PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Amos Howard's Restaurant and Brew Works was Olde Hickory - Hickory, NC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 01, 2014 @ 07:59 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NC > Hickory > Amos Howard's Restaurant and Brew Works was Olde Hickory
Amos Howard's Restaurant and Brew Works was Olde Hickory Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Amos Howard's Restaurant and Brew Works was Olde Hickory
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
2828 West Highway 70
Hickory, NC 28602
United States
(828) 323-8573
Listed Since: October 1996
Last Updated: July 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Hickory, NC
Beer Guide for North Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
16 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Old German Schnitzel Haus
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hickory Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT SUITES HICKORY
2) PARK INN HICKORY
3) SLEEP INN HICKORY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Grace Union Church and Cemetery
2) Kenworth Historic District
3) Shuford--Hoover House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Akita
2) Aquarium Lounge & Restaraunt
3) Arby's
4) Asia Express
5) Atlanta Bread Co Bakery & Cafe
6) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
7) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
8) Burger King
9) Cafe Gouda
10) Checkered Flag Park
11) Chick-Fil-A
12) China Garden
13) Cici's Pizza
14) Emerson's
15) Godfrey's Steak Seafood
16) Hardee's
17) Hickory Jaycees
18) Hoopie's
19) Hooters
20) Iron Thunder Saloon Hickory
21) Island Bistro
22) Jersey Mike's Giant Submarines
23) King Buffet
24) L & L Catering
25) Laraedo's Saloon
26) Larons Catering Svc
27) Libby Hill Seafood Restaurant
28) Little Caesars Pizza
29) Longview Dinner
30) Madison's Rib House
31) Mc Guffey's Grill & Bar
32) Mount View Bar Bq
33) O'Charley's
34) Old German Schnitzel Haus
35) Playhouse
36) Sagebrush Steakhouse 563
37) Sarku Japan
38) Subby's Of Mt View
39) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
40) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
41) Taste Of The Orient
42) Tasty Fried Chicken
43) Ted's Kickin Chickin & Bar B
44) Tomatoes
45) Tommy's Pizza & Subs
46) Top Fourty Club
47) Turn 4 Pizza
48) Wayneo's Silver Bullet
49) Wendy's
50) Wheel's Sports & Cue
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
A very unique place, easy to miss (we did!) as you're driving--tucked next to what looks like an old closed business. People super friendly, although most customers were drinking BCM products and seemed puzzled by my sampler of 11 beers. Nothing stood out as superb, but there weren't any undrinkable ones either. Ales were fresh, nice. Barleywine was good but nothing special. Best hummus I've had in a while, portion huge. Friendly vibe; a relaxing stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(10/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
Absolutely worth a stop. Had dinner and a sampler here- I believe there were 11 beers in all, including 3 seasonals. The majority of the beers were true to type and quite good. Food was fantastic, they even have a Vegetarian menu section. Service was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Raleigh, NC
(09/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This was a great place - good beer, good pub food, good service, etc., etc. However, the beer is not brewed on site, but at the Olde Hickory Brewery in downtown Hickory. So, if you just want good beer and a good burger, then this is worth the stop. But, if you're one of those wants to visit the actual brewery, just beware that it's not made at the pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ct ct, Huntersville, NC
(09/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Awesome!
this place is just plain fun. a bit smokey, perhaps, but a real down-home rednecky roadhouse pub-brewery. can't wait to go back

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ray mcneill ray mcneill, brattleboro, VT
(12/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
which would to be ex. learn your englanch ya

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bobby bobby, hickory, NC
(10/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
This was a solid place. Had the 9 beer sampler. The IPA and porter were very good. The brown, red, lager I could drink all day. Didn't have any food. I like how the made booths out of the old wooden vats. For a complete review. Check out my site.

thedanandjohnbeersite.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(03/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Actually the date I stopped in was 7/17 but most readers would have probably guessed that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TomB TomB, Fairfax, VA
(07/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
Stopped by on 5/17 on my way to Tryon, loved the place, the people were great. As I had a way to go, just got a sampler and talking to the 'beerlady' whose name I didn't get, wound up trying them all. The Hickory Stick Stout and the Pale ale really stood out, along with the rest. I was really surprised at the quality as you wouldn't guess by looking at the establishment. Had a growler of Old Dominion Oak Barrel Stout with me which I brought in and shared. Didn't really have any food other than the fried cheese sticks. I'll be back again on my next visit South.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TomB TomB, Fairfax, VA
(07/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Love the Irish Stout. Bartenders are great. Hard to find but worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review A. Jackson, Denver, NC
(03/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
Beers were good but not outstanding. Had the Ruby, IPA and the hoppy stout. Had lunch while we were there. Good fish sandwich special. Service was very attentive which would be expected since they were not at all busy. I would go to this brewpub again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Huber Matt Huber, Suffield, OH
(03/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
This pub is not on the beaten path, so they deserve credit for producing a lot of good beer from a remote location. The 7 bbl system at the brewpub was left on standby as a new 25 bbl operation was built in a big, old warehouse in downtown Hickory. Tap locations include not only the former brewpub, but also an Old Hickory taproom on Union Square in the town center, as well as a lot of pubs in Asheville, to the west. Eleven varieties rotate through the taps, a good mix of lagers and ales. Ruby lager was mild and rich, state laws that limit beer to 6% abv did not allow the imperial stout to live up to the style. Nice bar staff, growlers and mug club available at brewpub only.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(11/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Barthel Dave Barthel, Morganton, NC
(06/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This is a very interesting place. Olde Hickory features five regular beers, a special seasonal beer and a cask conditioned ale. On Friday evenings a firkin is tapped. The food is very good and the atmosphere is unique, particularly the "booths".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Gearhart Bill Gearhart, Laurinburg, NC
(06/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Great So So
One of - if not the worst- stout that I have ever had. It was more along the lines of an IPA. If you're going to call it a stout, then you should follow the rules for brewing one!!! I usually love a good hoppy beer but this was way too much. Pale Ale was great though. Cool place. The booths are old wine barrels.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Pesa Paul Pesa, Greensboro, NC
(03/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
The new food was very good. The Table Rock IPA is my favorite. Overall Good Job.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from A. Jackson A. Jackson, Denver, NC
(04/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!
They were renovating their kitchen when we were there over the holidays. The cask conditioned ale was not as tasty as we had hoped, but everything else was, and the manager was way cool.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andy Andy, Atlanta, GA
(01/22/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.353 seconds) 19:59:14 54.82.142.246, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS