PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Weeping Radish - Manteo, NC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 19, 2014 @ 02:22 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NC > Manteo > Weeping Radish
Weeping Radish Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Weeping Radish
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.7 / 100
Highway 64
Manteo, NC 27954
United States
(919) 473-1157
Listed Since: October 1996
Last Updated: April 1999
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Manteo, NC
Beer Guide for North Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Weeping Radish
50 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Weeping Radish Brewery
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Cameron House Inn
2) First Colony Inn
3) Island House of Wanchese B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN SOUTH OCEANFRONT
2) ELIZABETHAN INN
3) QUALITY INN JOHN YANCEY
4) QUALITY INN SEA OATEL
5) RAMADA PLAZA NAGS HEAD BEACH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Creef, George Washington, House
2) First Colony Inn
3) Meekins, Thedore S., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1587 Restaurant
2) Big Al's Soda Fountain & Grill
3) Ching King Part Ii
4) Clara's Seafood Grill
5) Darrell's Restaurant
6) F B Duncan's Barbeque
7) Full Moon Cafe
8) Garden Pizzeria & Deli
9) Green Dolphin
10) Half Moon Junction
11) Hungry Pelican
12) Hurricane Mo's Restaurant
13) Island Central Grill
14) Island Pizza & Steam Bar
15) Magnolia Grill
16) Mc Donald's
17) Ming Hing Restaurant
18) Poor Richards Sandwich Shop
19) Striper's Bar & Grill
20) Stripers Bay Club Catering
21) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
22) Waterfront Trellis
23) Weeping Radish Brewery
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
They were out of several types and what they served was flat in taste and imgination. The Oktoberfest was maltless in taste, I would have never known that it was suppose to be unless the waiter told me. There were 9 of us and we ordered lunch also. 3 orders were wrong & over cooked ( still was charged) and salt seemed to be the main ingredient in most dishes. Our waiter was clueless on most aspects especially getting the food out of the kitchen. What a major let down, we had heard so many good things about the place. I guess the previous location concentrated on true beer qualities and this new location puts food importance in front of beer brewing. Note: Not worth the drive off the Bank.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. Klewsaat G. Klewsaat, Neshanic Station, NJ
(09/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Lousy So So
We've been long time visitors to the OBX and always saved a night to go to the Weeping Radish in Manteo. Last year was the final year for that location and while we were sad to have that tradition end, we welcomed the opportunity to start anew at the Jarvisburg location.

We realized that the new location would not be the same as the Manteo location, but we certainly did not expect to be as completely disappointed as we were. They were out of several of the beers we wanted to enjoy and while the food we received was good, the waitress forgot to place the order of one of my companions. Unfortunately, he didn't receive dinner that night as they were shooing us out so they could close. Their new hours are terrible, closing at 7pm.

We've decided to end our nearly 2 decades of Bavarian tradition and no longer visit the Weeping Radish :(

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Baltimore, MD
(08/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This Weeping Radish in Manteo is sadly closed. In fact all the Weeping Radish location in the Outer Banks are closed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John R Jansen John R Jansen, Virginia Beach, VA
(05/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
The smell of Beer brewin and Kraut cookin, how can anyone find that offencive....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Franklin, PA
(12/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Always worth the stop for a beer or two and some spiced steamed shrimp.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beer  drinking mike beer drinking mike, lagrange, OH
(11/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
One of my favorite brew pubs, if you are anywhere near the Outer Banks, you must make a stop here. The beers are excellent, the heffe and the Black Radish being two of my all time favs. The seasonal beer selection is good too. Food is great. I usually sit in the pub section, and the service can be a bit slow, but hey, you are on island time, right? They recently started up a brew school, which I haven't attended yet, but is an all day event that includes beer, food, and helping the brew master create a batch of seasonal beer. Talk with the owner, Uli (pronounced Ooh-lee), if you get a chance, and he will tell you how he had the state law changed in NC that allowed him to open NC's first brewery restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Ware Chris Ware, Fairfax, VA
(10/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good N/A
This is a large place with a great beer garden, that is also large. The beers are German style, as is the food. The Hefeweizen is probably the best and most authentic of their beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Jenson Greg Jenson, Chicago, IL
(10/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Good
Service was outstanding. Our server made sure that we had a very pleasant afternoon. I didn't particularly care for the soup and she actually removed it from our bill. Don't miss the fries. They were the best part of the trip. The Fest and Corolla Gold were good beers but the wheat beer was not a favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McCormack Mike McCormack, Greenville, NC
(06/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
They actually dont brew the beer here as many may know...its brewed by Clipper City in "my backyard" near Baltimore, but they plan on opening a real brewery about 15 miles north soon. very nice folks and a great palce to have a beer!! a little bit o Germany in NC

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review beertrekker, catonsville, MD
(05/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So So So Awesome! Good
We stay in Duck every summer and always keep one evening open for a trip to the Manteo location. They are always very accomodating - we had 10 adults and 7 kids with us in '03 and made reservations which were met.

Staff and service has always been good but we go for the liter mugs of beer. Last time I was there I had the Heff and the Black Radish. Both were good, the Heff was very tasty with no end of aftertastes swirling around.

The wife bought a case of Corolla Gold to give away to family. Upon handing over the first 6 pack, my Father -in-law reads "Bottled in Baltimore" (where we live) lol. I suppose that's done a lot these days.

Don't go to OBX without a visit to the original in Manteo.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Bel Air, MD
(01/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
You'll think you've died, eaten bratwurst, had a great beer, farted and gone to heaven! Achtung! Dis place is yust like Bavaria! Mein Gott, you vill haff vone gutt vunderbah time, I betcha! Ya! Za best!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(10/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stepped up to the big leagues and had two liters of the Kolsch. Always a worthwile stop each year.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Baldilocks Baldilocks, West Chester, PA
(08/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I was in the Manteo Weeping Radish 3 or 4 days prior to the NJ posting about the "odor", and I would say that not only did the place smell great, the beer was great, the people were great, and I will visit again every year! (How would anyone from Jersey identify a "Bad Odor" anyway?)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mad Dog Mad Dog, Thomaston, ME
(08/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I've never encountered a bad oder at the Radish. The last reviewer have visited on a brewing day. You either like that wort/brewing smell or you don't.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review York, PA
(07/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good So So
The odor in the lobby of the restaurant was offensive and permeated the whole restaurant. Would not have dined there if had known beforehand.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review high bridge, NJ
(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
I used to drink these beers a lot when I lived on the NC Coast. It was one of the few good beers you could find (without going to Howard's Pub). We finally got to visit the brewery on a New Years trip to Ocracoke. We were not disappointed. They had a great Christmas beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
I have been drinking Weeping Radish for 5 years on our annual visits to Ocracoke. This year I finally made it to Manteo to visit the brewery. Probably my most satisifying day of the trip. I knew about most of the beers, but went head over heels for the MaiBock. My entire family enjoyed the whole experience, we did eat in the pub. My yearly trips to the OBX now have a new stop in Manteo.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rory Satterfield Rory Satterfield, Jupiter, FL
(06/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
One word -Reinheitsgebot!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Will Melahn, Morehead, KY
(03/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great N/A N/A Good
I stopped in on Sunday Nov 30 to see what all the fuss was about. It would seem to be popular, as it was crowded for lunch. But I was only there for the beer. The Black Radish is my favourite. A good malty, flavourful brew. The other beers rate a good to great. None are awsome. They could use a designer to create a new lable for their OBX beer. Their black and white lable has got to be the simplest I have ever seen. There are so many wonderful images they could incorporate into a unique lable: Lighthouse, shoreline, fishing, pelagic birds, etc. The whole beer experience includes not only the obvious taste, colour, aroma, and mouthfeel, but also the aesthetics such as the bottle and lable design. This is a place for the well heeled. Over $20 for a six-pack! Conrad from Canada

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Conrad Conrad, Ottawa, ON
(12/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Good Great
This is an annual stop for us. Had a liter of the Kolsch...as usual...hmmm hmmm gooood! Disappointed that they did not have the liter bottles by the case, only the contract 12 oz. This does not deter from this detour next year.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Baldilocks Baldilocks, West Chester, PA
(11/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Best German beer since I was in Germany last. As a matter of fact; better than most I had in Germany. This is a real 'national treasure' in a most beautiful setting in the outer banks. My wife and I visited the brewhouse during the first week of October. The area was virtually void of tourists yet the weather and environment were warm and wonderful (fellow North Carolinians will probably wish I had not given this secret away). The best of the best was the Kolsh and the Marzen style Octoberfest beer!!! My wife, who generally only enjoys Pyramid Hefeweisen, gave high marks to the Weisen and the Marzen (Octoberfest). I have not experienced such a complementary meal with such great beers since I visited the Great Lakes Brewery in Cleveland. The sausage and kraut and beer was heavenly. Please note: If you think you are not a German beer lover, you need to try this place--it will convert you!! Good clean lodging is available across the street at the Scarborough Inn.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tesoriero Tom Tesoriero, Cornelius, NC
(10/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Awesome!
This place is pretty cool, cheesy Barvaria aside. Beers were good german styles with a nice balance through the selection. My wife loves the Hefe, and i had a hard time choosing between the Fest and the Black Radish as my fave. Lunch menu was good, with german specialties abounding, and a great german chocolate cake for desert. The service from Pam was excellent, and though we were tucked away in a corner, we were not forgotten. While staying in OBX, we also tried a couple of there bottled selections, and i found that they held up in bottles, also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(08/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
Jason Nolton is either a fool, or has never actually been to the Northern Outer Banks. "Tourist Trap, much like 99% of the other stuff on the northern Outer Banks?" Be real, this is the last non commercial, non tourist trap on the east coast! Beer is incredible, keep up the good work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Howell Ken Howell, Dayton, OH
(08/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
This place was just OK. We didn't eat, but I got some of each of the four available beers. All were decent, but the wheat was my favorite. Still, nothing too special. I wouldn't go there to eat even if I knew the food was good. The restaurant has this faux Bavarian theme that is SO incredibly cheesy...I'd call it a tourist trap. Much like 99% of the other stuff in the northern part of the outer banks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason D. Nulton Jason D. Nulton, Charleston AFB, SC
(07/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
As a diehard patron for the past 13 years, I must say that their Kolsch is the best beer yet, even surpassing my previous favorite - Black Radish. Great malt and hop balance. Nice going, Uli!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Bolton Ben Bolton, South Riding, VA
(07/02/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.202 seconds) 02:22:17 54.166.39.179, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS