PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Beach Chalet Brewery and Restaurant - San Francisco, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 25, 2014 @ 01:48 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > San Francisco > Beach Chalet Brewery and Restaurant
Beach Chalet Brewery and Restaurant Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Beach Chalet Brewery and Restaurant
Overall: Great    Score: 72.6 / 100
1000 Great Highway
San Francisco, CA 94121
United States
(415) 386-8439
Listed Since: February 1997
Last Updated: December 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for San Francisco, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
50 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 09:00AM - 10:00PM
Mon 09:00AM - 10:00PM
Tue 09:00AM - 10:00PM
Wed 09:00AM - 10:00PM
Thu 09:00AM - 10:00PM
Fri 09:00AM - 11:00PM
Sat 09:00AM - 11:00PM

alternatives
(20 within 5 miles)
1) Saint Eisners Beerhouse
(0 mile)

2) Wunder Brewing Company
(1 mile)

3) Eldos Grill and Brewery
(1 mile)

4) Pizza Orgasmica and Brewing Company
(2 miles)

5) Pig and Whistle
(2 miles)

6) Plough and Stars
(2 miles)

7) The Alembic Bar
(3 miles)

8) Magnolia Pub and Brewery
(3 miles)

9) Toronado
(3 miles)

10) Mad Dog in the Fog
(3 miles)

11) Jack's Bars (various locations)
(3 miles)

12) Jack's Tap
(4 miles)

13) Betelnut
(4 miles)

14) Tar and Feathers
(4 miles)

15) Lucky 13
(4 miles)

16) Rat and Raven
(4 miles)

17) Cafe du Nord
(4 miles)

18) Brewgallery
(4 miles)

19) El Toreador
(4 miles)

20) American Beerguy Incorporated
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 399 Webster
2) A Room on the Top
3) Alamo Square Bed & Breakfast
4) Albion House
5) Archbishop's Mansion
6) Artists Inn
7) Bed & Breakfast Inn
8) Belvedere House B & B
9) Carol's Cow Hollow Inn
10) Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
11) Church Street Bed & Breakfast
12) Dolores Park Inn
13) Edward II Bed & Breakfast Inn
14) Grove Inn
15) Hayes Valley Inn
16) Hill Point Bed & Breakfast
17) Inn 1890
18) Inn At the Opera
19) Inn on Castro
20) Jackson Court Bed & Breakfast
21) Liberty Heights Inn
22) Marina Inn
23) Michael Shannon Assoc
24) Moffatt House
25) Monte Cristo Hotel
26) No Name Victorian
27) Parker House
28) Parsonage
29) Queen Anne Hotel
30) Red Victorian Bed & Breakfast
31) Twenty-Four Henry
32) Union Street Inn
33) Victorian Inn on the Park
34) Willows Bed & Breakfast Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALPINE INN AND SUITES
2) AMERICA'S BEST INN LOMBARD ST
3) ARCHBISHOP'S MANSION-JDV
4) BEST INN FISHERMANS WHARF
5) BEST WESTERN MIYAKO INN
6) CASTLE INN
7) COMFORT INN BY THE BAY
8) DAYS INN CIVIC CENTER
9) DAYS INN SAN FRANCISCO LOMBARD
10) DAYS INN SAN FRANCISCO ZOO BCH
11) ECONO LODGE SAN FRANCISCO
12) GREENWICH INN
13) HERITAGE MARINA HOTEL
14) HOLIDAY INN GOLDEN GATEWAY
15) HOTEL DEL SOL-JOIE DE VIVRE
16) HOTEL DRISCO-JOIE DE VIVRE
17) HOTEL MAJESTIC
18) INN AT THE OPERA
19) JACKSON COURT - SAN FRANCISCO
20) LAUREL INN-JOIE DE VIVRE
21) MARINA INN
22) NOB HILL MOTOR INN
23) OASIS INN - SAN FRANCISCO
24) PACIFIC MOTOR INN
25) QUEEN ANNE HOTEL
26) RADISSON MIYAKO
27) RAMADA LIMITED
28) SAN FRAN AT THE PRESIDIO TL
29) SFO CENTRAL TRAVELODGE
30) STANYAN PARK HOTEL
31) SUPER8 SAN FRAN FISHERM WHF AR
32) TOWN HOUSE MOTEL
33) TRAVELODGE GOLDEN GATE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) ALMA (Scow Schooner)
2) Atherton House
3) Beach Chalet
4) Belden, C. A., House
5) Building at 1813--1813B Sutter Street
6) Building at 33--35 Beideman Place
7) Building at 45--57 Beideman Place
8) Bush Street-Cottage Row Historic District
9) C.A. THAYER
10) Calvary Presbyterian Church
11) Camera Obscura
12) Dallam-Merritt House
13) Delane House
14) Edwards, Frank G., House
15) EUREKA
16) Fleishhacker, Delia, Memorial Building
17) Fort Mason Historic District
18) Fort Point National Historic Site
19) Golden Gate Park Conservatory
20) Goodman Building
21) Grabhorn Press Building
22) Griswold House
23) Haas-Lilienthal House
24) HERCULES (tugboat)
25) House at 1239--1245 Scott Street
26) House at 584 Page Street
27) International Hotel
28) Koshland House
29) Liberty Street Historic District
30) McElroy Octagon House
31) McMullen, John, House
32) Mish House
33) Mission Dolores
34) Moss Flats Building
35) Myrtle Street Flats
36) Paige Motor Car Co. Building
37) Park View Hotel
38) Payne, Theodore F., House
39) Phelps, Abner, House
40) Pioneer Woolen Mills and D. Ghirardelli Company
41) Point Montara Light Station
42) Pumping Station No. 2 San Francisco Fire Department Auxiliary Water Supply System
43) Saint John's Presbyterian Church
44) Six-Inch Rifled Gun No. 9
45) Southern Pacific Company Hospital Historic District
46) SS JEREMIAH O'BRIEN National Historic Landmark
47) St. Joseph's Hospital
48) St. Paulus Lutheran Church
49) The Real Estate Associates (TREA) Houses
50) US Mint
51) WAPAMA
52) Warren, Russell, House
53) Westerfeld, William, House
54) Whittier Mansion
55) Wilford, Albert, Houses
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 26's Corner Restaurant
2) 32nd Avenue Bar & Grill
3) A K Meats
4) Abc Bakery Cafe
5) Acre Cafe
6) Al-Masri Egyptian Restaurant
7) Americana Grill & Fountain
8) Amigas A Mexican Caterer
9) Andy's Restaurant
10) Angelina's Catering Co
11) Aperto Restaurant
12) Arby's
13) Ariake Japanese Restaurant
14) Art's Cafe
15) Asian Thai Noodles
16) Avenue Nine
17) Aziza
18) Bai Som Thai Kitchen
19) Baisom
20) Balboa Teriyaki
21) Bamboo Garden Vegeterian Rest
22) Bashful Bull Hamburgers
23) Baskin-Robbins
24) Bazaar Cafe
25) Beach Chalet Brewery & Rstrnt
26) Beach Chalet Corp Ofc
27) Beanery
28) Beijing On Irving Restaurant
29) Beroska
30) Best Panda Restaurant
31) Big Heart 24 Hour Cafe
32) Bill's Place
33) Blackthorn Tavern
34) Blarney Stone Dance Club
35) Blue Fin Sushi
36) Bok Choy Garden
37) Broaster Chicken
38) Buffalo Burger Restaurant
39) Burger King
40) Burger King
41) Cafe 88 & Grill
42) Cafe Bakery & Restaurant
43) Cajun Pacific
44) Canvas Cafe
45) Carmona & Gee Inc
46) Celia's Mexican Restaurant
47) Changs Enterprise
48) Chapeau
49) Cheng's Kitchen
50) Cheung Hing Chinese Restaurant
51) Chiang Mai Thai Cuisine
52) Chika
53) Chinese Harvest Restaurant
54) Chinese Medicine Tuina Thrpies
55) Chino's Taqueria
56) Clement Okazu Ya
57) Clement Restaurant
58) Clement Street Bar & Grill
59) Cliff House Restaurant
60) Club Boomerang
61) Coriya Hot Pot City
62) Corner Cup
63) Crepe Vine
64) Daily Dose Cafe
65) Darla's Restaurant
66) Dean's Deli & Catering
67) Deli World
68) Desiree
69) Devil & Gel
70) Dickki Restaurant
71) Divine's Cafe
72) Domino's Pizza
73) Donaghy's Bar
74) Doramon Thai Noodle Cafe
75) Dragon House Restaurant
76) Dragon River Restaurant
77) Durty Nelly's
78) E KOMO Mai
79) Eagle's Drift In Lounge
80) Ebisu Restaurant
81) Einer's Diner
82) Einstein's Cafe
83) El Beach Burrito
84) El Mansour Restaurants
85) Eldo's Grill & Microbrewery
86) Empress Garden
87) Ernesto's Pizza Restaurant
88) Feel Real Organically Vegan
89) Fireside
90) Flanahan's Pub
91) Fog City Ice Cream & Cakes
92) Fredy's Ocean Beach Deli
93) Fujiyama-Ya Japanese Rstrnt
94) Garage Cafe
95) Garden Cafe
96) Garden House Cafe
97) Gaspare Pizza House & Rstrnt
98) Gastronom
99) Go Go Cafe & Restaurant
100) Goal Post
101) Goeman Japanese Restaurant
102) Golden Chariot
103) Golden City Restaurant
104) Golden Deer Vietnamese Rstrnt
105) Golden Gate Pizza & Indian
106) Golden Island Cafe
107) Golden River
108) Good Luck Dim Sum
109) Gordo
110) Gordo Taqueria
111) Gordo Taqueria
112) Grace Cafe Restaurant
113) Grand River Hot Pot Cafe
114) Great India Restaurant
115) Greco-Romana Pizza Caffe
116) H & N Dim Sum
117) Ha's Restaurant
118) Hamburger Haven Restaurant
119) Han II Kwan Korean Restaurant
120) Happy Garden
121) Heavenly Hot
122) Helun's Place
123) Henry's Cafe
124) Hockey Haven
125) Hong Kong Cafe
126) Hong Kong Seafood Restaurant
127) Hong Kong Shanghai Lo Jing
128) Hotel Restaurant
129) House
130) Howard's Cafe
131) Hugo Street Cafe
132) Huong Viet Restaurant
133) Ice House
134) Ichiban-Kan Cafe
135) Imagine Catering & Events
136) India Clay Oven
137) Iron Horse Restaurant
138) Irving Pizza
139) Irving Street Cafe
140) J C Mario
141) Jack In The Box
142) Jakarta Indonesian Cuisine
143) Jamba Juice
144) Jang Soo Bbq
145) Jasmine House
146) Java Beach Cafe
147) Javacat Coffee
148) Jimisan
149) Joe's Coffee Shop
150) Joe's Grill
151) Johnny's Hamburgers
152) Jouberts Restaurant
153) Judah Okazu Ya
154) Jumbo Seafood Restaurant
155) K L Restaurant
156) Kabuto Sushi
157) Kams
158) Kaneyama Sushi
159) Kfc
160) Khan Toke Thai House
161) KIKI Japanese Restaurant
162) Kim Son
163) King Of Thai Noodle House
164) Kirb's Avenue
165) Kirin Chinese Restaurant
166) Kitaro Japanese Restaurant
167) Kona Shores
168) Koo
169) Korean Village Restaurant
170) Kufuya
171) Kum Moon Restaurant Inc
172) LA Playa Taqueria
173) La Vie Vietnamese Restaurant
174) Ladda's Thai Cuisine
175) Lam Hoa Thuan Restaurant
176) Lanna Restaurant
177) Legion Of Honor Cafe
178) Little Bangkok
179) Little Beijing Restaurant
180) Little Henry Italian Food
181) Little Shamrock
182) Little Wing Lee
183) Locanda San Pietro
184) Loi's Vietnamese Restaurant
185) Lotus
186) Louis' Restaurant
187) Lucky Fortune Seafood Rstrnt
188) M's Cafe
189) Mak Kee Take Out
190) Mama-San
191) Marnee Thai Restaurant
192) Marnee Thai Restaurant
193) Masala Indian Cuisine
194) Masala Indian Cuisine
195) Mayflower Seafood Restaurant
196) Mc Kenzie's Bar
197) Menkee Wonton
198) Mescolanza
199) Micado Restaurant
200) Miki Restaurant
201) Milano Pizzeria
202) Minami Restaurant
203) Minato Japaness Restaurant Bar
204) Ming River Seafood Restaurant
205) Ming Tai Wun-Tun Noodle Inc
206) Monkichi
207) Mosaic Restaurant
208) Mucky Duck
209) Naan-N Curry
210) Nagoya
211) Nags Head
212) Nan King Road Bistro
213) Narai Restaurant
214) Natraj Indian Restaurant
215) New Cheumg Hing Restaurant
216) New Cheung Hing Restaurant
217) New Eritrea Restaurant & Bar
218) New Hai Ky Restaurant
219) New Hing Lung Restaurant
220) New World Market
221) Noriega Okazu Ya
222) Noriega Teriyaki
223) O'Reillys Penny
224) Ocean King Restaurant
225) Ocean Restaurant
226) Old Shanghai Restaurant
227) Oriental Seafood Restaurant
228) Our Court Cafe
229) Oyaji Restaurant
230) P J's Oyster Bed
231) Pachi's
232) Pacific Cafe
233) Papatoni
234) Park Chow's Restaurant
235) Pasquale's Pizzeria Restaurant
236) Pasta Pomodoro
237) Patpong Restaurant
238) Peking Restaurant
239) Peko
240) Pho Hoa Hiep
241) Pho Hoa II Restaurant
242) Photudo Restaurant
243) Pine Restaurant
244) Pittsburgh's Pub
245) Pizza Hut
246) Pizzetta
247) Ponn Sawan Thai Chinese
248) PPQ Vietnamese Cuisine
249) Ppq Vietnamese Cuisine
250) Primetime Sportsbar & Grill
251) Punahele Island Grill
252) Qigong Restaurant
253) Quickly
254) Rainbow Ice Cream
255) Rancho Restaurant
256) Riverstar Seafood Restaurant
257) Rosy Sushi Bar
258) Round Table Pizza
259) Round Table Pizza
260) Royal Thai Restaurant
261) Russian Bear Restaurant
262) Russian Renaissance Restaurant
263) Sakana Bune
264) Sam Maguire
265) Samila Thai Restaurant
266) San Tung Chinese Restaurant
267) Sea Breeze Cafe
268) Sea View Restaurant
269) Seakor Polish Delicatessan
270) Seal Rock Inn Restaurant
271) Seal Rock Inn Restaurant
272) Secret Garden Tea House
273) Seniore's Pizza
274) Shabu Shabu Restaurant
275) Shang Hai Zi Jia Restaurant
276) Shanghai Dumpling Shop
277) Shanghai Noodles
278) Shanghai Restaurants
279) Shangri-LA Chinese Vegetarian
280) Shebeen At Buzz 9
281) Shimo Restaurant
282) Silver Spur
283) Simple Pleasures Cafe
284) Singapore Malaysian Restaurant
285) Skazka Restaurant
286) Skychef Noodle
287) Slider
288) So
289) Socca Restaurant
290) South Sea Seafood Village
291) St Anne's Chinese Ctr
292) Starbucks
293) Starbucks
294) Starbucks
295) Submarine Center
296) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
297) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
298) Sugar Bowl Bakery
299) Sukhothai Restaurant
300) Sunrise Deli & Cafe
301) Sunset Restaurant
302) Sunset Star Restaurant
303) Superior Palace Restaurant
304) Sur-Si-Rang
305) Sushi Etc
306) Sushitomo Japanese Restaurant
307) Sweet Temptation Restaurant
308) Sweety Cafe
309) Taco Bell
310) Tai San Restaurant
311) Taiwan Point Restaurant
312) Tal-Y-Tara Tea & Polo Shoppe
313) Tanya Thai Cuisine
314) Tasty Curry
315) Tawan's Thai Food
316) Tay Giang Restaurants
317) Tee Off Sea Food
318) Terry's Lodge
319) Thai Nation Restaurant
320) Thai Spice Restaurant
321) Thai Time Restaurant
322) Thanh Long
323) Thanh Thanh
324) Three Star Restaurant
325) Tia Margarita Mexican Rstrnt
326) Tien Tien Restaurant
327) Tin Wong Restaurants
328) Tommy's Mexican Restaurant
329) Ton Kiang Restaurant
330) Tong Palace
331) Tong Soon Restaurant
332) Tout De Suite Catering
333) Toyose
334) Tracy Garden
335) Traktir Restaurant
336) Trattoria Capriccio
337) Tsing Tao Chinese Restaurant
338) Village Cafe
339) Win Fook Restaurant
340) Wo's Restaurant
341) Won-Ton-House
342) Wong Lai Mei Cheng
343) Wooden Charcoal Barbecue House
344) Woori Jip Restaurant
345) Xiao's Sushi House
346) Y Y Cafe
347) Yan Yan Restaurant
348) Yet Wah Restaurant
349) Yoshiya Japanese Restaurant
350) Yumma's
351) Yummy Yummy
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Good
The IPA is the only one I had since I love IPAs. And let me tell you, this is right up there on my list of IPAs because it has the right amount of hops (I love my hoppy beers).

However, the time I went (2:00) the place was packed!! So had to stand and drink beer. The food wait was like 45 mins long.

But you know, I got my beer and I was happy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark F Mark F, Portland, OR
(01/06/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Great Lousy Good
I visited this brewpub on 5/3/08 and had the following brews; Dees Bitter Ale, Saison du Chalet, VFW Light, Park Chalet Amber Ale, Presidio IPA, Riptide Red, Ocean Beach Oktoberfest, and Play Land Pale. Our server had no idea which beer was which and was unwilling to find out for us. We then asked a second server and he was clueless as well. Since I had to guess which beer was which I am not sure they got a fair rating but none of them was outstanding. Usually you get one beer that is great out of a selection this size. The view of course was spectacular and the prawns were great. If you want seafood with a view then this place is great. If you want great beer then you will have to go somewhere else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(06/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Awesome! Great
As many people have said before the location is GREAT! Personally I enjoy the beer. Being a person who enjoys a hoppy beer the IPA is my favorite. The bartenders are amazing and friendly. It definitely isn't a pub but I love going there on Tuesdays for their taco and beer special, the live music on Tuesdays is great as well. Also, on Mondays they have 2.50 beers instead of the normal $4-$5 price. I love this place, I go every week!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lauren W. Lauren W., San Francisco, CA
(08/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Walked in for lunch, were taken straight to a prime window table, waitress was on the spot with menu and explanations of all beers on hand....only drawback to this place is the distance from the rest of the city. Food was very good and cheaper than comparable items downtown. We made the trip out just for this place and it was well worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Bloxom John Bloxom, Waco, TX
(07/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Beach Chalet definitely has the location. Golden Gate Park. Ocean Beach. The Cliff House and Sutro Baths. And you pay a little more for the location. Stopped in on Saturday evening (post-sunset) and things were fairly quiet. Snuggled into a seat at the upstairs bar and enjoyed a pint each of the Riptide Red, the IPA and the Fleishacker Stout. None of them stood out and said "Wow" but they all went down well. As with the beer, the food menu is a bit elevated price wise and isn't that deep in selections but, hey , you're hear for the scenery. The lounge area in the lower level does have live music on occasion and when the weather permits the action moves outside. It's worth stopping in just to see the historical info on the main level. Excellent old murals and a great topographical display of Golden Gate Park. Grab a beer or two while you're there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(12/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
This is a restaurant with an ocean view that happens to brew its own beer. We found no information about the beer, we didn't see any growlers for sale, and most people were drinking cocktails. Not to completely dismiss this establishment; they had several beers including a couple seasonals on draught, and the Düsseldorf Alt Ale was great. Prices were a little high, $4.15 for a 14oz and $5.07 for a 22oz. Don’t go across town to check this place out, but if you are on the west side of the city swing in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Smith Tim Smith, Bozeman, MT
(06/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
This is a restaurant with an ocean view that happens to brew its own beer. We found no information about the beer, we didn't see any growlers for sale, and most people were drinking cocktails. Not to completely dismiss this establishment; they had several beers including a couple seasonals on draught, and the Düsseldorf Alt Ale was great. Prices were a little high, $4.15 for a 14oz and $5.07 for a 22oz. Don’t go across town to check this place out, but if you are on the west side of the city swing in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Smith Tim Smith, Bozeman, MT
(06/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Lousy So So
Beach Chalet has a great view of the beach if you can get a table by a window. What's not so convenient is that they won't make a reservation for a party of under 6...you can get your name put on a waiting list and sometimes they'll make a same day reservation. What was unsatisfactory was that the hostesses are rude. I called to say I was running late (can't beat traffic in San Francisco sometimes) and one of them said she would hold my table for me but never told me she wouldn't hold it for longer than 15 minutes. I walk in 20 minutes after my reservation time and my windowside table has been given away already. Yes, 20 minutes is late, but at least tell me over the phone that you won't hold my table for longer than 15 minutes. The hostess had a big attitude when I told her I was not informed of the time limit. What a way to ruin someone's evening.

Food is decent (except that the calamari was crumbling annoyingly and the waitress messed up my order) but I can find tastier filet mignon elsewhere with better service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Los Angeles, CA
(05/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
The location is terrific. However, a little too hip for a hick like me. I like cheap good beer. Good luck here, just a bunch of yuppiness here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
The octoberfest and rip tide red were both excellent quality beers true to style. The west end wheat was good but i have had better. The food was excellent but pricey for the portion size. Got seated right away on a Saturday just before sunset. The view was excellent. I had asked for beer coasters but they had run out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donald Donald, manalapan, NJ
(10/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So
The location is awesome. I wasn't to impressed with the beer. just not my style i think. the place seemed more of a tourest location and i felt the food was too pricy for what they gave you. i have had better for less.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Will Will, Sacramento, CA
(12/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Had a good dinner and a sampler on a Tuesday night in May. I thought the beers were fair to good, though the stout was very good. This is a good restaurant in a nice setting offering good beers. There was a slight wait for a table that Tuesday, just before sunset. It would have been a great place to watch the sunset, but it was cloudy that evening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(12/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MANDO MANDO, SO.CENTRAL L.A., CA
(09/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
The sampler has an impressive amount of styles and the beers seemed to get better as they got darker. It's a nice location and worth a stop if you're in the area. The food looked good but we'd already eaten at Fisherman's Wharf.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review P & J, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
A friend of mine who prides himself in finding great beer recommended that I try out the Beach Chalet Brewery & Restaurant on Great Highway. I decided to stop by and check it out last month after spending a day at Ocean Beach. Being a Sunny Saturday in the Bay I figured it would be a long wait, but we got a table in the bar right away. They have a great selection of Housemade brews so I started off by ordering their beer sampler to get a taste of each kind. Everyone I tried was great! My personal favorites were the IPA & RipTide Red. I was pleased to learn that I could purchase some 22oz. bottles from the bar and I took about 5 home. If you are going to order some appetizers I would go with the Calamari and the Shrimp& Artichoke Dip. They were both really good and went nicely with the beer. Overall we had a wonderful experience. The view, food, service and beer are so great that I will definitely be back because I am hooked!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Denise Denise, San Francisco, CA
(05/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Went here on a Saturday afternoon at 5 pm. No wait for a table. Selection of beers was okay, although they couldn't poor the red ale that afternoon. Had an IPA which was as good as any IPA. Food was decent. The shrimp, artichoke & sundried tomato dip appetizer was good! My asian chicken salad was spicy! Yum! The server left something to be desired knowledge-wise. Service was excellent, however. But, you go there for the view!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brooke Miller Brooke Miller, Los Altos, CA
(05/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
We visited the Beach Chalet around 1:00pm on a weekday and were seated immediately, though they were busy. The sampler is a great way to get started, although the red and stout were not included. The food was a bit overpriced for what you got, but the view can't be beaten. Go for the beer and view, but maybe skip the food and head to North Beach.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michelle Haan Michelle Haan, Tallahassee, FL
(03/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great
We hit this place around 6 on a Sunday evening, and it was packed. Understandably so, since the view is awesome. Waited about an hour or so for a table. At this point in my very long day I was able to try only one beer, the IPA. Super good, as good as any IPA out there. They didn't seem to have any stouts or porters, but they had a good selection of every other popular style. Even had some premium Belgium styles in bottles. The food was pretty decent if not overpriced, but you're paying for the view. They also had a good scotch list reasonably priced. Definitly worth going for the sunset and the brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brent Frey Brent Frey, Prairie Village, KS
(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Great
We went on a Saturday night (6/21/03.) The place was crowded, but not unusually so. But the service was VERY slow. When asked, the friendly waiter replied that this was a normal Saturday night. Oh well. I did enjoy every beer they had on tap, and I tried them all. I'm a hop head and I did enjoy the IPA very much. The food was pretty good and we were fortunate enough to be there on a fogless evening so we saw a beautiful sunset. I will go back again, maybe on a weeknight to hopefully avoid the crowd and slow service. Our friends from out of town were suitably impressed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Peterson Matt Peterson, Concord, CA
(06/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Service was a little slow but they were busy for a Sunday morning. The beer selection was great. At least 8-10 on tap including a cask and they were all decent. My experience has been that when there are that many beers they taste bland. Not so! The food was good. Basic hamburger for me but a good selection. Someday, I'm going to try fish tacos! I'd would venture back if I'm ever in the area again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gman, West Bend, WI
(03/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
The 1 house beer I had was pretty good - better than expected. Food was good. Late afternoon, so the service wasn't too bad. Impressed with the selection of Belgian beer in bottles.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jeff Rankert, Milford, mi
(02/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Visited twice at the end of December. A spectacular location that rivals the Pelican Pub in Pacific City, Oregon. The beer styles were done a little differently, with a hoppy Octoberfest and a malty IPA as examples. All were very good. Great food, popular place - you'll need reservations or patience to get a table.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hal Hackett Hal Hackett, Ottawa, IL
(01/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Great
Large list of brews on tap. Had the Giants ale and lighter California Ale both were good. Giant Ale was made for World Series, full of flavor like a Bonds homerun. Try the garlic fries

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from T T, Mundelein, IL
(10/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Lousy Good
The service sucked! I found the six beers that I tried to be much better than I expected. The view is nice. The food looked great, but we only drank! It's worth the trip just for the view and the brew, but don't expect great service...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Tipton John Tipton, Madison/Huntsville, AL
(09/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So Good
This is more of a viewpub than a brewpub. The view of the waves breaking can be seen from a barstool. That was the best part of my visit. They only had three beers on tap. I tried the pale and the Oktoberfest. Both were good, but in San Francisco there are so many better choices. I do encourage a visit just for the view.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Holl Doug Holl, Atlanta, GA
(08/09/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.49 seconds) 01:48:02 54.80.235.73, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS