PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


McNeill's Brewery - Brattleboro, VT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 21, 2014 @ 03:21 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VT > Brattleboro > McNeill's Brewery
McNeill's Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
McNeill's Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 85.2 / 100
90 Elliot Street
Brattleboro, VT 05301
United States
(802) 254-2553
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Brattleboro, VT
Beer Guide for Vermont

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of McNeill's Brewery
101 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Latchis Grille and Windham Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Kipling's Pub
(0 mile)

3) Putney Road Pub
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Meadow Lark Inn
2) Whetstone Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COLONIAL MOTEL AND SPA
2) ECONO LODGE BRATTLEBORO
3) QUALITY INN AND SUITES BRATTLEB
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Creamery Covered Bridge
2) Grout, Lewis, House
3) Guilford Center Meetinghouse
4) Harris, William, House
5) Rice Farm Road Bridge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 39 Main Inc
2) Candle & Wine Catering
3) Capers Restaurant
4) China Buffet Of Windham Inc
5) Dhaba
6) Domino's Pizza
7) Emils Pub
8) Flat Street Bar & Restaurant
9) Gouger's Market & Deli Inc
10) Green Mountain Mama
11) Metropolis Wine Bar
12) Mocha Joe's Inc
13) Moveable Feast
14) New England House
15) Ou Place Family Restaurants
16) Sharon Myers Fine Catering
17) Sportsman's Lounge
18) Sundried Tomato
19) Sunny Boy Subs
20) Thai Garden
21) Twilight Tea Lounge
22) Vermont Country Deli
23) Vermont Seasons Fine Catering
24) WAMI Japanese Restaurant
25) Ziter's Putney Inn Bakery
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Just found that McNeill's is available at Whole Foods and Bierkraft in the NYC area! To say that this is excellent news is a miserable understatement. I had the pleasure of experiencing McNeill's in Brattleboro many years ago. Brought some back for friends to enjoy and they could not believe the complex balance of tastes. Glad to see that the bottles are clearly labeled for freshness - old beer is bad beer. Firehouse Amber - fantastic beer!!!

One request - please bottle Duck's Breath and Alle Tage Altbier!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Greg, New York, NY
(05/07/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy N/A Good So So
I recently visited the great brewery McNeill's last week and was very concerned.

Apparently, they are focusing on bottling and distribution at the expense of the brewery on Elliott street. I have been to this place many times before and have some great memories, but am now concerned. There were only 4 beers on tap where there are usually 10 or so. So the variety was sharply diminished. There was hardly anyone there on New Years Eve, which is another concern. Usually on any given Fri or Sat night, the place would be packed.

Also, the beers are much more expensive than they were previously. They are now $4.25 to $5 each, which is not terribly expensive, but I think they were $3 each a couple years ago.

Many businesses look to expand which is a good thing. But when it comes at the expense of the core product (the brewery) it can sometimes lead to lack of quality of the core product, and once the core product is ignored, the rest of the business fails. Hopefully they start to focus on what made them great (the brewery) before its too late.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from shane shane, north brookfield, MA
(01/06/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I don't know how anyone can give the food here anything above So So...and if you want a real beer, take the 20 min drive to the Maple Leaf...you won't be disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jacksonville, VT
(11/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Laid back atmosphere with amazing quality brews. Average variety, though all choices surpassed my expectations. First visited Brattleboro for the breweries in the area, and since have returned often (partially for the town itself, but mostly for the beer). Overall great beer, friendly people, and awesome town!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from nate beane nate beane, Narragansett, RI
(08/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Just a few notes to add to a review that I did two years ago. In the interim, My Son and I indulged ourselves for two weeks while in the UK and have had four trips to Brattleboro. As much as I enjoyed the beer and pubs in England and Scotland, we both agreed that only the amazing "Deuchars IPA" by Caledonian and the equally amazing "Wherry Bitter" by Woodforde were in the same league as the cask ales at Mc Neill's.

It ought to be noted that amongst some hops heads, Mc Neill's does have a reputation for having occasional QC problems. I drove down from Nothern Vermont last October and was disappointed that there were few items (and no cask)on tap. This was chalked up to "yeast problems". I can see that some of the negative reviews below might stem from this sort of experience. This particularly, if you are unfamiliar with this place and unlucky to hit it on one of its very infrequent "off days". This is, however, still as good as any place I know on this planet to have a pint. Oh, and please don't complain about the food. The staff will overwhelm you with plates, cutlery, napkins, etc. if they spy you bringing in food. You sometimes don't even have to ask. There are plenty of decent restaurants in the area. Grab some take-out and enjoy it with beer that is as good as any that you will ever drink.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Glenside, PA
(08/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I am 50 years old and a former sailor. My ancestry is predominately English. My favorite brewer was Samuel Smith. Lager and ale brewed in their slate vats was it for me! Then I found McNeils and the rest is history. I drive from CT to VT to score my passion that is McNeils. Slop Bucket to Extra Special Bitter to Duck's Breath, my palate sings as it enjoys the skillfully crafted product of a true master. I tell you the truth when I say the first sip always curls my toes! Vermont maple syrup just took a back seat!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Suffield, CT
(08/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
LIved in the area for 30 years and McNeils was and is the producer of some of the finest beers/ales in the world. Surely nothing in Florida can touch it.

To those who knock Brattleboro, VT, I am sorry you feel the wy you do. It was a warm, friendly town, with hippies, ex-hippies, and local bankers and lawyers mingling and enjoying the ambience.

My only gripe at McNeils was I could never get that little ring thing on the hook!!!!!

I cannot get the product here but if i am ever in the area, it is my first stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul de florio paul de florio, Tallahassee, FL
(04/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
It's been a little while since I was last there. I went to college in the area back when Ray had Dewey's. I HAD to make the pilgrimage to his establishment since Ray & Dewey's ahd done so much to educated my American palate. Anyone who knew Dewey's knew Ray was onto the quality beer thing WAY before it was popular. His beers didn't disappoint. The selection was quite good and the beer itself was outstanding. Fitting the area, teh selection tends to be a little eclectic. But if it wasn't I'd be more concerned. I don't know when I'll be back in Brattleboro, but I know if I even get close I'd make it back to McNeill's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Nelson Tim Nelson, Overland Park, KS
(04/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great So So Good Great
Beer just wasn't as good as normal. Nachos were really bad like the way they used to make them. Very disapointed with this visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review belchertown, MA
(03/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
I have been an ardent supporter of McNeill's for years and have always made an effort to stop by during my northward excursions through New England (foliage-based or otherwise.) Although my views in the past may have been founded on my somewhat limited experiences with brewpubs, I always felt McNeil's purveyed some of the best craft brews that the East Coast had to offer. That said, My most recent tastings, albeit of the bottled variety, led me to believe that the establishment had lost some of its luster. Specifically, a bottle of Dead Horse my brother brought me seemed, to put it mildly, kind of bland. Could it be, I thought, that I was naive to put them on such a high pedestal? Well, I am happy to report that a visit to Brattleboro and a sampling of the draft Summer IPA put my worried mind at ease. Mcneill's, shady as it may seem, is still a top-shelf operation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(09/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
McNeill's continues to be one of the best places for a wide range of excellent beers in the Northeast. For cask beer fans, you don't really need to go any further, although I usually do! Ruby Red is probably my favorite on the regular pull, but this trip, the Summer IPA hit my taste buds just right. Food, schmood--eat some peanuts! Or bring your own food!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I went to this micro beer when I went to Keene State College. I loved this place. Now that I don't live in the area I do miss the beer at cellar temp (how beer should be served). The People were very nice. You could go in there and strike up small talk, which is not the case at other beer establishments. For people who say that it is dirty they must frequent Four Season/Omi type Bars. The bar is clean (see the one next door) and the setup is great. Great Beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Awesome!
I don't know who he last two posters were responding to, but I love McNeill's. I have also never found a place less tolerant of people with differing views than Brattleboro.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(06/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Ok, as a former Bratt resident (born and bred) who also had been to Three Dollar Dewey's I've got to jump in here after reading the reviews and clear some things up.

First and foremost, I'm almost certain, and Ray can correct me if I'm wrong, but they only have food because you HAVE TO SERVE FOOD BY LAW. But the nachos are great.

Second, to those that complain about the clientele, maybe you should just stick to the suburbs. Did you actually TALK to any of the people you denigrate? They would talk to you and not care a wit about what you looked like. Yes, Bratt is a hippie town, it always has been, and yes the BO can be a bit much, but to the person who was worried about the 'sleazy' side streets, you are judging books by their cover. In essence, Bratt is a blue collar town with a lot of rich retirees or second lifers. The only thing Brattleboro and it's residents don't tolerate is intolerance.

And lastly, it is the best beer I've ever had. The Alle Tage Altbier and the Ducks Breath are my favorites. I go back every time I am home and take bottles back with me. I feel blessed to have this brewer in my hometown.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Doyle Jay Doyle, St. Louis, MO
(04/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
HIya Kevin from Baystate N.Y. I just discovered this thing called "pubcrawler" and I looked up the infamous brewery in which I have worked at for 10 years. Most folks call it McNeills, while some of the die hard locals still call it "Dewey's". So 'Dewey' a favor and educate yourself a little bit about the meaning of culture. The culture of Brattleboro is without a dout, a rare and at times wierd alternative to the ever growing cookie cutter mentality that most people think of when it comes to small town U.S.A..I am very proud of the "clutter" and "stench" and especially my friends,the locals who sit and drink the beer that is made by my old friends deep in the post and beams of the cellar. I guess we have nothing to hide here at Mcniells. We certainly are more concerned about the quality of our lives and having good beer, good conversation, good friends, a good place to live, and feeling good in knowing that even if you are fat, ugly, gay, straight, young or old, shabby, manicured, or think plaid does in fact go well with stripes,you wil always feel at ease and unconditionally accepted in this little "hippie" town. Oh, by the way, tradtionally, beer is to be served at cellar tempature, not ice cold, and if you have ever paid attention to "culture" you would realize that our tables and chairs are very similiar to those found in old English Beer Halls, to refer to it like a cafeteria is really funny to me. As far as the beer goes, well it goes without saying,due to our numerous prestigeous metals and countless awards, prove that we are busy brewing and presenting quality beer is far greater to us freaks than spit-shining our bar to appease you and your kind. I love bartending at McNeills, I love all you beer geeks who have now become regulars, I love the folks who make this beer, I especially love the "old grey bearded Bush hating teachers" who come in faithfully, and if they are not able to show up some afternoon, they call in to let us know, and they always try to find themselves a replacement! You shouldn't feel afraid of what you don't understand, after all...We are not afraid of you. Cheers! Christa P.S. The bartenders aren't really short.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christa Porter Christa Porter, Brattleboro, VT
(02/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Good selection of beers, some on draught, some in bottles (and growlers to go as well). It has a German brewhaus feel and decor which encourages a communal sort of atmosphere. Good people watching (for Vermont) as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Asheville, NC
(01/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Still THE place to go for a great beer in Vermont (although the Alchemist is closing fast!)! Anything on cask, Ruby Red, Slopbucket Brown--they're all good. I always look forward to my stops here. Got to talk to some trekkers to the VT beer fest; "we know this'll be the best beer we have on our trip" might say it all. Spoke to some locals who did mention that the price for bottled McNeill's had shot up considerably. It's STILL worth it! Go Ray! Go McNeills!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I am one of the many who regularly make long road trips to McNeill's, and it's worth it every time. This is a beer lover's paradise. If you're looking for a yuppy "atmosphere," fancy food, or an Appleby's-like appearance, don't go and leave the beer for the rest of us. There are many places in beautiful Brattleboro to get food, but there's really only 1 place to go for beer. Amazingly large selection, great atmosphere (mostly regulars who appear to live at the bar, and who could blame them?). Trust me, it's worth the trip, wherever you're coming from.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Foster Eric Foster, Washington, DC
(03/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
Where to start? When my son was little, we went to Vermont every summer for a few days. I discovered McNeill's and used to bring Junior in for a glass of cranberry juice while I quaffed a few. I lived in Europe for a large chunk of my life and went to college(university if you are bi-lingual)in the UK. I am used to good and (the occasional) great beer. Every summer McNeill's was a destination. When my kid got accepted to an fancy New England college, I knew that Mc Neill's would be a destination every time I visited him. In fact, every time I visit, my son asks, "hey Dad, lets go up to McNeill's". It is not a short trip. He drinks the beer now. We get a hotel room and enjoy what has been called "the best beer in America". I don't know how you define "best" but it doesn't get any better than McNeill's. I lived through the early CAMRA days in the UK, have had innumerable pints, half liters and a few liters all over Europe and Asia, and McNeills will stack up to ANYTHING!! It is interesting to see some of the "seedy", "hippy", "dirty", and other disparaging comments here. Both my son and I look pretty straight but we have never been treated with anything but total courtesy at this establishment. I can honestly say that McNeill's is my favorite place to drink beer in the US.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Glenside, PA
(01/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
One of the absolute best places in the country!! Great character, better beer. Tiny place with FIFTEEN of their own brews. Made the 8-hour trip just for some of their beers especially Dead Horse I.P.A.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Hunt Tom Hunt, York, PA
(12/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
Nothing compares, the trip to this pub is always worth it. Enjoyed the Black Lager, oh hell, enjoyed them all. The highest in brewing standards. Perhaps the best beer in the world.....no joke.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Pete, New Haven, CT
(11/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Awesome!
I love McNeill's more than most any bar I've been to, but since Mr. McNeill went solo cleanliness has gone down hill a bit (though that wouldn't stop me from going there). What bothers me is B.O. of some of it's patrons and I mean man do they stink.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(11/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I visited McNeill's on our recent trip to Vermont. It's a little brewpub, laid-back patrons (yeah, there's a hippist flair) more interested in swinging the ring onto hook than fighting (if you haven't been there you don't know what I'm talking about; if you have, you know). OKAY on the beer:

I started off with the Barlywine- it was carmel and color with a pronounced bite of alcohol. Next the Stout, it was dark, full and everything a stout should be. Lastly, the Amber- it was not too hoppy, but you could tell they were there. Before leaving I stopped at the cooler and bought two 22oz bottles to go (the Amber & Duck' Breath Ale) I drank the Amber later that night and woke up with my first hangover in a decade! Did I mention you could taste the alcohol in that barleywine? Right now, I'm drinking the Duck's Breath Ale- it's dark carmal color, little hoppy- reminds me of an ESB- very drinkable. If I'm ever back in Vermont, I'm comming back here, but I'll the aspirins.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Westerville, OH
(10/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
It's that time of year again! I'm a comin', again. Beer is all I want, and it is fine, it is good, and it is cheap. I love them dang hops, and they have 'em here. This place rules! The town is cool as well. If you call it hippy, dirty, weird, or whatever, you are a gargantuan NERD!! Head back to the suburbs!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Neshanic, NJ
(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Awesome!
Without question some of the best beer you will find anywhere, ever. Sure the atmosphere is not for everyone (by the way I saw those Santa Clause looking HS teachers as well), but you must stop to taste the fresh, handcrafted brew. I go two to three times a year and it is a pleasure each time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Pete, New Haven, CT
(09/09/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.287 seconds) 03:21:50 54.204.127.59, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS