PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


John Harvard's Brew House - Framingham, MA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 23, 2014 @ 12:38 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MA > Framingham > John Harvard's Brew House
John Harvard's Brew House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
John Harvard's Brew House
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.5 / 100
1 Worcester Road
Shopper's World
Framingham, MA 01701
United States
(508) 875-BEER
Listed Since: September 1996
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Framingham, MA
Beer Guide for Massachusetts

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of John Harvard's Brew House
22 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Post Road Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Desmond O'Malley's Irish Pub and Restaurant
(3 miles)

3) British Beer Company
(3 miles)

4) The Corner Pub
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Arabian Horse Inn
2) Hunt House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN FRAMINGHAM
2) BOSTON/NATICK TRAVELODGE
3) CLARION CRGH SUDBURY
4) COURTYARD NATICK-FRAMINGHAM
5) ECONO LODGE FRAMINGHAM
6) FRAMINGHAM RESIDENCE INN
7) HAMPTON INN BOSTON NATICK
8) SHERATON FRAMINGHAM HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Brewer, Moses, House
2) Bullen--Stratton--Cozzen House
3) Ellis, Moses, House
4) Framingham Railroad Station
5) Framingham Reservoir No. 1 Dam and Gatehouse
6) Framingham Reservoir No. 2 Dam and Gatehouse
7) Framingham Reservoir No. 3 Dam and Gatehouse
8) Gibbs, Paul, House
9) Goodnow Library
10) Hopestill Bent Tavern
11) Lake Cochituate Dam
12) Old Town Bridge
13) Saint John's Episcopal Church
14) Sawin--Bullen--Bullard House
15) Wilson, Henry, Shoe Shop
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A1 Pizza
2) Andrea Pizza & Bagel
3) Big Fresh Cafe
4) Boston Market
5) Brewin Javas
6) Cafe Belo
7) Cancun Restaurant
8) Centre Pizza
9) Chef Orient Restaurant
10) Daniela's Cantina
11) Dream Diners
12) Dunkin Donuts
13) Eo Noodle
14) Eonoodle
15) Famous Dino's Pizza Three
16) Firefly's Bbq Restaurant
17) Franco's Cafe Italiano
18) Friendly's Restaurant
19) George's Pizza & Restaurant
20) Gianni's Pizza & Sub's Inc
21) Harvest Moon Enterprise Inc
22) Hometowne Hotdogs
23) Hugo's Coffee Shop
24) Imperial China
25) Imperial China
26) Ipanema Brazailian Grill
27) Jennifer's Gourmet Take-Out
28) Karel's Cafe
29) Kugle's Deli
30) Lake East Chinese Restaurant
31) Legal Sea Foods
32) Mad Willie's Ice Cream
33) Martini's Steak House & Sports
34) Mc Donald's
35) Mc Donald's
36) Nobscot Cafe Inc
37) Oriental Pearl
38) Oriental Pearl
39) Papa Gino's
40) Pizza Wagon
41) Rasoi Restaurant
42) Rileys Roast Beef
43) Rita's Catering Framingham Div
44) Royal Pizza
45) Rpr Restaurant Group
46) Ruby Tuesday
47) Sports Pub & Lounge
48) Starbucks
49) Stop & Shop Pizzeria
50) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
51) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
52) Super Buffet
53) Taste Of China
54) Tastings Caterers
55) Vaya Catering & Delivery
56) Village Hall
57) Wasabe
58) Wright Seafood Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Visited here on a recent Friday evening and the place was packed, with people waiting to be seated in the dining area. Was fortunate enough to find the last open seat at the bar.

Service at the bar was fast, knowledgable and friendly. Got a small sample of red stout as soon as I sat down - it was OK but not to my taste. Ordered a pale ale off the list and that was good. (note that not all of their beers were on the printed list - there is a chalkboard hanging up near the entrance, but if you can't see it, ask the bartender). Also tried a sample of their belgian IPA, again, not to my taste. They did have Hop Chronic on which I had for my second pint, which I really liked, and stuck with that for a third.

Had chicken quesadillas for an appetizer and lamb tips for entree, both of which were very good. Most all the food I saw coming out to other patrons also looked good.

The only downside to this place, at least for me, is it's sort of large, and I prefer smaller, more intimate types of places. Still, if I lived closer, it wouldn't stop me from coming in here often. They did seem to have a fair number of regular customers there at the bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from travelmedic travelmedic, Clifton Park, NY
(03/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So Good Good Great
I've only been to this particular Harvard's twice. Luckily both of those times were during the fall season, so I was able to enjoy their Harvest Spice beer. If you like holiday beers with cinnamon, then this beer is tough to beat. Served much like a margarita, the rim of the beer glass is coated with cinnamon sugar. If you buy a growler (which cannot be beat at $10), you are provided with cinnamon sugar. At the time I was last there, the Red Sox were in the World Series so the joint was jumping.

Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Bedford Rob Bedford, Branchburg, NJ
(11/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Good beer,good food and good service makes this a great place for lunch and still have plenty of time for shopping. Eating at the bar tends to be more fun than at a table. The bartenders know their beers and love to talk about them. One word of caution about the growlers to go; we took home two brown ales last week and both were completely flat. One flat growler I can chalk up luck of the draw, but two flat growlers may indicate a problem with the system.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Malte Lukas Malte Lukas, Harvard, MA
(10/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Had an enjoyable lunch recently and the brews were better than some I have had there in the past!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McCarthy Mike McCarthy, North Port, FL
(10/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm sorry for being stupid. The previous post is for John Harvards in Cambridge.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
I loved this place. It's a huge underground pub. It looks really old and is all wood. The beers were good and they had a really good cask ale, worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Dont get me wrong people. It's not a half bad establishment and I have been known to stop in from time to time. But its not the "awesome" brewery its made out to be. If at all make the trip into the Cambridge location to check out sunday and tuesday night jazz bands. That is worth the go. Try Salem or Boston Beer Works for much better brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Hopkinton, MA
(09/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Margaret Hudak Mary Margaret Hudak, Round Lake, NY
(08/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
A must place to visit,I wish I lived closer.One other great thing about this brewpub is NO SMOKING ALLOWED.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Restino Gary Restino, Round Lake, NY
(07/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Homer Stephen Homer, Milford, MA
(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good
This was the 4th time I've been in here and the first time I actually ordered a beer. Its located in a big-box store mall and I'm around on errands and am not willing to deal with hordes of people to order a beer. Just goes to show - put something decent in a culturally devoid area and they will come.

Anyways a guy kindly offers my wife and I his seats at the bar and I order the "Celtic Strong Ale" (its the day before St Pat's day) and my wife gets the Pilsner. Oh here's where the service gets dinged. We ask if they have 12oz glasses (we are going to dinner after) the bartender says sure or something. So it arrives in a pint and I said "we wanted this in 12oz" and she says "we only have 16 and 10oz glasses". Next she berates the people who ordered 4 beers for asking which ones were which when she already told them (did I mention it was a tad noisy?)).

The Celtic Strong was certainly strong and was dominated by the alcohol taste (16.5 degrees plato if I recall). I asked a different bartender what kind of a style is this? And he said "well it our own really but its like a strong brown ale". And so it was. Ok.

The Pilsner was quite nice but my wife was remarking it was on the bitter side and YEOW it was. I've never had a Pilsner in or from Europe anywhere near that bitter. But it was tasty if not so true to style. Sort of an IPA Pilsner if you will

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Magnan Rick Magnan, wellesley, MA
(03/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place is always worth the drive. Great beer, great food. And if they are serving Russian Imperial Stout, by all means DRINK IT!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paul Eric Paul, Plainville, MA
(10/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Doesn't anybody else, who goes to this site, ever visit this place. Went yesterday and it was great. They had a Dunkel Weiss, I believe made with cultured Bavarian yeast, that was outstanding. I have one just like it at home I made. Also had the Bock and Manchester Alt. This place really is great. Food was outstanding and I don't care if I give the next 10 reviews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Mickiewicz Ray Mickiewicz, Spencer, MA
(07/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
John Harvard Revisited. Man, I was worried that these guys forgot about customer service. Went back for another visit. My last review says it all for the last time I was there. This time, OUTSTANDING !!! Service was excellent, beer was excellent, especially the Scotch Ale and the Big Bad Bock. Not only that, but the paper reading bartender from my last visit was busing tables. Justice, I love it. Maybe somebody does read these reviews.... Hope to go to one of the beer dinners soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Mickiewicz Ray Mickiewicz, Spencer, MA
(04/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Lousy Good
I've been here many times. The beer quality was only OK this time around. The Hefe Weizen and the Rasberry Wheat were not interesting. The Nut Brown and Oatmeal Stout were both quite good though. The food in the place is outstanding. Never had a bad meal here. The service this time around was atrocious. 2 bartenders and I had an empty glass 3 times for over 5 minutes and had to call them over for a pint. It wasn't even crowded. One of them was reading the PAPER while there were thirsty customers. Give me a break. Fortunately, this is only the first time I've had a bad beer experience. Never forget, IT'S A BREWERY !!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Mickiewicz Ray Mickiewicz, Spencer, MA
(03/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Grace Chris Grace, Marlborough, MA
(01/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
It is a great place to drink, eat and just hang out. It has an awesome atmosphere!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kristen Kristen, Raleigh, NC
(11/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Plainville, MA
(11/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
John Harvard's in Framingham serves the same great menu and fresh beer as the one in Harvard Square, but easier access for those of us west of Boston. For those cool summer evenings, the restaurant has a great patio to sip a refreshing pint of the Light Lager.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gold Canyon, AZ
(10/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great beer. Wonderful food. Very nice atmosphere. It may be Shopper's World, but when you're inside you'll feel like you're at the downtown pub . . .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Berg Matt Berg, Pepperell, MA
(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Many beers on tap with a good selection of seasonal beers. The service is great. There IPA is one of the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lennie White Lennie White, Framingham, MA
(12/08/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.641 seconds) 12:38:19 54.163.84.123, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS