PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Peter B's Brew Pub - Monterey, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 24, 2014 @ 01:21 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Monterey > Peter B's Brew Pub
Peter B's Brew Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Peter B's Brew Pub
Overall: Good    Score: 66.8 / 100
Portola Plaza Hotel
2 Portola Plaza
Monterey, CA 93940
United States
(831) 649-4511
Listed Since: February 1997
Last Updated: December 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Monterey, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
39 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(10 within 5 miles)
1) Characters Sports Bar
(0 mile)

2) Cannery Row Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Trailside Cafe and Beer House
(0 mile)

4) London Bridge Pub
(0 mile)

5) The Mucky Duck
(0 mile)

6) The Bulldog Pub
(0 mile)

7) Britannia Arms
(0 mile)

8) Crown and Anchor
(0 mile)

9) The OL'FACTORY Cafe
(3 miles)

10) Post No Bills
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast-California
2) Del Monte Beach Inn
3) Forest Lodge Cottages
4) Gatehouse Inn
5) Grand View Inn
6) Green Gables Inn
7) Jabberwock
8) Martine Bed & Breakfast Inn
9) Merritt House Inn Monterey
10) Monterey Hotel
11) Old Monterey Inn
12) Seven Gables Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST VALUE STAGE COACH LODGE
2) BEST VALUE SURF INN
3) BEST WESTERN BEACH RESORT MONT
4) BEST WESTERN CARMEL MISSION
5) BEST WESTERN DE ANZA INN
6) BEST WESTERN MAGIC CARPET LDG
7) BEST WESTERN MONTEREY INN
8) BEST WESTERN PARK CREST MOTEL
9) BEST WESTERN RAMONA INN
10) BLUE LAGOON INN
11) CARMEL VALLEY RANCH WYNDHAM
12) CASA MUNRAS GARDEN HOTEL
13) CLARION HOTEL MONTEREY
14) COMFORT INN CARMEL HILL
15) COMFORT INN DEL MONTE BEACH
16) COMFORT INN MUNRAS
17) CYPRESS GARDENS INN
18) DAYS INN MONTEREY
19) DEL MONTE PINES
20) DISCOVERY INN
21) ECONO LODGE BAY BREEZE
22) HILTON MONTEREY
23) HJ EXP INN MONTEREY SEASIDE
24) HOTEL PACIFIC
25) HOWARD JOHNSON MONTEREY CA
26) HYATT REGENCY MONTEREY
27) MARIPOSA INN
28) MARTINE INN
29) MONTEREY BAY INN
30) MONTEREY BAY TRAVELODGE
31) MONTEREY DOWNTOWN DAYS INN
32) MONTEREY MARRIOTT
33) MONTEREY PLAZA HOTEL
34) MUNRAS LODGE
35) OTTER INN
36) PORTOLA PLAZA HOTEL
37) QUAIL LODGE
38) QUALITY INN MONTEREY
39) QUALITY INN MUNRAS AVE
40) RAMADA LIMITED CARMEL HILL
41) RAMADA LIMITED MONTEREY BAY
42) RODEWAY INN MONTEREY
43) SPINDRIFT INN
44) SUPER 8 MONTEREY/CARMEL
45) TRAVELODGE MONTEREY DOWNTOWN MU
46) VAGABOND MOTEL MONTEREY
47) VICTORIAN INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Black, Mary C. W., Studio House
2) Finch, James W., House
3) Gosby House Inn
4) Larkin House
5) Merritt, Josiah, Adobe
6) Pacific Biological Laboratories
7) Parmelee, Lou Ellen, House
8) Royal Presidio Chapel
9) Stevenson House
10) Trimmer Hill
11) U.S. Customhouse
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Abregos Lounge
2) Anthony's Steak & Seafood
3) Balesteri Unlimited Catering
4) Baskin-Robbins
5) Bay View Properties Group Sls
6) Billy Quon's At Ryan Ranch
7) Breakfast Club
8) Broadway Restaurant & Bar
9) Burger King
10) Cafe Noir
11) Cafe Serendipity
12) California Pizza Kitchen
13) California Pizza Kitchen
14) Cannery Row Delicatessen
15) Carl's Jr Restaurant
16) Caruso's Corner Restaurant
17) Casey's Breakwater Cove Deli
18) Characters
19) Chef Lee's Mandarin House
20) Chinese Gourmet Express
21) Chipotle Mexican Grill
22) Chippers
23) Church's Chicken
24) Classic Catering & Chef Svc
25) Club At Heritage Harbor
26) Compagno's Market & Deli
27) Crepes Ago Go
28) Croutons Custom Catering-Chef
29) Curly's Bb-Q
30) Del Monte Express
31) Denny's
32) Doc Ricketts Lab
33) Doorbell Dining
34) Duffy's Tavern & Family Rstrnt
35) Eddie's
36) El Charro Restaurant
37) El Migueleno Restaurant
38) Epicurean Restaurant Group
39) Far East Cafe Urant
40) Ferdi's
41) Fishwife Seafood Restaurant
42) Garden Deli
43) Golden Tee Restaurant
44) Gourmesa
45) Grandma's Kitchen
46) Happy Dragon
47) Holiday Inn
48) Ichi-Riki Japanese Restaurant
49) Jack In The Box
50) Jack In The Box
51) Jim's
52) John Pisto's Whaling Station
53) Jose's Mexican Foods
54) Karlen's Deli
55) Kfc
56) Lighthouse Bar & Grill
57) Lim's Cafe
58) Los Compadres Restaurant
59) Loulou's Griddle In The Middle
60) M 3 Entertainment
61) Mariscos Puerto Nuevo
62) Mc Donald's
63) Mc Donald's
64) Mc Donald's
65) Mc Garrett's
66) Molly O'briens
67) Monterey Dining Destinations
68) Monterey Ice Cream
69) Monterey Joe's
70) Montereys Fish House
71) Morgan's Coffee & Tea
72) Nancy's Cafe
73) Nara Korean Restaurants
74) New China Restaurant
75) Norma Jean's Restaurant
76) Ocean Thunder
77) Pacifica Cafe
78) Paddle Club
79) Partington Ridge
80) Petra Cafe
81) Pisto's Kitchen
82) Pizza Grotto
83) Pizza My Heart
84) Planet Gemini
85) Plumes Coffee House
86) Pot Belly Deli
87) Pronto Pizza Restaurant
88) Quiznos Sub
89) Quiznos Sub
90) Quiznos Sub
91) Randy's Sandwich Shop
92) Sakura Japanese Restaurant
93) Segovia's
94) Shane's Irish Bistro
95) Shnarleys Pizzeria & Wine
96) Snarley's Bronx Pizza
97) Starbucks
98) Starbucks
99) Starbucks
100) Starbucks
101) Steakhouse Sixty8 Bar & Grill
102) Subway & Baskin-Robbins 31 Ice
103) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
104) Tabouli's Deli & Mid-Eastern
105) Taco Bell
106) Taqueria Del Mar
107) Taqueria El Peregrino
108) Tarpys Road House
109) Tommy's Restaurant
110) Tsing Tao China Restaurant
111) Turtle Bay Taqueria
112) Tutto Buono Catering
113) Vege 2U
114) Viva Monterey
115) Wendy's
116) Wendy's
117) Whaler
118) Wild Plum Cafe & Bakery
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
This place turned out to have surprisingly good beer after a few negative first impressions. This pub is connected to a large, downtown hotel with a sports bar theme, a bar and a dining room. The night we visited it happened to be Monday Night Football with the 49rs playing so the place was lively to say the least. The bar was quite crowded so we went through to the dining room where it seemed one was pretty much expected to order a meal and not just try the beer. Fortunately we were hungry so had some food and I particularly liked the garlic fries.

Thee was time only for a couple of beers, I had their IPA and 7 Malt Stout, both of which I found to be excellent. The ale was at a nice level of hoppiness absent the citrus flavor which some hops impart. The stout was hearty with an excellent finish.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe G Joe G, Greensboro, NC
(10/03/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy Great
Wonderfully pet-friendly patio. Beautiful setting and ambiance. Great sports watching set up. Service inadequate indoors and lousy outdoors. Good neighborhood place to stop by for a brew after walking the dog. John, Monterey

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Monterey, CA
(12/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So
Thought this was a place to post reviews, not criticize others for their opinions. Are you mad because I ripped on your hometown brew? Sorry to say, but the beer I tried here still ranks in my top ten worst. Fruit beer is fantastic.....expand your horizons. The Raspberry Wheat was the one I liked the most, did not say it was great. Give your thoughts and don't worry about what someone else wrote. Oh, the service was very slow too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(08/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
You know the funny thing about the last review is the kid likes fruity beer. Get this, the fruit is a syrup added to the IPA. learn your beers before you judge others.

Peter B's has an excellent Wheat and IPA.

Great location.

They just revamped their menu and the location (being near the ocean) with not a lot of tourist traffic is perfect. Nice patio.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chad Chad, Monterey, CA
(04/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So So So So So
Second worst beer experience I've had during my beer adventures (picadilly's). Besides the Raspberry Wheat, everything else was crap. All beers tasted like novice homebrew. Unless you like to visit different brewpubs just to say you did, I'd stay away. Food was nothing special either.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(10/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good
Nice rustic atmosphere inside and casual seating outside. Brewed Beer selection was lousy the few times I've been there. The Stout was decent but the Octoberfest brew wasn't appealing to my tongue. Less than half of the brewed selection was available. Artichoke dip appetizer wasn't so good but the servers was nice and hospitable when they rarely came over. I'm a local who isn't so interested in making PB's a regular stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vincent Vincent, Marina, CA
(09/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Its really to bad that with such a great location and being the only true beer pub in Monterey (though I questioned the waiter about this and didnt get a straight answer)they cant get it right. The food is overpriced and lousy.. Not sure why I keep going back. The beer is OK but overpriced The service is Ok but without character.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy Thieben Randy Thieben, SANTA CRUZ, CA
(09/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
The place can't be beat for location. The heart of Monterey is at your pedestrian pleasure. They had seven brews on tap to go along with a full bar. Tried a pint each of the Amber, the seasonal red, Rusty Penny Ale and the Seven Malt Stout. All were drinkable but not spectacular. The Stout stood out as best of the trio. The food menu is a little shy of choices and a bit pricey but the fish tacos I had were loaded with big chunks of Mahi-Mahi. The firepit, pool table, popcorn machine and numerous TV monitors give the place a good feel. Service seemed a bit hit-and-miss but I'd blame that on the beautiful day outside. Definitely not the best brewpub in the Monterey Bay area but if you are in the neighborhood it's worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(03/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Wife and I stop by here whenever we are in Monterey and really enjoy it. This visit I had my usual IPA and it was very good. Alot of hop taste which I truely enjoy. Wife had the hefeweizen and she enjoyed it. She's very picky when it come to hefes and she says this one compares well to her favorite, Pyramid's hefeweizen. We also arrived at the start of happy hour and enjoyed the tasty wings and a spinich-artichoke dip for $3 each. Nice size servings too. A relaxing atmosphere with very gracious service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ipafn ipafn, The California Delta, CA
(01/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy
It was a damp Tuesday evening, only about 12 tables being used, and the staff just watched as I waited for service by the sign that said 'Wait her to be seated'. Not until I asked did anyone move. They tried to seat me at a dirty table, even though dozens were available. Took 10 minuted for the waitress to bring me a menu, and I ordered an IPA. 10 minutes more passed, and as the waitress walked by, I asked if she had my beer yet. 'Oh, were out of IPA... SORRY!' The whole evening went that way.

I orderd the catch of the day, stuffed fresh salmon, but they brought fries instead of the garlic mashed... again I was told 'Oh, we're out of those... SORRY!' I complained to the manager who assigned a new waiter, but he was no better.

Food was so-so, beer not very cold and kinda light on the carbonation, and the waite staff was lousy. I was not impressed, and will NOT return.

This town needs a real pub or brewery...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Gallisdorfer Steve Gallisdorfer, Nevada City, CA
(12/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Visited while traveling the country. Since it is attached to a hotel, I wasn't expecting much; but i found their beers very tasty with their stout and amber good examples of the styles. We were given a taste of their 9.5 scotch ale that was just being tapped - very smooth and pleasing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Fowler Mark Fowler, Yorktown, VA
(08/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
If you like fruit beers, their apricot beer is awesome. They also have a berry beer that is tasty. Food prices are a little high. Nice atmosphere and great service. Self serve popcorn machine makes for good pub snacking.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Mendonca Rob Mendonca, Turlock, CA
(08/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Great Good
In spite of quite a few bad reviews I had to check this place out as long as I was in Monterey. I found it to be pretty OK. The beer was so-so and the selection was not good (unless you like wheat beer of which there were 3 varieties), but the service was very good and the overall atmosphere was very good too. It seemed to be a popular happy hour hangout. If you are always on the lookout for a new brewpub to try, like me, then you should check the place out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Jeff, Duluth, MN
(07/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
It's ok, but the wait staff acted like they were going out of their way to serve you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have been going to Peter B's for over 5 years now and it is one of the premire pubs to go to in Monterey!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Garry Kaiser Garry Kaiser, Monterey, CA
(02/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good
After a whale watch trip in what the guide called the worst weather they ever went out in we stopped here. The Octoberfest was poor. There was no flavor or character to this beer. The pilsner was plain and boring and the wheat was marginally ok. The food was good but not anything special. Sevice was good. I would avoid Monterey for the beer and whales in the future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donald Donald, manalapan, NJ
(10/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So So So
Beer selection was limited and all three that I tasted were terrible. Food was expensive and overall fairly average. The crab enchilada was particularly bad. Service was slow and inattentive even at the bar. Many TVs to watch sports but the night I visited they weren't even showing an ongoing semifinals basketball game. If you're looking for microbrew in Monterey, look somewhere else !!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Livermore, CA
(07/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Awesome! So So
I was very apprehensive coming in to Peter B's, especially after reading all the bad reviews. But I decided I would give it a chance while staying at the Doubletree on a buisness trip. It was a pretty busy Saturday night and I found myself a small table near the bar. I ordered the Wheat Beer and had their beer battered onion rings. I have to say that the beer was probably the worst beer I have ever had and the onion rings were just ok. The only good thing I had at Peter B's was awesome service from a beautiful cocktail server named Vanessa. If you want dreadful bear, ok food but great service with a beautiful view then you now know where to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Omaha, NE
(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good So So Good
The only good beer they offer is their heffeweizen. The only beer they offer other than their own brews is Budweiser.

The food is pretty good, but I'd stick to the pizza.

Service is kind of slow on Friday nights, it seems like they're always short handed.

The atmosphere is good and the servers are friendly, which makes it a good place to hang out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cameron Cameron, Monterey, CA
(07/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
The prices were o.k. The service was like what other peolpe have previously said, VERY ARROGANT. Our waiter thought he knew it all. My boyfriend at the time was so annoyed I thought he was going to knock him out. There are many other better places right down the street.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Katie, Marina, CA
(05/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
The prices were o.k. The service was like what other peolpe have previously said, VERY ARROGANT. Our waiter thought he knew it all. My boyfriend at the time was so annoyed I thought he was going to knock him out. There are many other better places right down the street.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Katie, Marina, CA
(05/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
Like many other surveyed, I too found that the service is quite poor and borderline - arrogant. The beer is fine, the atmosphere is good. It's all about how you feel when you leave, and I have never felt real good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gianni Russo, Salinas, CA
(04/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Peach pale ale was excellent (not overly sweet). Pilsner was also good although mild. They didn't have any of the wheats though as they were out of stock. IPA needs more hops.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Roseville, Ca
(03/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A Good
I cannot say a whole lot to upgrade the previous so-so reviews of this place. I stopped in only briefly on a Sunday afternoon. I caught a little football on TV and had one pint of the "dark wheat", which is actually a mix of their wheat and their stout. It wasn't bad, reminding me slightly of Shiner's award-winning dunkelweizen, their Winter Ale. If in or near Monterey you may wish to give Peter B's a try, but don't go too far out of your way.....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(11/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
They have good appetizers and an affordable happy hour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Carmel, CA
(10/18/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.417 seconds) 13:21:13 54.82.82.201, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS