PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Sweetwater Tavern - Centreville, VA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 22, 2014 @ 11:16 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VA > Centreville > Sweetwater Tavern
Sweetwater Tavern Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Sweetwater Tavern
Overall: Great    Score: 77.5 / 100
6300 Multiplex Drive
Centreville, VA 20121
United States
(703) 379-6500
Listed Since: October 1996
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Centreville, VA
Beer Guide for Virginia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
42 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Jake's Restaurant and Pub was Hero's
(5 miles)

2) Brady's Irish Pub
(5 miles)

3) Philadelphia Tavern
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bennett House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES DULLES S/CHANTILLY
2) BEST WESTERN BATTLEFIELD INN
3) BEST WESTERN MANASSAS
4) BRIDGESTREET CHATSWORTH PARK
5) COMFORT SUITES MANASSAS
6) COUNTRY INN & SUITES MANASSAS
7) DAYS INN MANASSAS
8) EXTENDEDSTAY CENTREVILLE
9) FAIRFIELD INN MANASSAS
10) HAMPTON INN MANASSAS
11) HOMESTEAD DULLES CHANTILLY
12) MANASSAS COURTYARD
13) RED ROOF WASHINGTON DC MANASSAS
14) SIERRA SUITES CHANTILLY
15) SPRINGHILL SUITES CENTREVILLE
16) SUPER8 MANASSAS I 66 WASH DC A
17) WESTFIELDS MARRIOTT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ben Lomond
2) Conner House
3) Signal Hill
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Anthony's Restaurant Inc
2) Armand's Chicago Pizzeria
3) Ashoka Indian Cuisine
4) Barbecue Country
5) Baskin-Robbins
6) Belle Pizza
7) Burger King
8) C & H Inc
9) Castillo Cafe
10) Chez Marc Restaurant Francais
11) Ciro's New York Pizza
12) Doc Harry's House Of Ribs
13) El Sabor Latino
14) Fortune Gourmet
15) Fratelli Restaurant Inc
16) Genghis Khan
17) Good Fortune Restaurant
18) GSW Inc
19) Hao Hao Buffet
20) Hermanos Restaurant
21) Hunter Mill Deli
22) Joe's Pizza & Subs
23) Kabob Express II
24) Little Italy Deli
25) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
26) Mc Donald's
27) Mc Donald's
28) Myungin Restaurant
29) Oriental Express
30) Pho Bistro
31) PHO Young Chow
32) Pizza Bolis
33) Pizza Hut
34) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
35) Pyung Lae Oak
36) Quiznos Sub
37) Ruby Tuesday
38) Shade Tree Restaurant & Pub
39) Shark Club Billiards & Cafe'
40) Sho-Chiku Japanese & Korean
41) Sino's Inn Chinese Restaurant
42) Soo Won Ok
43) Starbucks
44) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
45) Sweetwater Tavern
46) Tippy's Taco House
47) Yorkshire Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Great Good
I visit Sweetwater several times a year and use their growler (smart economic move if you want to enjoy thier beer at home!) for bringing brew home. Food selection is very limited for vegetarians (which I am), but quality is good. Best beers in my opinion are their Porter and IPA. Service is consistently excellent. Atmosphere is comfortably casual. Notes: Unless recently changed, bar area allows smokers. No large table accomodations for parties greater than 6 adults. Noise during most periods of operation make it extremely difficult to hear presentations such as retirements, going away parties, wedding showers, etc that require more than one booth.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Clifton, VA
(12/29/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Aww, thanks. I remember you well too. Table #95! See ya next year ;) -April

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from april april, centreville, VA
(01/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
This is the second time in two years I have visited the SweetWater Tavern. Overall, I'm impressed with the quality of the beer and service. The food was Excellent as always and had a very nice gal named April who knew quite a bit about the beer. They added a really nice atrium to the outside area of the bar that was previously uncovered last year. Now you get a nice "outdoor ambiance" and still stay warm in the Virginia winter. The general manager (Don) was a nice guy as well and explained some details of the brewery and the brewer. Overall, a really good experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Warren Jason Warren, Novato, CA
(11/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
I seem to recall that I visited this Sweetwater location many years ago, so a stop while passing through was definitely in order. I get frustrated when a place brews countless styles during the year, and only has tap space for 5. All Sweetwaters seem to fit this bill (Rocky River in Ohio, too). Tried 2 brews I think are new to me. Wild West Fest was malty and unfiltered, actually also was pretty hoppy for an Oktoberfest style. Flying Armadillo Porter wasn't much at all, kinda thin. Barmaid very attentive and pleasant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(02/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Great Great
They only had 5 mediocre beers on tap. Oktoberfest was the seasonal on tap and fairly decent. Only problem is that I believe the brewer may have a bug in his system. The Oktoberfest and the Pale both had a slight smokey after-taste that is rather unpleasant. I remembered a similar flavor in the beer at Bison Brewery in Berkely CA. I told the brewer about it 4 years ago and he didn't believe me. 6 Months later I saw a posting from him on an anonymous beer website asking how to rid the transfer lines of the off-flavor. Bottom line is the beer was decent, but I did sense something wrong. The Stout (Black Stallion I believe?) was ok. It was nearly on the border of a strong Porter, but I find this to be the case with most East coast breweries/brew pubs. All in all, it was a decent tasting. The food is really good and the service was top-notch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Warren Jason Warren, Novato, CA
(10/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Good
For a Wed night the place was packed. I always get annoyed when a craft/microbrewery tries to replicate mass marketed piss. They did this with wasting a tap handle on a low carb beer. I had the summer wheat and the porter. The wheat was not as Bavarian as I like but still good. The porter was very good. The menu listed a Dubbel but it was out. The food and service were good. Only having four beers available and one of them a low carb is my only complaint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Leaman Ryan Leaman, Fredericksburg, VA
(06/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I was just there last night, and the seasonal right now is the Weisenbock. If you are in the area, stop by while the have it on tap. Its a wonderful brew for the cool months, very drinkable, notes of banana and bubble gum, almost like a classic Belgian brown. Wonderful. In general, this is a great place to grab a beer, but they are almost always crowded, and the food is not cheap. Its good, and so is the staff, but this is not the home of cheap pub food. Worth the price, I think.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Ware Chris Ware, Fairfax, VA
(02/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have been enjoying SweetWater Tavern for at least 5 years now. I am a homebrewer and have travelled quite a bit and visited dozens of good brewpubs. This is one of my all time favorites, because the beer, food, and service are consistently top notch.

One of the reasons I like SweetWater is that, compared to many other brewpubs, the beers they serve are distinctly good within their styles. This place knows how to innovate a good recipe; they are not simply trying to brew what everyone else is doing. I especially like Snake River Pale Ale (now known as Great American Pale Ale). I was astonished to see a review which said it was nondescript (there can be off days) but to me, it is a well balanced, delicious pale ale, distinctly delicious. All of the beers I have had here are this way, with the possible exception of their light, but that's not the goal of lights, right?

The selection is not extensive but the name of the game here is quality vs quantity. There are usually five or so choices available.

The food is outstanding. I have never had anything that wasn't superb, from a burger to a salad to a steak. And the service is always well above average. If you are in the DC metro area, note the locations of this top notch brewpub and get ready for a great brewpub experience. It is often crowded, but they have a call-ahead list you get get on well before you get there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Leesburg, VA
(09/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is THE place to go in our neck of the woods. It is really the best restaurant in the area and is one of the few places that actually deserves its long lines! A tad expensive, but a great place to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Erich Karch Erich Karch, Centreville, VA
(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place is packed 7 days a week. They tell you an hour, but I laways get in in about 30-40 minutes. They have 5 fresh brews always up ranging from a stout to something close to Bud, for the faint-of-heart.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from D Kezer D Kezer, Manassas, VA
(12/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
I live a couple miles away and have been here maybe 30 times over three years. It's part of a small local chain that includes Mike's American Grill and Artie's.

As noted by others, the beer is not going to impress hardcore beer geeks, but it's always fresh, and there's a good seasonal rotation of brews with enough character to keep me coming back even if I'm not eating. Here in deepest, darkest suburbia, it's a rare pleasure. The food is consistently excellent. They take their beef seriously - there's a discernable difference between rare and medium rare, for instance, and the cuts are of a quality that makes ordering rare worth it. The prime rib, when you can get it, will impress ANYONE. Prices are high compared to the chains, but I've paid twice as much at the expense-account steakhouses for lesser meals. The rest of the menu is mildly Tex-Mex, and we've tried most of it without disappointment. Salads are absurdly huge, but well-made with notably fresh produce. Service is well-coordinated and generally good, though waits can reach an hour even on weeknights. There are no reservations, so call ahead to get on the list. Sweetwater isn't a quirky local joint or some artist's labor of love - it's probably one of the busiest restaurants in the DC area, and deservedly so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andy K. Andy K., Centreville, VA
(08/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Every Friday I go for a few beers and a fine lunch. The service and people there are certainly the best in the business. Jeff makes some of the best beers I've had yet. Finest, Family resturant around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Howard Blair Howard Blair, Reston, VA
(01/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Great Great
I had the fillet mignon. It was the best I have ever tasted. Cooked to perfection, flavor to die for. The loaded baked potatoe was superb

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Madison, AL
(11/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Great Good
We came on a Friday night and the wait was over an hour, because business was booming. Once we were seated, the servers were very attentive and quick. Everything was wonderful. From the blue crab fritter to the ceaser salad and prime rib. It was fantastic!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donyell R, Donyell R,, Woodbridge, VA
(10/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Loved it. Everyone was friendly. You must go to this Tavern if you are in the area. Wish there was one by me in Oregon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amy Amy, Astoria, OR
(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Giddyup Stout blew me away! Best coffee flavored stout I EVER had! The Snake River was a very good ale as well. Service was very good as well as the food, although a bit pricey. Pint glasses are a good deal for $1.50 when you buy a beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from timmy timmy, glenn dale, MD
(05/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Great Great
i was in from toronto, and i found the beer, good, except for the octoberfest lager (it was excellent). normally i find the draft beers in the states quite light, thin and lacking body, but this was almost fit for a canadian to drink! good day, eh

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Grimsdale Bryan Grimsdale, Toronto, ON
(11/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Great Great
i was in from toronto, and i found the beer, good, except for the octoberfest lager (it was excellent). normally i find the draft beers in the states quite light, thin and lacking body, but this was almost fit for a canadian to drink! good day, eh

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Bryan, Toronto, ON
(11/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Awesome! Good
Welcome to Corporate America food operation. An atmosphere that youth seemed to be attracted to. Suprisingly the food quality was excellant and service even better. They must get a bonus for each plate they bring back to the kitchen as no less than 5 separate people were in a hurry to clear any plate that had been on the table more than some acceptable amount of time. The beer was very disapointing. I tried the sampler, which was comprised of Sweetwater Light, as close to Bud Light as one can get; Sanke River Pale Ale, nondescript; Boot Hill Brown, slight coffee taste and really mellow; Jackalope Canyon Ale, a wheat ale that is also nondescript; Bishop Pass Ale, full bodied, passable, fruity and spicey as they described.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(09/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
The place was busy but with no wait around 4:30 PM on a Saturday. The service and food were good, but the items were a little pricey, I thought (but likely in-line with the area). No beer stood out, but none offended. Snake River Pale Ale (bottled as Sweet Water Ale) and Boot Hill Brown Ale were OK. It's hard to remember the difference between Pale Face Summer Wheat Beer and Jackalope Canyon Ale, both unfiltered wheats. Sweetwater Light was just that; it could make a good introductory beer for someone who's not up to a pale ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(08/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Call ahead. Try Sunday evening. Service was among best I've seen anywhere, all waiters worked as a team. Food - salad, crab cakes, ribs, shrimp, chocolate waffle all excellent. Pale ale, available in bottles, particularly good, but all beers were well made. The porter with chiles wasn't too spicy, but well balanced.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Cullen Ron Cullen, Colonia, NJ
(05/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Awesome! Great
My wife and I visited Sweetwateron a Thursday afternoon, and found the restaurant 1/3 full. They offered 5 beers: Sweetwater Light, Snake River Pale, Painted Lady Lager, Roadkill Barleywine and Last Chance Lager. The Snake River Pale was the only brew I would consider "above average". The food was very good, although they spend more time on presentation than quantity. The service was excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McKenna Mike McKenna, Aberdeen, MD
(03/12/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great
The place is busy, we had a 30 minute wait for a seat on a Tues. and that's normal. THe service was excellent, they have quite a staff running around and they are very organized. The food was great! The beer was good but they had too many lagers for my tastes. They had a LIGHT beer that was like a, gasp, Budweiser!! and several different very good Lagers, dark and light and a Pale Ale that was okay. What disappointed me was that they didn't have any dark beers. I was looking for a Porter or a Stout for after dinner and none were to be found. All in all I think it's a great brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Gravel Steve Gravel, Portsmouth, RI
(01/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
I've got nothing bad to say about the selection of beers. Microbrew type places usually appeal to me. The convention of people, although, is a different story. Let's take all the 30 something single (or "single for tonite baby" if you know what I mean) guys from nearby UUNET or SIGNAL and put them into the bar area. Then, take about fifteen 30 something women and throw them into the mix, and what's that spell. G-O-I-N-G H-O-M-E A-L-O-N-E A-G-A-I-N, cause you gave the same line to there girlfriend last week.

If you wanna comment to this or any other review of mine: andyffx@hotmail.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, Fairfax, VA
(11/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I've been here several times, and it's always been a positive experience. I especially like the pale ale, and the foods always good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Horn Pete Horn, Dumfries, VA
(10/28/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.693 seconds) 23:16:35 184.73.104.82, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS