PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Isaac Newton's - Newtown, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 29, 2014 @ 12:10 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Newtown > Isaac Newton's
Isaac Newton's Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Isaac Newton's
Overall: Great    Score: 79.5 / 100
18 South State Street
Newtown, PA 18940
United States
(215) 860-5100
Listed Since: October 1996
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Newtown, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
22 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Brick Hotel
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Garden Grille At the Brick Htl
2) Hollileif Bed & Breakfast
3) Pineapple Hill Bed & Breakfast
4) Whitehall Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) RED ROOF PHILADELPHIA OXFORD
2) SHERATON BUCKS COUNTY HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Atkinson Road Bridge
2) Bridge in Buckingham Township
3) Eagle Tavern
4) Half-Moon Inn
5) Hampton Hill
6) Keith House--Washington's Headquarters
7) Lacey, Gen. John, Homestead
8) Leedom, David, Farm
9) Makefield Meeting
10) Newtown Creek Bridge
11) Newtown Friends Meetinghouse and Cemetery
12) Newtown Presbyterian Church
13) Palmer, Amos, House
14) Penn's Park General Store Complex
15) Smith Family Farmstead
16) Smith, William, House
17) Taylor, Benjamin, Homestead
18) Taylor, Peter, Farmstead
19) Thompson, John, House
20) Twin Trees Farm
21) Van Sant Covered Bridge
22) Vansant Farmhouse
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Aikko Sushi
2) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
3) Auntie Anne's Hand Rolled Soft
4) Becky's Newtown Deli
5) Chick-Fil-A-Newtown Shopping
6) Crabcakes
7) Goodnoe Farm Dairy Bar
8) Hometown Deli Inc
9) King Of Falafel
10) LA Stalla
11) Lotus Garden At Newtown
12) Open Air Affairs
13) Piccolo Trattoria
14) Quiznos Sub
15) Rita's Water Ice
16) Sal's Las Vegas Pizza
17) Shoe Cafe South
18) Starbucks
19) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
20) T J's Pizza
21) Temperance House
22) Village Market
23) Wrightstown Country Store
24) Zook's BBQ Barn
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
i live in newtown and this place is just a short walk away the food is always good and thier choice of beers are great. for even a better time try thier golf outing its great samples on the course food and a really great round of golf but get in early as it fills up quick

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from andy andy, newtown, PA
(03/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This should be one of the top places for beer lovers to visit in Bucks County. The beer selection is enormous, and Isaac’s offers a small guidebook, “Isaac’s Beer Treasury,” to help the novice navigate through his/her beer selection. 19 beers are on tap, and the selection changes weekly. A large variety of American-Craft microbrews and specialty imports are featured. Additionally, over 200 bottles are available, as well as frequent limited edition brews, in the event that you cannot find something to your liking on tap. Bottled beers are available for take-out, and growlers are also available, which allows you to take home a nice sized jug of your favorite draft beer. Oh, and they serve food, too. While the food menu does not compare with the beer menu in its depth, there is a fine selection of American cuisine. As a place to get a quality burger, Isaac’s is at the top of the list. While there is not a huge burger selection, those on the menu are excellent. The “Blaine’s Burger,” with bleu cheese, bacon, and a crisp onion nest, was very good. And, unlike burgers at many other restaurants, when you order it medium-rare it is actually cooked medium-rare. The prices are reasonable – $10.45 for the “Blaine’s Burger.” A non-smoking section is available, but, having never visited it, I couldn’t tell you much about it. The bar area is also the smoking section, and, in addition to seating at the bar, there are several booths and high-top tables. This area can get crowded, and when it does the sound tends to bounce around and be amplified, making conversation difficult. And, when the bar is quiet, the music selection often makes you wish it weren’t. But the crowd is friendly, and three TV’s always have some sporting event available for your viewing pleasure.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lower bucks, PA
(12/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Cut your mouth on glass? And waited 35 minutes for the manager? Gee, really sounds believable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Yardley, PA
(08/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So So So
I would not go here again. The food was cold as it was brought out and the service was not that great. The waitresses were rude and the value for the price is terrible!!!! The food is also very greasy and has the impression that it is not fresh and silverware was not cleaned. Most of the beer was flat, so when you are in Newtown, avoid Issac Newtons!!!!

George

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from george george, Buckingham, PA
(02/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
I have tried this restaurant after the fire and it did not get better. There were schards of glass in my salad and I cut my mouth and when I told the waitress, she did not seem to care. I asked to speak to a manager and it took him 35 minutes to arrive to only say "we will give you another salad for half-price. The beer there is warm and sodas were flat. I do not reccomend this place to anyone.

Thomas

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas Thomas, Richboro, PA
(02/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
I am shocked to see that no one has reviewed Isaac's in two years. Well, fear not: if you're wondering whether they're still up to snuff, they most definitely are. Beer selection continues to be quite excellent, it's served well, kept well, and the bartenders actually know what it is. The only problem with Isaac's is that it's busy, and that's not a bad problem to have. Stop in on a cool summer evening and enjoy the outside drinking area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Isaac's has bounced back better than ever from the fire in 2002; upstairs is expanded and looks great, new carpet and decor downstairs looks good, and the bar expansion is much appreciated. But the tap and cooler expansion, now THAT is outstanding. The deep, well-thought-out bottle selection backs up a constantly rotating tap selection that covers all the major bases of beer. Service is better than it used to be; only weak spot is table-side, which is still not up to bar service levels. Bartenders are quite beer-savvy. Patrons are too, and friendly with it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(02/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Paid our first visit this weekend on a lark. Never heard of the place but what a great place. An unparalleled selection of draft and bottled beer. Seems like they really rotate the taps very frequently. Friendly, knowledgable barstaff. We didn't try the food but it looked and smelled great. Can't say enough about the place. I used to rank the Gingerman as my top pick, but this place gives it a run for the money. If they had casks it would be no contest. We will be going back...too bad it is so far away.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Allamuchy, NJ
(01/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
Best beer selection by far. The bar manager knows his beer and always has a great suggestion for me. Every time I go its something new, and never a dissapointment. The food is decent, but the restaurant isnt what I go for. SHow up early, and sit at the bar...this is where the fun is. A must see for the beer fan

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Newtown, PA
(11/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
This restaurant/pub recently reopened after a fire destroyed the kitchen and also caused significant damage throughout the place.

After waiting 11 months for this place to reopen, it did not disappoint.

Before the fire, they had one of the best beer selections in Southeastern Pennsylvania.

Since the fire, the beer selection has gotten even better! They boast of over 200 beers, with many on tap, including several Belgium beers and many craft beers as well.

Anyway, this is definitely a destination for true beer lovers.

My wife and were worried when we heard they were expanding the restaurant as part of the plan to rebuild. It seems that more to often than not, bigger is not usually better, but in this case, it was. There are now many more seats available, even when busy.

They even rebuilt the bar area to provide for quite a few more seats in there as well.

They also have outside seating too.

Their menu still offers much of the stuff they did well, and also has expanded to include even more. The daily speacials are also something to check out.

This is definitely a place to go for a great beer and even a great place to enjoy that brew with something from the kitchen.

This is one place to check out for sure!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Langhorne, PA
(06/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have been anticipating Isaac's re-opening since the fire last year. I've seen pictures of the extented bar and ultra-modern kitchen. I am expecting great things from one of the best resturant-taprooms ever.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Michael, Yardley, PA
(05/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mayer stutman mayer stutman, holland, PA
(12/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Scotch Plains, PLEASE go back. You are the only person I have ever heard of who didn't love Newton's. In fact, I'm moving cross state next week, and my boyfriend and I are already planning to return for the grand re-opening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brooke Brooke, Langhorne, PA
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Sorry Scotch Plains (that is your name, right?) had a bad time in my local. I've never had any problems with beer-ignorant servers, but then, I always sit at the bar. The bartenders know what they're talking about. Anyway, ISAAC'S HAD A FIRE in early June. They will probably be closed most of the summer of 2002, but are rebuilding and will re-open. Bummer. Now I gotta go to Philly to get good draft beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(07/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So
I don't know what the raves are all about. They were out of several drafts on the list. I ordered Wechenstephan Bock (new to me). They were out of it, so the waitress (or maybe the bartender)without asking substituted a Weissbeer "Because it's also German" (!!?) Huh?? Then made a face when I turned it down. She never asked if we wanted a 2nd round of drinks during the meal, only showed up to ask if we wanted the check. Yes, lets get out of here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Scotch Plains, NJ
(04/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
excellent beer seclection.They serve chimay, yards, and VICTORY to name a few. Those chimay's are also inexpensive compared to other taprooms. The food is good and offer good seclection. Service is good. Agood place to take friends and enjoy good food and beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from j yukanis j yukanis, doylestown, PA
(03/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Levittown, PA
(02/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Doylestown, PA
(12/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
My wife and I go there often. It has a small but an awesome selection of beer. And it changes often. The Caeser is unbelievable. So is the Calzone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Levittown, PA
(11/19/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Belgians on tap! Good selection of other imports, local micros, yum. Service good, lots of kinds of Caesar salad (needs more garlic!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Jenkintown, PA
(10/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Good
If you are looking for great beer with a nice atmosphere; this is it. The seafood fried diablo is excellent; the other food is ok.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Croydon, PA
(08/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Good
If you are ever in the East part of Bucks County, a stop at Issac Newtons is highly recommended. It is a rare event when I can go into a restaurant/bar and find a beer that I have never had, let alone never heard of. Not a real "bar" atmosphere though, a place to hang out with friends, not enjoy the place. Food is very diverse, but similar to a Bennigans.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Schwabe Robert Schwabe, Morrisville, PA
(08/06/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.338 seconds) 12:10:26 54.82.170.223, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS