PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Saranac / F.X. Matt Brewing Company - Utica, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 20, 2014 @ 09:24 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Utica > Saranac / F.X. Matt Brewing Company
Saranac / F.X. Matt Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Saranac / F.X. Matt Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.6 / 100
811 Edward Street
Utica, NY 13502
United States
(315) 732-3181
Last Updated: May 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Utica, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
25 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) FX Matt Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Nail Creek Pub and Brewery
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Adam Bunman Manor B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN GATEWAY INN
2) RED ROOF UTICA
3) SUPER 8 UTICA NY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Byington Mill (Frisbie & Stansfield Knitting Company)
2) Conkling, Roscoe, House
3) Doyle Hardware Building
4) First Baptist Church of Deerfield
5) Hurd & Fitzgerald Building
6) Memorial Church of the Holy Cross
7) Union Station
8) Utica Daily Press Building
9) Weaver, Gen. John G., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A J's Pizzeria & Restaurant
2) Adirondack Coffee Co
3) Albie's
4) All New Sunset Pizza & Deli
5) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
6) Auggies Tavern
7) B M Roadhouse
8) Behind Barr's
9) Beigiang House
10) Blue Mountain Cafe
11) Cafe Bella Mia
12) Cafe Fianchetto
13) Charlie's Pizza
14) Deerfield Volunteer Fire Co
15) Dick Smith's Tavern
16) Dinghy
17) Domino's Pizza
18) Dragon Phoenix Restaurant
19) Epsie's Cafe
20) Fantasy's Showbar
21) Griff's
22) Griffin's Pub
23) He's Not Here Tavern
24) Hylander Bar
25) Kitty's On The Canal
26) L J's Sports Bar
27) Mark's Coffee Cafe
28) Mc Donald's
29) Monk's Pizza
30) Nino's Pizza
31) Pizza Hut
32) Pizza Pad Restaurant
33) Pizza Plus
34) Rita's
35) Rosa's Italian Bakery-Deli
36) Same Ole Mo
37) Shamrock Pub
38) T & M Deli Market
39) Taco Bell
40) Tasty Treat
41) Teasers
42) Telegano's Downtown Diner
43) Tony's Pizzeria
44) Tony's Pizzeria & Deli
45) Varick Bar & Grill
46) Waffle House
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great ? Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Terrible, terrible news out of Utica last night. The Brewery was extensively damaged by fire:

http://www.wktv.com/

http://www.uticaod.com/

Our hearts and prayers go out to the Matt family. They say they will rebuild and it can't come soon enough. They are a class operation and we wish them the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(05/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Had been here many years ago, so a return visit was in order. A perfect pit stop on a hot day--I didn't really mind waiting 30 min. or so for the next tour. $5 gets you a tour of the facility and two samples afterwards. Learned a few things, especially the contract brewing that they do here (Pete's for instance) and how big a tank that holds 50,00 gallons really is! You get a jitney ride from the rear of the brewery to the front when it's time to sample; old fashioned, but nice. I tried a bottle of Saranac IPA (servicable as an ale) and a draught Black Forest (is it really the old Prior Double Dark? No one's telling!) which was good. An interesting stop if you've never been there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Good
I drove to Utica yesterday (6-17-06) for a tour of FX Matt. I have to admit--I was a bit disapointed. Part of this is probably my fault as I went on a Saturday (no brewing activity) and did the 1:00 tour (none of the neighborhood bars were open yet--the one that was open doesn't serve food on weekends). The tour guide (Shawn or Sean) must have been fresh out of training--at least he admited that he didn't know the answer to most of the questions rather than making something up. When asked which barley was used for the hefe--he didn't know that it is a wheat beer. He had no idea why the line was called Saranac--I don't either but I would think that would be a pretty important thing to know. A lot of the tour focused on history of the brewing industry rather than just FX Matt--which is ok--the family with 5 kids seemed to enjoy it. They charged you $5 for the tour and that got you 2, roughly 8-10 oz samples. I'm not sure what they would do if you wanted to try more. The gift shop is pretty much a beer store and Shultz and Dooley store--except the beer, very little to do with Saranac. We heard several times on the tour that Utica Club was the past and Saranac is their ticket to the future--the shop is till in the past; at least as far as merchandise goes. If you are in the area, I'd say that it is worth a stop. I drove 200 miles and that may be why I was so disapointed--the distance and the rave reviews may have heightened my espectations. I keep thinking about that family that forked over $40 bucks for the tour and wonder if they thought it was worth it. Regardless--Saranac makes great beer and it's a nice mid-point between mass produced swill and more pricey microbrews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(06/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Good Great
Took the tour on 9/2/05. Tour price is now up to $5.00 but you do get 2 beers at the end. Had the pumpkin ale and the IPA. Very nice historic brewery which has managed to survive all these years. These guys made a good call to get in on the craft brew movement way back at the beginning which is the focus of their business today. They produce many different styles and also do a lot of contract brewing as in Brooklyn beers. Well worth a stop off of the NYS Thruway. Nice gift shop also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Folks, it appears as though F. X. Matt has discontinued production of the low carb Accel beer. As low carbs go, this was the best, by far, and it's a shame more folks didn't go for it. It got a pretty decent BA rating so I wasn't the only bloke that thought so. I guess those who must, must get their waterbeer somewhere else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(11/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
The brewery tour is well worth the drive and time investment. Nice people and the building is filled with history. The beers are well made for a larger brewery and they also have soda for the kids. Try O'Connells Pub down the street for lunch. Plenty of food for little $

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Keith Bailey Keith Bailey, Buffalo, NY
(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Be SURE to try the BLACK FOREST (not to be mistaken for the black & tan) It is one of the best dark beers i've ever had. We took the tour and they were great. In my book- BLACK FOREST RULES !!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ernie ernie, Oneco, FL
(05/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I just wanted to say that Lauren, the tour guide, is awesome! Yay beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rockville, MD
(03/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
It was a really great tour. The amazing thing is that this is a pseudo-micro brew company, but the beer is great--especially for the price. What is even more amazing is that while it's realatively inexpensive beer in New York State, it's quite expensive in North Carolina! Be proud to have access to such a good beer for such a good price if you happen to live in NY!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jack, Asheville, NC
(02/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
OH MY!IF I HAD TO PICK THE BEST PORTER OF THEM ALL,THE CARAMEL PORTER WOULD BE IT.WHY DON'T THEY MAKE THIS ALL THE TIME??!!THAT AND THE MOCHA STOUT!MMMMMMMMMMMM!AND THE SINGLE MALT SCOTCH ALE!MMMMMMMMMMMMM!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAMES STOODLEY JAMES STOODLEY, PORTSMOUTH, NH
(07/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
The Single Malt Scottish Brew was awesome. Too bad it is only a limited release.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andy Baranowski Andy Baranowski, Islip Terrace, NY
(07/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A Great
The tour was the idea I had and was not let down.A first rate tour and guide showed a rather complete tour of operations there.It ended with two 12 ouncers of your choice.Octoberfest was tried,but it was a poor representation.The White Beer was also sampled,which wasn't too bad . Mainly Saranac beers seem designed to fit mainstream drinkers,therefore not too strong for average consumer.Better if you drink Saranac not expecting much,and you won't be let down.Surprised though at the amount of variety.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Sawchuk Don Sawchuk, Canton, MI
(09/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Good Good
In the opening of Neil Young's "Year of the Horse" CD someone yells out "it all sounds the same"; to which Neil responds, "it's all the same song" That's how I feel about Saranac. I tried the Black n Tan, Amber and Black Forest and couldn't tell any differance in the three.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(08/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good
I've seen rave reviews of "Season's Best Nut Brown Lager" on the Real Beer Page, but I thought it was just a good beer. Oddly, it's not even mentioned in the brewery's web site, http://www.Saranac.com/">Saranac.com.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(01/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
Absolutely great!!! I visit Utica often and each time is a weekend filled with Saranac. The brewery tour was very interesting to this freaky beer lover and the end made the experience complete. Though I didn't have anything new, it was very nice to know that I was drinking my favorite beer without it ever leaving it's birthplace. Thank you to the Matt family, thank you Utica, and to all the members of my own Utica Club, see you real soon!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Carle Brian Carle, Philadelphia, PA
(03/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Warner Bob Warner, Ogunquit, ME
(03/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A
visited the brewery on my way through NE and Canada... nice enough people...decent beer...unfriendly office and PR personnel... glad they aren't the brewers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Lancaster, PA
(10/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Good
Very, very informative brewery tour. Very nice staff and very friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Awesome!
F. X. Matt is one of the last great regional, commercial brewers that hasn't been put out of business by A-B. The brewery and grounds are beautiful and historical, and the products are all excellent. Saranac brands are flavorful and have won numerous awards. Matt's non-micro/craft lines are good, too, with the famous Utica Club Pilsener (Schultz & Dooley) and Matt's Premium being a cut far above the high-volume mass-marketed products of the national brewers. I recently made a special trip (over 1100 miles) just to get their beer (Matt's & UC not available in MI). It was worth it! Wish I'd brought a U-Haul! As the beer can collectors used to say, "Support your local brewery!"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Cornils Pat Cornils, Dexter, MI
(08/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
Although I do enjoy a great beer now and then, I was pleasantly surprised with Saranac's new Jed's pink or white lemonade. . . IT was AWESOME!! Enjoyed the pink sooooo much, forgot to try the white!! Left for home with a 12 pack of pink and I'm sure I'll be back!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Celeste Celeste, Elmwood Park, NJ
(08/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Have tried the whole line of beers and was even lucky enough to have most on tap. Absolutely great beer - enough variety to satisfy all types of drinkers. Used to go to school in Utica and the tour is worth the trip!!! Keep up the great brewing

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Betz Betz, Catskill, NY
(12/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
This review is for the SARANAC line of products. Try them all! Well planned, well executed. The Saranac IPA (or maybe it's just Pale Ale) is the best in its class.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Allen Jim Allen, New York, NY
(08/26/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
Great Beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andy Niver Andy Niver, Oswego, NY
(04/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I currently live in Manhattan, but I was born in Utica, and raised just south of the city. If you're in Utica a visit to the brewery for a tour and a great treat at the end is a must!!! Saranac Black and Tan is my favorite...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from T. Pye T. Pye, Mahattan, NY
(01/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
I've only gotten to drink this Brewery's output in bottles "gasp"! while visting relatives in New Jersey, what we tasted we really liked so I can only imagine what it tastes like fresh, on tap, yum!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marge Marge, Seattle, WA
(01/18/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.476 seconds) 09:24:44 54.204.64.152, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS