PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Top of the Hill Restaurant and Brewery - Chapel Hill, NC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 23, 2014 @ 03:53 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NC > Chapel Hill > Top of the Hill Restaurant and Brewery
Top of the Hill Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Top of the Hill Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 74.7 / 100
100 East Franklin Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
United States
(919) 929-8676
Listed Since: December 1996
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Chapel Hill, NC
Beer Guide for North Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Top of the Hill Restaurant and Brewery
44 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Mellow Mushroom
(0 mile)

2) Bub O'Malley's
(0 mile)

3) Brixx Wood Fired Pizza
(2 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Carolina Mornings
2) How Suite It Is
3) Windy Oaks Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY INN
2) COMFORT INN UNIVERSITY
3) DAYS INN CHAPEL HILL NC
4) HAMPTON INN CHAPEL HILL
5) HAMPTON STE CHAPEL HILL
6) HOMESTEAD STUDIOS DURHAM/UNIV.
7) HOMEWOOD SUITES BY HILTON
8) LA QUINTA INN & SUITES DURHAM
9) OAKWOOD DURHAM
10) RED ROOF CHAPEL HILL
11) SHERATON CHAPEL HILL HOTEL
12) THE SIENA HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Carolina Inn
2) Carrboro Commercial Historic District
3) Chapel Hill Town Hall
4) Chapel of the Cross
5) Mangum, James, House
6) Mason, John A., House
7) Old Chapel Hill Cemetery
8) Old East, University of North Carolina
9) Playmakers Theatre
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 23 Michael Jordan's Restaurant
2) 35 Chinese Restaurant
3) Aladdin's Grill & Catering
4) All Things Good
5) Annemaria's Pizza
6) Asia Cafe
7) Aurora
8) Bandido's Mexican Cafe
9) Barbecue Joint
10) BBB Inc
11) Bean Traders
12) Bear Rock Cafe
13) Big Dawgs
14) Breadmen's Restaurant
15) Brixx Wood Fired Pizza
16) Bruegger's Bagels Bakery
17) Bub O'malley's
18) Burrito Bunker
19) Bw-3 Restaurant
20) Cafe Carolina & Bakery
21) Carolina Blue Bar
22) Carolina Coffee Shop
23) Carolina Crossroads
24) Catering Co
25) Cold Stone Creamery
26) Cosmic Cantina
27) Cracker Jax Inc
28) Crazy Cow Ice Cream House
29) East End Oyster & Martini Bar
30) Espress Oasis
31) Farrell's Lake Side Grill
32) Franklin Street Pizza & Pasta
33) Goldies
34) Goodfellows
35) Grill At Glen Lennox
36) Gumby's Pizza
37) Hams Of Chapel Hill
38) Hardee's
39) Havana Restaurant & Bar
40) Heavenly Cinnamon Rolls
41) Hector's
42) Hideaway Restaurant & Bar
43) Hong Kong Buffet
44) I Love Ny Pizza
45) Inside Scoop Homemade Ice Crm
46) Jack Sprat Cafe
47) Japan Express
48) Jersey Mike's Submarines
49) Kirkpatrick's
50) Kurama Sushi & Noodle Express
51) La Residence
52) LA Russa's Italian Deli
53) Library
54) Lickity Split
55) Linda's Bar & Grill Upstairs
56) Lucy's Restaurant
57) Marcel's Catering Cafe
58) Mark Day Co
59) Mc Alister's Deli
60) Mc Donald's
61) Mc Donald's
62) Mellow Mushroom
63) Miami Subs
64) Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant
65) Nantucket Cafe & Grill
66) North Carolina Subway Group
67) O'Neil's Neighborhood Grill
68) Oishii Japanese Rstrnt & Sushi
69) On The Border Catering
70) Pantana Bob's
71) Pepper's Pizza
72) Pita Pit
73) Players
74) Pop's Pizzeria
75) Prime Exchange
76) Quiznos Sub
77) Quiznos Sub
78) Rathskeller
79) Rendezvous Grille
80) Rum Runners
81) Sage Cafe'
82) Sal's Ristorante
83) Spanky's Restaurant
84) Spartacus Restaurant
85) Spice Market
86) Starbucks
87) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
88) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
89) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
90) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
91) Swensen's On Franklin St
92) TCBY
93) Thai Palace Restaurant
94) That Coffee Place
95) Time-Out Restaurant
96) Top Of The Hill Restaurant
97) Torero's Mexican Rstrnt Inc
98) Treehouse
99) Tsunami Sushi & Noodles
100) Valentino's
101) Vespa Cibobuono
102) Village Pizza & Pasta
103) W B Yeats Irish Pub
104) Wendy's
105) Wicked Burrito Restaurant
106) Woody's Tar Heel Tavern & Grll
107) Ye Ole Waffle Shop
108) Zero's Subs
109) Zydecos
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I am writing this as a correction to the last review. Butch Davis does not coach at NC State.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Jansen John Jansen, Virginia Beach, VA
(08/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
The restaurant was packed with a lively crowd, the beer and service were good. NC State coach Butch Davis was being interviewed live in the restaurant. Where would one rather be on a Thursday night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Art Art, Rockville, MD
(08/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Nothing too spectacular; the IPA and Saison were very good, everything else was a little over average.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Raleigh, NC
(04/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So
Just OK. The menu leaves a lot to be desired. This place once had the best chicken nachos in the land, but they changed them up. Sometimes I want a fish taco or a burger for that matter, not here! Hopefully it will come around because it's in a prime location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from George George, Chapel Hill, NC
(02/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My very special S.O. and I visited Katie R. at Duke 10/22/06 and went to your place for dinner. The wait staff couldn't have been better. The food selection was good and the taste was great. Price was very reasonable. $90 + $22 tip, (I said the wait staff was good!) for 3 people w/2 drinks each. Damn good! Had the 6 beer Sampler. Great idea to start off with if you're not sure what to drink. Sat outside and it was chilly but the gas heaters did their job. I was really sorry I didn't get a railing seat. It would have been worth waiting for. GREAT VIEW! Great time! Thanks to everyone concerned. I'll be back... soon I hope.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Bellmore, NY
(10/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I tried both the ESB and the IPA and both were great. Menu is ambitious, definitley not your typical pub fare. I had the Chimi Churri Peppers which were outstanding. The restaurant is located on the third floor of a building with a very nice terrace overlooking Franklin Street. I'll go back the next time that I'm in Chapel Hill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Moore Kevin Moore, Watervliet, NY
(11/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I hadn't been through this way in a while, so it merited a fresh stop. 6 taps this trip, so I got a sampler tray of all. Curve Inn (light lager) and Kenan Summer Lager were so similar, I felt they were just slight tweaks of the same brew. Old Well White had only a faint orange/coriander to it, and the Big Bertha Brown was malty upfront with very little lasting to the finish. Ram's Head IPA was very effervescent--hops were throughout and it plesed the whole palate. Caotes Chocolate Oatmeal Stout was way big on chocolate (cocoa extract used), silky and smooth, nice. Server still getting set up, but remained attentive and answered most of my beer questions. A good stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Good
Top of the Hill has a lot of potential. It has a great location, with a magnificent view of Franklin Street. The food is fantastic, the beer even better. My experience, however, has been that the service is not as good as it should be, especially for the price. It is a great place to go for drinks before or after a Carolina game, but because of the service maybe not such a wise choice for a meal.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Raleigh, NC
(05/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great
Went 4th of july for dinner, crowded, good food and service, IPA not as hpooy as carolina brewery. Tasted more to style of apa like sierra nevada. Tuna steak was huge and tasty, one of the top 5 tuna steaks ive had. People went to see fireworks in the rain, excellent view of 4 displays farther away. My wife says the area has the best waiters she ever were served by.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from pat pat, sil spg, MD
(07/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Great Great
I've been to TOTH once and had the Brown. It was good, but not the best. The food wasn't great - edible but not worth the price. This seems to be a very trendy pick-up joint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chapel Hill, NC
(12/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
I must ask, what is the priority of Top of the Hill? Is it being a quality brewpub or simply a place to be seen. The quality of the beer has been on a decline, but this has been true of North Carlina Brewpubs in general. Great location and the view is wonderful. It wouldn't take much to make this a beer lovers paradise.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Rick, Chapel Hill, NC
(11/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Great
The Top of the Hill has an awesome IPA and the food is good. The view from the rooftop seating is great and makes this the best aspect of the brew pub. The staff can be a little snooty and the clientele tends to be snobbish making the Carolina Brewery the preferred place for casual dining, gret beer, and great brew pub food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Weis Michael Weis, Durham, NC
(10/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great So So Good
Not as laid back as Carolina Brewery, but good food (a little expensive) and good beer. I haven't been for a couple of years but my experience with the service was that if you looked like a student, you didn't get treated very well. Outside deck is cool, overlooking Franklin St.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dr. Dave, Silver spring, MD
(05/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review texjets, Cary, NC
(02/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review texjets, Cary, NC
(02/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So Good
Great view but I was there after a game so it was packed and the poor servers were stressed. The beer was OK but not fantastic. I think the Carolina Brewery (right up the street) is better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Williamsburg, VA
(11/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Good Good
Their food is horrible! It's in such a nice location that I keep going back... okay so the beer's a reason to go back to... but the food... wow! How could anyone mess up a pastrami sandwich!?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Disappointed Disappointed, Durham, NC
(10/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Excellent place for pre-game activities. The beer selection is very good and the food is awesome! The service is always terrific.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin T. Blanton Kevin T. Blanton, Swannanoa, NC
(09/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A great place to get some good food and good beer. The food is a little pricey but it was worth it. The steak was very good. I have to say the IPA and the Stout were there best beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MArk MArk, Belleville, MI
(08/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
The Food there is fantastic but the food selection is very limited. The IPA is very good but the Stout is great. Now as for the Summer Lager well I found it to be bland, no aromas, and a citrus - grapefruit taste, not to my liking.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank J. Russo Frank J. Russo, Havelock, NC
(06/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great
It is a unique treat to find such consistently high quality beer over the entire range of offerings. My brother and I tried everything, probably liked the stout the best, but the IPA was a close second.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glen Kanwit Glen Kanwit, Chicago, IL
(05/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
on our first visit to the states and we had a fantastic time. very different from the impression gained from t v progs in u k .we will return

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review reading england, UK
(02/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
This was a nice stop off of I-40. The location has a great patio. I had the stout. It was smooth but a little on the weak side. I traveled this part of the South in the 70's and it was Bud and Miller land. It is great to see all the hand crafted brew consumed by the locals.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neil Serafin Neil Serafin, Bailey, CO
(06/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A Great Great Great
The ratings apply to the stout, which was the only beer I tried, and a pasta and chicken dish. Service was really good, but it was a Monday night during spring break, so it was not crowded at all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Black Scott Black, Cleveland, OH
(03/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo Miller Geo Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/19/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.773 seconds) 15:53:34 54.166.108.167, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS