PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Front Street Brewpub - Wilmington, NC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 20, 2014 @ 10:12 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NC > Wilmington > Front Street Brewpub
Front Street Brewpub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Front Street Brewpub
Overall: Great    Score: 75.5 / 100
9 North Front Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
United States
(910) 251-1935
Listed Since: January 1997
Last Updated: October 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Wilmington, NC
Beer Guide for North Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
43 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Fat Tony's Italian Pub
(0 mile)

2) Longstreet's Irish Pub
(0 mile)

3) Cape Fear Wine and Beer
(0 mile)

4) Mellow Mushroom
(4 miles)

5) Break Time Sports Bar and Grille
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 15th Street Bed & Breakfast
2) Anderson Guest House
3) Bellamy Bed & Breakfast
4) Blue Haven Bed & Breakfast
5) Camellia Cottage Bed & Brkfst
6) Catherine's Inn Bed Breakfast
7) Dragonfly Inn
8) French House
9) Front Street Inn
10) Graystone Inn
11) Inn on Orange Street
12) It's Only Natural
13) River Inn
14) Rosehill Inn Bed & Breakfast
15) Stemmerman's Inn
16) Taylor House Inn
17) Verandas
18) Wine House Bed & Breakfast
19) Worth House Bed & Breakfast
20) Worth House/Victorian Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN CAROLINIAN
2) BEST WESTERN COASTLINE INN
3) COMFORT INN EXECUTIVE CENTER
4) COMFORT SUITES WILMINGTON
5) COURTYARD WILMINGTON
6) DAYS INN WILMINGTON MARKET ST
7) EXTENDEDSTAY NEW CENTRE DRIVE
8) FAIRFIELD INN WILMINGTON EAST
9) HAMPTON INN
10) HAMPTON INN WILMNGTON MED
11) INNKEEPER WILMINGTON
12) MAINSTAY SUITES WILMINGTON
13) RAMADA INN CONFERENCE CENTER
14) RIVERVIEW SUITES
15) SLEEP INN WILIMGTON
16) STEMMERMANS INN
17) SUPER 8 MOTEL
18) THE WILMINGTONIAN
19) TRAVELODGE WILMINGTON NC
20) WINGATE INN WILMINGTON NC
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Audubon Trolley Station
2) Carolina Heights Historic District (Boundary Increase)
3) City Hall/Thalian Hall
4) Delgrado School
5) Federal Building and Courthouse
6) Hooper, William, School (Former)
7) USS NORTH CAROLINA (BB-55) National Historic Landmark
8) Walker, James, Nursing School Quarters
9) Wilmington National Cemetery
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 17th St Deli & More Express
2) A Slice Of Life Pizzeria & Pub
3) Airport Restaurant Gift Shop
4) Andys Cheesesteaks & Chsbrgrs
5) Angie's Of Chris's Restaurant
6) Asian Buffet
7) Bagel Oven Cafe II
8) Barbary Coast
9) Bella's Sweets & Spirits
10) Bevanda Lounge
11) Big Dog Cafe
12) Birds
13) Blimpie Subs & Salads
14) Blue Monkey Bar & Grill
15) Booty's Soul Food Restaurant
16) Burger King
17) Caffe' Phoenix
18) Cape Fear Coffee
19) Caribbean Lion
20) Caribbean Spice
21) Cbz Inc
22) Cedar's Restaurant
23) Charley Brownz Lounge
24) Charlotte's Uptown Eatery
25) Checkers
26) China King Restaurant
27) Chris's Restaurant
28) Circa 1922
29) City Stage
30) Club Mixers
31) Coleys Crab Shack
32) Copper Penny
33) Costellos
34) Dairy Queen
35) Deli Downtown
36) Deluxe Cafe
37) Dick's Dogs & Burgers
38) Dixie Grill & Pool Room
39) Dock Street Oyster Bar
40) Dog House
41) Dominic's Downtown
42) Domino's Pizza
43) Domino's Pizza
44) Dubliner
45) Elijah's Restaurant
46) Fat Tony's Italian Pub
47) Firebelly Lounge
48) Folks Cafe
49) Front Street Brewery
50) Front Street Diner
51) General Assembly Coffee House
52) George On The Riverwalk
53) German Cafe
54) Gilchrist Family Restaurant
55) Gilchrist Family Restaurant
56) Gracies 121
57) Grasshopper
58) Green's Restaurant
59) Grouper Nancy's
60) Hall's At Fifth & Castle
61) Hall's Landmark
62) Hammerjax
63) Hardee's
64) Hell's Kitchen
65) Henrietta III Riverboat
66) Horne's Coffee Shop
67) Hot Dog Stand
68) I Love Ny Pizza
69) Ibiza Nightclub
70) Italian Bistro
71) Jester's Java
72) Juggling Gypsy Cafe
73) Kfc
74) Le Catalan
75) Liquid Room
76) Little Dipper Fondue
77) Longstreet's Irish Pub
78) Louie's Hot Dogs
79) Lula's
80) Maarz
81) Mike's Grill
82) New England Ice Cream & Cafe
83) New Liverpool Sandwich & Bvrg
84) Nikki's Fresh Gourmet
85) Nino's Pizza
86) Olive Or Twist
87) P T's Olde Fashioned Grille
88) Paddy's Hollow
89) Parchies Barbeque
90) Peking Gourmet Chinese Rstrnt
91) Pender's Luncheonette
92) Penthouse
93) Pilot House
94) Pizza Hut
95) Port City Java
96) Port City Java
97) Port City Java 17th Street
98) Port City Java Coffee Houses
99) Port City Sub Co
100) Prima Restaurant
101) Prime Thyme Cafe & Caterers
102) Quiznos Sub
103) R & B Grill
104) Reel Cafe
105) Restaurant La Fondita
106) River Dogs
107) Roly Poly
108) Roy's Riverboat Landing
109) Rum Runners
110) Rusty Nail Sports Bar
111) Scoop Ice Cream & Sandwich
112) Sea Horse Lounge
113) Shanakee Restaurant & Pub
114) Side Bar Inc
115) Souyia Restaurant
116) Spencer's Restaurant
117) Spiros Breakfast & Lunch House
118) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
119) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
120) Sweet And Savory Downtown
121) Sweets House Of Soul
122) Szechuan 130 Chinese Rstrnt
123) Taste Of Country
124) Third Street Coffee Shop
125) TLC Diner & Grill
126) Tokyo-Deli
127) Town Hall
128) Trolly Stop Hot Dogs
129) Undercurrant At 10 Market
130) Underground Sandwich Shoppe
131) Uno's Pizzeria
132) Velvet
133) Water Street Restaurant
134) Whiskey Bar
135) White Front Breakfast House
136) Wilmington Hollywood Connect
137) Winnies Tavern
138) Zora's Seafood Market Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
Visited 9/18/10, a Saturday... it was a happening place. A young crowd but a lot of fun. Had a spectacular stout and Shepard's Pie. Great neighborhood for walking.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed J Ed J, Alexandria, VA
(10/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So So So
Another nice adaptive reuse of an older building. The beer and food was great, but the place was so crowded & densely packed, and noisy, that this visit on a Sat night was not enjoyable. Tables too close together, people bumping into us while we tried to eat, plus the soup, salad, and entree all came at the same time. No excuse for that. Oh yes, the soup was not what was ordered. I would definitely recommend a visit, but to stay away on a Sat night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BR549 BR549, State College, PA
(01/10/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
They had a really good IPA, that i enjoyed. My wife had the rasberry wheat,that she couldn't get enough of. We ate the onion rings and chicken quesadillas. The rings were on the money, but the chicken in the queso were a tad sweet(they marinate it in a scottish ale). Overall it is a must see, look forward to spending alot of time there. They also have some good looking waitstaff. Easy on the eyes when you are kicking back a few pints.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Hughey, SC
(05/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great
So, I read the review above, and have to disagree strongly. Obviously everyone has a different taste. But, I absolutely love the pulled chicken nachos. My girlfriend and I go there about once a week to get them. They are the main reason that we go there. Personally, I would say that you can't go wrong with any of the appetizers. The buffalo shrimp are great, and the fried green tomatoes are wonderful (make sure you get them with crab).

The beer is also very good. For a local brewery, you really can't complain. I have noticed that the beer has been steadily improving.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wilmington, NC
(08/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The beer is the best on the east coast. The food was excellent. But the atmosphere, and the new staff was beyond compare - this place should be at the top of your list!!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Charlotte, NC
(01/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
The coffee stout now on special is outstanding. It is smooth, robust & begs you to have another. Normally one stout is enough for me but this one begs you to have another. Two are sufficient because of the high alcohol content however. Also, the beer battered chili rellenos were excellent. Both the stout & the rellenos will be on our list the next time we vist which will be soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry Henry, Ocean Isle Beach, NC
(06/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy So So
Front Street Brewery has really "gone down hill" since they reopened. The food tastes worse. I use to be a HUGE fan of the pulled chicken nachos, so when thy reopened I got a whole group together to go get nachos and they tasted horrible...how embarrassing!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review wilmington, NC
(05/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So N/A
Overpriced food, chicken pulled nachos soggy with no taste, prime rib sandwich meat was dry cheese not melted and the bread stale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from d d, WILMINGTON, NC
(02/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So
Go for the food, not the beer. All the food was great, except for the Cheddar Beer Soup (Which was also terrible).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Raleigh, NC
(10/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
It appears that Front Street Brewing is either closed or closing. I went by on Wednesday 02/22/06. Sign in window saying sorry to be closing after ten years... wanted to go out on top...all beer remaining at 1.50/pint until it's gone...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Willy Prost Willy Prost, Arlington, VA
(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
I was disappointed at my last visit to Front Street. Beer was still good but seemed to lack the crispness that used to make it great. As for the food, if you like fast food style delivery and presentation then this is your place. The Class is gone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom R. Tom R., Cape Carteret, NC
(01/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy So So
Big changes at Front Street -- they've ditched the menu, the chef, half the tables and all of the plates and now cater to the college crowd with live music and really bad "pub" food served in plastic baskets. Really disappointing. Order the beer to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Princeton, NJ
(12/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Agree with many of the other reviews. If you are in the area, definitely seek Front Street Brewery out. The location, building, and feel are great. The food and service has also always been great for me. Beer selection and quality is consistent, but unspectacular.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Raleigh, NC
(07/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
Great historic atmosphere. Rasberry Wheat Ale is excellent as well as their IPA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Caroline Caroline, Wilmington, NC
(02/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Wonderful locaation, the food is quite good, and their Brews are wonderful

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephan Stephan, Atlanta, GA
(12/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry W. Milewski Henry W. Milewski, Panama City, FL
(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Was visiting Wilmington for the weekend and made a special trip and it was worth it. The oatmeal stout was very good (the only one I tried). The bar had good atmosphere and the service was good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Terri Boggs Terri Boggs, Jewett, OH
(05/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I was stationed nearby while in the Marines and I ate there at least twice a week despite the 45 min. drive. I'm not a wannabe conoseur of beer, but I was in "The Corps" and I have drank many different beers around the world. I really enjoyed the Rasberry Stout. The food is awesome, the service is top notch, and the overall feel of the place is dark, comfortable, socially inspiring, with a taste of new age college hang out. Did I mention the food is awesome?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Ryan, Lafayette, IN
(04/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Good Lousy
Stop brewing before you hurt someone...The staff was very friendly but the beer was so watered down that it was undrinkable. Please, I beg craft brewers to brew beer that is appealing to the craft beer drinker.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ralph Ralph, Raleigh, NC
(04/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
I've visited several times since 1998 and the other reviewers pretty much got it right. The beers are unspectacular but drinkable while the food and service are outstanding. The decor is dark wood and very "pubby" in both the main bar and the upstairs loft. It's the only brewpub in the Wilmington/Carolina Beach region.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stoffan Mark Stoffan, Asheville, NC
(01/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good Good
I live just across the river and have been a few times. I have tried several of the styles and have never been impressed. There is nothing particularly distinctive about the beers other than their lack of boldness. It seems as they brew in order to please the general public rather than attempting to brew quality distintive beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anthony Heath Anthony Heath, Southport, NC
(01/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
We moved 4 years ago and I still have cravings for their rasberry wheat ale. I have yet to find another that can compare. Absolutely fabulous!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tanya Tanya, Seaford, VA
(09/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Great Great
Same opinion as most of the other folks. Beer was ok. Food was awesome. Service was very good. They need a new brewmaster! Oh, and the location is very cool too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randolph Williams Randolph Williams, Toccoa, GA
(08/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
Good atmosphere and food. I went for the beer though. They had all lagers including the seasonal save for the IPA. I opted for the IPA due to my hop headed nature. It was very malty and resembled a lager with a weak hop aroma and finish. Out of all the IPA's I have tasted it was the worst. Drinkable but could barely pass as a pale ale let alone the distinct style known as the India Pale Ale. They had a nice Raspberry Wheat that was appealing to my girlfriend. They also had a raspberry stout. I was told that it was a mixture of their stout with the raspberry wheat. "hugh?" Unique but weird. Thought it was strange brewing an ale and a lager and mixing them together for some concoction. It was not very good. I talked to a local who frequented the pub and he explained that the pub had a new brewer. A new brewer that doesn't drink. If this is true, the the Front Street Brewery will suffer. You don't have to be a brewmaster to know that tasting and drinking your recipes throughout the process is key to creating and tweeking your art. Only novice beer drinkers will blow it off. Once word gets around the brew community of mediocre beer brewing at this place only the food and atmosphere will keep it afloat. Overall, a nice location, good food, great service and potential to be a great "drive out of your way place" with the right brewer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christopher N. Young Christopher N. Young, Mechanicsburg, PA
(07/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Really cool building in downtown Wilmington. I got a sampler and thought the stout was ok (first taste was great but the beer didn't hold up and was kind of thin). The IPA was more of an English style, not a West Coast style. It was fine. They had a raspberry that was pretty good. The lager was good as well. We had food which again was fine. If in town, I'd stop again, but it was nothing really special. Service was very good, so we enjoyed ourselves.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paynter Eric Paynter, Richmond, OTHER
(06/06/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.967 seconds) 10:12:18 54.87.179.107, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS