PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Gettysburg Brewing Company - Gettysburg, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 29, 2014 @ 03:14 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Gettysburg > Gettysburg Brewing Company
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Gettysburg Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.5 / 100
[Closed - March 14, 2003]
15 York Street
Gettysburg, PA 17325
United States
(717) 337-0079
Listed Since: January 1997
Last Updated: September 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Gettysburg, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Gettysburg Brewing Company
85 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) The Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

2) Blue Parrot Bistro
(0 mile)

3) Appalachian Brewing Company
(0 mile)

4) Dobbin House Tavern
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Baladerry Inn
2) Baltimore Street Bed & Brkfst
3) Battlefield Bed & Breakfast
4) Brafferton Inn
5) Brickhouse Inn
6) Brierfield II Country
7) Doubleday Inn
8) Gaslight Inn
9) Gettystown Inn-Dobbin House
10) Herr Tavern & Publick House
11) James Gettys Hotel
12) Keystone Inn
13) Lightner Farmhouse B & B
14) Tiber House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICAS BEST INNS GETTYSBURG
2) BW GETTYSBURG HOTEL EST 1797
3) COMFORT INN GETTYSBURG
4) COUNTRY INN STES GETTYSBURG
5) DAYS INN GETTYSBURG
6) HILTON GARDEN INN GETTYSBURG
7) QUALITY INN GETTSBURG MOTOR LOD
8) QUALITY INN LARSONS
9) SUPER 8 GETTYSBURG PA
10) TRAVELODGE GETTYSBURG
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Adams County Courthouse
2) Black Horse Tavern
3) Bridge in Cumberland Township
4) Dobbin House
5) Gettysburg Armory
6) Great Conewago Presbyterian Church
7) Lutheran Theological Seminary-Old Dorm
8) Pennsylvania Hall, Gettysburg College
9) Sauck's Covered Bridge
10) Sheads House
11) Wirts House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Arbor House
2) Arby's
3) Aunt Pitty Pat's Tea Room
4) Avenue Restaurant
5) Blue Parrot Bistro
6) Bonneauville Inn
7) Brother's Pizza
8) Burger King
9) Camelot Gifts & Souveniers
10) Cannonball Olde Tyme Malt Shop
11) Chicken Coop Inc
12) Chinatown Kitchen #4
13) Christopher's Hot Weiners
14) Corrado's Pizza Of Gettysburg
15) Dairy Queen
16) Dead Dog Saloon
17) Deliso Pizza
18) Dino's Pizza & Subs
19) Dobbin House Tavern
20) Dog House
21) Domino's Pizza
22) Dorothy's Chinese Kitchen
23) Dunlap's Restaurant
24) Eastside Lounge & Restaurant
25) Ernie's Texas Lunch
26) Farnsworth House Military
27) Flying Bull Saloon
28) Forum
29) Friendly's Restaurant
30) Gas Light Inn
31) General Picketts Buffets
32) Gettysbrew
33) Gettysburg Brewing Co
34) Gettysburg Family Restaurant
35) Gettysburg Hotel
36) Gingerbread Man
37) Hamilton's Tavern
38) Hard Bean Cafe
39) Hard Bean Cafe
40) Hardee's
41) Hong Kong
42) Hoss's Steak & Sea House
43) Hunt's Boardwalk Fry
44) J D's Grill
45) Jaspers
46) Jo's Corner Delicatessen
47) Kfc
48) La Bella Italia
49) Lincoln Diner
50) Lupitas Mexican Restaurant
51) Mamma Ventura Restaurant
52) Mamma Ventura's Express
53) Mayflower Asian Restaurant
54) Mc Donald's
55) Mc Donald's
56) Mr G's Flavor Freeze
57) New Garden Chinese Restaurant
58) O'rorke's Eatery & Spirits
59) Papa John's Pizza
60) Perkins Family Restaurant
61) Pizza House
62) Pizza Hut
63) Plaza Restaurant
64) Pub & Restaurant
65) Quiznos Sub
66) Ragged Edge Coffee House
67) Rita's Italian Ice
68) Ross's Coffeehouse & Eatery
69) Ruby Tuesday
70) South Street Pizza
71) Spiritfields Pub & Fair
72) Stonehenge Restaurant Inc
73) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
74) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
75) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
76) Sunset Ice Cream Parlor
77) Tommy's Pizza
78) Union Line Grille
79) Vickie's Country Kitchen
80) Wendy's
81) Will Rogers Coffee & Bagel Bar
82) Yellow Canary Market
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Mark from Passaic, you are a moron. Not a day goes by when I don't wish that I could take my family to Dave and Gail's place. I don't toss around ad hominems. and this is not a comment lightly made. Your idiotic comments speak for themselves.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Plank Tony Plank, Carrollton, TX
(01/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Closed 3-14-2003. As the other reviewers say, there is no justice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(09/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Lousy Good
Fact is my family (3 kids under 7) are welcome everywhere we go and Dave is out of business- wonder why?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(09/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great N/A N/A
Whoa! Looks like some of these messages were reposted with ratings from Gettysbrew. I never said anything about the place was lousy.

GBC closes, Gettysbrew survives - where is the justice?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim M Jim M, Hackettstown, NJ
(07/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Well, I'm not sure whether to describe Dave's ales as 'legendary' or now mythological', but those who had the pleasure over the past 7 years already know. Those who didn't will now just have to take our word for it. I AM interested in what happened to the many reviews and messages that were posted here since January, as it looks like quite a few good ones are now missing. Any idea why?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Barber Rick Barber, McSherrystown, PA
(07/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
For some reason I have lost interest in the Civil War.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review R DeCecco, Pittsburgh, PA
(05/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This place closed for one reason and one reason only. The owners lack of interest in putting in the hours (can't say I blame him) and lack of interest in dealing with the public (and maybe a lack of a head for business).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mark, Passaic, NJ
(04/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Closed... say it ain't so...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review John Rivers, Philly, PA
(04/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've had a lot of beer in my lifetime. Top to bottom, the Gettysburg Brewing Company is the best brew pub I have had the pleasure of entering. Being a Civil War buff, I probably should have visted the battlefield too. Can't wait to get back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review John Rivers, Philadelphia, PA
(04/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
sad day indeed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review ray winiecki, blackwood, nj
(03/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I will miss Gettysburg Brewing Company.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review T. Boland, Dunmore, PA
(03/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Dave and Gail, thanks for the memories.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rob rob, MILFORD, CT
(03/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
It's my sad duty to announce that the Gettysburg Brewing Company is no more. :-( The brewing tanks left a couple of weeks ago, and last night was the end of a month long wake on the part of the faithful. We loyal mug owners convened to drain the last of the kegs, a sad job that we accomplished by about 10:30 last evening. Dave will be still open this evening yet for anyone that still hasn't picked up their mug, but I'm afraid you missed your chance to fill it one last time! I filled a growler in an effort to drag out the process by a dayor two, but by Sunday his fine ales will be but a memory. 'Uncle John' Buford's Brown Ale was my personal favorite, but died an early death on Thursday. So we all did our final 'journey through the Civil War, one pint at a time', ending with the last keg of Gettysburg Golden Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rick Barber, McSherrystown, PA
(03/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I want to say thank-you to all who have supported us over the past 7 years. It is somewhat overwhelming for my wife and I right now. So many kind words from so many kind people during our brief existence on the brewery scene. When we initially conceived this pub, we wanted it to be a REAL place for REAL people. I think we met our objective. Those who loved our place were REAL. Those wo mocked us; well, they just didn't get it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dave Baker, Pres., G.B.C. Inc., Biglerville, PA
(03/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
GBC closes, Gettysbrew survives...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jim M, Hackettstown, NJ
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
Aw, damn <;-(.... And the swill-serving place outside of town is still open? There's NO justice, I tell ya. Thank you for good beer, Dave, and good luck and Godspeed in your future endeavors.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(03/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
It's true. All of it. I saw the review below, and, having never been here, decided to check it before it was gone. The brewhouse is on it's way to Brisbane, Australia and the last of the beers are on tap. And it's a real shame. Dave's beere are/were excellent! We tried the Buford Brown on the beer engine, the ESB and the Final Ale. I'm not usually a brown ale drinker, but ended up going back to that for a couple more. It's balance was superb. My wife stayed with the ESB and was very happy. Keg conditioned and served at cellar temps, the brews were worth the drive. The place was full of mug club members picking up their mugs and lamenting the impending loss of this establishment in the community. The patrons were friendly, and good conversation was had. Dave seemed tired, and counting the pints till he could close the doors for good. We also got the impression that community support wained recently (until the news of his closing spread) and it was more and more a financial burden. A "For Rent" sign hangs in the window and it's only a short time before the "closed" sign hangs for good...how sad.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review steve, somerset, nj
(03/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Sad news. Dave is closing down very shortly. The last of the beer is being served now. This is a sad day indeed;

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review boalsburg, Pa
(02/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
I had the Amberham Lincoln amber. My wife had the North & South Black & Tan. Both were very good. The food was not available because it was not 6pm. This is a laid back place for people to enjoy a drink, snack and a chat. It's nothing fancy but its not trying to be.

As for kid friendly, if kid friendly means letting the kiddies run around and scream (this is some people's definition of kid friendly)then this place is not kid friendly (thank God!). There was a family there with 2 young girls who drank their sodas and colored. They were well behaved and nobody gave them a second thought. Dad was even talking with the owner about beer. The place is kid friendly for WELL BEHAVED KIDS.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Washington, DC
(01/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Awesome!
Well, it's a BAR after all, so it's true, you won't be treated like royalty, and your kids aren't the clientele this place is targeting. In any case, this is a cool joint. It's refreshingly no-frills. No wait staff - you place you orders at a pickup window. There's not a TV, either because the owner wants to "encourage the lost art of conversation." He makes no bones about saying that his place is about the beer, and if you don't like it, go someplace else. Awesome! It's even in a convenient location smack in the middle of town, and for history buffs, right along the route of the Federal Army's retreat through Gettysburg en route to Cemetary Hill at the end of the first day of the 1863 Civil War battle. Great beer - we had the "8" beer, which was nice and hoppy. My wife had another one which I can't remember, but it was good too. Those are the only ones I tried - I didn't wanna get tanked and there was no sampler. We only had chips and salsa, but I hear the pizza's good. Next time I'm in Gettysburg, I'll definitely be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason D. Nulton Jason D. Nulton, Charleston AFB, SC
(11/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Awesome!
I love the beer, but this place is not kid friendly. Can't compare an 11 year old to a four year old. Why did they ruin the menu as well. Turn the back room into a family area and ditch the WT pool table (make a family room). Sorry to burden the staff with my family, but we are on vacation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(10/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
I've been here twice and loved it both times. If you want a place to relax and have an excellent beer this is where you should go. Don't expect to be treated like royalty. Just appreciate the quality of the brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Harry Spade, Harry Spade,, Honey Brook, PA
(09/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Marsh Creek Mud (1/2 Porter, 1/2 ESB) @&*^!n' ROCKS! I think Dave is a cool dude. The refreshing local atmosphere of this pub is a nice change of pace from the tourist-infested streets of Gettysburg. The "fratmosphere" of the other local "Pub" "pale-ales" (ha ha) in comparison. The mature and welcoming environment of Dave's establishment is only enhanced by the lighting-fast tasty pizzas. Beer -- incredible. Music -- why not more jazz? (Less Dead, more straight ahead) Food -- keep the pizzas, add more crunchy snacks. By the way, the Dove bars and wine might attract the wrong element -- what's next, a big screen TV?? Just kidding, all that matters is that there is FABULOUS beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kim Kim, San Francisco, CA
(08/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I loved this place. The ESB was great! Got a chance to go in there a couple of times during our week long stay in Gettysburg. My son loved their pizzas. Can't say enough of Dave and his regulars. Great atmosphere. I would recommend this place to anyone who visits the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Milan, MI
(08/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hey, if you were properly prepared with my "Pennsylvania Breweries" tourguide book, you'd KNOW the hours of PA's brewpubs before you went there, even places like Gettysburg and Selin's Grove! Just click on the folder by my name to see the Amazon link. (New York Breweries coming next year!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(07/22/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.317 seconds) 03:14:54 54.237.32.10, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS