and snowy January afternoon.

They also had a Dubbel, Amber, Belgian White, a Cherry Ale, and something else I can't remember.

They have a full menu. I had the cajun steak tips appetizer and they were good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Alvin Steve Alvin, Henry, IL
(01/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
I visited this brewpub on 11/22/04 and had the following; Indiana Amber, Razz Wheat, Gnawbone Pale Ale, Snake Pit Porter, & Alabaster Belgian White. This was my third stop in Indy and it was the best of the three. Easy to get to off the freeway and plenty of parking. The beer was so good I had to bring home a 6 of Snake Pit and Gnaw Bone, which they had available in a cooler at the door.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(11/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Awesome! Good
I have enjoyed the bottled versions of the Gnaw Bone Pale and Indiana Amber and have been wanting to visit this place for quite some time. I think many people would absolutely love this place and nothing I say is intended to discourage a visit--I'm just giving the facts, filtered through my personal perception. First, the 2 bartenders were awesome and very friendly. You couldn't ask for more. Second, The Gnaw Bone Pale was great, but my (Spitfly?)IPA definitely had an off-flavor. That makes for an average of "good" although maybe sometimes the IPA is fine and the beers should be rated higher. The decor is very, very nice. The place was just too smoky for me, and located in a strip mall at an interstate exit. I am taking the suggestion of many smokers I know, and voting with my feet by moving to a non-smoking state, and I like BPs that are funky old downtown places. (Think Troy, Gritty McDuffs, Green Man, Lafayette Brewing, Arbor, etc.) So Oaken Barrel really doesn't do it for me. If you don't mind smoke and location, you will love it. The beers here are far better, to me, than the chains in downtown Indy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Moondoggie Moondoggie, Ogden Dunes, IN
(10/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
I tried the pale ale and IPA, and both were excellent. I usually head up to Broadripple brewpub to get a great IPA, but this one was just as good. The food was good, and our server really went out of her way to provide excellent service. A great place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
The beer tasted great, and they had at least 7 to pick from. The cajun beef tips were tasty, but extremely chewy. The pico de gallo side dish was mainly just cut up tomatoes. I plan to go back to try more of the beers and food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Feeney John Feeney, Chesterton, IN
(12/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Best brewpub in the area. The food is wonderful and servings are plentiful. The Gnaw Bone Pale Ale is my favorite. Don't miss this brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from missi missi, bradley, IL
(10/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Got here at opening time and all the bar taps were down, but the server was pleasant and went elsewhere, returning with a sampler. Beers Ok to good, with the Gnaw Bone Pale being my choice. Very subdued lighting for 11:30AM, definitely need a no-pest strip for the flies buzzing around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I found the beers to be good here. They are not outstanding but the food is good and the brewpub is definitely worth a visit. The beers are better 60 miles up I-65 at the Lafayette Brewpub. Indianapolis should be able to come with brewpub beers as good as they make in Lafayette but so far the Indianapolis brewpubs are lagging behind.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Greg Jenson, Chicago, IL
(05/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Great Good
Very mediocre beers but food is good as is the service. This is a good place that needs a little kick in the a-- to get it over the top. I still visit whenever I'm in town. It's important to support microbreweries.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Craig, St. Louis, MO
(02/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
This is by far the best Brew Pub in the Indy area. Don't waste your time going to the other "Chain" brew pub's. SHould just go here first! Pale Ale was awesome...as well as the Porter. Not usually a big fan of Red beers...but their Amber was delicious. Stout was tastey as well

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Pesa Paul Pesa, Fishers, IN
(01/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Porter was excellant. So was the chicken/corn chowder. Idaho nachos were a little disappointing in that they are not served with enough salsa or sour cream and as a result seem a little dry although the portion was more than ample. Disappointing aspect was that they wouldn't sell me a mixed 6-pack. I had to choose one beer and go with it. Come on guys, lighten up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(08/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
The keg washer's name is FRED!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Portland, OR
(06/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So
The last few times I've visited Oaken Barrel I was really disappointed in their beers. Bland, lifeless, funky aromas.. Maybe they changed brewers?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Indianapolis, IN
(05/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Awesome!
Great atmosphere. There are four rooms to dine in (counting an outstanding beer garden open in the summer). The Brewhouse is nice, and I love the Idaho Nachos and Gnaw Bone Pale Ale.

My wife and I go every Friday night for beer and food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Indianapolis, IN
(04/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I stopped here recently with some old college buddys - first time for all of us. I started with the beer sampler, which was comprised of five choices: Meridian Street Lager, Indiana Amber, Razz-Wheat, Gnaw Bone Pale Ale, and Snake Pit Porter. All were descent for their style, although the pale ale did not seem as hopped as I would have expected from the description. I followed with a pint of the amber, which was excellent. The food menu was typical yet interesting, with items like Idaho nachos (waffle fries instead of chips), and a cheezy variation of shepherd's pie. Service was better than good on a late Saturday afernoon. Recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(02/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
It's an excellent place that is off the main drag and is small yet fun. Not a lot of room, but the food and the beer make up for it!! The Snake Pit Porter is VERY tasty, the Stout is either Nitro-tapped, or hand pumped. So you have two good choices. The Amber is the best I've had in a long time and the people want you to have a good time and are VERY friendly. But then again, that is Indiana hospitality!! A MUST when in the Indy area!!!!! Thanks y'all!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Dan, Hampton, VA
(02/08/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.864 seconds) 08:09:50 54.167.171.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS