PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


River City Brewing Company - Jacksonville, FL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 19, 2014 @ 05:18 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > FL > Jacksonville > River City Brewing Company
River City Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
River City Brewing Company
Overall: Good    Score: 66 / 100
835 Museum Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32207
United States
(904) 398-2299
Listed Since: January 1997
Last Updated: April 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Jacksonville, FL
Beer Guide for Florida

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
25 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Sat 11:00AM - 11:00PM

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) The Mudville Grille
(0 mile)

2) Southend Brewery and Smokehouse
(3 miles)

3) Copper Cavern
(3 miles)

4) Southside Ale House
(3 miles)

5) Wild Wing Cafe
(3 miles)

6) Beer House
(3 miles)

7) Bold City Brewery
(4 miles)

8) Intuition Ale Works
(4 miles)

9) Fly's Tie Irish Pub
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Cleary-Dickert House
2) House on Cherry St
3) Plantation Manor Inn
4) St John's Housebed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ADAM'S MARK JACKSONVILLE
2) BEST WESTERN SOUTHPOINT
3) COMFORT INN OCEANFRONT
4) DAYS INN JACKSONVILLE SOUTH
5) DI OCEANFRONT JACKSONVILLE FL
6) ECONO LODGE INN AND SUITES
7) EMBASSY SUITES HOTEL
8) EXTENDEDSTAY BUTLER BLVD
9) EXTENDEDSTAY RIVERWALK
10) HAMPTON INN JCKSNVL CNTRL
11) HILTON JACKSONVILLE RIVERFRONT
12) HOMESTEAD JACKSONVILLE SE
13) JACKSONVILLE MARRIOTT
14) JAMESON INN JACKSONVILLE
15) KINGS INN
16) LA QUINTA INN BAYMEADOWS
17) LA QUINTA INN/STES BUTLER BLVD
18) MASTERS INN JACKSONVILLE JTB
19) OMNI JACKSONVILLE HOTEL
20) RAMADA INN SOUTH
21) RED ROOF JACKSONVILLE SOUTHPOIN
22) STUDIO 6 JACKSONVILLE BAYMEADOW
23) STUDIOPLUS BUTLER BLVD
24) SUPER 8 JACKSONVILLE I95 S
25) WINGATE INN JACKSONVILLE FL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 310 West Church Street Apartments
2) Atlantic National Bank Annex
3) Bethel Baptist Institutional Church
4) Brewster Hospital
5) Buckman and Ulmer Building
6) Carling Hotel
7) Catherine Street Fire Station
8) Centennial Hall--Edward Waters College
9) Church of the Immaculate Conception
10) Dyal-Upchurch Building
11) El Modelo Block
12) Elks Club Building
13) Epping Forest
14) Florida Baptist Building
15) Florida Theater
16) Groover--Stewart Drug Company Building
17) House at 3325 Via de la Reiva
18) House at 3335 Via de la Reina
19) House at 3500 Via de la Reina
20) House at 3609 Via de la Reina
21) House at 3685 Via de la Reina
22) House at 3703 Via de la Reina
23) House at 3764 Ponce de Leon Avenue
24) House at 7144 Madrid Avenue
25) House at 7207 Ventura Avenue
26) House at 7217 Ventura Avenue
27) House at 7227 San Pedro
28) House at 7245 San Jose Boulevard
29) House at 7246 San Carlos
30) House at 7246 St. Augustine Road
31) House at 7249 San Pedro
32) House at 7288 San Jose Boulevard
33) House at 7306 St. Augustine Road
34) House at 7317 San Jose Boulevard
35) House at 7330 Ventura Avenue
36) House at 7356 San Jose Boulevard
37) House at 7400 San Jose Boulevard
38) Jacksonville Terminal Complex
39) Klutho, Henry John, House
40) Little Theatre
41) Masonic Temple
42) Morocco Temple
43) Mount Zion AME Church
44) Old Jacksonville Free Public Library
45) Old St. Luke's Hospital
46) Plaza Hotel
47) Porter, Thomas V., House
48) Red Bank Plantation
49) Riverside Baptist Church
50) Sammis, John S., House
51) San Jose Administration Building
52) San Jose Country Club
53) San Jose Estates Gatehouse
54) San Jose Hotel
55) South Atlantic Investment Corporation Building
56) St. Andrew's Episcopal Church
57) St. James Building
58) Stanton, Edmin M., School
59) Title & Trust Company of Florida Building
60) Woman's Club of Jacksonville
61) Young Men's Hebrew Association
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Agape Restaurant
2) Alex's Sandwich Shop
3) Angie's Downtown Deli
4) Appetites Cafe & Catering
5) Arby's
6) Arby's
7) Arden Grill Restaurant
8) Asian Buffett
9) Atlanta Bread Co
10) B B's
11) Bakery At Happy Chef's
12) Beach Road Chicken Franchise
13) Beignets Caribbean Cafe
14) Bistro Aix
15) Blimpie Subs & Salads
16) Bobby's Lunch Box
17) Bones Cafe
18) Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q & Catering
19) Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q & Catering
20) Bugzy's Bar & Grill
21) Burger King
22) Burger King
23) Cafe Plaza
24) Cafe' Carmon
25) Captain D's Seafood Restaurant
26) Charlie's Grille
27) Chart House Restaurant
28) Checker Bar-B-Que
29) Chef's Garden
30) Chicken KOOP
31) China Sea
32) China Taste Restaurant
33) Chives Gourmet Market To Go
34) Chopstick Charley's
35) Corner Brasserie
36) Crawdaddy's
37) Dairy Queen
38) Daniel's
39) Dave's Place
40) Desert Sand Sandwich Shop
41) Designed Events Inc
42) Doll House
43) Domino's Pizza
44) Doni's Restaurant & Bakery
45) Dragon Express
46) Ed Of North America
47) El Potro Mexican Restaurant
48) Endo Exo
49) European Street Cafe
50) European Street Cafe
51) Famous Amos Restaurant
52) Famous Amos Restaurant
53) Famous Amos Restaurant
54) Firehouse Subs
55) Fireshouse Subs
56) Flip's Sandwich Shop
57) Gino's Deli & Grill
58) Godfather's Pizza
59) Golden Ox Lounge
60) Grannie Mac's Kitchen
61) Happy Garden
62) Havana-Jax Cafe
63) High Tide
64) Huddle House
65) Hunan Wok
66) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
67) International House-Pancakes
68) International House-Pancakes
69) J & B Sandwich Shop
70) J R Sandwich Shop
71) J R's Lounge
72) Jack Rabbits
73) Jenkins Quality Barbeque
74) Jim's Fried Chicken
75) Jimadores Mexican Grill & Bar
76) Kfc
77) Kirin Japanese Restaurant
78) Krystal Restaurant
79) L'orient Chez Guy
80) La Nopalera Ii
81) Larry's Giant Subs
82) Larry's Giant Subs
83) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
84) Locals'
85) Long John Silver's
86) Loop
87) Lucky Palace Chinese Rstrnt
88) Luigi's Italian American
89) Marble Slab Creamery
90) Matthew's
91) Mc Donald's
92) Mc Donald's
93) Mc Donald's
94) Metro Diner
95) Millennium Pizzeria
96) Miramar 24
97) Moe's SW Grill
98) Morton's Of Chicago
99) Moscow Nights Russian Rstrnt
100) Mudville Grille
101) Mudville Grille
102) New Hong Kong
103) New York Italian Deli
104) Onion Patch
105) Panera Bread
106) Pasta Cuisine
107) Pat's Place & Catering
108) Penny Lane Ice Cream N More
109) Pizza Hut
110) Pizza Palace
111) Pom's Thai Bistro
112) Quiznos Sub
113) Quiznos Sub
114) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
115) Ruth's Chris Steak House
116) San Dong Chinese Restaurant
117) San Marco Deli
118) Sandwich Co
119) Sandwich House
120) Sandwich Shop
121) Seafood Galore
122) Shane's Sandwich Shop Inc
123) Sheik Restaurant
124) Sherwood Liquors Inc
125) Shoney's Restaurant
126) Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q
127) Southern Grill
128) Square One
129) St Nicholas Package Store
130) Stan's Sandwich
131) Stan's Sandwich
132) Starbucks
133) Starbucks
134) Steak-Out
135) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
136) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
137) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
138) Sultan Sandwich Shop
139) Super Hero's
140) Sushi & Sub
141) Sushi Rock Cafe
142) Tableside For Two
143) Taco Bell
144) Taco Bell
145) Tavern On The Square
146) Tidbits
147) Tienda Music El Palenque
148) Tunis Seafood & Wings Subs
149) Vienna Grill
150) Vixens Show Bar
151) Wacko's Bar & Grill
152) Waffle House
153) Wedge Cafe'
154) Wendy's
155) Wendy's
156) Whiskey Joe's
157) Wine Cellar
158) Wing Stop
159) Woody's Bar-B-Que
160) Ying's Chinee Takee Outee
161) Yogurt Creams & Things
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good So So Lousy
Tried the pale and the porter and both were nasty. Decided not to bother trying any other styles. The porter tasted like a lager and had a light brown color. The pale tasted like skunky homwbrew. The bartender was very disconnected with anyone but the two blondes at the bar. The fish tacos were really good, the house salad was small and lacking. Don't bother unless you want to experience the taste of bad beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(07/15/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good N/A So So
I went with a group on a business trip, most of them were not beer aficianados. Some drank the "light", and thought it was good. Some drank the "IPA", which after noticing a lack of aroma, I refused to taste. My inital choice was the porter, which tasted weak and burnt-almost like a rauchbier. The food was OK, and so was the service that day, but it was early evening and empty. The others went bacvk te next night, and said service was lousy because the place was busy. Microbrews for the masses-not worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul Jaeger paul Jaeger, Pembroke Pines, FL
(09/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good So So
Went to this place after a disappointing visit to SouthEnd Brewery across the river. I travel for a living and have the luxury of trying beers all over the nation. This place only had 4 beers and they were all weak. I couldn't finish the Pale Ale I purchased. Wouldn't waste my time there again. You're paying for the riverfront realestate/view and that's about it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pam Pam, pflugerville, TX
(01/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Awesome location, Great staff and food! The beer could be better overall. Good place for happy hour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Jacksonville, FL
(07/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Awesome! So So
Beer was completly flavorless, The IPA weas more like a bud light, the Porter had a striking resemblence to sewer water, I didn't finish either of them. The food was OK but way overpriced, go over the river to Southend instead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Wyatt Wyatt, Jacksonville, FL
(04/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Lousy So So
I should have known I was in for a disappointment, when I saw the neon domestic macrobrewery signs in the bar. To be fair, the restaurant does appear to have a nice ambiance and a great waterview as well. I did have a good seafood sandwich, so it is possible that the food may very well be good. HOWEVER, we are here to talk about the beer, or at least the liquid that was passed off as beer. My sister and I were served by a nice waitress, who seemed to be hungover and stoned. She was pleasant, but she had some trouble with remembering the little things we asked her for, such as menus, table settings and FOOD! This brings me to the beer. I was served a sampler of four that were presented to me as shots in plastic cups(double shots at best). All four had the same basic flavor, crappy. The beers tasted like they were mixed, not brewed. It seemed to be instant beer, just add water. I was thirsty and desperate, so I ordered a pint of the stout flavored drink (or was it a porter? Anyway, who gives a pooponastick) and that was promptly brought to me... in a plastic cup. I'm not going to tell anyone not to go here. Give it a try if you want. You may find it to be a nice restaurant. However, if you want good brew... stay the hell away!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
the atmosphere was incredable. great food, great service. however the beers were anorexic at best. very little body or flavor.with any luck gordon birsch will take over this establishment as well

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jimmy mcconnell jimmy mcconnell, richmond, VA
(03/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Good Good
Most everything was so so with this place...the food was a let down and the beer was the standard water you find a lot in Jax. Location is outstanding...a good manager, brewmaster, and chef could make that place a top spot...but alas...pass by it and grab a beer at the quicky-mart and a whopper at BK and you will be better served....That is of course unless you like not cold Bud. with a food menu that is a shoe in to make at least one of the people in your party ill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom O'Malley Tom O'Malley, Jacksonville, FL
(03/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
The main reason to come here is not for the food or beer, but to gaze at the hostess named Rachel. Oh my- only the hottest thing in Jax. After a wknd of Fl vs Ga and seeing hundreds of hot women- she takes the cake for sure. Figure of perfect indeed....guess the sunday brunch is ok, but she is fabulous!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Jon, Atlanta, GA
(11/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good So So
Food was passable for pub fare, the plae ale was more of an IPA, the red was so-so. nice view of the harbor, no one in jacksonville seems to brew anything of quality, must be the water.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beer Snob, Parsippany, NJ
(05/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
I have been here three times. The first time we waited an hour for our food. The second time one of our party had FOOD POISONING!!! (His tuna was not sushi grade). The last time the waitress was in a bad mood and messed up our orders. This place is priced WAY TOO HIGH to be so lousy. I will never go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Heather Gollnick, Methuen, MA
(03/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So So So
Stopped here in October while in JAX for work. It was a Sunday and there was a band on the deck. The beer was ok, nothing special. There was a nice variety of food on the menu. I wasn't that impressed with my dinner, but one friend that was with me really liked the calimari. The service was pretty bad, had to wait to order each round.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dave Pew, Cape May Court House, NJ
(03/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Attractive decor with good view of St. John's River and the skyline. We went at 5:00PM and it was conversation friendly. It has a children's menu but our 9 year old did not like the cheeseburger. We went on 12/26/02 and the dining room temperature was too cool.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chicago, IL
(12/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Lousy Lousy
I've been here 3x's on trips to Jacksonville and can honestly say this place get worse every time I go there, so NO MORE! The service is absolutely horrible, the beers lack any style and the food is not much better. Go to the Southend Brewery in the Landing, you'll be glad you did...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Gnatowski Mark Gnatowski, Baltimore, MD
(12/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Great Good
Went there for dinner for the view and was very surprised and pleased with the food and service. Had a bottle of wine with dinner, so didn't try the beer. But I will on my next trip to Jacksonville.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Crickmer Todd Crickmer, Austin, TX
(10/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
This is the only place where I have ever been turned away from because I only wanted appetizers and beer. First they said that we could sit in the bar area. The bar area is dark, smokey, loud, and and only has 'high' chairs. Not a friendly place for a couple with a one year old child. So we asked to be seated in the dining room. They refused. As we left, the hostess said, "please come again!" Yeah, right! We went across the river to another pub where the beer was great and the people friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Magill Stephen Magill, Jamestown, ND
(03/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Stopped by RCBC after arriving in JAX on Wed evening. It was early so there was only a small crowd. Bar staff was friendly and helpful. The Porter was the best of the bunch, Scotch Ale was definitely off tasting, may have not been the freshest of kegs. Food was decent enough and arrived hot. Water Taxi's stop just outside which is handy if you are staying far away from the pub. Place is huge and has indoor and outdoor seating, live bands (looked like on weekends).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bubba Bubba, Glen Cove, NY
(10/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
When a friend told me about the latest review of River City's beer -- I was amazed. How could someone who was at the brewery the same time as I was, be so totally wrong about the beer. RCB's brews are not only the best in the area, they are some of the best in the south. The Jackson Pale Ale, in particular, stands out as spectacular. As a friend and patron of almost all of the Brewpubs (and brewers) in the Jacksonville area, I believe that RCB stands out as the best by far.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeffry Will Jeffry Will, Neptune Beach, FL
(09/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Great Lousy Lousy
Worst service I've ever had along with poor excuse for beer. Waitrees said when aske if they had an India Pale Ale; duh, we make our own beers here. Waited long enough for food I ordered that waitress said manager would make meal "complimentary", but could never get manager to come to my table to express my concerns in person. Much better beer /service at other area brewpubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Vienna, VA
(08/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry W. Milewski Henry W. Milewski, Panama City, FL
(02/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good N/A Lousy
A Brew pub that make a light and sells more Bud than anything else. The beer is not up to what you find in most Brew Pubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich DeCecco Rich DeCecco, Pittsburgh, PA
(05/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Hoping my review is outdated based on the other comments (visited in 1996). An unnamed source told me they use the absolute cheapest ingredients in making their beers, and it shows. The food seems to follow along the same line. The one positive is the view of the river and the city from the pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(01/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Visited during the '99 Gator Bowl weekend. Beers were tasty, solidly made, but not overly memorable. The specialty beer (scots ale) was the best I tried. Food was very good (mussels appetizer was excellent, but the scioppino was a little on the bland size). Service was very good in both the bar and the restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Browning Tony Browning, Cedar Rapids, IA
(01/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great happy hour during the summer and fall months. Large outside deck with band and super view of the river and the city. Good place to party on the weekends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jamie Nichols Jamie Nichols, Jacksonville, FL
(09/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Fox Brian Fox, Jacksonville, Fl
(12/09/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.206 seconds) 05:18:06 54.82.1.136, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS