PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Cooperstown Brewing Company - Milford, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 22, 2014 @ 04:35 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Milford > Cooperstown Brewing Company
Cooperstown Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Cooperstown Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.6 / 100
River Street #2
Post Office Box 276
Milford, NY 13807
United States
(607) 286-9330
Listed Since: November 1996
Last Updated: May 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Milford, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
31 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Brooklyn Bridge
2) Cat's Pajamas Bed & Breakfast
3) Dandy-Li Inn
4) Kindred Spirits Inn & Tea
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW INN AND STES AT THE COMMONS
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Jackie's Restaurant
2) Pop's Place
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This small brewery south of Cooperstown brews a family of British-inspired ales with baseball-inspired names. $3 buys you a tasting of all six ales and a tour by someone who truly loves to brew fine beer. In our instance, we were guided through the brewhouse, fermentation tanks, and bottling room by the assistant brewer, who described each step with the detail that comes from an individual who indeed does all of that work on a regular basis. The beers are well made, with the Benchwarmer Porter and the Pride of Milford Special Ale (similar to an English strong ale) being my favorites. Their tasty flagship beer, Old Slugger Pale Ale is the beer most readily found in pubs and restaurants in this area. Cooperstown Brewing beers are apparently difficult to find on draft. As we were tasting the beers, the brewer was describing the difficulty of getting and keeping tap handles, competing against the larger brewers and distributors. He indicated that they had lost all of their previous draft accounts in Albany due to big brewer/distributor pressure. If you are in the Cooperstown area, do yourself a favor and visit this fine little brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The next day, we visited this brewery - small operation near Milford, NY - four employees - vice 46 for Ommegang with 46; again, so much fun - all the beers have a baseball motiff - and they are great. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from colin harding colin harding, fairfax station, VA
(04/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So
I hate to be critical of small breweries -- I want to support them and see them succeed. But we just didn't enjoy the beer here. "Nine Man" was a good beer to start off, a lighter beer in body but not in flavor. But after that came the two pale ales, which frankly tasted as if hops had been added for the sake of adding hops. After those beers, everything else had to be tasted through a haze of hoppy bitterness. I can make these observations: The porter lacked the body I am accustomed to, and the stout was served too cold. The description for the "Pride of Milford" special ale sounds interesting, but I did not pick up on the fruit notes that were supposed to be present. I was still tasting hops.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lake Pleasant, NY
(09/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
I generally don't like to give small microbreweries like this one a bad wrap but CBC's beer just doesn't do it for me. After visiting Ommegang this beer just doesn't match up... so if your going on a brewery tour be sure to visit this place before going to Ommegang... you'll thank me. Not only are the few beers I tried not the greatest (and I suppose I should try their others to get a better idea of their beers), but their customer relations needs work... I waited for almost ten minutes (and rang the bell quite a few times) yet no one came out to help me... by the time I was ready to leave someone finally came out seeming perturbed to be there... the tour costs a few dollars per person and if you want a full tasting it costs as well... it is almost like they don't want you there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Town Greg Town, Prattsville, NY
(12/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped by after having the Old Slugger at dinner the night before. Was in the area to visit the HOF & Ommengang, but I am very glad I found CBC. The tour was really informative and friendly, and the tasting was fantastic...Half pints at least. All were good, but the Pride of Milford was the best. Can't wait to get back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, Wayne, NJ
(03/31/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
Was late for 11AM tour due to highway construction, but staff was helpful in letting us take a tour off their schedule. Tour interesting, although I take issue with guide who couldn't understand how people could actually like cask beer. (Try it!) Samples afterwards of all 7 current beers. The have a golden, pale, brown, IPA, copper ale, porter and stout. Porter and stout were my choices this day. Lots of schwag geared obviously toward the baseball theme.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Ommegang is only few miles away. These old timers make some dam good beer and the brewery is a great old dairy plant. I dont like baseball since the fans have allowed cities to spend $100s of millions for stadiums and the players are all pussies. But dam if this beer and Cooperstown didnt make me feel like a kid again playing real baseball for FUN on a hot Saturday in B'more. Go SSU!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(05/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
This is one of my favorite brewery visits. They mix beer and baseball, two things I dig very much. It's a very unpretentious brewery. I remember someone asking them on the tour if they bottle conditioned any of there beers, they openly said that they injected CO2 into all the beer and they didn't seem to be ashamed of this. Purists would probably stick their noses into the air at that, but WHO CARES! There are plenty of good beers out there that aren't bottle conditioned, and there is certainly nothing wrong with the beer here. It's tasty and refeshing. You can even bring the kids on this tour after walking around the Baseball Hall Of Fame all afternoon. Let them belly up to the bar and have a soft drink made on the premises. The whole family can relax, knock back a few and talk with the other visitors. They have cool t-shirts as well. This place is fun, especially if you like beer and baseball(like me). I can't wait to drop in again. PLAY BALL!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(08/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Awesome! Great
Cooperstown Brewing is a great microbrew experience. They charge you about 2 bucks but you get pints samples (most of the time), small tour but they chat and answer questions. The pint glass is a hoot with the 3-D baseball in the bottom.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
Just off Route 28, about 10 miles south of Cooperstown, NY. Try it, you'll love their beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Saratoga, NY
(03/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
A worthwhile stop while in the Cooperstown area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A N/A
Had a dugout 12 pack and wasn't that impressed. The Benchwarmer Porter was the best of the bunch. I'm a real hophead and wasn't very impressed with the IPA. In fact the Old Slugger was better hop wise. I'll stick with Hpd Devil by Victory or Impaled Ale from Middle ages for my hop kick.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Nowicki Mike Nowicki, W.Seneca, NY
(10/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
I visit Cooperstown brewing at least once a year and have since shortly after they opened. A father and son operation, they brew some exceptional ales. Their Backyard IPA is one of the best I've had (and I've been to over 140 brewpubs since my first visit to Commonwealth in Boston when they first opened. Old Slugger and their other brews are great bottled beers and even better as drafts. How anyone could give them a bad review is beyond my understanding unless they were done by Bud/Miller/Coors drinkers. Rex reeve

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rex Reeve Rex Reeve, Catskill, NY
(10/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
it sucks

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review chester nebraska, NE
(10/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Helped the bro-in-law polish off a case of Pride of Milford while camping in the Adirondacks this past week. What a great beer: big, sweet, but not cloying, estery, nutty, delicious. Hats off.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(08/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Cooperstown Brewing is in an old dairy station outside Milford, NY. (They meant to open IN Cooperstown, and had a property, but the town nixed it: "No one makes anything in Cooperstown but baseball cards." Their loss!) They are a Pugsley/Peter Austin brewery using the Ringwood yeast; i.e., they bought the system from Pugsley and use his proprietary yeast, but it is an independent business. This is a really cool, very laid-back tour with substantial tasting at the end. These are classic Yorkshire-style ales with American touches: a light ale (9 Man), a hop-boosted IPA (Backyard, and it's Brit hops, so American geeks raised on tons of Cascades may not recognize them), and a strong ale (Pride of Milford, my favorite). Some people just hate Ringwood beers; well, okay, some people hate weissbier. Some of us love them. They're not flawed, anymore than lambics are. They're different. And this place does a great job with them. One of my favorite New York breweries.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Lew, Langhorne, PA
(06/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Lousy Lousy
Another "winner" on the upstate tour?!?! Can you say butter? This beer sucks! Fire the kid making the beer and get someone in the joint that has a clue. Old Slugger, tastes just like it's name. Only slug cocca.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Denver, CO
(06/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
I visited this brewery on a weekend in the middle of winter. I was given a tour by the two gentlemen who seemed to need a little help with their customer relations. The tour was boring and unimpressive, mostly because of the guides. The beer was o.k. but I can get better beer from my local brewpubs and even a buddy of mine that homebrews. I wasn't impressed with any of their offerings.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Vacula Scott Vacula, Saratoga Springs, NY
(04/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
They only brew ales, but they do them very well. On tap the Backyard IPA is awesome and the rest are very good. I make it up this way 5 to 6 times a year and I stop along the way providing they are open while I'm going through.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Vondra Mark Vondra, King of Prussia, PA
(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Stan and the crew will have you leaving with a smile and a few cases.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Newton, NJ
(05/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Cooperstown brews some classic English style beers and does it quite well. Our visit included a tour followed by a tasting session and friendly discussion of various styles and brew processes. The beers are all excellent, namely the Old Slugger, Backyard IPA, Pride of Milford Special Ale and the Benchwarmer Porter. Picked up a sampler case and an Old Slugger tee. Looking forward to more sampling of these fine brews at the Flour City Brewers Festival in Rochester this August 10-11.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Rochester, NY
(05/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
by far my favorite beer. went there w/ my brother on our trip to the mecca of all sports (hall of fame). my favorites are the stout and special ale. the flagship plae ale is also great. i'd live across the street, if i could, just to be around it at all times!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ryan ryan, center moriches, ny, NY
(12/14/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Webster Mike Webster, Sherburne, NY
(12/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Get to the Cooperstown brewery and get the Backyard I.P.A. If you like the hoppy stuff, this is fantastic,and they grow some of the hops they add to this beer in the front yard. Get a growler while your there and fill it with the Backyard. These people are very friendly and don't mind sharing a sample. They also host a 5k run fathers day weekend, with the Ommegang folks that is a lot of fun.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Brown J. Brown, Prospect, NY
(11/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Visited the brewery just a few weeks ago. Impressive beers, enjoyed them all but, picked up a growler of the Benchwarmer. It warms more than the bench! These fellows certainly have that pernickity Ringwood yeast under control.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ross Reid Ross Reid, Branchton,, ON
(07/22/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.457 seconds) 04:35:47 54.227.182.191, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS