PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Red Oak Brew Pub - Greensboro, NC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 02, 2014 @ 04:43 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NC > Greensboro > Red Oak Brew Pub
Red Oak Brew Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Red Oak Brew Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 78.4 / 100
[Closed]
714 Francis King Street
Greensboro, NC 27410
United States
(336) 299-3649
Last Updated: April 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Greensboro, NC
Beer Guide for North Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
43 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Old Town Draught House was Spring Garden Bar
(0 mile)

2) Cooper's Ale House
(4 miles)

3) Bert's Seafood Grille
(6 miles)

4) Crocodile's Cafe
(6 miles)

5) Southern Lights Bistro and Bar
(6 miles)

6) Old Town Draught House Grill
(6 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES GREENSBORO
2) BEST WESTERN DEEP RIVER
3) BILTMORE SUITES HOTEL
4) CLARION GREENSBORO AIRPORT
5) COMFORT SUITES AIRPORT
6) CRESTWOOD SUITES IN GREENSBORO
7) DAYS INN GREENSBORO AIRPORT NC
8) EXTENDEDSTAY WENDOVER AVENUE
9) GREENSBORO COURTYARD
10) HOMEWOOD STES GREENSBORO ARPT
11) LA QUINTA INN GREENSBORO
12) MARRIOTT GREENSBORO AIRPORT
13) PARK LANE HOTEL AT FOUR SEASONS
14) RAMADA INN AIRPORT
15) RED ROOF GREENSBORO AIRPORT
16) SLEEP INN AIRPORT
17) SPRINGHILL SUITES GREENSBORO
18) STUDIOPLUS GREENSBORO AIRPORT
19) STUDIOPLUS WENDOVER AVENUE
20) SUBURBAN HOTEL GREENSBORO WEST
21) WINGATE INN GREENSBORO NC
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Hoskins House Historic District
2) Kimrey--Haworth House
3) Pomona High School, Former
4) Stagville
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Amy Thompson Catering
2) Bamboo House
3) Big B's Que Shack
4) Bohogs
5) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
6) Cici's Pizza
7) Cue N Spirits
8) Domino's Pizza
9) Garden Creek Grill
10) Kfc
11) Laddie & Duke's Family Grille
12) Little Italy Pizza & Subs
13) Mc Donald's
14) Papa John's Pizza
15) Po Folks Family Restaurant
16) Sicily Italian Restaurant
17) Somewhere Else
18) Sriri Siam Tai Restaurant
19) Starbucks
20) Starbucks
21) Streets & Avenues Rstrnt Corp
22) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
23) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
24) Taco Bell
25) TCBY
26) Tcby
27) Tripps Restaurant To Go
28) Wall Street Deli
29) Wendy's
30) Wholly Guacamole Mexican Grill
31) Wok And Roll
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Yes unfortunately Red Oak pub is no longer, however the beer is going strong. They built a huge brewery just east of Greensboro where they are still making kegs, and supposedly are going to start bottling.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Charlie Wannamaker Charlie Wannamaker, Greensboro, NC
(04/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Red Oak brewpub has a sign in the window that states it is closed for renovation. It looks closed for good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(01/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
I almost drove by this place last week while looking for it at night in the rain. It's off the main road behind a shopping center. Once I found it I noticed the layout is a little unusual. Not neccesarily a bad thing, just different. The bar area where I stayed is big and nice enough. I was there on a Wednesday evening and there weren't many people there, in the bar area or the restaurant. I was disappointed to find out they only have three of their own brews on tap, all lagers. Light, amber and dark. I sampled all three and would hard pressed to tell the difference between each. It seems all three start from the same base and they just add a little coloring to make it amber or dark. Not a very good variey. The food however was much better than the beer. I had a bowl of chilli and their "famous" drunken chicken. The chilli was good but the chicken was excelent. If I had to go back there again it would be more for the chicken than the beer. Not exactly want you to hear from a brew pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Lewis John Lewis, Pittsburgh, PA
(09/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy Lousy
EVER GET HOME AND CHECK YOUR ON LINE BANKING ACCOUNT AND REALIZE THE RESTAURANT ADDED MORE TO YOUR BILL THAN WAS ON THE SLIP WHEN YOU LEFT????? KEEP READING -- I KNOW ITS A LONG STORY - BUT FOLLOW WITH ME, PLEASE....My family and I came from out of town to visit friends and hopefully enjoy a Red Oak lager after moving away from Greensboro. We have been up 3 times in the last year and tried to visit the pub with no success; the restaurant seemed to close at any time for any reason, and didn't have "set" hours posted. THis time we planned our visit for a weekend evening figuring the establishment would be in full operation. It was! Yippee:) There were a total of 15 people in our party. When my husband arrived, a familiar face greeted him and tried to persuade the server who had only taken several non-alcoholic drink orders and an appetizer order (which was to arrive MUCH MUCH later in the evening) to switch tables with him, because he knew up as frequent visitors. Our server was unwilling to give up the table -- Bad move on his part - He did not seem to be able to keep up with 2 tables of 15 people. It took forever for him to take our orders - and when he finally did - he left once he got orders for one table and did not return to the other table to continue for at least 10-15 minutes. After the orders were placed - our food took more than 45 minutes to arrive (THIS time is according to the manager - who came to our table AFTER the meal - judging the time based on the order entered time-probably time entered of 2nd table to arrive of food for the 1st table) WE believe it took closer to an hour or more to receive all of our meals -- NOTHING major - No drunkin chicken, No meals that would take an extended time to prepare...JUst sandwiches, burgers, chicken fingers, a quesadilla and a salad. - Granted burgers take long to cook to medium-well or well done, HOWEVER these burgers were still pink inside. (I prefer my medium - however that was not a request this night). The climax to the evening came when the owner/manager came to the table acknowledging the fact that our meals took much longer than they should have and offered desserts. I declined, but requested that an amount equivalent to the cost of a dessert be taken off of each adults bill. He refused, and then ensued and argument between him and my husband. Granted - HE HAD 3 RED OAKS, but at 6'2 and over 225 pounds, and 2 1/2 HOURS to "digest" them, I don't think his reaction was intoxication speaking. He stated that the "owner" should take care of the ENTIRE bill (excluding of course any alcohol consumed), and got up to got to the rest room -- The manager chased him down and threatened to call the athorities. I'm not sure if the owner suspected he was "skipping out" on the bill, but there were still 14 more people at the table -- NOT MUCH TO WORRY ABOUT THERE , EH?

Eventually, we aggreed that we WOULD take those desserts he offered, but with some boxes. He came back to the table and refused -- What did we get - NOT A PENNEY OFF OUR BILL - NO FREE DESSERT - NOT EVEN THE EXTRA SPINACH DIP I ORDERED TO GO THAT HE OFFERED AT NO CHARGE TO MAKE UP FOR THE PROBLEMS.

WHAT DID WE GET -- WE GOT HOME TODAY AND REALIZED THAT ALTHOUGH WE LEFT no GRATUITY (not SOMETHING I DO OFTERN - IF EVER - I'VE WAITED TABLES - WE EASILY GIVE 20% OF MORE) ON THE CREIDIT SLIP - THERE WAS 20% ADDED TO OUR CHECKS WITHOUT OUR KNOWLEDGE OR SIGNATURE . WAITING FOR THE BANK TO OPEN TOMORROW -- I BELIEVE THAT IS ILLEGAL -- WHERE WILL WE GO FROM HERE? NOT TO RED OAK AGAIN...EXCEPT TO SEE THAT BILL SHERRILL KICKS THAT SORRY SOB RIGHT OUT OF THE RESTAURANT BEFORE HE LOSES ALL OF HIS BUSINESS AND FORMALLY LOYAL CUSTOMERS WHO ONCE TRAVELED 3 HOURS JUST TO DRINK A RED OAK.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chandler Chandler, columbia, SC
(03/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Awesome! Good
Only 3 brews were on tap today. Lager, Battlefield and Hummingbird. The beers were OK, not great. The lager was smooth though. The food was also OK. I was hoping for more because I did my research before I came to Greensboro for a business trip. I probably wouldn't come back to this brewpub though. I think I would go to Nat Greene's (sp?) instead. I went there a year ago and was very impressed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Stone John Stone, Shapleigh, ME
(03/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Great
I'm writing this review based on two recent visits to Red Oak after not having been in nearly a year. I had become rather disapointed with the food and the tendency of the bar to close unpredictably early on any given night. It seemed to make more sense in Greensboro to get Red Oak beers in another restaraunt with more consistently good food and more predictable hours. I went to Red Oak on a whim to say hello to any staff that might remain from my days as a regular and to try their new seasonal double bock I had read about in a local news magazine. Not only did I not recognize any of the employees, but the menu was almost completely different from the last time I had seen it. It was explained to me that the reason for the change in menu was that opperation of the restaraunt and bar portion of the brewpub had changed hands. I was surprised to say the least and also curious as to what effect this would have on the food (I suposed it couldn't possibly be any worse than it had become when the restaraunt was in the hands of the old owner). I found the food to be fantastic. Much better, in fact, than in Red Oaks boom days in the mid to late 90's when it was called Spring Garden. In an attempt to sate my curiossity, I more than sated my hunger with the wings, the Quaker steak (a sort of dagwood-philly) and of course the beer. All three of the production staples (Red Oak, Battlefield, and Humminbird) were in their finest form, allaying my concerns about consitency from a year or two ago when the flavor seemed to vary slightly from batch to batch and the Humminbird tended to be sour more often than not. And as for the Double bock, called Blackbeard Bock, I was truly impressed. At 8 percent abv, its the first big beer Red Oak has brewed since the success of the pop the cap boys (cheers to all involved). I'm really glad to see that Red Oak has come around and I plan to be a regular once more. I felt without a home for a while as the only other brewpub in town, Natty Greenes, produces what can only be described as wholly dissapointing beers and unremarkable food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review greensboro, NC
(01/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy N/A Good Good
We stopped to see if we wanted to eat here later and had a sampler, only three beers on tap. a wheat (hummingbird), amber(red oak), and a dark (battleground). The dark was the best of the bunch. I agree the amber was a little funky for a lager, too sweet and definitely something going on with the yeast. Would be nice to have tried a few more, but we ended up not eating here as the inside was a little eclectic (nice for run down) and the menu didn't excite. Worth a stop to try it out, maybe they will have more on tap. Also, watch, doesn't open til 4 in the Summer even on Friday/ Saturday

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Wood Paul Wood, Mt. Pleasant, SC
(07/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Awesome!
local legend in greensboro. located across the road fro mguilford college. best beer is red oak brew. this beer is brewed in accordance with german puity laws. you can try a sampler of the beers free (about 2 oz per beer) well wortha visit. food is also very good; try the philly steak.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike clifford mike clifford, boston, MA
(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
I don't understand. No funky taste. No poor service. Just fine Beer and good food in pleasant surroundings.

We got there around 2 PM. Hot in Greensboro. 95 degrees. If this place isn't good, it will be a long afternoon. The first impression wasn't great. They have nine taps. Five weren't their own. Miller lite, Rolling Rock, Shiner Bock, Spaten Lager, and Sierra Nevada. No treasures in the bunch. Sierra Nevada is good, but readily available. They had only four of their own. Battlefield, a schwarzbier; Red Oak, a vienna style lager; St George, a strong Maibock; and Humminbird (sic), a lite lager. We had samples of all of the Red Oak beers. My question is: Why the Millers and Shiners? The Red Oak beers were fine. Something for every taste. The Battlefield was our favorite. I didn't notice a "funky" taste. Instead an appealing touch of sweetness complementing a very true to style dark lager. The maibock was also wonderful. Strong, malty and slightly sweet. The vienna is a fine example of the style. I don't usually favor light beers. But the Humminbird went down well on a hot summer day. A strong and pleasant malty aftertaste. Nothing particularly hoppy. But this is a lager house, not an ale house. Can't expect a strong dose of hops.

We ordered the Drunken Chicken. If the chick got drunk on the local beers, he died happy. A fine choice. Nicely seasoned, dirty hands food. Finally we had a chance to discuss beer with Adam, the manager. No need to pester him for free stuff. The beer and foor were excellent. A can't miss stop. We'll be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Checkosky Steve Checkosky, Syracuse, NY
(07/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Just returned from a wonderful afternoon here. Sampled a few of the beers, but I settled on the Battlefield - a dark lager that was truly excellent. The first sip convinced me I didn't need to try anymore samples! Not sure where the previous reviewers were when they reviewed this place, but I have to disagree with some of the earlier comments. We also had their "drunken Chicken." That was delicious - I'm now back at the hotel, relaxing after a delightful visit here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, OTHER
(07/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So
We tried three of the four Red Oak brews that were available and all three had the same funky taste like they had some kind of contamination in their system. The beer is hardly drinkable. I visit brew pubs all over the country and I can honestly say that this beer was some of the worst I've tried. They need to do something to fix it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Lover Beer Lover, Chi Town Suburbs, IL
(05/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
Had their Red Oak Amber at a restaurant in Winston-Salem. One of the best traditional lager's I've had. It was almost thirst quenching it was to tasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ace Mclean Ace Mclean, Reading, PA
(03/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Awesome! Awesome!
My burger came to my table and when I bit into it the meat felt cold. I spit it out of my mouth and it was raw! Well, I was a bit upset so I asked to see the manager. The manager, a nicely dressed young man wearing a UNC colored dress shirt and yellow tie, came to my table. His name was Aaron. He paid for my dinner and 6 pints of Fred Oak. He then even invited me to join in a 4some on the Golden Tee machine! Cheers to you Aaron!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, San Francisco, CA
(12/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Great lager beers and hospitality! The dunkles was pretty good and the freshnesss of the Red Oak made it a winner at M'Coul's. The light was OK.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(10/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
FOOD WAS VERY GOOD,BEER WAS GREAT. WE ENJOYED THE WARM FRIENDLY SEVICE WE RECIEVED FROM THE STAFF. THEY WENT ABOVE & BEYOND MAKING ALL COUPLES, SINGLES AND FAMILIES FEEL WELCOMED.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from nickzac nickzac, COCONUT CREEK, FL
(09/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So Great So So Great
If you are going to Red Oak Brewery for anything but Red Oak Amber or the food you are wasting your time. IPA fans should stay away, this beer is to smooth and delicious for you!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Tumblin Mark Tumblin, High Point, NC
(09/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good Good
Looks like a nice place getting a little worn around the edges. Two of the beers we tried tasted like the lines were bad (although one wasn't one of their homebrews). Food was good and service was fast & frienly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TexJets TexJets, Cary, NC
(08/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! So So Awesome!
everything was great except our server was pretty lousy. Her name was Shana so watch out for her if you go there...but other than that a great experience

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wilmington, NC
(07/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Good Great So So
Used to be one of the best, hands down. They recently changed their beer recipe, and now I wouldn't drink 'Battlefield' if you paid me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jim, Greensboro, NC
(04/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Red Oak brewery is such a wonderful place to go. The beer is wonderful and one of a kind! I have only tried Red Oak but am anxious to try the others that are brewed there. I would recommend this pub to anyone and have taken several friends there. I think that this is a wonderful place to go to relax in a awesome atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Catherine Catherine, Reidsville, NC
(03/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Red Oak is the best beer I have ever had.I am located near Gastonia, N.C. and only know of a few restaurants that have it. If anyone can send me a list of establishments in the Charlotte/ Gastonia area that serve Red Oak, I would appreciate it. I hope, as this company grows, the management will not let the quality go down.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review J.Click, Dallas, NC
(03/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Red Oak Brew Pub is one of my favorite places to go. I love it!! I never met a red oak beer i didnt like;)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Regan Regan, Greensboro, NC
(01/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
This is by far the best beer around. The taste is great. Sure beats Bud

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Justin Rohme Justin Rohme, Greensboro, NC
(12/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A Good
I had this beer in a couple of places in Greenboro. It's good to find Lager Houses to drink from. The Dunkles was an interesting flavor but the Lager was fun, too. I'm glad they have gotten into the local market.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(11/23/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.225 seconds) 04:43:19 54.82.66.236, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS