PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Angelic Brewing Company - Madison, WI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 02, 2014 @ 08:05 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WI > Madison > Angelic Brewing Company
Angelic Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Angelic Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 74.1 / 100
[Closed - May 2008]
323 West Johnson Street
Madison, WI 53703
United States
(608) 257-2707
Listed Since: October 1996
Last Updated: May 2009
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Madison, WI
Beer Guide for Wisconsin

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Angelic Brewing Company
44 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(20 within 5 miles)
1) Essen Haus
(0 mile)

2) Nattspil
(0 mile)

3) Brocach Irish Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

4) Maduro
(0 mile)

5) Mickey's Tavern
(0 mile)

6) Avenue Bar
(0 mile)

7) Genna's Lounge
(0 mile)

8) Paul's Club
(0 mile)

9) Dotty Dumpling's Dowry
(0 mile)

10) Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company
(0 mile)

11) The Old Fashioned
(0 mile)

12) J.T. Whitney's Brewpub and Eatery
(0 mile)

13) Come Back Inn
(0 mile)

14) Argus
(0 mile)

15) Regent Street Retreat
(2 miles)

16) Alchemy Cafe
(4 miles)

17) Ale Asylum
(4 miles)

18) The Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company
(5 miles)

19) Brasserie V
(5 miles)

20) Monroe Street Bistro
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Annie's Bed & Breakfast
2) Arbor House
3) Canterbury Inn
4) Collins House Bed & Breakfast
5) Gilman Street Rag
6) Livingston Inn
7) Madison Small Inn & B & B Assn
8) Mansion Hill Inn
9) Stadium House
10) University Heights B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN INN ON THE PARK
2) BW INNTOWNER AND THE HIGHLAND
3) CAMPUS INN AND CHANCELLORS CLUB
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES MADISON
5) CROWNE PLAZA EAST TOWNE
6) DAYS INN OF MADISON
7) EXEL INN OF MADISON
8) HILTON MONONA TERRACE
9) HOLIDAY INN MADISON EAST
10) HOTEL RUBY MARIE
11) HOWARD JOHNSON PLAZA DOWNTOWN
12) MADISON CONCOURSE HOTEL GOVERN
13) QUALITY INN AND SUITES
14) SHERATON MADISON HOTEL
15) SUPER 8 MADISON SOUTH WI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Agricultural Chemistry Building
2) Agricultural Dean's House
3) Agricultural Engineering Building
4) Agricultural Heating station
5) Agriculture Hall
6) American Exchange Bank
7) Badger State Shoe Company
8) Bashford, Robert M., House
9) Baskerville Apartment Building
10) Bellevue Apartment Building
11) Belmont Hotel
12) Bernard-Hoover Boathouse
13) Biederstaedt Grocery
14) Bowen, James B., House
15) Bradley, Harold C., House
16) Braley, Judge Arthur B., House
17) Brittingham Park Boathouse
18) Camp Randall
19) Cardinal Hotel
20) City Market
21) Clarke, Bascom B., House
22) Collins, William, House
23) Curtis-Kittleson House
24) Cutter, Judson C., House
25) Dean, Nathaniel W., House
26) Dick, Christian, Block
27) Dowling Apartment Building
28) East Dayton Street Historic District
29) Eggiman, Ernest, House
30) Elliott, Edward C., House
31) Ely, Richard T., House
32) Fess Hotel
33) Fire Station No. 4
34) First Church of Christ Scientist
35) First Unitarian Society Meetinghouse
36) Forest Products Laboratory
37) Gilmore, Eugene A., House
38) Grace Episcopal Church
39) Grimm Book Bindery
40) Hiram Smith Hall and Annex
41) Hirsig, Louis, House
42) Horticulture and Agricultural Physics and Soil Science Building
43) Hotel Loraine
44) Hyer's Hotel
45) Jackman Building
46) Jacobs, Herbert A., House
47) Kayser, Adolph H., House
48) LaFollette, Robert M., House
49) Lamb Building
50) Lamp, Robert M., House
51) Larson, August Cornelius, House
52) Lathrop Hall
53) Leitch, William T., House
54) Leonard, William Ellery, House
55) Lincoln School
56) Longfellow School
57) Lougee, George A., House
58) Machinery Row
59) Madison Candy Company
60) Madison Gas and Electric Company Powerhouse
61) Madison Masonic Temple
62) Madison Waterworks
63) McCarthy, Timothy C. and Katherine, House
64) McCoy Farmhouse
65) Miller House
66) Mills, Simeon, House
67) North Hall, University of Wisconsin
68) Old Executive Mansion
69) Old Spring Tavern
70) Old Synagogue
71) Old U.S. Forest Products Laboratory
72) Ott, John George, House
73) Pierce, Carrie, House
74) Plough Inn
75) Quisling Towers Apartments
76) St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church
77) State Historical Society of Wisconsin
78) State Office Building
79) Steensland, Halle, House
80) Stock Pavilion
81) Stoner, Joseph J., House
82) Suhr, John J., House
83) Thompson's Block
84) United States Post Office and Federal Courthouse
85) University of Wisconsin Armory and Gymnasium
86) University of Wisconsin Dairy Barn
87) University of Wisconsin Field House
88) University of Wisconsin Science Hall
89) University Presbyterian Church and Student Center
90) Wakeley--Giles Commercial Building
91) Washburn Observatory and Observatory Director's Residence
92) West Madison Depot, Chicago, Milwaukee, and St. Paul Railway
93) Wiedenbeck--Dobelin Warehouse
94) Wisconsin Wagon Company Factory
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 24 Carrot Catering
2) A 8 China
3) Admiralty Room
4) American Lunch Inc
5) Amy's Cafe
6) Angelic Brewing Co
7) Annex
8) Antojitos San Francisco
9) Argus
10) Avenue Bar
11) Babes Grill & Bar At The Depot
12) Bahn Thai Restaurant
13) Bandung Indonesian Restaurant
14) Beijing Restaurant
15) Bellini's
16) Bennett's On The Park
17) Best Burger On Campus
18) Best Western Inn
19) Big Mike's Super Subs
20) Big Mike's Super Subs
21) Big Mike's Super Subs
22) Bistro
23) Blue Cow
24) Blue Marlin
25) Blue Plate Diner
26) Blue Velvet Lounge
27) Bon Appetit Cafe
28) Brass Ring Bar & Restaurant
29) Brat Und Brau Catering
30) Brocach Irish Pub
31) Brothers Bar
32) Buck's Madison Square Garden
33) Bull Feathers
34) Buraka
35) Buraka
36) Burger Joint
37) Burger King
38) Bw-3
39) Cafe Continental
40) Cafe Montmartre
41) Cafeli
42) Call Cafe Palms
43) Canterbury Booksellers Cafe
44) Capitol Chophouse
45) Capitol Deli & Espresso Bar
46) Cardinal Bar
47) Caribbean Club
48) Caribou Tavern
49) Casa Bianca
50) Casa De Lara
51) Casbah Restaurant
52) Caspian Cafe & Catering
53) Catacombs Coffee House
54) Charley's Steakery
55) Chautara
56) Chez Vous Catering
57) Chin's Asia Fresh
58) China House
59) China Wok
60) Chinmi Restaurant
61) Chipotle Mexican Grill
62) Chocolate Shoppe Ice Cream
63) Church Key Bar
64) City Bar
65) Clay Market Restaurant
66) Cleveland's Diner
67) Club Majestic
68) Coffee Shop
69) Cold Stone Creamery
70) Come Back Inn
71) Comedy Club On State Street
72) Copper Gable Cafe Co
73) Coreana
74) Cousins Subs
75) Cousins Subs
76) Cousins Subs & Chocolate
77) Coyote Capers
78) Crave Restaurant & Lounge
79) Crescent City Grill
80) Crystal Corner Bar
81) Curve
82) Dancing Ground Coffee Co
83) Day Break Cafe
84) Day Break Cafe II
85) Dayton Street Cafe & Bakery
86) Dean's Downtown Delicatessen
87) Delmonico's
88) Dimitri's Gyros
89) Dog Eat Dog
90) Dotty Dumplings Dowry
91) Dotty Dumplings Dowry
92) Echo Tap & Grill
93) Edgewater
94) Edo Japanese Restaurant
95) Eldorado Grill
96) Electric Earth
97) Elegant Edibles Inc
98) Espresso Royale
99) Espresso Royale Caffe
100) Essen Haus
101) Etes-Vous Prets
102) Fair Trade Coffee House
103) Falbo Brothers Pizzeria
104) Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que
105) First Light Co
106) Flatiron Tavern
107) Florilegium
108) Fraboni's Italian Specialties
109) Fresh Express Subs & Salads
110) Frida Mexican Grill
111) Fyfe's Corner Bistro
112) Gennas Lounge
113) Gino's Restaurant
114) Glass Nickel Pizza Co
115) Good Day Coffee Shop
116) Great Dane Brew Pub
117) Great Taste Chinese Restaurant
118) Greenbush Bar
119) Guantanamera
120) Gumseng
121) Ha Ru Bong
122) Happiness Two
123) Harvest
124) Hawk's
125) Heinemann's Too
126) High Noon Saloon
127) Himal Chuli
128) Hong Kong Cafe
129) Hong Kong Wok
130) Horn Of Africa Restaurant
131) Husnu's
132) I'm Here
133) Ian's
134) In The Co Of Thieves
135) Irish Pub
136) J T's Friendly Tavern
137) Jade Garden
138) Jamerica Restaurant
139) Java Escafe
140) Jimmy John's
141) Jimmy's Pizza
142) Jingles Coliseum Bar
143) Jo's Tazzina Cafe & Cnfctnry
144) Johnny O's Restaurant & Bar
145) Jolly Bob's
146) Josie's Spaghetti House
147) Kabul Afghanistan Restaurant
148) Karaoke Kid
149) Ken's Bar & Grill
150) Ken's Cafeteria
151) Kennedy Manor Dining Room
152) Kennedy Manor Dining Room/Bar
153) Kimia Lounge
154) King Club Inc
155) King Of Falafel
156) Kitakuni Restaurant & Bar
157) Kitchen Hearth
158) Klinic Bar
159) Kollege Klub Inc
160) Kosta's Supper Club
161) L'etoile Restaurant
162) La Bamba Mexican Restaurant
163) La Hacienda Restaurant
164) Lao Laan-Xang Restaurant
165) Larry B's
166) Las Palmas Deli
167) Lazy Jane's Cafe & Bakery
168) Le Chardonnay
169) Little Village Cafe
170) Living Room
171) Luigi's Diner
172) Mac Taggarts Market
173) Madhatter
174) Madison Avenue
175) Madison Bistro Inc
176) Madison Labor Temple Lounge
177) Madison Masala Indian Food
178) Madison's Dining & Diversions
179) Maduro
180) Main Depot
181) Marigold Kitchen
182) Mc Donald's
183) Mc Donald's
184) Mc Donald's
185) Mediterrenean Cafe
186) Mekong
187) Melly Mell's
188) Mercury Deli
189) Michelangelo's Coffee House
190) Mickey's Tavern
191) Milan's Subs & Catering
192) Milans Subs & Catering
193) Mildred's Sandwich Shop
194) Moe's Southwest Grill
195) Mondays
196) Mother Fool's Coffee House
197) Muddy Waters Espresso Cafe
198) Myles Teddywedgers Cornish
199) Nadia's Restaurant & Grapevine
200) New Orleans Take Out Rstrnt
201) Nick's Restaurant
202) Nitty Gritty Restaurant & Bar
203) Noodles & Co
204) Ocean
205) Ocean Grill
206) Ole'n Ricks North Side Inn
207) One Heart Cafe
208) Opera House
209) Opus Lounge
210) Ordheum Theatre-Grand Lobby Re
211) Oriental Wak
212) Out To Lunch Catering
213) Paisan's
214) Papa John's Pizza
215) Paradise Lounge
216) Parthenon-Gyros Restaurant
217) Pasqual's Southwestern Deli
218) Pasta Per Tutti
219) Paul's Club
220) Pavlov's Pizza
221) Peace Meal Vegetarian Rstrnt
222) Pel'Neni
223) Peppino's Restaurant
224) Pizza Di Roma
225) Pizza Extreme
226) Pizza Hut
227) Pizzeria Uno
228) Plaza Cafe
229) Plaza Tavern & Grill Inc
230) Poor Richard's Cafe
231) Porta Bella
232) Potbelly Sandwich Works
233) Pub
234) Public House
235) Qdoba Mexican Grill
236) Queen Anne's Catering
237) Queen Anne's Catering Inc
238) Quinton's Bar & Deli
239) Quizno's Classic Subs
240) Radical Rye
241) Real Chili Restaurant
242) Red Shed
243) Regent Street Retreat
244) Restaurant Magnus
245) Restaurant Muramoto
246) Rick's Cafe
247) Rising Sons Deli
248) Rocky Rococo
249) Roman Candle
250) Rustic Tavern
251) Salvador's
252) Sam's Ten West
253) Saz
254) Shamrock Bar
255) Siam Square
256) Silver Dollar Tavern
257) Silver Mine Subs
258) Simply Soup Co
259) Sita's Kitchen
260) Sophia's Bakery & Cafe
261) Spices
262) Starbucks
263) Starbucks
264) State Bar & Grill
265) State Street Brats
266) Steep & Brew
267) Stevens
268) Stillwaters Inc
269) Stillwaters Inc
270) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
271) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
272) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
273) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
274) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
275) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
276) Sunprint Cafe
277) Sunroom Cafe
278) Supreme Pizza
279) Supreme Pizza
280) Sushi Box
281) Taco Bell
282) Taj Indian Restaurant
283) Takara Japanese Restaurant
284) Temple Garden Noodle East
285) The Harmony Bar and Grill
286) Tokyo Express
287) Ton-Ton Japanese Restaurant
288) Top Of The Park
289) Topper's Pizza
290) Tornado Club
291) Tutto Pasta Cucina Italiana
292) Tutto Pasta Trattoria
293) Uno Chicago Grill
294) Up North
295) Upstairs Downstairs Catering
296) Upstairs Downstairs Restaurant
297) Victor Allen's Coffee
298) Vientiane Inn
299) Vientiane Palace Restaurant Ii
300) Vientiane Restaurant
301) Wah Kee Wonton Noodle Rstrnt
302) Wando's
303) Wasabi Japanese Restaurant
304) Weary Traveler Inc
305) White Horse Inn
306) Willalby's Cafe
307) Wilson Street Grill
308) Wonders Pub
309) Yan's Soupcon Restaurant
310) Yummy Buffet
311) Zuzu Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Stopped brewing in 2005; closed altogether May 2008.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Crafton, PA
(05/16/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
No longer a brewpub. Still good selection of beers and good "bar" food. Close to UW campus, off State Street so avoid it on graduation weekends, Halloween, UW home football games, etc. Not too much parking available in their shared lot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from cathie cathie, madison, wi
(04/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
No longer brewing their own beers, but the Angelic is still a great place to enjoy a few. 16 different quality beers on tap, including various flavors from New Glarus, Summit, Oskar Blues, Lake Louie, The Capital, Dogfish Head. One of the best "guest tap" places I've seen.

Nachos were awesome.

When in Madison, a great weekend is walking between The Dane and The Angelic, and all the places in between.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Craig, Rockford, IL
(04/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Good So So Good
Haha. Wish I had read the last review before planning on dinner there. Found out too late that they don't brew anymore. I wasn't very impressed with the food either - my dinner was BBQ sauce with a rib in there somewhere. The tap selection is nice though. New Glarus beers and one of the only places in the area I saw Summit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daniel Banks Daniel Banks, Hopkins, MN
(11/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
No longer brewing. No big loss there. They gave it their all, they brewed with heart, but in the end they just couldn't compete with the exceptionally fine folks at The Great Dane a few blocks away.

BUT: they now have a very decent tap lineup, prominently featuring local breweries like Capital, New Glarus, and Wisconsin's finest nanobrewery, Lake Louie! The Louie alone makes it worth the stop. Still a nice spread and a comfy place to have a pint of beer that, frankly, is better than what this place was offering up before.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(11/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
City brew-pub. Good food. Tried all the beers, all were good. Parking lot, which is needed but small. College area. Said to be the best brewery in town (we found J.T. Whitney to be the best). Our bartender was just the greatest, nicest guy! Try it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Seven Nike Seven Nike, St. Louis, MO
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
This place was fairly quiet when we visited on a mid-Saturday afternoon. We liked the feel of the place, with the large rectangular bar and reproductions of classic art illustrating the angel theme adorning the walls. The number of available beers was a bit limited, however I enjoyed both of the brews I tried – a Scottish ale and their award-winning (and hoppy amber). We just had a couple of appetizers, so I won’t comment on the food. Service was adequate, given the light crowd at that time of day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(06/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So So So Good
Beer is a bit better than most of the danes beers. But the danes food, location and atmosphere cant be beat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gasholw gasholw, chicago, IL
(10/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Lousy Good
I keep hearing how great this place is, but after about 5 visits, I just can't agree. It's all about beer of course, and the selection is always limited. I'ver heard of their Belgian style beers but they've never had any when I've been there. Blonde = bland. Brown and stout are good. Just nothing spectacular. But yes, it is a college hangout and that may explain the inattention to detail.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mr. Weekend Mr. Weekend, Middleton, WI
(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So
I've been there several times, and always found a limited selection of beers (once they only had a few fruited wheats!). Some of the beers were at best just OK, with an occasional excellent beer. Food was just OK. Atmosphere on a Friday night was too packed with young yuppies-in-training, but bar service was good and fast in spite of it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Titan Beer Titan, Champaign, IL
(07/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This place definitely has some of the best beers around. The Bitter, Stout, and Porter are amazing...check out all the awards this place has won! Their brewmaster is really talented

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kurt, Madison, WI
(02/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
This place has the best beer in Madison by far...lots of hottie girls in there late night doesn't hurt either...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review DJ, Chicago, IL
(02/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Sinner’s stout was awesome! I would go as far to say that it is my favorite, well so far! Everyone that went I went with said that, next time we are in Madison, we are going to go back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin P. Monteith Kevin P. Monteith, Burlington, WI
(01/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Madison is blessed with two great Brew Pubs. The Angelic and Great Dane are great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cedar Rapids, IA
(10/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Tried the Bitter and Scotch Ale and both were excellant. I enjoyed the Scotch Ale so much I got a growler. Food was inconsistant though. I had the Fettucinni and Sausage. While the sausage was very good, the maranara sauce left something to be desired. I also had the cheese soup which was very good. The Blackened Tuna special that night was excellant. I'll definitely go back when I'm in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(09/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Angelic Brewing is one of the best microbreweries I have been to (which is over 100). All of their beers were outstanding - try whatever style you prefer and you will be happy. This place is much better than Great Dane, which I would not have thought from previous reviews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carey Williams Carey Williams, Lawrenceburg, IN
(07/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
If you go, try to catch a happy hour. Great prices on pints and appetizers. The bitter and the pale are both tasty, but the others are a little bland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jab jab, Madison, WI
(06/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
When we visited, they had the stout, which is better than the other stouts in town though not the big brew it was a few years ago. The APA was pretty good, and they also have a Scotch Ale, a belgian and the blonde ale. It is definitely a college place staffed primarily by students, but I've had few problems with the service. Might be because we stop in about once a month, so we know what to order, when to go, etc. Maybe I'd feel differently if I were from out of town but I don't feel negatively about it like some of the recent reviews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gargantua Gargantua, Madison, WI
(06/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
This place had a very nice atmosphere. I ordered the sampler and didn't find anything that stands out. The Bitter and the Porter were OK, but not great. I ordered a pizza, what a mistake. They were having a lot of problems with the taps and it sounded like it was an ongoing problem. Bar help was not knowledgeable about the beers. They all appeared to be college students so I guess the service will reflect this. It looks like my review supports the previous reviews. Parking was hard to find in the area, I think it's best to go to a local parking ramp. Overall I was not impressed with my visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daryl VB Daryl VB, Huntley, IL
(04/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy So So Good So So
Goto Great Dane. This place sucks. I went there when I was in school a few years ago then visited recently wow has it gone in the crapper. Very pricy for how crappy the beer is. Tasted old and gone off.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Jon, Phoenix, AZ
(01/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
The atmosphere and establishment itself was very nice and inviting. The smoke filled bar area was a minus. With only 5 beers, and nothing darker than a red, a selection of darker beers may increase patronage.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Dan, Hampton, VA
(11/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
Food was not cooked thoroughly and the service was slow and confused.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(08/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great Good
It's been over 3 years since I last visited Angelic and submitted a review. In that time I had hoped it would improve. I'm disappointed to say, it hasn't. I was lenient in my last review, owing to the relatively new status of this place. Most places get better with time and experience. Angelic has not. There were only 5 varieties available (still!), and none of them were that great. The stout was oddly carbonated and just didn't have the right balance; the abbey-style Belgian almost tasted like a wit... bizarre. the Scotch ale was too hoppy and not malty enough for its style. The blonde ale was good for its variety, but those are pretty damn hard to screw up. The nut-brown was actually rather good, but having nailed 1 out of 5 doesn't cut it for me. A true let-down, especially given the vast improvement its cross-town rival Great Dane has made over the same time period.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(02/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy So So
This is the lowest overall rating I've ever given a pub with such good beer. We were there for a Sunday lunch. In the no-smoking section, we were treated to used cigarette butts on the window sill next to our table. I asked to have them cleaned up, but ended up having to do it myself. The hostess didn't know what 'Cask conditioned' was. (That could be because they didn't have any.) We tried the bitter, the brown ale, the red ale, and the stout. All of them were good, although not better than the best beers available at the competition. Given my druthers, I'd go to the Great Dane.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Magill Stephen Magill, Jamestown, ND
(10/11/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.497 seconds) 08:05:49 54.196.199.117, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS