PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Redhook Brewery - Portsmouth, NH
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 01, 2014 @ 03:10 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NH > Portsmouth > Redhook Brewery
Redhook Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Redhook Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 79.3 / 100
35 Corporate Drive
Portsmouth, NH 03801
United States
(603) 430-8600
Listed Since: November 1996
Last Updated: September 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Portsmouth, NH
Beer Guide for New Hampshire

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Redhook Brewery
45 Reviews / 5 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 80:0PM
Mon 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Tue 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Wed 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Thu 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Fri 11:30AM - 11:30PM
Sat 11:30AM - 11:00PM

Recent News
Redhook Ale adds Tripel to its Limited Release Series


alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Portsmouth Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Smuttynose Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Muddy River Smokehouse
(0 mile)

4) Coat Of Arms
(0 mile)

5) The Press Room
(0 mile)

6) Blue Mermaid World Grill
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Arbor Inn Bed & Breakfast
2) Bow Street Inn
3) Deep Water Landing Bed-Brkfst
4) Enchanted Nights Bed & Brkfst
5) Farmstead
6) High Meadows
7) Inn Along the Estuary
8) Inn At Christian Shores
9) Inn At Portsmouth Harbor
10) Inn At Strawberry Bank
11) Martin Hill Inn
12) Melfair Farm Bed & Breakfast
13) Oracle House Inn
14) Rock Ledge Manor
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW WYNWOOD HOTEL AND SUITES
2) COMFORT INN YOKENS
3) DAYS INN KITTERY PORTSMOUTH
4) FAIRFIELD INN PORTSMOUTH
5) HAMPTON INN PORTSMOUTH
6) RESIDENCE INN PORTSMOUTH NH
7) SHERATON PORTSMOUTH HARBORSIDE
8) THE PORT INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Benedict House
2) Dennett Garrison
3) First Parish Church Site-Dover Point
4) Fogg, William, Library
5) Franklin Block
6) Hart, Jeremiah, House
7) Hart, John, House
8) Hart, Phoebe, House
9) Hart-Rice House
10) Haven--White House
11) Jackson, Richard, House
12) Jones, John Paul, House
13) Jones, John Paul, Memorial Park
14) Langdon, Gov. John, Mansion
15) Larkin--Rice House
16) MacPheadris--Warner House
17) Moffatt--Ladd House
18) Neal, James, House
19) New Hampshire Bank Building
20) Nutter--Rymes House
21) Old North Cemetery
22) Parsons Homestead
23) Pinkham, Daniel, House
24) Porter, General, House
25) Portsmouth Athenaeum
26) Portsmouth Cottage Hospital
27) Portsmouth Public Library
28) Rice Public Library
29) Rockingham Hotel
30) Rogers, George, House
31) Rundlet--May House
32) Shapley Town House
33) Sherburne, Henry, House
34) Smith, Simeon P., House
35) South Meetinghouse
36) South Parish
37) St. John's Church
38) Traip, Robert and Louisa, House
39) USS ALBACORE
40) Weeks House
41) Wentworth, Gov. John, House
42) Wentworth, Mark F. and Eliza J., House
43) Wentworth--Coolidge Mansion
44) Wentworth--Gardner and Tobias Lear Houses
45) Wentworth--Gardner House
46) Whidden-Ward House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1853 School House Restaurant
2) A Maine Chance Corp
3) Angelina's Pasta Shoppe
4) Annabelle's Natural Ice Cream
5) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
6) Applebee's Regional Office
7) Arby's
8) Betty's Kitchen Catering
9) Bickford's Family Restaurant
10) Bickford's Family Restaurant
11) Bill's Snack Bar
12) Blake's Ice Cream Restaurant
13) Blue Claw
14) Bob's Broil Chicken
15) Boston Market
16) Breaking New Grounds
17) Buckhorn Family Restaurant
18) Bugaboo Creek Steak House
19) Bypass Subs & More
20) Cafe Espresso Of Portsmouth
21) Cafe Mirona
22) Caffe Kilim
23) Captain Coward's Saloon
24) Celebrity Sandwich
25) Chestnuts At The Nest
26) Cranberries
27) D'angelo Sandwich Shop
28) Delahaye Banquet & Conference
29) Domino's Pizza
30) Dos Amigos
31) Dunkin Donuts
32) Elks Lodge
33) Fat Belly's Bar & Grill
34) Flatbread Portsmouth
35) Frank Jones Ctr
36) Fresh City
37) Friday's
38) Gepetto's Pizzeria
39) Gmm Dining Svc Inc
40) Green Bean At Pease
41) Green Monkey
42) Gregory's Grill
43) Hap's Famous Roast Beef Subs
44) Hebert's Seafood & Steak
45) Holiday Inn
46) Hong Kong Express
47) International House-Pancakes
48) Jack Quigley's Pub
49) Jarvis Center
50) Joe's New York Pizza
51) Julie's
52) Ken's West End Pizza
53) Kfc
54) King Chef
55) Longhorn Steakhouse
56) Mahalos On Line Restaurant
57) Mc Donald's
58) Mc Donald's
59) Mc Donald's
60) Mc Donald's
61) Moe's Italian Sandwiches
62) Momma D's Casa Di Pasta
63) Momma D's Casa di Pasta
64) Oar House
65) Olive Garden
66) Outback Steakhouse
67) Paddy's Restaurant
68) Panera Bread
69) Pesce Blue
70) Pizza Hut
71) Pizza Hut
72) Portsmouth Bread Box
73) Portsmouth Pizza Factory
74) Portsmouth Super Buffet
75) Red Door
76) Redhook Ale Brewery
77) Roman Delight Pizza
78) Savannah's Catering
79) Savario's
80) Smokey Bones BBQ & Grill
81) Starbucks
82) Stroudwater Books & Cafe
83) Sub Express
84) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
85) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
86) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
87) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
88) Taipei & Tokyo
89) Two Girls Catering Inc
90) United Bingo Hall
91) Uno Chicago Grill
92) Victory
93) Wendy's
94) Whats For Dinner
95) Yoken's Thar She Blows
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
Located near my hotel made a stop here a no-brainer. Double Black Coffee Stout had nice flavor, but not overdone. Would be a good first taste of coffee stout for a newbie. Longhammer Dry-Hopped IPA on cask was smooth and drinkable with a nice hop bite. Belgian Triple on cask just didn't make it. It definitely needs more carbonation than the cask allows for. Without that, it turned into a syrupy sweet mess. I enjoyed my mussels very much and would stop by again next time I'm in NH.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Took the tour on 8-9-08. Was very informative. The samples were excellent. Had to try the Nitro in the bar but was well worth waiting for. The Longhammer IPA has become one of my favorite beers now. Food was also very good as was the selection in the gift shop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donald Donald, manalapan, NJ
(09/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
You ran into a rogue moron. Nothing more. There are several beer stores/pubs in the US that have inane policies of not accepting out of state IDs, US passports, etc. They'd just as soon deny an American citizen as a visting tourist. I agree it makes no sense, but it should not and does not reflect on the US as nation. A better forum for this complaint might be RedHook themselves. They are one of the larger craft brewers in the country and are not in the business of angering customers. At minimum, they'd offer a sincere apology.

On the flip side, lighten up a bit and don't let people like this ruin your night, and certainly not make you lose sleep over it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve G. Steve G., Boston, MA
(07/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Lousy Lousy
Hi all, my name is Van, last Sunday I was at the concert for a cure, I was invited with a bunch of friend from Worcester, MA, and couple others city’s. We were having a good time, eating burgers, dancing, drinking beer, getting the best to benefit breast cancer research and survivor support, etc. So at some point I went to get another beer and I met this big guy, kind of blonde, conservative look, very American style. What happened between him and I, is something that I don’t quite understand, he denied me a beer, because he told me that he only accept state I.D., and he was not able to accept passport I.D. I’ am a tourist visiting my friend in the New England area, going to festival, supporting good activities around the world and around good people. When this Liar, racist, full o hate guy, denied me a beer, I felt so bad, I had a moment where I could not enjoy dancing with my friends, something wrong was between him and I, that made me feel discriminated, hated for being a tourist, I felt really bad. That night I could not sleep thinking about all this situation, is just like this, a tourist coming from other country has no space to enjoy a good time with friend, and we all know, this is probably one of the common idea people have about American people, they say, American are so conservative, discriminative, racist, they lack human respect, common sense, and they are poor inside, what America do best, is being isolated. Well that’s the respect America has around the world, and last Sunday 27 of June I felt that way. I know my friend they are from the East cost most of them, they are good people, they work in Africa helping children’s, organizing communities, caring about human values and teaching them the responsibilities of using our unique skill to contribute to a new and inspire society honoring human dignity, social justice, etc. So I did not wanted to share this with my friend because I new that trouble was about to come, they will absolutely stand up for my rights and just for a stupid reason, and then what? Yes at the end of the discussion between my friend, this guy and even the cop, I will have my beer, because I merely deserved I’ am 27 years old and I wanted to buy a beer, I was asked to show an I.D and I did, but he didn’t like me I guess and he just say NO. But I decided to go trough this alone. What I saying is I Felt bad, as a tourist, and being discriminated because I was using a passport, that’s funny, but hurts. I, don’t know what is happening to U.S.A this day’s but it feels like, this country is totally scared, they got war for oil, they got war for money, they got war for immigrant, they got war with tourist, they becoming an isolated society, scare, tough and undisciplined. I don’t know why I writing this, but just like I said, I couldn’t sleep the same night, I couldn’t enjoy the day, and being involve with such an event like concert for a cure, while I had a racist encounter with this chubby guy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Van Nguyen Van Nguyen, NONE, NO
(06/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Had an IPA and an ESB - Both were great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(11/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
I still miss the Doubleblack Stout...I asked if they would ever brew it again and not a definate "no." Anyone know why? All of their beers taste better here than in bottle--I don't know if they are "fresher" or if they are just better on tap. I didn't take the tour this time, but it's usually a good show. You can get a coupon at their web site for a free tour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Always worth the trip. Cask is the way to go. You can't get it anywhere else. I wish they still made the double black.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J.B. J.B., Prospect, NY
(10/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
While I usually seek out more adventurous beers than Redhook, I must admit their offerings at the brewery/pub were clean and tasty. I especially liked the two cask offerings, IPA and Nut Brown; I wish more people would try cask beer in general, it's a wonderful experience! Had the soup of the day, a black bean/steak thing (Southwestern?) that was very nice. If you come, don't expect "over the top", but do give it a try!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(10/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I have been to the Seattle location more recently than the NH location but I can't seem to find the review page in WA state.

There is a special place in my beer-loving heart for Redhook as they were my baptism into the world of microbrewed beer about 10 years ago. While I can't say that the quality has been maintained over the years I am still a fan. I have seen the involvment of AB dabated in a number of beer publications--I don't know what the truth is, but I do know that since AB has had their finger in the the Redhook pie some of my favorites are no longer available (the original rye, Double Black stout). One bartender told me that they were no longer available because AB refused to distribute them for Redhook--true? I don't know. This location and the Seattle are great. They put on a good show (tour) although the NH location actually has a real restaraunt--the one in Seattle closed down tours at the old streetcar place--what a shame, sooooo cool. I'm always pleased to see a Redhook on tap when I go in a bar--had the IPA at House of Brews in NYC about a week ago and it was very find.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
It would help if I would proofread my comments before posting them. I meant to say that the Blonde, IPA and Hefeweizen were all superior.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Carlisle, PA
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Redhook rocks! The Blonde, IPA and Hefeweizen. The summer seasonal, Sunrye, was decent. The food was excellent and the waitress was very friendly and attentive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Carlisle, PA
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Good
I teetered giving this an overall rating of "Great" just because the tour and the food were both incredible. The beer was just okay.

They had a screw-up beer on tap (I don't remember the name)-- since the brewery is automated, a push of a button adds the ingredients. The malt button was accidentally pressed twice and this beer was created. I wish my homebrew accidents could produce as good of a beer. It was interesting but not good enough for a second pint.

I had to choke down the Sunrise which was dreadful. The IPA and ESB were as good as they are in the bottle. The Blond was a decent summer beer. Out of all the choices, the Nitro porter is the best of the lot-- a fine quality robust beer.

The tour is definitely a must of visiting Portsmouth. The FREE city trolley stops about a quarter mile away (the Paddy's Athletic Club stop). Don't attempt to walk from the historic district... you'll have blisters on your feet by the time you arrive. Trust me on this one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Elizabeth Elizabeth, Annapolis, MD
(06/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Loved the selection of beers. The stout was my favorite, but hated that it wasn't on tap. The menu has really grown the last few years. We would really recommend this place, especially in the summer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob & Ang Bob & Ang, Lebanon, NH
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy Great
I truly enjoy their beer but can only manage to go there when I am in a good mood because the service is just plain old aweful!! Time and time again I wait for service or go up to the bar and serve myself. Maybe they should consider shutting down the dinning area and just adding a HUGE bar so they can get rid of the wait staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Renee Renee, Gonic, NH
(05/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
THE BEER WAS GREAT, THE TOUR WAS GREAT,BUT THE RESTARAUNT NEEDS IMPROVEMENT. VERY COLD ATMOSPHERE AND CAN USE SOME LIQUOR FOR NON BEER DRINKING CUSTOMERS.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from LINDA LINDA, STRATFORD, CT
(08/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We LOVE this place! We have been several times. It is fun to see Entrain play outside in the summertime. The ESB is my favorite, but my husband likes the IPA. If you come in the winter, it is nice to sit by the fireplace. The tour is really good and they are very generous with the samples.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Heather Gollnick, Methuen, MA
(03/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
The ESB is great esp if you can find it on hand-pull. Ballard Bitter is pretty damn good, IPA is nice too. Only letdown is the Wheat Hook, which is too watery and Americanized. Hope to visit the actual brewery some day. Probably moving to Seattle soon so I guess I'll get to visit the other one. I hope to get a New England road trip in before we move. We'll stop by the brewery if we do.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(02/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Great
bring bad the double black!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rev. Steve Field Rev. Steve Field, Wells, ME
(12/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
I came from Germany in October 2002. The visit in this pub was great. The beers are very good and the service friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christian Rau Christian Rau, Leipzig, Germany, XX
(11/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
Always a pleasant stop. Awesome location, large selection and great beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(11/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy So So
I hadn't been into the pub in some time but two weeks ago a friend and I were biking around Newington ( great place to do a 12 to 30 mile ride on lightly traveled roads) and stopped in for a beer and a sandwich at the end of the ride. The beer was great, the food was very good as well and the barmaid, who was not busy, acted very much as though it was a great effort for her to have us at the bar. Last Saturday I took some friends from out of town on the same ride and thinking that perhaps the pub help were having an off day on my previous visit told them that one of the side benefits of this ride was that it contained a great brewery. We arrived about 4:00 PM and five of us found a table near the window. We sat for twenty minutes while waitstaff totally ignored us. Finally we got up and served ourselves at the bar. This is about the worst service experience I have ever had in the seacoast area. This pub has great beer and very good food, too bad that they ignore training their people out in front.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nels Tyring Nels Tyring, Stratham, NH
(10/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
GOOD BEER.REDHOOK HAS MADE A NAME FOR ITSELF IN THE WEST.THE PORTER AND STOUT ARE GOOD,BUT EATING IN THE PUB WAS LIKE EATING IN A COLD WAREHOUSE.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAMES STOODLEY JAMES STOODLEY, PORTSMOUTH, NH
(07/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This was our third trip and well worth it. I only wish that they brewed a Barleywine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth Peterson Kenneth Peterson, Garfield,, NJ
(02/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
The Tour, The building, The staff, and The beer were all wonderfull. The Appetizers were not bad. Each year i go, I find free tour coupons in the front entrance newspaper rack. ($1 if not) I searched all over yankee stadium just to drink this beer (only at one stand) Awesome! Overall

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kent Pugliese Kent Pugliese, Troy, NY
(01/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Awesome! Awesome!
food selection could be better but the beer ROCKS!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Doug, Rochester, NH
(03/04/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.419 seconds) 03:10:57 23.20.103.100, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS