PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Portsmouth Brewery - Portsmouth, NH
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 18, 2014 @ 12:14 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NH > Portsmouth > Portsmouth Brewery
Portsmouth Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Portsmouth Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 75.8 / 100
56 Market Street
Portsmouth, NH 03801
United States
(603) 431-1115
Last Updated: May 1999
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Portsmouth, NH
Beer Guide for New Hampshire

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Portsmouth Brewery
61 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Smuttynose Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Redhook Brewery
(0 mile)

3) Muddy River Smokehouse
(0 mile)

4) Coat Of Arms
(0 mile)

5) The Press Room
(0 mile)

6) Blue Mermaid World Grill
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Arbor Inn Bed & Breakfast
2) Bow Street Inn
3) Deep Water Landing Bed-Brkfst
4) Enchanted Nights Bed & Brkfst
5) Farmstead
6) High Meadows
7) Inn Along the Estuary
8) Inn At Christian Shores
9) Inn At Portsmouth Harbor
10) Inn At Strawberry Bank
11) Martin Hill Inn
12) Melfair Farm Bed & Breakfast
13) Oracle House Inn
14) Rock Ledge Manor
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW WYNWOOD HOTEL AND SUITES
2) COMFORT INN YOKENS
3) DAYS INN KITTERY PORTSMOUTH
4) FAIRFIELD INN PORTSMOUTH
5) HAMPTON INN PORTSMOUTH
6) RESIDENCE INN PORTSMOUTH NH
7) SHERATON PORTSMOUTH HARBORSIDE
8) THE PORT INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Benedict House
2) Dennett Garrison
3) First Parish Church Site-Dover Point
4) Fogg, William, Library
5) Franklin Block
6) Hart, Jeremiah, House
7) Hart, John, House
8) Hart, Phoebe, House
9) Hart-Rice House
10) Haven--White House
11) Jackson, Richard, House
12) Jones, John Paul, House
13) Jones, John Paul, Memorial Park
14) Langdon, Gov. John, Mansion
15) Larkin--Rice House
16) MacPheadris--Warner House
17) Moffatt--Ladd House
18) Neal, James, House
19) New Hampshire Bank Building
20) Nutter--Rymes House
21) Old North Cemetery
22) Parsons Homestead
23) Pinkham, Daniel, House
24) Porter, General, House
25) Portsmouth Athenaeum
26) Portsmouth Cottage Hospital
27) Portsmouth Public Library
28) Rice Public Library
29) Rockingham Hotel
30) Rogers, George, House
31) Rundlet--May House
32) Shapley Town House
33) Sherburne, Henry, House
34) Smith, Simeon P., House
35) South Meetinghouse
36) South Parish
37) St. John's Church
38) Traip, Robert and Louisa, House
39) USS ALBACORE
40) Weeks House
41) Wentworth, Gov. John, House
42) Wentworth, Mark F. and Eliza J., House
43) Wentworth--Coolidge Mansion
44) Wentworth--Gardner and Tobias Lear Houses
45) Wentworth--Gardner House
46) Whidden-Ward House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1853 School House Restaurant
2) A Maine Chance Corp
3) Angelina's Pasta Shoppe
4) Annabelle's Natural Ice Cream
5) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
6) Applebee's Regional Office
7) Arby's
8) Betty's Kitchen Catering
9) Bickford's Family Restaurant
10) Bickford's Family Restaurant
11) Bill's Snack Bar
12) Blake's Ice Cream Restaurant
13) Blue Claw
14) Bob's Broil Chicken
15) Boston Market
16) Breaking New Grounds
17) Buckhorn Family Restaurant
18) Bugaboo Creek Steak House
19) Bypass Subs & More
20) Cafe Espresso Of Portsmouth
21) Cafe Mirona
22) Caffe Kilim
23) Captain Coward's Saloon
24) Celebrity Sandwich
25) Chestnuts At The Nest
26) Cranberries
27) D'angelo Sandwich Shop
28) Delahaye Banquet & Conference
29) Domino's Pizza
30) Dos Amigos
31) Dunkin Donuts
32) Elks Lodge
33) Fat Belly's Bar & Grill
34) Flatbread Portsmouth
35) Frank Jones Ctr
36) Fresh City
37) Friday's
38) Gepetto's Pizzeria
39) Gmm Dining Svc Inc
40) Green Bean At Pease
41) Green Monkey
42) Gregory's Grill
43) Hap's Famous Roast Beef Subs
44) Hebert's Seafood & Steak
45) Holiday Inn
46) Hong Kong Express
47) International House-Pancakes
48) Jack Quigley's Pub
49) Jarvis Center
50) Joe's New York Pizza
51) Julie's
52) Ken's West End Pizza
53) Kfc
54) King Chef
55) Longhorn Steakhouse
56) Mahalos On Line Restaurant
57) Mc Donald's
58) Mc Donald's
59) Mc Donald's
60) Mc Donald's
61) Moe's Italian Sandwiches
62) Momma D's Casa Di Pasta
63) Momma D's Casa di Pasta
64) Oar House
65) Olive Garden
66) Outback Steakhouse
67) Paddy's Restaurant
68) Panera Bread
69) Pesce Blue
70) Pizza Hut
71) Pizza Hut
72) Portsmouth Bread Box
73) Portsmouth Pizza Factory
74) Portsmouth Super Buffet
75) Red Door
76) Redhook Ale Brewery
77) Roman Delight Pizza
78) Savannah's Catering
79) Savario's
80) Smokey Bones BBQ & Grill
81) Starbucks
82) Stroudwater Books & Cafe
83) Sub Express
84) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
85) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
86) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
87) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
88) Taipei & Tokyo
89) Two Girls Catering Inc
90) United Bingo Hall
91) Uno Chicago Grill
92) Victory
93) Wendy's
94) Whats For Dinner
95) Yoken's Thar She Blows
1) 1853 School House Restaurant
2) A Maine Chance Corp
3) Angelina's Pasta Shoppe
4) Annabelle's Natural Ice Cream
5) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
6) Applebee's Regional Office
7) Arby's
8) Betty's Kitchen Catering
9) Bickford's Family Restaurant
10) Bickford's Family Restaurant
11) Bill's Snack Bar
12) Blake's Ice Cream Restaurant
13) Blue Claw
14) Bob's Broil Chicken
15) Boston Market
16) Breaking New Grounds
17) Buckhorn Family Restaurant
18) Bugaboo Creek Steak House
19) Bypass Subs & More
20) Cafe Espresso Of Portsmouth
21) Cafe Mirona
22) Caffe Kilim
23) Captain Coward's Saloon
24) Celebrity Sandwich
25) Chestnuts At The Nest
26) Cranberries
27) D'angelo Sandwich Shop
28) Delahaye Banquet & Conference
29) Domino's Pizza
30) Dos Amigos
31) Dunkin Donuts
32) Elks Lodge
33) Fat Belly's Bar & Grill
34) Flatbread Portsmouth
35) Frank Jones Ctr
36) Fresh City
37) Friday's
38) Gepetto's Pizzeria
39) Gmm Dining Svc Inc
40) Green Bean At Pease
41) Green Monkey
42) Gregory's Grill
43) Hap's Famous Roast Beef Subs
44) Hebert's Seafood & Steak
45) Holiday Inn
46) Hong Kong Express
47) International House-Pancakes
48) Jack Quigley's Pub
49) Jarvis Center
50) Joe's New York Pizza
51) Julie's
52) Ken's West End Pizza
53) Kfc
54) King Chef
55) Longhorn Steakhouse
56) Mahalos On Line Restaurant
57) Mc Donald's
58) Mc Donald's
59) Mc Donald's
60) Mc Donald's
61) Moe's Italian Sandwiches
62) Momma D's Casa Di Pasta
63) Momma D's Casa di Pasta
64) Oar House
65) Olive Garden
66) Outback Steakhouse
67) Paddy's Restaurant
68) Panera Bread
69) Pesce Blue
70) Pizza Hut
71) Pizza Hut
72) Portsmouth Bread Box
73) Portsmouth Pizza Factory
74) Portsmouth Super Buffet
75) Red Door
76) Redhook Ale Brewery
77) Roman Delight Pizza
78) Savannah's Catering
79) Savario's
80) Smokey Bones BBQ & Grill
81) Starbucks
82) Stroudwater Books & Cafe
83) Sub Express
84) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
85) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
86) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
87) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
88) Taipei & Tokyo
89) Two Girls Catering Inc
90) United Bingo Hall
91) Uno Chicago Grill
92) Victory
93) Wendy's
94) Whats For Dinner
95) Yoken's Thar She Blows
1) 1853 School House Restaurant
2) A Maine Chance Corp
3) Angelina's Pasta Shoppe
4) Annabelle's Natural Ice Cream
5) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
6) Applebee's Regional Office
7) Arby's
8) Betty's Kitchen Catering
9) Bickford's Family Restaurant
10) Bickford's Family Restaurant
11) Bill's Snack Bar
12) Blake's Ice Cream Restaurant
13) Blue Claw
14) Bob's Broil Chicken
15) Boston Market
16) Breaking New Grounds
17) Buckhorn Family Restaurant
18) Bugaboo Creek Steak House
19) Bypass Subs & More
20) Cafe Espresso Of Portsmouth
21) Cafe Mirona
22) Caffe Kilim
23) Captain Coward's Saloon
24) Celebrity Sandwich
25) Chestnuts At The Nest
26) Cranberries
27) D'angelo Sandwich Shop
28) Delahaye Banquet & Conference
29) Domino's Pizza
30) Dos Amigos
31) Dunkin Donuts
32) Elks Lodge
33) Fat Belly's Bar & Grill
34) Flatbread Portsmouth
35) Frank Jones Ctr
36) Fresh City
37) Friday's
38) Gepetto's Pizzeria
39) Gmm Dining Svc Inc
40) Green Bean At Pease
41) Green Monkey
42) Gregory's Grill
43) Hap's Famous Roast Beef Subs
44) Hebert's Seafood & Steak
45) Holiday Inn
46) Hong Kong Express
47) International House-Pancakes
48) Jack Quigley's Pub
49) Jarvis Center
50) Joe's New York Pizza
51) Julie's
52) Ken's West End Pizza
53) Kfc
54) King Chef
55) Longhorn Steakhouse
56) Mahalos On Line Restaurant
57) Mc Donald's
58) Mc Donald's
59) Mc Donald's
60) Mc Donald's
61) Moe's Italian Sandwiches
62) Momma D's Casa Di Pasta
63) Momma D's Casa di Pasta
64) Oar House
65) Olive Garden
66) Outback Steakhouse
67) Paddy's Restaurant
68) Panera Bread
69) Pesce Blue
70) Pizza Hut
71) Pizza Hut
72) Portsmouth Bread Box
73) Portsmouth Pizza Factory
74) Portsmouth Super Buffet
75) Red Door
76) Redhook Ale Brewery
77) Roman Delight Pizza
78) Savannah's Catering
79) Savario's
80) Smokey Bones BBQ & Grill
81) Starbucks
82) Stroudwater Books & Cafe
83) Sub Express
84) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
85) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
86) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
87) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
88) Taipei & Tokyo
89) Two Girls Catering Inc
90) United Bingo Hall
91) Uno Chicago Grill
92) Victory
93) Wendy's
94) Whats For Dinner
95) Yoken's Thar She Blows
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Lousy So So
I have been coming here off and on over the years, and the beer has always been very excellent. But since my last review in 2002, where I gave Portsmouth Brewery high praise in every facet. I have noticed a progressive, and unfortunate decline in the service. The wait staff, from the bar tenders, to the table servers act as though they are put out by having to serve you. And it is such a shame, because the beer is so good. (don't plan on drinking more than 4,or 5 though, as the will shut you off, and hand you you hat)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Stoodley James Stoodley, Portsmouth, NH
(12/11/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
There on a Saturday night. Wall to wall people, but scored two seats at the bar for me and my wife. I was hoping they would have Smuttynose IPA on tap, but they had their own. I liked it and drank three. Not my favorite, but good nonetheless. Wife had a pale ale she liked very well. Food was good, and service, given the hoard of people in the place was more than adequate. I would go back, if I get the op.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David White David White, Berkeley Springs, WV
(09/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
This was my first visit but won't be my last. I was truly impressed with hoppiness of the IPA and the smoothness of the stout. Nice location in the heart of downtown. Only had the crab dip appetizer, but the menu looked well varied and with fair prices. Service was friendly and knowledgeable of the beer. Highly recommended!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Hoey Jim Hoey, Leonardtown, MD
(10/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I visited on 8-10-08 but had no opportunity to review untill tonight. The Smuttynose Portsmouth Lager was excellent followed by the Old Brown Dog. Both were quality brews. Then I had the Weizenheimer which was also well brewed. The food was very good as well. Place was very crowded but I sat at the bar and 2 bartenders were very friendly and knowledgeable about the beers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donald Donald, manalapan, NJ
(09/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
This is a consistent destination ANYTIME I'm in New England--the top-to-bottom selection is one of the finest I've had, and I absolutely LOVE the atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darryl Darryl, Gettysburg, PA
(04/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The portsmouth brewery offers a great selection of beers brewed onsight and beers brewed locally by smuttynose. There are time when I wish there were more brews from the portsmouth brewery, but i know space is limiting. Best beer there is the Heffeweizen. Careful, after 2 or 3, 4-5-6 go down way too smooth. Food is ok, mostly sandwiches, and priced a little high like the rest of Portsmouth, but I guess thats just me being a cheap local.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Theriault Mike Theriault, Concord, NH
(01/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
STOPPED HERE FOR LUNCH ON THE WAY BACK FROM MAINE. FIRST TIME FOR THIS PUB.IT'S ON OUR STOP LIST NOW.THE BROWN DOG ALE WAS GREAT. THE FOOD WAS GREAT ALONG WITH A GOOD SERVER. WE ATE ON THE PATIO, THAT WAS DIFFERANT.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ, PRESTON, CT
(08/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
It was worth the trip to New England just for the beer here. Over a long weekend we did 8 microbreweries and brewpubs and this was by far the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Gibson Mike Gibson, Tampa, FL
(05/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Beers are always good,Irish Red,Cream Ale,Ipa's, Food is very good: Pulled Pork Sandwich,Burgers,Salads. Can't go wrong here,it's worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from NH Pete NH Pete, Concord, NH
(03/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Overall a great selection of beers. I stopped in for lunch and it had a great selection of food at great prices. I would definately stop in again to eat and drink. I got a sampler and the beers were good. The wheat wine beer stuck out in my mind. I ended up leaving with a bottle of that and a growler filled. Its a nice place to drop into.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(11/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This was my second visit. I'd been here about 7 years ago. On tap the day I was there were: IPA, wheat wine, oak aged stout, lager, bock, pilsner, pale, hefe, cream ale, and old brown dog. I htad the stout, IPA, and brown dog. All three were very nice--especially the stout--hints of chocolate yet not heavy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Most of the beers are sub-par and the food is typical American pub grub...yet you enjoy the place? Hmmmm...why do you drive all the way from Barre to come here?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Newbury, MA
(04/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
I enjoy coming here, but most of the beers are sub-par. The stouts are way too sweet, and I would say 80% of the beers are just so-so. The IPA was pretty good however. Get the sampler, that way you won't get burned buying a whole pint of bad beer. The food is decent, usual american pub fare.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from woody woody, barre, MA
(04/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I've been coming to the PBP a few times each year since 1997. It's always an adventure. I have staples that I know I like such as Old Brown Dog, Black Cat Stout, and the pale ale; but there is always somthing new to try. Main courses and appetizers have been consistently good. I like to sit at the bar, but it's rare because the place is consistently busy unless I can get there in the early afternoon. It's been getting somehow more "touristy" over the years. It's hard to explain. The place also went non-smoking about a year and a half ago. It's beginning to feel less like a pub and more like an attraction.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Edgar Washburn Edgar Washburn, Rindge, NH
(03/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Awesome! Great
We are big Pale Ale fans so we tried their Portsmouth IPA. It was so excellent that we stuck with it all night-- great odor and color, boldly hopped. Delicious.

This Brewery is owned by Smuttynose and we were told that the Portsmouth and Smuttynose IPAs are essentially the same... they are not. I tired a little sample of the Smuttynose. Maybe it was the Smuttynose keg or line but the quality did not compare to the Portsmouth.

We only had an appetizer (bean dip) and it was just okay. Nothing special.

Decent atmosphere, very hard working bartenders, great location. Fabulous beer. What more can a girl ask for on a Saturday night?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Elizabeth Elizabeth, Annapolis, MD
(06/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good N/A
the barley wine was like a swift kick in the ass, but the brown dog was a refreshing treat pon a hot sunny day. THe food was ok, and we were promised the future delights of the scotch ale for mid fall! We cant wait to go back to experience the full effects of the NH Coast!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob & Ang Bob & Ang, Lebanon, NH
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
My friends and I stopped in here during a tour of northern New England around lunchtime and the place was packed. The atmosphere is a little too neat and tidy, and it seems like they're shooting for an older, more discriminating crowd (tourists, perhaps?). The beer menu gives nice descriptions of all of their offerings--even those that aren't on tap. During our visit, they had seven of their own beers on tap, plus two from Smuttynose and Anchor's Old Foghorn Barleywine. Amongst their brews, the big winners were the Cream Ale, Altbier, and Scotch Ale. Absolutely worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, New Haven, CT
(05/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Sorry, my scores were off on the previous review...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mattrazzo Mattrazzo, Chandler, AZ
(01/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Visited on 12/31/2003. Overall, great experience.

Barleywine - Very rich and smooth with slight floral tones. Well balanced. Just incredible. Weizenheimer - Solid wheat beer. Not as intense as other wheats. Absolutely solid. But why do they feel compelled to serve with a lemon?! It can destroy a delicate beer like this. Blueberry Ale - I am not a fan of fruit beer, with the exception of Blueberry beer, but it needs to be subtle. Portsmouth has an excellent beer with great blueberry aroma and flavor. Slight hopping makes this a great beer. Blackcat Stout - VERY good. Light on the roast flavor yet full of sweet malt and hop flavors. Blitzen Ale - Somewhat unremarkable. It was good, like a good IRA, but otherwise.. eh. IPA - Very good. Strong hop flavor. Just the way I like it :-) Old Brown Dog - This is supposed to be a popular beer for the brewery. I thought it was ok. A good beer mind you, but too hoppy to be a Brown. It was actually more of a Pale Ale style. Portsmouth Lager - Smooth, nice hop flavor. Subtle. Just right. Shoal's Pale Ale - Good, but hop level is a little light for the style. Drinkable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mattrazzo Mattrazzo, Chandler, AZ
(01/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
a must stop if visiting portsmouth.ipa was great-along with trinity's in providence rhode island,the best i had in new england!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tim hardin tim hardin, seaside, OR
(10/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
We had the beer sampler:;if my eyes were closed I would've thought I was drinking the same type of beer.The place was full upstairs on a Saturday night around 9:30p - so we sat in the waiting area instead of bar.Bathrooms dirty.Waitress showed me to a less used one person bathroom in other dining room, that was clean:had soap, towels, bathroom tissue.Overall:80/100

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RDukette RDukette, Pittsfield, NH
(09/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
The beer is pretty good. Not great, but definitely worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from wopbopaloobopalopbambrew wopbopaloobopalopbambrew, Atlanta, GA
(07/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
My wife and I stopped for lunch and had the pulled pork sandwiches. Plentiful and very good. They offered a nine beer sampler for $5.00, which is a great value. Of the nine, the IPA was outstanding, and the Blonde Ale and Black Cat stout were also excellent. The brown ale, Portsmouth lager, and Shoals Pale ale were very good. The weizenheimer wheat was good but in all fairness could have tasted even better to me if I tried it in anything but the tiny sampler glass. Weiss beers only taste good if properly drunk out of a tall German weissbier glass. The Amber lager I didn't like and the Maibock was extremely disappointing. I'm used to the annual Maibock brewed by the Gaslight brewey in South Orange, NJ., my local pub, and maybe I'm prejudiced but all other maibocks pale by comparison. All in all, this is a great place and I'd recommend it to anyone

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dan Hodge, union, nj
(05/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good
Being a Guinness drinker, I had to try the Black Cat Stout (they get in some jabs in the menu description of it without mentioning the Guinness name). I was not disappointed; although not as creamy as "Arthur's" famous stout, and was much more complex with a nice chocolate flavor. For the second round, our waitress talked me out of trying the Imperial Stout, which I was told is 8.9% alcohol and is only served it in 12 OZ glasses (why is that?). So I had an Amber instead, which had a smooth finish, although overall it was nondescript.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Guinness Fan, New City, NY
(05/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
it is now getting much better in the food dept. much better. better cooks could be the answer here. beer is excellent. hint; try the alt!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review lou, hampton, nh
(03/26/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.692 seconds) 00:14:10 54.211.113.223, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS