PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


A1A Aleworks - Saint Augustine, FL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 20, 2014 @ 11:32 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > FL > Saint Augustine > A1A Aleworks
A1A Aleworks Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
A1A Aleworks
Overall: Great    Score: 78.2 / 100
1 King Street
Saint Augustine, FL 32084
United States
(904) 829-2977
Listed Since: December 1996
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Saint Augustine, FL
Beer Guide for Florida

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
52 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) Rendezvous Restaurant
(0 mile)

2) Stogies Jazz and Blues Bar
(0 mile)

3) Saint George Tavern
(0 mile)

4) The Rendezvous Restaurant and Beer Emporium
(0 mile)

5) Rendezvous Imported Beers and Sandwiches
(0 mile)

6) J. P. Henley's
(0 mile)

7) A1A Ale Works
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Agustin Inn
2) Alexander Homestead
3) Aunt Peg's Bed & Breakfast
4) Bayfront Westcott House
5) Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
6) Casa DE LA Paz Bed & Breakfast
7) Casa DE Solana-Bed & Breakfast
8) Casa DE Suenos B & B
9) Casablanca Inn on the Bay
10) Castle Garden
11) Cedar House Inn
12) Centennial House
13) Coquina Gables Oceanfront
14) DE Marin Villas
15) House of Sea & Sun B & B
16) Inn on Charlotte Street
17) Inns of Elegance
18) Island House Rentals
19) Kenwood Inn
20) Old City House Inn
21) Old Powder House Inn
22) Our House Bed & Breakfast
23) Peace & Plenty Inn
24) Penny Farthing Inn
25) Saragossa Inn
26) Secret Garden Inn
27) Southern Wind
28) St Francis Inn
29) Victorian House Bed-Breakfast
30) Whale's Tale
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN HISTORICAL INN
2) BW SPANISH QUARTERS INN
3) CASA MONICA HOTEL
4) COMFORT INN HISTORIC AREA
5) COMFORT INN ST AUGUESTINE BEACH
6) COMFORT SUITES DOWNTOWN
7) COUNTRY INN STS ST AUGUSTINE
8) DAYS INN HISTORIC DISTRICT
9) DAYS INN ST AUGUSTINE BEACH
10) HAMPTON INN ST AUGUSTINE HISTOR
11) HAMPTON STE ST AUG VILANO
12) HILTON GARDEN INN ST AUGUSTIN
13) HLTN GRDN ST AUGUSTINE BEACH
14) HOLIDAY INN & SUITES
15) HOWARD JOHNSON EXPRESS INN HIS
16) LA FIESTA OCEAN INN AND SUITES
17) LA QUINTA ST AUGUSTINE HISTORIC
18) OCEAN SANDS INN
19) RAMADA INN
20) RAMADA LIMITED
21) REGENCY INN & SUITES
22) SLEEP INN ST AUGUSTINE
23) ST AUGUSTINE BEACHFRONT
24) ST FRANCIS INN
25) SUPER 8 ST AUGUSTINE BEACH
26) SUPER 8 ST AUGUSTINE HISTORIC
27) THRIFTLODGE ST AUGUSTINE N PONC
28) TRAVELODGE ST AUGUSTINE FL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alcazar Hotel
2) Bridge of Lions
3) Cathedral of St. Augustine
4) Gonzalez-Alvarez House
5) Grace United Methodist Church
6) Hotel Ponce De Leon
7) Lindsley House
8) Llambias House
9) Lopez, Xavier, House
10) Markland
11) O'Reilly House
12) Old St. Johns County Jail
13) Rodriguez-Avero-Sanchez House
14) Sanchez Powder House Site
15) Solla--Carcaba Cigar Factory
16) St. Augustine Alligator Farm Historic District
17) St. Augustine Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters
18) Villa Zorayda
19) Walker, Horace, House
20) Ximenez-Fatio House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 95 Cordova
2) A1a Ale Works
3) Acapulco Mexican Restaurant
4) Aj's Dinner Club
5) Alicia Italian Restaurant
6) Allstars Historic Sports Bar
7) Amazing Grace Catering Co
8) Ancient City Home Cooking
9) Ann O'malley's
10) Annie's Cafe
11) Arnold's
12) Athena Restaurant
13) Azalea's Cafe
14) Backstreets
15) Barnacle Bills Seafood House
16) Basket Case
17) Benito's Pizza & Pastabilities
18) Borillo's Pizza & Subs
19) Burger King
20) C J's
21) Cafe Alcazar
22) Cafe Ambiance
23) Cafe Spain
24) Cafe Vilano
25) Cafe' Latino
26) Captain Jack's Restaurant
27) Castnet Restaurant
28) Checkers Drive In Restaurant
29) Cheese Wheel & Sandwich Board
30) Chef Franco Inc
31) Chicken Coop Inc
32) China Wok
33) City Gates Cafe
34) Coastal Traders
35) Cobbleston Food & Gift
36) Columbia Restaurant
37) Conch House Restaurant
38) Cool Breeze Cakes & Ice Cream
39) Cortesses Bistro
40) Cotten's Bar-B-Que
41) Courtyard Cafe Of St Augustine
42) Crackers Bar-B-Q Inc
43) Creekside Dinery
44) Crow Bar
45) Crucial Coffee Cafe
46) Culinary Outfitters
47) Culinary Outfitters Catering
48) Dairy Queen
49) Dairy Queen
50) Del Fuego Grill
51) Denny's
52) Denoel French Pastry Shop
53) Domino's Pizza
54) Domino's Pizza
55) Eddie's In Oyster Creek
56) El Potro
57) Fiddler's Green Restaurant
58) First Wok
59) Florida Cracker Cafe
60) Fran & Tams
61) Fratelli Restaurant
62) Fusion Point
63) Giggling Gator
64) Gloria Jeans Gourmet Coffee
65) Golden Palace Chinese Rstrnt
66) Gypsy Cab Co Restaurant
67) Habana Village Cafe
68) Harbor View Cafe
69) Harborside Restaurant
70) Hardee's
71) Harry's Seafood Bar & Grille
72) Hazel's Hot Dogs
73) Holly's Diner
74) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
75) International House-Pancakes
76) J J's Heritage Cafe
77) Jasmine's Coffee House
78) Johnnie's Beef & Sausage Stand
79) Jungle Wrap Cafe
80) Kingfish Grill
81) Kozmic Bluz Inc
82) LA Cocina Restaurant
83) La Parisienne Restaurant
84) LA Parisienne Restaurant
85) La Pentola
86) Larry's Giant Subs
87) Le Pavillon
88) Lincolnville Grill
89) Local Hero's Cafe
90) Lunch Express
91) Lynch's Irish Pub
92) Manatee Cafe
93) Mario's Pizza Subs & Italian
94) Marty's Seafood & Steak House
95) Mc Donald's
96) Mc Donald's
97) Mi Casa Cafe
98) Michael's Fine Foods
99) Mikado Japanese Steak House
100) Millie's Sandwich Shop-On 16
101) Milltop Tavern
102) Monk's Vineyard Restaurant
103) Murphy's Pour House
104) O C White's Seafood & Spirits
105) O'steen's Restaurant
106) One King Street
107) Opus 39 Restaurant & Gallery
108) P J Bistro
109) P K's Cafe & Coffee House
110) Peerce's Restaurant
111) Peking Buffet Restaurant
112) Peking Chinese Restaurant
113) Piece Cafe
114) Pizza Garden
115) Pizza Hut
116) Pizza Hut
117) Pizzalley's
118) Rain Tree Restaurant
119) Raintree Restaurant
120) Ralph & Linda's Place
121) Saint George Street Eatery
122) Salt Run Tavern Inc
123) Santa Maria Restaurant
124) Scarlett's Inc
125) Schmagel's Bagels
126) Schooner's Seafood House
127) Sea Fair Restaurant
128) Seafood Kitchen
129) Since 1946 Cafe
130) Sluggers
131) South Seas Restaurant
132) Spanish Oak Gallery Fine Art
133) St Augustine Boating Club
134) St George Tavern
135) Stogies Jazz Club & Listening
136) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
137) Tavern On The Bay
138) TCBY
139) Tea Room
140) Theo's Restaurant
141) Three Hearts Cafe
142) Trade Winds Lounge
143) Verrazano Pizza & Pasta Rstrnt
144) Vilano Pier Restaurant
145) Villa Santa Monica Italian
146) Village Inn
147) Wendy's
148) Whetstone Ice Cream
149) White Lion Cafe & Pub
150) Yahala Cafe
151) Yahala Cafe Middle Eastern
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I am from NY, but love St. Augustine and always stop in for happy hour 2-3 times a year. A friendly place, great location and the stout is very good. My wife enjoys the red brick ale, which also is very good. If you are in the area try it, you will not be disappointed. When they finish the construction on the Bridge of Lions they will get a great view back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from charlie charlie , brightwaters, NY
(03/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Stopped in here for lunch one Friday afternoon while visiting relatives. Started out with the Summer Wheat which I think they just tapped the day before. It was okay but had a strange aftertaste. Maybe the line needed cleaned more before they connected it. Then I had the Red Ale and was more impressed with that. It has an interesting mixture of hoppiness like a pale ale and sweetness. It was much more refreshing than the wheat. The food was pretty good also. Had a couple of their daily specials and the lobster tacos as an appetizer. The lobster tacos were probably the best of any of the food. We ate downstairs which was good because upstairs there was a party going on and it was much warmer and noisier. Downstairs was quieter and more relaxed although the service was a little slow at times. It's in a nice location and probaly a fun place to go in the evening. I would stop again the next time I'm in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Lewis John Lewis, Pittsburgh, PA
(06/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
Tried a sampler tray of all seven beers on tap. None were impressive. Even though the stout was maybe the most pleasing, I ended up ordering a pint of the pale ale which had a heavy floral aroma. Seemed to be a hang out for the locals which was nice to see. I doubt I’d return for the beer or the food, but the location wasn’t bad.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(03/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Stopped in and had the sampler. I love the feel inside and the bartender was very knowledgeable on the beers and the flavors. I would go back many times and this time I would love to eat because the food looked incredible.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ann Arbor, MI
(03/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
They make their own sausage and it is incredible. The idshes have a unique combination of items and tastes. Nothing disappointed us there. The beer was cold, the food was hot, the service was impeccable too. The appetizer we ordered was not available but the server did not know. The manager came out to apologize and bought our second choice. I'd reccomend this place to everyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jen Jen, new port richey, FL
(01/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Great Great
Visitied the A1A Aleworks as we often do. This a member of the Gordon Biersch Group. Unfortuately they temporarliy shut down the brewery while the rebuild the floors. As anancient building the the oldest city in America, the floors were starting to fail. They expect the brewery to be out oc commission for two months while they rebuild the floors.

The beer on tap is commercial premiums; Blue Moon, New Castle Brown, Sam Adams Lager and Yueingling. The restaurnt remamins operating, but seems slower than usual for a Hot Saturday night.

I was surprised they did not ship in beer from one of the other locations here in Jacksonville, Ragtime or Seven Bridges, but who knows what laws might also prevent that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Jarvis Rick Jarvis, St. Augustine, FL
(07/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
WOW, what a great place. Good atmosphere...a diverse group of people to mingle with and the food was outstanding. Good Food, good spirits, and a good band...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doreen Doreen, Jacksonville, FL
(04/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
I almost stayed away after reading the last two reviews but took a chance at lunch since we had a discount coupon. The beer was drinkable but not noteworthy. Like other beach-area brewpubs I've been in the focus seems to be on the bud-sucking beach crowd rather than serious beer lovers. Food was actually quite good. Our server wasn't the most cheerful person and was a bit slow to follow up but she wasn't really rude. I stopped by again in the evening to buy a souvenir glass for my collection and the bartender referred me to the hostess in the upstairs dining room. She and the female servers up there were hot, probably students from nearby Flagler College. Of the beers, the porter was the best. The light lager was a bud clone. I'd probably go back if I'm in the area again, mainly to eat and to see if the beer improves.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stoffan Mark Stoffan, Asheville, NC
(10/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy So So
I won't go back to a place where the server throws a coaster in my general direction.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Nix Ken Nix, Tampa, FL
(07/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy Lousy
There were maybe 5 beers on tap. We tried the "summer special" and the red ale, neither of which were anything "special". The price on each was reasonable, about $2.25 for a pint, and I'm afraid that's the only positive thing I have to say. The service was appalling. I expect servers to at least approach me politely and professionally if not necessarily in a friendly manner and to be moderately attentive if they expect any chance of a tip, and even if they are first rate (which they were far from at this place), they should not assume they are keeping the change once I've paid my tab! I have traveled all over Europe and the Americas and this is by far the worst experience I've had with service. In fact, it's the only time I've felt the need to express it in a review. I've been treated better in New York City bodegas and Paris cafes. For the record, every place else we went in St. Augustine had only friendly professionals on staff, at least that we could see. Only go to A1A Aleworks if mediocre beer and rude service are your "things".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dean Dean, Tampa, FL
(07/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Great place to eat in St. Augustine, beer could be slightly better, staff was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Jacksonville, FL
(07/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So So So
Dont waste your time or money here! Beers were flat,no head, and rather tasteless. Food was cold and portions were small. Music was loud and overbearing. Probably the worst brewpub Ive ever been in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review astoria, OR
(03/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Great beer, great food, great time. Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Thomas Paul Thomas, Bristol, VA
(09/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
An enjoyable place with a nice view, if you eat outside on the balcony, the inside isn't bad either. I had a seven beer sampler with a, "brewer's choice" in it. I thought this concept was rather neat. I believe it can be either a special brew not on the menu(can't quite remember) or a beer concoction of the brewer's liking. In this case I got one of their lagers with a dollop of raspberry syrup, in the vein of Berliner weisse, I can't remember if it was a crystal wheat or not that I was drinking , but it was still yummy. Next time you're checking out the sites in St. Augustine, stop in for a few.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Enjoyed the pale ale as well as the food. Recommend that you sit outside, weather permitting, because the view is awesome. Great place to relax and kick back while touring St. Augustine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Ashdown Bob Ashdown, Herndon, VA
(06/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Good beer made on premise. They have a dry coffe ground like stout that only a mother could love...well and me...I love it too. Drinking uo a hunger? Try the snacky type foods..wings and so forth. The entree menu is a bit to compicated with over dressed fair...but a great place over all that books good bands and singers as a real plus to the well made beer. If you get a chance to see "Tony O" sing his brand of jazzy blues don't miss it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom O'Malley Tom O'Malley, Jacksonville, FL
(03/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Good
Loved the Coconut Shrimp....want the recipe for the honey musturd sauce!!! Don't plan on going back to St. Augustine but would love to have that sauce!!! Any help?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Francisco, CA
(01/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
A small treasure of a brewpub! Beer and food were both excellent. Staff was very cordial and took time to talk. Copper bar is very impressive. Pretty eclectic mix of patrons. Local people on their lunch hour as well as tourists being dropped off by bus. I look forward to returning in the future. Cool alligator farm a couple of miles away - don't miss it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Frontuto John Frontuto, Macedon, NY
(12/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
After walking & walking & walking & walking & walking & walking & walking all over St. Augie, this place hit home. Great look, great food, great beers, for the most part. Raspberry on the sampler is a waste of time (just a shot of flavoring), although it still tasted pretty good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(12/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Six beers on during my visit. All very good though fairly mild. Favorites were Brick Red and stout. Lunch special fish sandwich also good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from UtahSteve UtahSteve, ogden, UT
(10/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
Friends who live in St. Augustine took us to your pub for lunch and drinks. We had YOUR version of nachos (can't remember the name of them) and they were great. We also had a crab BLT sandwich and coconut shrimp... you folks know how to do it, don't ya?? :) Next time we are in St. Augustine you're the first stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dick and Nancy Maynard, Kingston, TN
(05/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Got the beer sampler, the light beer is a waist of time and the raspberry was a joke (just a pale with syrup added). The rest of the brews were excellent. The food was terrific and the building/decor exceptional. Well worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gregg, Toms River, NJ
(04/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Tried the sampler, and not all were good. The light lager was piss (really bad), not even as good as Bud Light. The Octoberfest was stale - very disappointing. The red ale was excellent: hoppy, with a smooth finish. The brown ale and porter were very good. The raspberry beer was piss, too. The food was excellent, though. I had salmon served on a cedar plank, and it was the best-prepared salmon I've had in my life - exceptional. Very cool bar downstairs, with a good blues band cranking it out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tampa, FL
(11/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
Red Brick was fine but don't go for too many of the triple P Ales -- you'll get tongue tied just like our friendly server (sorry to hear that she's moving to New England). We were looking for a nice brew pub while visiting vacationing relatives and were pleasntly surprised by the location (views), outside porch seating and the history of the building. Excellent food with a great presentation, enough for two, as most places are. We split the entree and left room for brew -- imagine that!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark J. Buckley Mark J. Buckley, Safety Harbor, FL
(08/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Visited for the first time Monday night, 7-15-02. We ate dinner upstairs, and the food was exceptional. We drank A Strange Stout, and we liked it so well we drank three! Great view, great service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sacramento, CA
(07/21/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.494 seconds) 23:32:50 54.227.171.163, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS