PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant - Newark, DE
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 17, 2014 @ 08:55 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > DE > Newark > Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant
Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant
Overall: Great    Score: 79.2 / 100
155 East Main Street
Newark, DE 19711
United States
(302) 266-9000
Listed Since: December 1996
Last Updated: July 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Newark, DE
Beer Guide for Delaware

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant
39 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN DELAWARE INN
2) BEST WESTERN DELAWARE INN CONF
3) COMFORT INN NEWARK
4) COURTYARD NEWARK UNIV DELAWARE
5) HAMPTON INN WILMNGTN NEWK
6) HOMEWOOD NEWARK-WILMINGTON AREA
7) HOWARD JOHNSON INN SUITES
8) QUALITY INN UNIVERSITY
9) RESIDENCE INN NEWARK
10) SLEEP INN NEWARK
11) SUPER 8 MOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Academy of Newark
2) Aetna Hose, Hook and Ladder Company Fire Station No. 2
3) Aetna Hose, Hook and Ladder Company, Fire Station No. 1
4) Allen, Charles, House
5) Anderson House
6) Baily House
7) Bank of Newark Building
8) Bartley--Tweed Farm
9) Bell Farmhouse
10) Belmont Hall
11) Blue Hen Farm
12) Bridge in New Garden Township
13) Building at 140 W. Main Street
14) Building at 28--34 1/2 Academy Street
15) Building at 34 Choate Street
16) Chambers House
17) Chambers House
18) Curtis Mansion
19) Deer Park Farm
20) Deer Park Hotel
21) Eastburn, J., Barn
22) England House and Mill
23) Evans, George, House
24) Evans, John, House
25) Exchange Building
26) Ferguson, Robert, House
27) Fisher, Andrew, House
28) Graham, Robert, House
29) Granite Mansion
30) Green Mansion
31) Head of Christiana United Presbyterian Church
32) Kerr, Andrew, House
33) Lindsay, J., Barn
34) Lindsey, Samuel, House
35) Lunn's Tavern
36) McDaniel, J., Farm
37) Meeteer House
38) Memorial Hall
39) Merestone
40) Mermaid Tavern
41) Meteer Store House
42) Mill Creek Friends Meetinghouse
43) Montgomery House
44) Morgan, William, Farm
45) Newark Opera House
46) Newark Passenger Station
47) Old First Presbyterian Church
48) Old Newark Comprehensive School
49) Ott's Chapel
50) Phillips, Thomas, Mill Complex
51) Red Clay Creek Presbyterian Church
52) Rhodes Pharmacy
53) Rotheram Mill House
54) St. John the Baptist Roman Catholic Church
55) St. Thomas Episcopal Church
56) State Theater
57) Stinson, J., Farm
58) Thompson Farm
59) Vansant, John C., House
60) Walker, R., Barn
61) Walnut Lane
62) Welsh Tract Baptist Church
63) Wesley M.E. Church
64) White Clay Creek Presbyterian Church
65) Wilmington Trust Company Bank
66) Wilson, Edward R., House
67) Wright House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Slice Of Italy Pizza
2) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
3) Arby's
4) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
5) Brew-Haha
6) Brew-Haha
7) Bruster's Ice Cream
8) C R Wings
9) Cafe Chettinad
10) Capriotti's Sandwich Shop
11) Cleveland Avenue Sub Shop
12) Cold Stone Creamery
13) Country Maid Ogletown
14) Cucina Dinapoli
15) D P Dough
16) Daffy Deli
17) Deep Park Tavern
18) Domino's Pizza
19) First State Catering
20) Fremont Hall
21) Glasgow Seafood
22) Golden Apple Caterers
23) Golden Palace Chinese Rstrnt
24) Hibachi Japanese Steak House
25) Jake's Hamburgers
26) Jake's Hamburgers Corp Office
27) Jalsa Bar & Restaurant
28) JMRC Inc
29) Josie's Italian Water Ice
30) Joy Garden Chinese Restaurant
31) Korean Barbecue & Sushi Bar
32) Lum's Family Restaurant
33) Margherita's Pizza
34) Mayflower Japanese Restaurant
35) Mc Glynn's Pub & Restaurant
36) Mee Garden
37) Mexican Store El Nevado
38) New Number One Chinese Rstrnt
39) Newark Deli & Bagels
40) Nick & Joe's Pizza
41) No Name Pizza & Gyro
42) Number 1 Chinese Food Take Out
43) Nutter's
44) O'Heavenly Deli
45) Outback Steakhouse
46) Paper Mill Shell
47) Park Deli
48) Perkins Family Restaurant
49) Peter A Pantalone Caterer
50) Pita Pit
51) Pizza Hut
52) Pizza University
53) Primos Hoagies
54) Rackers
55) Ray's Subway
56) Rita's Water Ice
57) Saigon Vietnam Restaurant
58) Samson's Country Maid
59) Shell
60) Simply D Licious LTD
61) Skewers
62) Soffritto Italian Grill
63) Starbucks
64) Stone Balloon
65) Sub City
66) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
67) Taco Bell
68) Taste Of China
69) TCBY
70) Timothy's Of Newark
71) Tony's Cafe
72) Wendy's
73) Yuki Teriyaki
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
stopped in for lunch had red ale & american pale ale both where great would go when ever i could

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brady Brosious Brady Brosious, Selinsgrove, PA
(03/20/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We really enjoy the restaurant. None of the beers seemed to equal my favorite--Guinness--but they were good and it was fun to try a number of beers. Sunday brunch is AWESOME!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from painterjayne painterjayne, Newark, DE
(09/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Just ate there and the food was outstanding. Have great January special and the hummus and dessert were equally outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sharon Sharon, Newark, DE
(01/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
We were seated in the back, which was a bit overheated when we first walked in. We asked the server to turn on the a/c, which he did and it cooled off pretty quickly, thankfully. I had the prime rib (Sunday is prime rib day) and it was great. The horse radish that accompanied it was in a cream sauce and way too mild. My wife had salmon and she enjoyed it very much. The beers were great. I had the ESB, which had a great creamy head and excellent flavor. My wife had the Belgian Brown Ale, which I tried. It had a very fruity flavor with plum overtones. My kids had root beer which Iron Hill brews. It had a very rich flavor and made great root beer floats for dessert. Overall, we enjoyed the visit and would go back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BeerBill BeerBill, Laurel, NY
(09/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Good
All the beers were solid, but none leaped out as a particularly great example of any style. Most of the ales are on the hoppy side (which is a good thing). The food was quite good--try the corn-mail/andouille-stuffed chicken. The bartender was very knowledgeable, personable, available, and friendly. Overall, worth another visit if I am in the area again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Kelly Brian Kelly, Dunwoody, GA
(07/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Iron Hill is a comfortable feeling place that I enjoy. Since opening, the quality of their food & menu selection have gone down hill. Still not a bad choice, just not as good as it used to be.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Newark, DE
(12/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Very good beer. Interesting mineral profile in water adds character to all beers. Oktoberfest clean and malty with dry finish. Tasty. IPA assertively hopped, both in boil and finish.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Aitchison John Aitchison, Northridge, CA
(11/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great
We stopped in for lunch on our way from New York to Washington. I tried the cask conditioned Anvil Ale and I was very impressed. I also had their porter which was also very good. The food was good and the service was fantastic. I envy the U of Delaware students and other residents of Newark...this place is a find

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Irwin Markus Irwin Markus, Baldwin, NY
(10/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
A nice place that ranks higher than other brewpubs in the area. Really not a fan of flavored beers and they seem to enjoy making them. Probably to attract the women. Food is good, though the portions could get a little bigger, or the $$ could come down a notch. Why do brew pubs feel the need to charge you the cost of a case of beer for 3 or 4? hey do have a 1/2 price pizza night and the cost of pitchers were reduced. (I think it was Wednesdays.) A great time to try both fare. All in all a good choice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hops Dreibelbis Jr. Hops Dreibelbis Jr., Newark, DE
(10/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Awesome! Great
First the negatives--On the Saturday afternoon we partook they were out of cask conditioned ales nor were summer wheat beers to be had. Food slightly pricey for the quantity given. On the positive side--innovative architechtural ambiance. Servers have their hearts and minds on their work, and converse well in things relating to the making of yeasty libations. Food is very tasty and menu selection good. Best surprise of all was the Pig Iron Porter. Not your run of the mill stuff by any means. The brewmaster uses generous quantities of dark malt and various hops to produce perhaps the most full-flavored porters I have ever tasted. It's very comparable to the smokey, woody taste of a Scotch cask conditioned ale (aged in whiskey barrels). I can see why it was a winner at the GABF. As the Terminator really said, "I'll be back! Want to try the other beers, too."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from "Don't drink cheap beer!" Demps, Cherry Hill, NJ
(08/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Iron Hill is located just a couple of blocks from the University of Delaware and is easily found via Exit 1 of I-95. Our server greeted us by immediately describing the two special beers not on the beer menu at our table – a West Coast Golden Ale and a Hefeweizen. When she brought the beer sampler, she described each of the eight offerings and even suggested a sequence for tasting them (which I varied a bit). The beers all seemed well done, although some of them seemed too close in style and taste, limiting the sense of variety that you might expect with eight beers. Standouts included the Raspberry Wheat – a subtle interpretation of the style, the Ironbound APA – a good balance of malt and hops, and the Pig Iron Porter. Our sandwiched were quite tasty. The Monday lunchtime crowd was a bit sparse, but then again it was a summer weekday in a college town. I would return to this or another Iron Hill location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Iron Hill is located just a couple blocks from the University of Delaware and is easily found via Exit 1 of I-95. Our server greeted us by describing the two special beers (a West Coast Golden Ale and a Hefeweizen) that were not featured on the regular beer menu at the table. When she brought the beer sampler, she described each of the eight beers in detail and even suggested a sequence for tasting them (which I varied to some degree). The beers were generally all well done, although some of them seemed a bit too similar to one another. Standouts were the Raspberry Wheat - a subtle interpretation of the style, the Ironbound APA, with a good balance of malt and hops, and the Pig Iron Porter. Our sandwiches were tasty. The Monday lunchtime crowd was not large, but it was summer in a college town. I'd return to this or other Iron Hill locations.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Iron Hill has the best tasting beer out of all of the brewing companies. Iron Hill's food and service is excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dawn, Newark, DE
(04/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
Located near the University of Delaware in Newark - No - not New Jersey!, this is the original location of a very great brewpub chain. I enjoyed the Anvil Ale, an ESB-style, their Ironbound Pale Ale, a cask porter (HMM..Cask Porter) and one of the tastiest Wee Heavys I have ever had. This place is worth the trip to Newark. I believe they are opening a new location in Wilmington (DE.) At last: a reason to visit Wilmington!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(03/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
the sights in this college town make it worth the trip alone. I was just sorry my wife was there, I kept getting smacked. I enjoyed the porter as the bartender was quick to point out it just won an award at the gabf. try the rassberry mixed with it yum!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jim ferner jim ferner, baltimore, MD
(10/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Went here for lunch with my wife a few days ago as a break on a long drive. We started with the sampler, which unlike other brewpubs, actually gives you a sample of ALL the beers on tap. My favorite was probably the porter, but honestly all of the beers were good for their style. I also liked their APA which was cask conditioned. The wife had the raspberry wheat, which I also thought was good. They have a Maibock as the seasonal and that was also very good. Our waiter, Greg, was very helpful and very well educated on the different beer. Overall, a very good place and one that I would recommend going to.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paynter Eric Paynter, Richmond, VA
(07/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Great
Enjoyed a somewhat upscale drinking establishment. Beer was very good, service fine and atmosphere pleasant. I always stop here when in this area!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M.J. M.J., Muncie, IN
(03/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The beers and food are good. Worth a detour to visit (but not a pilgrimage). They do distinguish between a British (Anvil) and American (Ironbound) pale ale. I've forgotten which one was also on cask when I visited in October, but it was very good. Granite Gold ale, Lodestone Lager, and Octoberfest all seemed appropriate to their styles. Pig Iron Porter was OK; Raspberry Wheat was good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(12/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
really liked it! Bar staff was great. Please get some XXL shirts!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S Groene S Groene, Columbus, OH
(05/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I found the staff to be well informed and helpful. The food was great. I tasted a seasonal brew, Alt Bier, Which is a rare German Ale. I enjoyed the bar, but I found the dining area to be to wide open with no privacy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Mickleton, NJ
(11/12/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Iron Hill is in a class by themselves!! The beer is fresh and true to form. The food is always wonderful and the specials are unique, not afraid to push the envelope a little bit. Iron hill is not a white table cloth restaurant, but I've dined at most of the upscales in and around Delaware and they better beware because Iron hill is knocking at the door and their coming in!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Mascotti Vince Mascotti, Odessa, DE
(08/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Iron Hill is in a class by themselves!! The beer is fresh and true to form. The food is always wonderful and the specials are unique, not afraid to push the envelope a little bit. Iron hill is not a white table cloth restaurant, but I've dined at most of the upscales in and around Delaware and the better beware because Iron hill is knocking at the door and their coming in!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Mascotti Vince Mascotti, Odessa, DE
(08/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Not all selections available during my visit. Of 3 beers I tried, all were good but none were outstanding. Food was good but expensive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Newman Rich Newman, Jim Thorpe, PA
(03/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place does such an awsome job of making beer and awsome food I can see why it was voted best brewpub in the mid-atlantic region. I found the head brewer and his little monkey helper to be very friendly and quite willing to explain the ins and outs of how they make their beer and the history of the beer. The food was very bold and presented in a wonderfull manner, I got the feeling I was eating in a very upscale establishment yet the final bill was quite reasonable. I would advise anybody who likes great beer and great food to try this brewery!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WILL WILL, sarasota, FL
(01/10/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.539 seconds) 08:55:37 54.166.65.9, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS