PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company - Madison, WI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 20, 2014 @ 08:49 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WI > Madison > Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company
Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.6 / 100
123 East Doty Street
Madison, WI 53703
United States
(608) 284-0000
Listed Since: December 1996
Last Updated: January 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Madison, WI
Beer Guide for Wisconsin

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company
87 Reviews / 10 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:30AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:30AM

alternatives
(19 within 5 miles)
1) Essen Haus
(0 mile)

2) Nattspil
(0 mile)

3) Brocach Irish Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

4) Maduro
(0 mile)

5) Mickey's Tavern
(0 mile)

6) Avenue Bar
(0 mile)

7) Genna's Lounge
(0 mile)

8) Paul's Club
(0 mile)

9) Dotty Dumpling's Dowry
(0 mile)

10) J.T. Whitney's Brewpub and Eatery
(0 mile)

11) Come Back Inn
(0 mile)

12) Argus
(0 mile)

13) The Old Fashioned
(0 mile)

14) Regent Street Retreat
(2 miles)

15) Ale Asylum
(4 miles)

16) Alchemy Cafe
(4 miles)

17) The Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company
(5 miles)

18) Brasserie V
(5 miles)

19) Monroe Street Bistro
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Annie's Bed & Breakfast
2) Arbor House
3) Canterbury Inn
4) Collins House Bed & Breakfast
5) Gilman Street Rag
6) Livingston Inn
7) Madison Small Inn & B & B Assn
8) Mansion Hill Inn
9) Stadium House
10) University Heights B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN INN ON THE PARK
2) BW INNTOWNER AND THE HIGHLAND
3) CAMPUS INN AND CHANCELLORS CLUB
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES MADISON
5) CROWNE PLAZA EAST TOWNE
6) DAYS INN OF MADISON
7) EXEL INN OF MADISON
8) HILTON MONONA TERRACE
9) HOLIDAY INN MADISON EAST
10) HOTEL RUBY MARIE
11) HOWARD JOHNSON PLAZA DOWNTOWN
12) MADISON CONCOURSE HOTEL GOVERN
13) QUALITY INN AND SUITES
14) SHERATON MADISON HOTEL
15) SUPER 8 MADISON SOUTH WI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Agricultural Chemistry Building
2) Agricultural Dean's House
3) Agricultural Engineering Building
4) Agricultural Heating station
5) Agriculture Hall
6) American Exchange Bank
7) Badger State Shoe Company
8) Bashford, Robert M., House
9) Baskerville Apartment Building
10) Bellevue Apartment Building
11) Belmont Hotel
12) Bernard-Hoover Boathouse
13) Biederstaedt Grocery
14) Bowen, James B., House
15) Bradley, Harold C., House
16) Braley, Judge Arthur B., House
17) Brittingham Park Boathouse
18) Camp Randall
19) Cardinal Hotel
20) City Market
21) Clarke, Bascom B., House
22) Collins, William, House
23) Curtis-Kittleson House
24) Cutter, Judson C., House
25) Dean, Nathaniel W., House
26) Dick, Christian, Block
27) Dowling Apartment Building
28) East Dayton Street Historic District
29) Eggiman, Ernest, House
30) Elliott, Edward C., House
31) Ely, Richard T., House
32) Fess Hotel
33) Fire Station No. 4
34) First Church of Christ Scientist
35) First Unitarian Society Meetinghouse
36) Forest Products Laboratory
37) Gilmore, Eugene A., House
38) Grace Episcopal Church
39) Grimm Book Bindery
40) Hiram Smith Hall and Annex
41) Hirsig, Louis, House
42) Horticulture and Agricultural Physics and Soil Science Building
43) Hotel Loraine
44) Hyer's Hotel
45) Jackman Building
46) Jacobs, Herbert A., House
47) Kayser, Adolph H., House
48) LaFollette, Robert M., House
49) Lamb Building
50) Lamp, Robert M., House
51) Larson, August Cornelius, House
52) Lathrop Hall
53) Leitch, William T., House
54) Leonard, William Ellery, House
55) Lincoln School
56) Longfellow School
57) Lougee, George A., House
58) Machinery Row
59) Madison Candy Company
60) Madison Gas and Electric Company Powerhouse
61) Madison Masonic Temple
62) Madison Waterworks
63) McCarthy, Timothy C. and Katherine, House
64) McCoy Farmhouse
65) Miller House
66) Mills, Simeon, House
67) North Hall, University of Wisconsin
68) Old Executive Mansion
69) Old Spring Tavern
70) Old Synagogue
71) Old U.S. Forest Products Laboratory
72) Ott, John George, House
73) Pierce, Carrie, House
74) Plough Inn
75) Quisling Towers Apartments
76) St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church
77) State Historical Society of Wisconsin
78) State Office Building
79) Steensland, Halle, House
80) Stock Pavilion
81) Stoner, Joseph J., House
82) Suhr, John J., House
83) Thompson's Block
84) United States Post Office and Federal Courthouse
85) University of Wisconsin Armory and Gymnasium
86) University of Wisconsin Dairy Barn
87) University of Wisconsin Field House
88) University of Wisconsin Science Hall
89) University Presbyterian Church and Student Center
90) Wakeley--Giles Commercial Building
91) Washburn Observatory and Observatory Director's Residence
92) West Madison Depot, Chicago, Milwaukee, and St. Paul Railway
93) Wiedenbeck--Dobelin Warehouse
94) Wisconsin Wagon Company Factory
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 24 Carrot Catering
2) A 8 China
3) Admiralty Room
4) American Lunch Inc
5) Amy's Cafe
6) Angelic Brewing Co
7) Annex
8) Antojitos San Francisco
9) Argus
10) Avenue Bar
11) Babes Grill & Bar At The Depot
12) Bahn Thai Restaurant
13) Bandung Indonesian Restaurant
14) Beijing Restaurant
15) Bellini's
16) Bennett's On The Park
17) Best Burger On Campus
18) Best Western Inn
19) Big Mike's Super Subs
20) Big Mike's Super Subs
21) Big Mike's Super Subs
22) Bistro
23) Blue Cow
24) Blue Marlin
25) Blue Plate Diner
26) Blue Velvet Lounge
27) Bon Appetit Cafe
28) Brass Ring Bar & Restaurant
29) Brat Und Brau Catering
30) Brocach Irish Pub
31) Brothers Bar
32) Buck's Madison Square Garden
33) Bull Feathers
34) Buraka
35) Buraka
36) Burger Joint
37) Burger King
38) Bw-3
39) Cafe Continental
40) Cafe Montmartre
41) Cafeli
42) Call Cafe Palms
43) Canterbury Booksellers Cafe
44) Capitol Chophouse
45) Capitol Deli & Espresso Bar
46) Cardinal Bar
47) Caribbean Club
48) Caribou Tavern
49) Casa Bianca
50) Casa De Lara
51) Casbah Restaurant
52) Caspian Cafe & Catering
53) Catacombs Coffee House
54) Charley's Steakery
55) Chautara
56) Chez Vous Catering
57) Chin's Asia Fresh
58) China House
59) China Wok
60) Chinmi Restaurant
61) Chipotle Mexican Grill
62) Chocolate Shoppe Ice Cream
63) Church Key Bar
64) City Bar
65) Clay Market Restaurant
66) Cleveland's Diner
67) Club Majestic
68) Coffee Shop
69) Cold Stone Creamery
70) Come Back Inn
71) Comedy Club On State Street
72) Copper Gable Cafe Co
73) Coreana
74) Cousins Subs
75) Cousins Subs
76) Cousins Subs & Chocolate
77) Coyote Capers
78) Crave Restaurant & Lounge
79) Crescent City Grill
80) Crystal Corner Bar
81) Curve
82) Dancing Ground Coffee Co
83) Day Break Cafe
84) Day Break Cafe II
85) Dayton Street Cafe & Bakery
86) Dean's Downtown Delicatessen
87) Delmonico's
88) Dimitri's Gyros
89) Dog Eat Dog
90) Dotty Dumplings Dowry
91) Dotty Dumplings Dowry
92) Echo Tap & Grill
93) Edgewater
94) Edo Japanese Restaurant
95) Eldorado Grill
96) Electric Earth
97) Elegant Edibles Inc
98) Espresso Royale
99) Espresso Royale Caffe
100) Essen Haus
101) Etes-Vous Prets
102) Fair Trade Coffee House
103) Falbo Brothers Pizzeria
104) Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que
105) First Light Co
106) Flatiron Tavern
107) Florilegium
108) Fraboni's Italian Specialties
109) Fresh Express Subs & Salads
110) Frida Mexican Grill
111) Fyfe's Corner Bistro
112) Gennas Lounge
113) Gino's Restaurant
114) Glass Nickel Pizza Co
115) Good Day Coffee Shop
116) Great Dane Brew Pub
117) Great Taste Chinese Restaurant
118) Greenbush Bar
119) Guantanamera
120) Gumseng
121) Ha Ru Bong
122) Happiness Two
123) Harvest
124) Hawk's
125) Heinemann's Too
126) High Noon Saloon
127) Himal Chuli
128) Hong Kong Cafe
129) Hong Kong Wok
130) Horn Of Africa Restaurant
131) Husnu's
132) I'm Here
133) Ian's
134) In The Co Of Thieves
135) Irish Pub
136) J T's Friendly Tavern
137) Jade Garden
138) Jamerica Restaurant
139) Java Escafe
140) Jimmy John's
141) Jimmy's Pizza
142) Jingles Coliseum Bar
143) Jo's Tazzina Cafe & Cnfctnry
144) Johnny O's Restaurant & Bar
145) Jolly Bob's
146) Josie's Spaghetti House
147) Kabul Afghanistan Restaurant
148) Karaoke Kid
149) Ken's Bar & Grill
150) Ken's Cafeteria
151) Kennedy Manor Dining Room
152) Kennedy Manor Dining Room/Bar
153) Kimia Lounge
154) King Club Inc
155) King Of Falafel
156) Kitakuni Restaurant & Bar
157) Kitchen Hearth
158) Klinic Bar
159) Kollege Klub Inc
160) Kosta's Supper Club
161) L'etoile Restaurant
162) La Bamba Mexican Restaurant
163) La Hacienda Restaurant
164) Lao Laan-Xang Restaurant
165) Larry B's
166) Las Palmas Deli
167) Lazy Jane's Cafe & Bakery
168) Le Chardonnay
169) Little Village Cafe
170) Living Room
171) Luigi's Diner
172) Mac Taggarts Market
173) Madhatter
174) Madison Avenue
175) Madison Bistro Inc
176) Madison Labor Temple Lounge
177) Madison Masala Indian Food
178) Madison's Dining & Diversions
179) Maduro
180) Main Depot
181) Marigold Kitchen
182) Mc Donald's
183) Mc Donald's
184) Mc Donald's
185) Mediterrenean Cafe
186) Mekong
187) Melly Mell's
188) Mercury Deli
189) Michelangelo's Coffee House
190) Mickey's Tavern
191) Milan's Subs & Catering
192) Milans Subs & Catering
193) Mildred's Sandwich Shop
194) Moe's Southwest Grill
195) Mondays
196) Mother Fool's Coffee House
197) Muddy Waters Espresso Cafe
198) Myles Teddywedgers Cornish
199) Nadia's Restaurant & Grapevine
200) New Orleans Take Out Rstrnt
201) Nick's Restaurant
202) Nitty Gritty Restaurant & Bar
203) Noodles & Co
204) Ocean
205) Ocean Grill
206) Ole'n Ricks North Side Inn
207) One Heart Cafe
208) Opera House
209) Opus Lounge
210) Ordheum Theatre-Grand Lobby Re
211) Oriental Wak
212) Out To Lunch Catering
213) Paisan's
214) Papa John's Pizza
215) Paradise Lounge
216) Parthenon-Gyros Restaurant
217) Pasqual's Southwestern Deli
218) Pasta Per Tutti
219) Paul's Club
220) Pavlov's Pizza
221) Peace Meal Vegetarian Rstrnt
222) Pel'Neni
223) Peppino's Restaurant
224) Pizza Di Roma
225) Pizza Extreme
226) Pizza Hut
227) Pizzeria Uno
228) Plaza Cafe
229) Plaza Tavern & Grill Inc
230) Poor Richard's Cafe
231) Porta Bella
232) Potbelly Sandwich Works
233) Pub
234) Public House
235) Qdoba Mexican Grill
236) Queen Anne's Catering
237) Queen Anne's Catering Inc
238) Quinton's Bar & Deli
239) Quizno's Classic Subs
240) Radical Rye
241) Real Chili Restaurant
242) Red Shed
243) Regent Street Retreat
244) Restaurant Magnus
245) Restaurant Muramoto
246) Rick's Cafe
247) Rising Sons Deli
248) Rocky Rococo
249) Roman Candle
250) Rustic Tavern
251) Salvador's
252) Sam's Ten West
253) Saz
254) Shamrock Bar
255) Siam Square
256) Silver Dollar Tavern
257) Silver Mine Subs
258) Simply Soup Co
259) Sita's Kitchen
260) Sophia's Bakery & Cafe
261) Spices
262) Starbucks
263) Starbucks
264) State Bar & Grill
265) State Street Brats
266) Steep & Brew
267) Stevens
268) Stillwaters Inc
269) Stillwaters Inc
270) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
271) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
272) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
273) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
274) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
275) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
276) Sunprint Cafe
277) Sunroom Cafe
278) Supreme Pizza
279) Supreme Pizza
280) Sushi Box
281) Taco Bell
282) Taj Indian Restaurant
283) Takara Japanese Restaurant
284) Temple Garden Noodle East
285) The Harmony Bar and Grill
286) Tokyo Express
287) Ton-Ton Japanese Restaurant
288) Top Of The Park
289) Topper's Pizza
290) Tornado Club
291) Tutto Pasta Cucina Italiana
292) Tutto Pasta Trattoria
293) Uno Chicago Grill
294) Up North
295) Upstairs Downstairs Catering
296) Upstairs Downstairs Restaurant
297) Victor Allen's Coffee
298) Vientiane Inn
299) Vientiane Palace Restaurant Ii
300) Vientiane Restaurant
301) Wah Kee Wonton Noodle Rstrnt
302) Wando's
303) Wasabi Japanese Restaurant
304) Weary Traveler Inc
305) White Horse Inn
306) Willalby's Cafe
307) Wilson Street Grill
308) Wonders Pub
309) Yan's Soupcon Restaurant
310) Yummy Buffet
311) Zuzu Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Good Good
Only tried two styles because the place was overly packed. The Organic Brown tasted liked crap. My wife really liked the Hot Pepper beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(09/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
Neat place. Great IPA. Stunning servers. Gotta love college towns.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Nate, Racine, WI
(10/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Awesome! Great
Their Oktoppelbock had a great gravity for the style. Peck's Pilsner was bright with a clean finish. Didn't care for the Crop Circle Wheat, though there was a redeeming citrus on the back end. Stone of Scone Scotch Ale was very solid with a smoky nose. Emerald Isle Stout had a caramel nose and was a fine example of the style. Which left their Black Earth Porter as a disappointment. No weight in the mouth feel at all, just a smidgen of coffee, which, given the weakness, was like drinking a cold cup of weak coffee.

I liked their variety, and there are enough bright spots, I recommend them to any fans of the brew pub. "Have a Great Dane."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daniel Murauskas Daniel Murauskas, Lincoln, NE
(02/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Great time at the Great Dane. Had three beers: IPA, Pale Ale and Porter. The IPA was excellent, just the right blend of hoppiness with good flavor. The APA was crisp and well balanced. The porter was a bit much, but overall pretty good. The food was good, especially considering the very affordable price. The service was outstanding. Overall, very impressive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from christian christian, philadelphia, PA
(07/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
The Dane is probably the first brewpub I've ever been to. Been going since college with my friends and family. Great atmosphere, some of the best and tastiest beer in Wisconsin, excellent food, always reliable and friendly service. The American Pale ale, Stone of Scone Scotch Ale and the amber are some of my favorite beers. If you're having an appetizer with several people- get the nachos with chicken. Incredible, that's all I can say.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christopher Deyo Christopher Deyo, Oconomowoc, WI
(06/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
I started out with there oatmeal stout and was very pleased.Nice creamy head which lasted till the end,very smooth,dry and slightly sweet. A little on the thin side.Drinkem all night.Tryed a few more samples and cant recall the names but very good except for the wheat.Too tart and an unpleasing taste.We all enjoyed the beer.Didnt get any food.Bartender was very nice and service was good.Huge very nice place with big out door area.Suprised at the amount of fine females to gander and ponder at.Took a growler home and would come back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike mike, chicago heights, IL
(06/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
I tried their Devils Lake Red Lager. This lager has a nice red color, but a bit too hoppy for my liking. I've tasted better Red's and I've Brewed better Red's. I know my friends who are Bud Light drinkers wouldn't like it. My wife and I didn't try any food as we were just passing through and thought we'd pick up a Grouler. Will I stop in again... Yea as they have plenty of other microbrews to try

Andrew

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Delzer Andrew Delzer, West Bend, WI
(05/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
top notch! Wish this place was in my backyard.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Bosch Kevin Bosch, St. Louis, MO
(09/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
I've been going to Great Dane when I'm in town since it opened 10 years ago. I was always impressed with the layout, location, food, and beer. As others have suggested, the service is spotty. (College student help usually is). The original brewmaster and part owner Rob has now left and in the last two years the beer quality and consistency has taken a noticeable hit. A few beers I sampled on my last visit had a sour tinge in the finish and the cask ales were just plain off. Beers tended to be a little cloudier than usual as well. Still, all that said this is still a fine establishment well worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Chicagoland, IL
(08/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Been going here for many years- food rarely misses, best beers are the scotch ale and cask esb, nice crowd usually

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from alberto alberto, milwaukee, WI
(07/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I found the Pale Ale to be very good. This is the best ales I have found east of the Rockies. The service was better than just about anywhere and the food was great. I would like to have seen a little more hops used in the IPA. All of the Ales were very drinkable. If I lived in Madison I would live here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Vancouver, WA
(07/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Awesome!
This place was packed on a game night. Apparently very popular. What can I say, I thought Great Dane was awesome. I was especially impressed with the Scotch Ale. The Bangers n' Mash hit the spot. Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Nick, Lincoln, NE
(05/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
Without being gushing, I think this is the way it ought to be. The cask IPA was just great and the Scotch ale sample was very good. Couldn't get a pint, as it's a strong beer and it was my turn to drive. The fish and chips was typical, but the server was friendly and prompt and helpful with directions to the Wine and Hop homebrew shop. It might be a pain to get to if you are traveling by Madison, and we were there in off hours so parking wasn't an issue, but I could see it would be if busy. Give it a shot, you just will not be disappointed here! Wish I lived closer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike mike, Peoria Heights, IL
(10/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Good food and good beer and I rate this downtown place about even with Angelica but below Whitney's. It was basicly empty when my partner and I visited, about 2pm, altho the sidewalks and streets were hoppin'.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Seven Nike Seven Nike, St. Louis, MO
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
I was visiting a friend in Madison yesterday. I'd heard lots of good things about Great Dane so I talked my friend into going with me. Every beer was bursting with quality and flavor, and they had an unbelievable variety for a brewpub. It was loud and crowded on a Saturday evening and we're a little old for the college bar scene, so we didn't stay for very long. But I'm actually glad the place was packed with college kids. It shows UW students appreciate good beer and don't just swill junk-beer like most of their contemporaries. I don't get the complaints about service. Even in the back away from the bar, on a packed evening, my glass never got empty before the waitress was around to ask what I wanted next. I'll definitely be back, but I'll have to stop in before the evening college rush so I can drink my beer quietly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R.W.C. R.W.C., Forest Lake, MN
(09/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Went through Wisconsin on a yearly fishing trip and had heard raves about this place so stopped in. Definetly worth the trip. Selection of beers was great, including some terrific guest beers. Menu was diverse. Will definetly be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from montyburns montyburns, Wauconda, IL
(09/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
The food is excellent, have been here several times and haven't had a bad meal yet. My wife enjoys the Tom Turkey when in season and the wraps.I have had several of the burgers and found the quality to be excellent.

The Beer is a fine selection and I enjoy the Scotch Ale in particular. When I am there I take home a Growler everytime.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dodgeville, WI
(07/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great So So Great
I just can't stay away from this place. Stopped in here yet again last Sunday (this makes, what, my 5th review of this pub?) and got the reliably mediocre service. If I went up to the bar I was served pretty much right away. However, table service was spotty as usual. It wasn't even that busy -- though it was well patronized for a Sunday -- they just always seem to slightly underestimate how many servers they need to meet the demand.

They've expanded to 17 varieties available -- incredible selection for a brewpub, and I have yet to see any other brewpub top it. This visit's obligatory "experimental fruit beer" was a watermelon ale. Probably the strangest beer I've ever tasted. Whoever thought up that one ought to be flogged and made to drink a sixpack of decade-old Rhinelander Bock. Other than that, every offering was a bulls-eye.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(07/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good
Had their beer at the Great American Beer Festival last year and thought it was great. So we made the trip. I tried the Maibock, which was quite dark in color, but not too bad. Next tried the cask IPA. Flat. I know cask tend to be less carbonated, but this bee was flat. I tried the Texas Speed Bump IPA. This beer, though dark for an IPA was pretty good. I also tried the ESB, Wheat beer and the Red. I was not impressed with any of them. Overall, I was quite disappointed with the beers. Maybe we hit them on a bad day?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sears, MI
(05/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review manitowoc, WI
(05/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Great
I visited this cornerstone emporium of good times, late nights and next morning "I did what"s. I was in Madison, well Oregon, working for Mandli, but the company sponsors employee comraderie, so they showed me the town. One of our stops was The Dane. I was not dissappointed. I loved the multitiered floors of the place. Our waitress seemed to find us no matter where we wondered off to and the place was bumping; to be a complete word dork! Anyway I hope to be in town soon. Get the Belgians ready because I will need my own keg!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nyree Nyree, Salt Lake City, UT
(03/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The Hellfire Habenero wings are the hottest ever!! it took about 6 pints to quench my tongue

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Norman James Norman, Montevideo, MN
(02/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Since both of my visits have been in the off time, the crowds were not a problem. The Bar staff were nice and helpfull when selecting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marty Marty, Carpentersville, IL
(12/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great
Well I was just there again this past weekend, and it seems the reason why it gets low marks for its service is because, well, its service often sucks. Again, it's not because the staff is incompetent rude or flaky, but because the place doesn't hire enough people to deal with the busy times. There's a legitimate reason this place often gets low marks for its service (it's really not a conspiracy, folks), and the management would do well to take notice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(12/15/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.92 seconds) 08:49:03 54.161.145.251, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS