PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill - Red Bank, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 22, 2014 @ 02:51 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Red Bank > Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill
Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill
Overall: Great    Score: 75.2 / 100
183 Riverside Avenue
Red Bank, NJ 07701
United States
(732) 842-5990
Listed Since: November 1996
Last Updated: July 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Red Bank, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill
49 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) The Globe
(0 mile)

2) Taphouse Pub was Red Bank Lanes
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Water Witch House Bed & Bkfst
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COURTYARD LINCROFT RED BANK
2) COURTYARD TINTON FALLS
3) EXTENDEDSTAY MIDDLETOWN
4) THE MOLLY PITCHER INN
5) THE OYSTER POINT HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) ALEXANDER HAMILTON (steamship)
2) Allen House
3) Christ Church
4) Christ Church (Episcopal), Shrewsbury
5) Fisk Chapel
6) Fortune, T. Thomas, House
7) Grover House
8) Little Silver Station
9) Monmouth Boat Club
10) Old Mill at Tinton Falls
11) Reckless, Anthony, Estate
12) Red Bank Passenger Station
13) River Street School
14) Shrewsbury Township Hall
15) St. James Memorial Church of Eatontown
16) St. John's Episcopal Church
17) Union Schoolhouse
18) Wardell House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 2 Market Rotisserie
2) Apollo Diner
3) Ashes
4) Asporto Cafe
5) B & W Food Management
6) Backstage
7) Basil T's Brewpub & Italian
8) Billy D's Sub Shop
9) Bistro In Red Bank
10) Bistro San Miguel
11) Bowknot Restaurant
12) Brannigan's Bar & Grill
13) Broad Street Deli
14) Broad Street Exchange
15) Broadway Diner
16) Broadway Grill
17) Brothers' Pizza & Restaurant
18) Buona Sera Ristorante & Bar
19) Burger King
20) Cabochon Catering
21) Carlos O'connor Mexican Rstrnt
22) Chiafullo's Restaurant
23) Chicken Joe's
24) China Garden Restaurant
25) China Moon
26) Chris' Delicatessen & Liquors
27) Chubby's Waterside Cafe
28) Cluck U Chicken
29) Cold Stone Creamery
30) Corporate Chef's Inc
31) Courtyard Coffee Shop
32) Dairy Queen
33) Danny's Pizza & Subs Ii
34) Danny's Steak House & Pasta
35) Dom's Cherry St Deli
36) Domino's Pizza
37) Down To Earth
38) Dublin House
39) East Side Cafe
40) Elsie's Sub Shop
41) Esquire Coffee Shop
42) Eurasian Eatery
43) Fiesta Mexicana Restaurant
44) Filippo's Italian Cuisine
45) Food For Thought
46) Franco's By The Sea
47) Front Street Tratto'ria
48) G B Home
49) Garden State Horizon Invstmnts
50) Globe Bar & Grill
51) Globe Hotel Co
52) Guy's Seafood & Grill
53) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
54) Half Mile Road Cafe
55) Heavenly Ham
56) Hinck's Turkey Farm
57) House Of Chong
58) House Of Coffee
59) II Colosseo Italian Restaurant
60) Inbetween Restaurant
61) Itri's Lucheonette
62) Jade Garden Restaurant
63) Joey's Sub Shop
64) Jolly Jester
65) Juanitos Restaurant
66) Juanitos Take Out & Groceries
67) La Pastaria
68) La Petite France
69) Lighthouse
70) Little Kraut
71) Lunch Break
72) Mamma Lucia's
73) Mario's Chicken Ribs & Seafood
74) Melting Pot
75) Middletown Deli Inc
76) Mike's Dairy & Deli
77) Molly Pitcher Inn
78) Mr Pizza Slice
79) Murphy Style Grill
80) Navesink Cafe
81) New Corner Restaurant
82) Nikki's Cafe & Deli
83) No Ordinary Joe
84) Oakland House Inc
85) Olde Union House
86) Osaka At Irwin Marine
87) Osteria Dante
88) Outback Steakhouse
89) Pizza Hut
90) Primas Home & Cafe
91) Quiznos Sub
92) Racioppi's Kitchen
93) Readie's Fine Foods
94) Red
95) Red Bank Pizza
96) Redheads Bistro & Bar
97) Restaurant Nicholas
98) River's Edge Cafe
99) Riverboat Restaurant
100) Roy Rogers Restaurant
101) Ryan's Homemade Ice Cream
102) Sage & Thyme Restaurant
103) Saladworks
104) San Remo Restaurant
105) Seabreeze Caterers
106) Senor T's
107) Siam Garden
108) Slater's Deli II
109) Starbucks
110) T-A Andre & Lily's
111) Taliercio's Gourmet Deli
112) Teak
113) That Hot Dog Place
114) Topps Restaurant
115) Town & Country Deli
116) Two If By Sea
117) U S Submarines
118) Vandely Cafe
119) Villa Eduardo
120) Walt Street Pub
121) West Side Deli
122) Windmill Of Red Bank
123) Windward Deli
124) Zebu Forno Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
Bartenders were Awful,Awful,Awful and I will say it again Awaul. The whole place needs a good scrubbing. The beer:nothing special.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Haynie Mark Haynie, Rumson, , NJ
(07/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Had the Sidwinder IPA. Wow, really good beer. Nice hopppy beer..slight malt, flowery arroma. One set back, beer was served in 12 oz mug, would have been nice in a imperial pint glass.

The place is a little hard to locate...time for another IPA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Harris Andrew Harris, Brunswick, ME
(03/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
This is another great NJ brewery. It’s a really good, somewhat pricy Italian restaurant that also brews some great beers. They have a large assortment of pizzas and panninis, as well as many other Italian dishes. All of the food we tried was great. We stopped in for dinner with my parents and my brother and sister-in-law and their kids while we were visiting for Christmas. Although it’s a bit pricy, the pizzas are big enough to feed two people each, so that can make things a bit more affordable.

I started with the seasonal Big Vic’s Short Order Porter, which was a very good, medium-bodied porter with a nice chocolaty flavor. My wife had the Rosie’s Pale; an excellent, hoppy pale ale. My brother got the Weimaraner Wheat; a good, slightly sweet American style wheat beer. I had a pale ale for my second, since it was so good. My wife had the Red Ribbon seasonal beer, which was a spiced Christmas beer. I’m usually not a huge fan of spiced Christmas beers; too many brewers tend to overdo it on the spices. This beer however was fantastic. It was a very dark, stout-like beer with a serious licorice (anise) aroma and flavor. I’ve heard of brewers putting anise in Christmas beers before, but I never imagined it would be this good. I think I’ll try to brew one myself next Christmas.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Good Great
Stopped in after dinner on Saturday for a beer. Had the Maxwell's Dry Stout. It was almost perfect! Great roastiness, nice body, perfect balance. Served just a little too cold, but it warmed up nicely. Only stout I've ever had that was better was Zonker (Snake River Brewpub, WY). The place was packed and the food looked and smelled great. There was a duo playing Beatles, Paul Simon, Allman Bros. tunes, and they were good, which was another plus. Will be sure to make the trip down here again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(03/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joey Joey, Red Bank, NJ
(09/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Having been here before and not being too impressed, we stopped in hoping things might have improved. Well, not only have they improved, we were sorry we had other dinner plans, as the smells of basil and other herbs coming from the kitchen were enough to make you want to stay for dinner. But we settled in at the bar, watched the swimming events at the Olympics, enjoyed some great conversations with other patrons, and thoroughly enjoyed the beer on tap. We tried the sampler first – always a good idea. They have a wheat – not normally our taste, but it had a fine after taste; a Pale Ale, a Rocket Red Ale, neither of which we cared for. Their Light Summer Ale was good if you like light beers and we occasionally do, especially on a hot summer day. I especially liked the Black Stout and stayed with that. My friend liked the seasonal – the Truffle Belgian Black Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, OTHER
(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Great beer. Great place. If you like Calamari, get it here, it is really good. Nice atmosphere. Well worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Mary, Paramus, NJ
(08/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Great beer. Great place. If you like Calamari, get it here, it is really good. Nice atmosphere. Well worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Mary, Paramus, NJ
(08/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
The food is overpriced for what you get. And the wait staff was mostly clueless. We will never set foot in that place ever again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vicky  Federrici Vicky Federrici, Carlstadt, NJ
(08/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Simmons John Simmons, Englishtown, NJ
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Beer is consistently good here. Nice establishment, bartenders take good care of you, food is good too. They once had a seasonal called Nastro Rosso,it tasted like a red ale with orange peel in it, very tatsy. I haven't seen it in quite some time, but if anyone who reads this does see it, give it a try. I've never had a complaint about this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(07/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Very friendly service with a superb selection of outstanding beer. Great fries!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John W John W, Flushing, NY
(07/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy So So
If they got some professional, friendly staff in there, it would be a great place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Lamparello Mike Lamparello, Woodbridge, NJ
(04/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
This place is very cool. Crowded all the time, but very cool nonetheless. First off, Red Bank is an awesome area on it's own to visit. Basil T's, set just outside the main section of town, is pretty overpriced on it's menu (which does not have a big selection of main courses either). The penne vodka cost me almost $17. A lot of money, but it was good. The place has a nice atmosphere. Italian food and beer seems like an odd mix, and it is, but this works well here. The beer is always fresh and good. The Iceboat Ale, a Scottish ale seasonal, was nice...as was their Pale Ale. Aside from the seasonals, they don't make too many kinds of beers; the typical selection of a pale ale, stout, porter, wheat and a red ale. Even so, it is a nice, clean upscale place in a cool area of the state. Somewhat pricey, even for the beers. The happy hours, with a free pasta station is worth the trip on it's own. Worth checking out if, but be ready to pay out some $$$$ for dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Brick, NJ
(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Not good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Fantasia James Fantasia, Bradley Bech, NJ
(12/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Red Banck, NJ
(10/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Lousy So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Ryan, Tom River, NJ
(09/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Brick, NJ
(09/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
Outrage prices for menu items which are not worth the money.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Margert Geiges Margert Geiges, Point Pleasant, NJ
(08/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
This upscale Italian joint has good beers and is popular with the locals based on the 1,000 mugs hanging in the bar. Five house beers were all quite good. The light ale, a summer seasonal, was great, as was the pale ale. Expensive but very good food. They have sold the Tom's River location but the new owners kept the name and beer recipes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Roach, Plano, TX
(05/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Another trip to north Jersey would not be complete without a stop here, but please enough with the high food prices! $14 for a pizza. Great place to down a few beers before happy hour ends but eat elsewhere if your minding your beer money.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(02/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
A very nice and friendly brewpub. The beer selection was average and the food was outstanding. I give this brewpub very high marks. This brewpubs atmosphere is among the best. Highly recommended

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
This guy Larry from Lafayette is definitely a complete idiot!!! His reviews are always off base and he seems to know nothing about anything he talks about. (Although we get lots of laughs at reading his reviews just to see what a fool he makes of himself.) He should be banned from this site. He provides more disinformation than any reliable info. Hey Larry, you need to find another hobby! Beer and restaurant reviewing is just not your bag!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Colts Neck, NJ
(07/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Not a huge selection of beers but an excellent variety among them. The Rocket Red Ale and Maxwell's Dry Stout are two of my favorites. The food at this place steals the show. Authentic, home-style Italian cuisine that is well complimented by the beer selection. Great bar pies too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Stefanelli Steve Stefanelli, Howell, NJ
(03/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Paris the webmaster of Pubcrawler has edited out the 6 posts I referred to in my earlier post.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Robert, Hoboken, NJ
(05/29/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.32 seconds) 14:52:00 54.89.106.125, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS