PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


The Church Brew Works - Pittsburgh , PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 23, 2014 @ 02:39 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Pittsburgh > The Church Brew Works
The Church Brew Works Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
The Church Brew Works
Overall: Great    Score: 78.1 / 100
3525 Liberty Avenue
Pittsburgh , PA 15201
United States
(412) 688-8200
Listed Since: October 1996
Last Updated: January 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pittsburgh , PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of The Church Brew Works
157 Reviews / 13 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:30AM - 11:45PM
Tue 11:30AM - 11:45PM
Wed 11:30AM - 11:45PM
Thu 11:30AM - 11:45PM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(69 within 5 miles)
1) New Amsterdam
(0 mile)

2) Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

3) Pittsburgh Brewing Company
(0 mile)

4) Bloomfield Bridge Tavern
(1 mile)

5) Brillobox
(1 mile)

6) Lot 17
(1 mile)

7) Bites and Brews
(2 miles)

8) Harris Grill
(2 miles)

9) Pittsburgh Deli Company
(2 miles)

10) Casbah Mediterranean Kitchen and Wine Bar
(2 miles)

11) Point Brugge Cafe
(2 miles)

12) Red Room Cafe and Lounge
(2 miles)

13) Kelly's Bar and Lounge
(2 miles)

14) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

15) Salt of the Earth
(2 miles)

16) Sharp Edge Beer Emporium
(2 miles)

17) Fuel and Fuddle
(2 miles)

18) India Garden
(2 miles)

19) Aspinwall Grille
(2 miles)

20) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

21) Spice Cafe, Global Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

22) Sidelines Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

23) Eleven
(2 miles)

24) Gooski's
(2 miles)

25) Meat and Potatoes
(2 miles)

26) Grille On Seventh was Seventh Street Grille
(3 miles)

27) Cioppino
(3 miles)

28) Gene's Last Chance
(3 miles)

29) Six Penn Kitchen
(3 miles)

30) Market Street Ale House
(3 miles)

31) Bella Sera Urban Trattoria
(3 miles)

32) Roland's Seafood Grill
(3 miles)

33) Kaya
(3 miles)

34) Mullaney's Harp and Fiddle Irish Pub
(3 miles)

35) The Parlour
(3 miles)

36) Bru Lounge
(3 miles)

37) Max's Allegheny Tavern
(3 miles)

38) Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
(3 miles)

39) Frank and Jerry's Bier Haus
(3 miles)

40) Finnigan's Wake
(3 miles)

41) Monterey Pub
(3 miles)

42) East End Brewing Company
(3 miles)

43) Bangkok Balcony
(3 miles)

44) Jimmy Tsang's Chinese Restaurant
(3 miles)

45) Squirrel Hill Cafe aka The Cage
(3 miles)

46) ScrapYard Brewing Company
(4 miles)

47) Smokin' Joe's
(4 miles)

48) Z-Lounge was Zythos
(4 miles)

49) S Bar
(4 miles)

50) Fat Head's South Shore Saloon
(4 miles)

51) Piper's Pub
(4 miles)

52) UUBU6
(4 miles)

53) Claddagh Irish Pub
(4 miles)

54) Double Wide Grill
(4 miles)

55) Hot Metal Grille
(4 miles)

56) Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh
(4 miles)

57) Birmingham Bridge Tavern
(4 miles)

58) Dish Osteria and Bar
(4 miles)

59) Tiki Lounge
(4 miles)

60) Cafe Allegro Restaurant and Espresso Bar
(4 miles)

61) The Smiling Moose
(4 miles)

62) Copper Kettle Brewing Company / Hough's
(4 miles)

63) Grandview Saloon
(5 miles)

64) Packs and Dogs
(5 miles)

65) D's Six Packs and Dogz
(5 miles)

66) The Map Room
(5 miles)

67) Trenta Cocktail Lounge
(5 miles)

68) Burgatory Bar
(6 miles)

69) Beer Nutz Bottle Shop
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Appletree Bed & Breakfast
2) Inn on the Mexican War Streets
3) Le Domanine
4) Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
5) Priory Inn
6) Victoria House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY CENTER
2) BRIDGESTREET LINCOLN NORTH SHOR
3) HILTON PITTSBURGH
4) MORNING GLORY INN
5) OMNI WILLIAM PENN
6) RAMADA PLAZA SUITES
7) RENAISSANCE PITTSBURGH HOTEL
8) RESIDENCE INN PITTSBURGH
9) SHERATON STATION SQUARE HOTEL
10) SUNNYLEDGE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
11) THE PRIORY HOTEL
12) THE WESTIN CONVENTION CENTER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 109--115 Wood Street
2) Allegheny County Courthouse and Jail
3) Allegheny High School
4) Allegheny Post Office
5) Allerdice, Taylor, High School
6) Alpha Terrace Historic District
7) Armstrong Tunnel
8) Armstrong Tunnel
9) Arsenal Junior High School
10) Baxter High School
11) Bayard School
12) Bedford School
13) Beechwood Elementary School
14) Beltzhoover Elementary School
15) Bindley Hardware Company Building
16) Birmingham Public School
17) Boggs Avenue Elementary School
18) Bost Building
19) Bridge in Shaler Township
20) Buhl Building
21) Burke Building
22) Butler Street Gatehouse
23) Byers-Lyons House
24) Byrnes & Kiefer Building
25) Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny
26) Colfax Elementary School
27) Connelly, Clifford B., Trade School
28) Conroy Junior High School
29) Consolidated Ice Company Factory No. 2
30) Dilworth Elementary School
31) Dollar Savings Bank
32) Duquesne Incline
33) East Liberty Market
34) Eberhardt and Ober Brewery
35) Emmanuel Episcopal Church
36) Evergreen Hamlet
37) Ewart Building
38) Fifth Avenue High School
39) Firstside Historic District
40) Fort Pitt Elementary School
41) Fortieth Street Bridge
42) Foster School
43) Frick Building and Annex
44) Frick, Henry Clay, Training School for Teachers
45) Fulton Building
46) Fulton Elementary School
47) Gardner-Bailey House
48) Greenfield Elementary School
49) Hartley-Rose Belting Company Building
50) Heathside Cottage
51) Henderson-Metz House
52) Highland Building
53) Highland Towers Apartments
54) Hoene-Werle House
55) Homestead High-Level Bridge
56) Homestead Pennsylvania Railroad Station
57) House at 200 West North Avenue
58) Houses at 2501-2531 Charles Street
59) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
60) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
61) Hunt Armory
62) Kaufmann's Department Store Warehouse
63) Knoxville Junior High School
64) Larimer School
65) Latimer School
66) Lawrence Public School
67) Lemington Elementary School
68) Letsche Elementary School
69) Liberty Bridge
70) Liberty School No. 4, Friendship Building
71) Lightner, Isaac, House
72) Lincoln Elementary School
73) Linden Avenue School
74) Longfellow School
75) Madison Elementary School
76) Main Building, U.S. Bureau of Mines
77) McCleary Elementary School
78) Monongahela Incline
79) Moreland-Hoffstot House
80) Morse, Samuel F. B., School
81) Ninth Street Bridge
82) Oakland Public School
83) Old Heidelberg Apartments
84) Osterling, Frederick J., Office and Studio
85) Park Place School
86) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
87) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
88) Pennsylvania Railroad Station
89) Pennsylvania Railroad Station-Wilkinsburg
90) Perry High School
91) Phipps Conservatory
92) Phipps--McElveen Building
93) Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Station
94) Pittsburgh Athletic Association Building
95) Prospect Junior High and Elementary School
96) Reymer Brothers Candy Factory
97) Rodef Shalom Temple
98) Rotunda of the Pennsylvania Railroad Station
99) Schenley High School
100) Schiller Elementary School
101) Scott, James, House
102) Sellers House
103) Seventh Street Bridge
104) Shadyside Presbyterian Church
105) Singer, John F., House
106) Sixteenth Street Bridge
107) Sixth Street Bridge
108) Smithfield Street Bridge
109) Snyder, William Penn, House
110) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall
111) South Side High School
112) South Side Market Building
113) South Tenth Street Bridge
114) Springfield Public School
115) St. Boniface Roman Catholic Church
116) St. John the Baptist Ukranian Catholic Church
117) St. Nicholas Croatian Church
118) St. Stanislaus Kostka Roman Catholic Church
119) Stanley Theater and Clark Building
120) Sterrett Sub-District School
121) Tuberculosis Hospital of Pittsburgh
122) Union Trust Building
123) US Post Office and Courthouse--Pittsburgh
124) Washington Vocational School
125) Westinghouse High School
126) Whitehill-- Gleason Motors
127) Wightman School
128) William Penn Hotel
129) Woods, John, House
130) Woolslair Elementary School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A J's Lounge
2) Abay Ethiopian Cuisine
3) Adrian's Pizza
4) Alexander's Pasta Express
5) Angelo's Pizzeria
6) Anna Misiaszek
7) Anthon's Restaurant & Bakery
8) Armand's Bar
9) Arsenal Public House
10) Atria's Restaurant & Tavern
11) Avanti Uno
12) Bar Millvale
13) Barbs Country Kitchen
14) Baum Vivant
15) Bellini Mediterranean Cuisine
16) Bikki
17) Bill's Tavern
18) Bloomfield Distributing Co
19) Bloomfield Sandwich Shop
20) Boo's Inc
21) Boston Market
22) Bottles Pub
23) Break-N-Eat Ind Caterers
24) Buffalo Blues
25) Burger King
26) Cafe Bellas
27) Cafe Sam
28) Cafe Soiree
29) Cafe Zinho
30) Calabria's Italian Restaurant
31) Candlelight Lounge Inc
32) Cappy's Cafe'
33) Capri Pizza
34) Casbah
35) Charlie Bly's Tavern
36) Charlie's
37) China House
38) China Inn
39) China Lin
40) China Palace Chinese Rstrnt
41) Cignas' Restaurant & Lounge
42) City Cafe
43) Club Havana
44) Coca Coffee Lounge
45) Coffee Tree Roasters
46) Coge Inc
47) Common Grounds Coffee House
48) Copper Pot Catering
49) Coyote Cafe
50) Cozumel
51) Cracker Barrel
52) Crazy Cones Ice Cream
53) Crepes Parisiennes
54) Cump's Super Sub
55) Damico's Place
56) De More's Pizza
57) Del's Bar & Restaurant
58) Dinette
59) Doc's Place
60) Dockside Cafe
61) Domino's Pizza
62) Duranti's Park Plaza Rstrnt
63) Eddie's Restaurant
64) El Dolce Cafe
65) Elbow Room
66) Enrico Biscotti Co
67) Ernies Diner
68) Fajita Grill
69) Flash's Ii
70) Flora's Grill & Grocery
71) Flora's Restaurant & Catering
72) Foundry Aleworks Inc
73) Frank's Pizza Shop
74) Frankie's Extra Long
75) G M Dog'n Burger Shoppe
76) Gator's Saloon
77) Gene's Last Chance
78) Geno's Restaurant and Big Belly Deli
79) Girasole
80) Girasole
81) Good Time Bar
82) Gran Canal Caffe
83) Grant Bar Inc
84) Graziano's Pizzeria
85) Grub Hut Restaurant
86) Hambone's
87) Happy Day Lounge Inc
88) Happy Family Restaurant
89) Hardee's
90) Harris Grill
91) Hermies Gyros
92) Houlihan's
93) Hub's Pub
94) India Palace Cuisine
95) J Harris Grill
96) Jens Juice Joint
97) Jimmy Tsang's Chinese Rstrnt
98) JJF Inc
99) Johnny's Coffee Shop
100) Johnny's Place
101) Just Cousins
102) JVS Tavern
103) Kar Hing Chinese Foods
104) Kate & Allie's Cafe & Catering
105) Kelly's Bar & Lounge
106) Kfc
107) Kfc
108) Khalil's Ii
109) Kim's Coffee Shop
110) Kim's Place
111) Kopec's
112) La Feria
113) La Filipiniana Teody's
114) Lamarca Floral & Cappucino Emp
115) Laverne's Diner
116) Le Perroquet
117) Linda's Family Kitchen
118) Lombardozzi Restaurant
119) Lorigan Street Bar
120) Lot 17 Bar & Grill
121) Luna Bar & Grill
122) Mama Rosa
123) Mama Rosa & Daughter
124) Mark's Place
125) Mason Jar
126) Max & Erma's
127) Mc Donald's
128) Mezzanotte Cafe
129) Midtown Tavern
130) Miyoshi Japanese Bistro
131) Monte Cello's
132) Moonlight Express
133) More' Restaurant
134) Morning Glory Coffeehouse
135) My Thai Restaurant
136) New Way Gourmet
137) New York New York Inc
138) Nico's Recovery Room
139) Nied's Hotel
140) Nirvana Deli
141) Nooners
142) Nova Cafe
143) Oh Yeah! Ice Cream and Coffee Company
144) Om Shiva Hookah Lounge
145) Orient Kitchen
146) Oriental Wok
147) P & G Diner
148) Pamela's
149) Panda Village Chinese Rstrnt
150) Panera Bread
151) Pap's & Us
152) Papa John's Pizza
153) Partner's
154) Pasta Piatto
155) Penn Main Cafe
156) Peoples Restaurant
157) Pesaro's Pizza
158) Pho Minh
159) Pita Garden
160) Pittsburgh Deli Co
161) Pizza Hut
162) Pizza Hut
163) Pizza Italia
164) PIZZUTTI'S Restaurant
165) Pleasure Bar & Restaurant
166) Quiznos Sub
167) Quiznos Sub
168) Ray's Marlin Beach Bar & Grill
169) Rhodesia Bey Restaurant
170) Rice King
171) Ritters Diner Inc
172) River Moon Cafe
173) Rocky's Restaurant & Catering
174) Roger's Bar
175) Ron's Pizza Palace
176) Rose Room Restaurant
177) Rotelli The Water Works
178) Round Corner Cantina
179) Salac's Inc
180) Salpietro Restaurant
181) Sammy's Famous Corned Beef
182) Sausalido
183) Scoops Plus
184) Seasons Pizza & Cafe
185) Seven Cee's
186) Shady Grove
187) Shadyside Saloon
188) Sharp Edge Bar & Restaurant
189) Si Senor Intl
190) Sidelines Bar & Grill
191) Silky's Pub
192) Soba Lounge
193) Soiree Catering
194) Sonny's Tavern Inc
195) South Avis Inn
196) Spaghetti Warehouse
197) Spak Brothers
198) Sree's Foods
199) Starbucks
200) Starbucks
201) Starbucks
202) Starr's Lunch Counter
203) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
204) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
205) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
206) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
207) Sufak's Round Corner Hotel
208) Sunnyledge Boutique Hotel
209) Supreme Pizza
210) Sushi Too
211) Sweeney Irish Pub
212) Taco Bell
213) Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
214) Taste Of India
215) Tasty Chinese Restaurant
216) Tea Lightful LLC
217) Teabags
218) Temperanceville Tavern
219) Tessaro's
220) Thai Cuisine
221) Thai Place Cafe
222) Thai Place Restaurant
223) The Quiet Storm
224) Thirsty's Restaurant & Saloon
225) Thunderbird Cafe
226) Toro's Ribs & Brew
227) Tram's Kitchen
228) Trolls Restaurant
229) Twisters Soft Serve Ice Cream
230) Umi Japanese Restaurant
231) Union Grill
232) Union Grill 2
233) Unique Pizza Factory
234) Upstairs Saloon
235) Urban Fusion Cafe
236) Vecenie's Distributing Co
237) Vermont Flatbread Co
238) Vi's Sweet Treats
239) Village Pizza
240) Vince's Pizzeria
241) Vocelli Pizza
242) Walnut Grill
243) Wendy's
244) Wendy's
245) White House Inn
246) Whitey's Place
247) William Penn Tavern
248) Young Bin Kwan Restaurant
249) Your Inner Vagabond
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Awesome!
Worth a visit just to see the beer works up on the old alter area and the stained glass windows. The beer was quite good also, had the IPA and was impressed. Did not eat but menu was large and many people were dining.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MARK MARK, palm harbor, , FL
(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Found this place while on a business trip. Took a 25 minute drive, but was worth it! I tried the Pipe Organ Pale and the Thunder Hop IPA (including the cask). The couple pints of cask I had were a little warm, but still superb. After trying junk they had at the Penn Brewery, this was truly heaven!!

The bartender Gene was excellent, and an additional reason for plans to go visit again when I’m in Pittsburgh in the future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shane Cherry Shane Cherry, Torrance, CA
(12/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
Stuffy and uptight! Felt like I was really in church.

I think breweries are supposed to be fun and a little more laid back.

We were the only customers for our waiter and it still took forever to get drink refills. The only thing he was fast about was trying to take away our plates. At one point somebody stopped eating for 2 minutes (while talking) and he walked over and started to clear the plate. Didn't ask if the person was done, just started to pick it up!

Never asked if the food was okay or if we needed anything.

Another family complained that the place was too dark ("I'm sorry, we don't want to sit in a dark corner") and the manager told them that the restaurant was in dinner mode and they couldn't turn any of the lights back on.......this was at 4 in the afternoon!

Nice place to see and a neat concept, but I can think of plenty of better places to spend my money!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Johnson City, TN
(07/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
Sorry but this place is turning into a tourist trap. On my last visit I got a $28 steak that was just OK. For that price it should be memorable.

I love barleywine but what they served me was almost undrinkable.

Service that in the past was always great was also substandard.

Too many changes to what was a great place. New brewer, new beers but they often miss the mark.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(06/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
The setting is what draws you here. It is a spectacular setting. Unfortunately, the beer is totally uninteresting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, philadelphia, PA
(05/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So N/A Lousy N/A
My party was seated on 03/14/2008 at approximately 8:50 PM. At 9:20 PM, we decided to leave after not one server greeted us or asked us for our drink order. Every server we stopped as they passed said the same thing "that's not my table, I'll find your server for you." They must have all been in the confessionals or too repenting for what they put in your food. When I tried to tell the hostess that we would no longer need the table, she replied "excuse me, I'm busy." I alerted the parties waiting that if they would like to eat (or drink) that night, they should go elsewhere and they took the advise. I will be sure to tell my friends and family about the unpious treatment toward clients at this establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(03/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
First, my quesdilla was burned. Had 3 of the seasonal beers. The Anchor Hammer was very good but the other 2 seasonals (one was a porter, can't remember was the other one was) were medicore. Have been to this establishment many times over the last few years and I really believe the overall quality is sliding downhill. Even though I live in Pittsburgh, places like John Harvards, Rivertowne Pub and North Country are better choices.

It also really bugs me that the one seasonal I had (7% a.b.v.) was served in a small snifter glass? Come on!

Bill Caraway

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(09/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Always a regular stop on a trip to the burgh, yinz need look no further then the Church n'at! Thw cask is typicaly always a good choice, the food is top notch and there is no better bartender than the rigth reverend Gene. slainte!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gary gary, somewherein, CT
(08/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
As far as how this place looks, it is incredible. The church is huge with a very tall ceiling and ample seating. The windows were stainglass and all the equipment rested on the alter area, how sacred!

The Celestial Gold- refreshing with a mild sweetness and mild hop feel. It was not the greatest gold out there, but an overall good attempt.

Pipe Organ Pale Ale- a refreshing ale with a mild hop feel to it. Kent Goldings do not ussually make a bold hop statement. It is an easy to drink ale.

Pious Monk Dunkel- This was my favorite beer on the list. I am not much of a German lager person and this one really stood out amongst the line of dunkel's I have had. It had a very rich lingering malt flaver and a minimal hop feel to balance it out.

Imperial Pilsner- an overhopped pilsner that boosted its flavor. It was very enjoyable and served in a flute glass. It was very easy to drink. Ussually pilsners really have no flavor, but this one had a refreshing hop feel.

Seasonal Thunder Hop IPA- This IPA tasted much better then the other pale ale on tap. You can defintaley feel the strong hop taste of Chinook due to its dry hopping.

Heavenly Hefeweizen- This was an above average attempt at a hefe.

I picked up a 22oz of the triple which i wish they had not stored in the fridge due to me wanting to properly give it some age.

The service there is very fast and efficient. There was a mistake with our pizza order and the bartender gave it to us on the house and gave us another pizza. They also have a nice cask of one of the ipa's available. I was in Pittsburgh for the weekend and made it to this place twice and definately intend to stop in again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(06/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
this was my second visit to church brew works, i love the use of the church space. we should convert all of them to brew pubs. :) a lot of free space over head maybe we could do something with that so it's not wasted space. kept clean here too. the food was very tasty, southwestern pizza. not pretty looking but delicious. the salad was crisp and fresh and green, one of the best salads around and i eat them a lot. ranch dressing is made in house. to drink i first had the blast furnace stout, perfect appetizer. next i had the belgian-style abbey dubbel. very pleased, wish i would've brought a growler home. maybe would have if i was offered one. my one gripe is when it was time to pay the bill, i didn't receive correct change back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from amanda amanda, pittsburgh, PA
(02/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
I've been here several times before but just could never seem make The Church a regular Pittsburgh stop once the novelty of the location wore off. Honestly, I was one of the many hopheads that just felt unwelcome due to the fact that they never seemed to have any hoppy beers on. Then... I read about the ThunderHop IPA Anniversary Beer and I determine that it is time to give the Church another try. Good call on my part. This was by far the best beer that I have ever had at the Church and I finally felt welcome. Even though this was a special brewed by the recently departed brewmaster, I can only hope that someone there figures it out that it needs to be made year round and added to the regular beer menu. Then I can say that the Church is a must stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(11/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
The managers and brewer need to look at the last several reviews. Four out of the last five have not been flattering - and I see why to some extent. The good? The service was very good and the Pizza is some of the best around. I enjoyed the Blast Furnace Stoudt and the Cask Conditioned Ale was decent. However, the Heffe Weizen and the Wit tasted kind of ackward. Very citrus like and frankly, you couldn't tell much difference between the two. The waiter basically said it wasn't surprising and there had been some problems with the Yeast. To be honest, I opt for John Harvards, North Country or Four Sons (even though the two are much farther to travel) because the Church Brew Works is overpriced and the beer quality (and choices) are not up to these other places. And when they have a good beer that's over 6% - you're charged more and it's given to you in a much smaller glass. To have basic Pizza, a kids meal, 2 beers and a growler refill came to almost $50 - a good $10 - $15 (or more) above a similar selection at the locations mentioned.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(09/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Arrived Thursday 12:30 lunchtime. It's a big beautiful place, not overcrowded while we were there. Parked directly in front of the place (no meters, little traffic, plenty of parking out back too).

After taking many photos of the outside - building and gorgeous flowers, we enjoyed a beer sampler and buffalo meatloaf. It came with a side of tasty bread, with ?garlic?herbed? butter to spread on it. DELISH.

On the plate was a generous serving of yellow squash & zucchini (grilled? in butter?, had a fresh healthy taste), a nice amount of garlic?mashed potatoes (fresh taters!) and on top of the meatloaf was a huge glob of fried potato string. I guess that's what I'd call it. Fingers came away nice and greasy, which my sis didnt like, so to appease her I ate the entire serving myself. See, with the leanness of buffalo, you need sides with some grease to it, no? ;)

This one dish easily served two of us (late 40s) for lunch. We had bread pudding for dessert, and it would serve 3. It was dense, not too rich, and a few raisins. We took half of it to go and ate it later in the hotel room.

Oh, the beers? They were tasty, well enough crafted with something to satisfy most. I dont recall specifics (4 days later), but I will return soon and try them again more critically.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jay jay, rockville, MD
(08/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
I've been to, and reviewed on this site, the Church before. It is still true--the real draw here is the building. The beer is not bad but nothing exceptional. The food is reasonably priced--till you see the small portions. The day I was there I ordered the special. I got a piece of grilled chicken about the size of a Bic Lighter on top of 2 tablespoons of corn salza with about 2 tablespoons of mashed potatos for about $9. The service this day was really disapointing. I was the only person at the bar there was one party setting in the "congregation." The bartender was not pleased at my post-lunch rush arrival and certainly let me know. Everything she said to me was said with a condescending tone of voice and a fake smile. I finally stopped trying to be pleasant and just left. If I lived in Pittsburg I'd probabaly visit a lot, but it's a long way from Hornell, NY and now that I've been there a few times, its not worth going out of my way to get there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(08/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Have to echo the sentiments of other reviewers. This is one of the wildest establishments I've ever visited. They could be pouring nothing but Budweiser and it would be worth a visit. I was there on 7/27 and got in the door about ten minutes before a healthy thunderstorm. Nice special effects. They had four regular taps running and four seasonals along with a cask conditioned ale. Started off with a pint of the Celestial Gold which was okay then went to the Pious Monk Dunkel. Much better. The food menu is fairly decent. Opted for one of the wood-fired pizzas, pepperoni. Put a serious dent in it but still had enough left over for breakfast. Had room for a couple more beers so I tried the cask-conditioned ale. It was good but not great. Finished off my stay with the Blast Furnace Stout. The best of the four beers I tried. Wanted to try their seasonal stout but the ABV was up around 9%. After getting lost/misdirected driving around the city a few times already even before imbibing, figured caution was the catch word of the day. As I settled up my tab, the late afternoon sun came out from behind the storm clouds illuminating the stained glass windows. Took that as a sign.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(08/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
I visited The Church Brew Works on July 13 while visiting Pittsburgh for the All-Star Game. I found the beers clean and certainly drinkable. The Imperial Stout (a specialty beer) was quite good. They only had about five of their beers available. Coming from Oregon, I guess I'm spoiled, bout I would've hoped for at least two or three more to choose from.

The untraditional Pittsburgh pierogies were a tasty, if small, appetiser. The chicken cordon bleu sandwich was only so-so, though far from terrible. I guess uninspired would be the word I'd use. The seven onion soup was definitely the best food I sampled. It was robust and enjoyable.

All of this said, much of the experience to be savored at The Church Brew Works comes from the building itself. It's a former church, for God's sake (pun intended). The stained glass windows are a hoot as is the brewhouse/altar. If you're religious there's a slight chance you'll be off-put by this unusual re-use of a former house of worship. But for most of the rest of us, it's just a cool place to down a couple near downtown Pittsburgh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Kane Ken Kane, Portland, OR
(07/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
I moved to PGH about a year ago. People told me I should check out the church brew works. The set up is a great. It was packed so I thought the food and beer would be great (with out that all you have is a church). The service was very slow because of the amount of people eating.

FOOD The food was ok but it was nothing to write home about however the food in Pittsburgh is not great compared to cities like New York, Boston, Phildelphia, Toronto and Montreal. I have eaten in all these places so I am not making this up. If you like wings and steak salads with French fries this is the city for you. Anyway the food was OK but I could eat the same food futher up Liberty ave and it would be 40% cheaper, but I guess they have to pay to heat the place. The Food was not bad nor is it the worst food in Pittsburgh.

BEER The Beer was Ok. I have had various micro brew beers from London, New York, Montreal, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, and Paris to compare. I was a little disapointed. The beer was not horrible and it is much better the brewery across the street (Pittsburgh Brewing Company). However there a very few beers that are worse than that. The Beer was unmemorable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
So we are enjoying our beers and I am looking around for the best spot to take a photograph. I see a balcony above the main entrance. I ask the bartender, "Can I go up there to get a picture?" "No", he says, "But we do sell these postcards that were photographed from that very spot". I was laughing too hard to be upset. Very unique place with great atmosphere and staff. Beers were above average. Well worth the trip to go there. Finally, a reason for me to go to church.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(04/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So So So Good
Brewery in an old church, hence the name, awesome! Blast Furnace Stout is pretty good stuff... Check out the confessionals while you are there. Neat place to drink....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TOM TOM, ST. CLAIRSVILLE, OH
(03/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great
I went saturday night with my boyfriend to the Church Brew Works. The IPA was delicious, and so was the stout. It was really a great experiance, and the service was phenomenal. We had to cutest waiter, I think his name was Adam. If I hadn't been with my boyfriend I definately would have left him with my number. Single ladies of Pittsburgh, you've gotta come check this guy out. While your at it, try the Pot Pie, it's really good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jenny Jenny, Pittsburgh, PA
(02/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
This has got to be the coolest building to host a brewpub! If you haven't been yet, It's worth going just to see it. In my opinion there regular beers are good, but I think are directed more to the dinner crowd. however, they always have one or two speciaty beers that make the trip worth it! The food is beyond description! They also have a great selection of to go's and merchandise. The staff is very friendly and attentive to your needs. You will not be dissapointed with this one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BENBREW BENBREW, HUDSON, OH
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm gonna come to Father Foamy's defense in the "gotcha" game someone's trying to play with the Father's "insane amount of hops" statement. Double IPAs are supposed to have an insane amount of hops. Maibocks are not supposed to have an insane amount of hops. Making a great beer necessarily means having some respect for the style of beer you're trying to interpret. Other American craft brewers would do well to note that more IBUs does not always mean better beer, especially those brewers that hop the holy hell out of styles that are supposed to be mildly bitter. I'm glad Church Brew takes note of when an "insane amount of hops" is appropriate and when it's not.

However, voting on your own place is bad form.

Cheers,

-The Enemy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chicago, IL
(11/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Lousy
So would this beer include that "insane amount of hops" you were talking about earlier?

Don't vote for your own place. That's just bad form.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review pittsburgh, PA
(10/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
Quick Update from the Church Brew Works.

Look for the Double IPA to come out the 2nd week of November for CBW's 9 year anniversary. Desihned for the hard to please hopheads, A 90 IBU rating will be achieved by the bountiful addition of 9 varieties of hops. 5 Liter cans of the Pious MOnk Dunkel (Gold Medal & Bronze Medal at GABF and Bronze Medal at World Beer Cup) and 5 Liter Cans of the 9.0% Milennium Trippel (our medal winning Belgium trippel)are available for sale "To Go" at the Restaraunt. Our GABF Gold Medal winning Blast Furnace Stout and GABF Gold medal Pious Monk Dunkel are always available on draft as House Beers. Cheers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Father Foamy Father Foamy, Pittsburgh, PA
(10/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I just wanted to comment on Mr. Averill's complaint of how expensive the takeaway sixpacks are at Church Brew. This is the result of Pennsylvania's archaic and silly alcohol retail laws that force retailers to sell by the case. To purchase less than a case (but no more than 192 ounces) of beer for take-home, you have to go to an establishment licensed to sell for consumption on-premise (read: a bar or restaurant). So bars are basically forced to sell take-home beer at a price point necessary to support a tavern business model. This creates sticker shock for out-of-staters who are used to buying sixpacks from package-only retailers that operate on a volume-price model. Considering a six-pack of average craft beer usually costs $13-$16 everywhere in Pennsylvania, $10 is actually a bargain.

(If you want to buy beer at retail rather than tavern prices, you have to buy direct from distributors that also operate as walk-in retail stores, minimum quantity one case. And not "mix-n'-match" cases either. If you want a couple of Sierra Nevada Pale Ales, you have to buy a whole case of the stuff from a distributor or buy a few at a bar and pay bar price.)

It's unfortunate that the steep price prevented you from taking plenty home to share with friends, but it's a statewide problem that Church Brew has no control over so please don't hold it against them.

Cheers,

-The Enemy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chicago, IL
(10/23/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.367 seconds) 14:39:27 54.82.166.45, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS