PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Granville Island Brewing Company, Limited - Vancouver, BC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 30, 2014 @ 05:41 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > BC > Vancouver > Granville Island Brewing Company, Limited
Granville Island Brewing Company, Limited Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Granville Island Brewing Company, Limited
Overall: Good    Score: 68.4 / 100
1441 Cartwright Street
Vancouver, BC V6H 3R7
Canada
(604) 687-2739
Listed Since: December 1996
Last Updated: June 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants


Beer Guide for British Columbia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
21 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 70:0PM
Mon 12:00PM - 70:0PM
Tue 12:00PM - 70:0PM
Wed 12:00PM - 70:0PM
Thu 12:00PM - 70:0PM
Fri 12:00PM - 70:0PM
Sat 12:00PM - 70:0PM

alternatives
(36 within 5 miles)
1) Bridges Restaurant
(0 mile)

2) Dockside Restaurant and Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Bimini
(1 mile)

4) Stamps Landing
(1 mile)

5) Fogg N Suds Restaurant
(1 mile)

6) La Bodega Restaurant and Tapas Bar
(1 mile)

7) Dix BBQ and Brewery
(1 mile)

8) Rosie's On Robson
(1 mile)

9) Shark Club
(1 mile)

10) Picadilly Hotel
(1 mile)

11) Kingston Taphouse and Grille
(1 mile)

12) Niagara Hotel
(1 mile)

13) Chambar
(1 mile)

14) Bull Dog Café
(1 mile)

15) Doolin's Irish Pub
(1 mile)

16) Steamworks Brewing Company
(1 mile)

17) Yaletown Brewing Company
(1 mile)

18) Irish Heather
(1 mile)

19) Bar None
(1 mile)

20) Blarney Stone
(1 mile)

21) RandB Brewing Company
(2 miles)

22) Mahones was Malone's Sports Grill
(2 miles)

23) Fogg N Suds Restaurant
(2 miles)

24) Fogg N Suds Restaurant
(2 miles)

25) Stella's Tap and Tapas Bar
(3 miles)

26) Storm Brewing, LTD
(3 miles)

27) The Mill Marine Bistro
(3 miles)

28) The Calling Public House
(3 miles)

29) Dover Arms
(3 miles)

30) Howe Sound Brewing Company, Limited
(3 miles)

31) Pemberton Station Pub
(4 miles)

32) Sailor Hagar's Brew Pub
(5 miles)

33) Elephant and Castle
(5 miles)

34) Elephant and Castle
(5 miles)

35) Flying Beaver Bar and Grill
(5 miles)

36) Rusty Gull
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Diana's Luxury B&B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) 1188 HOWE STREET EXECUTIVE RES
2) ASTON ROSELLEN STES AT STANLEY
3) BARCLAY HOTEL
4) BARCLAY HOUSE B AND B
5) BEST WESTERN ABERCORN INN
6) BEST WESTERN CHATEAU GRANVILLE
7) BEST WESTERN DOWNTOWN
8) BEST WESTERN SANDS BY THE SEA
9) BEST WESTERN UPTOWN VANCOUVER
10) BLUE HORIZON HOTEL
11) BOSMANS HOTEL
12) BW CAPILANO INN AND SUITES
13) CARMANA PLAZA
14) CENTURY PLAZA HOTEL & SPA
15) CITY CENTER MOTOR HOTEL
16) CLUB INTRAWEST VANCOUVER
17) COAST PLAZA HOTEL AND SUITES
18) COAST VANCOUVER AIRPORT
19) COMFORT INN AIRPORT
20) COMFORT INN AND STS NORTH VANCO
21) COMFORT INN DOWNTOWN
22) CROWNE PLAZA
23) DAYS INN VANCOUVER
24) DAYS INN VANCOUVER METRO
25) DELTA VANCOUVER AIRPORT
26) DELTA VANCOUVER SUITE HOTEL
27) EMPIRE LANDMARK HOTEL
28) EXECUTIVE HOTEL DOWNTOWN
29) EXECUTIVE INN EXPRESS-AIRPORT
30) FAIRMONT HOTEL VANCOUVER
31) FAIRMONT VANCOUVER AIRPORT
32) FOUR SEASONS VANCOUVER
33) GEORGIAN COURT HOTEL
34) GRANVILLE ISLAND HOTEL
35) GREENBRIER HOTEL
36) HAMPTON INN & SUITES
37) HAMPTON INN VANCOUVER AIRPORT
38) HOWARD JOHNSON HOTEL
39) HYATT REGENCY VANCOUVER
40) LE SOLEIL HOTEL AND SUITES
41) LIONSGATE TRAVELODGE
42) LISTEL VANCOUVER
43) LONSDALE QUAY HOTEL
44) LUXURY RESIDENCES ON GEORGIA
45) MARRIOTT RESIDENCE INN VANCVR
46) METROPOLITAN HOTEL VANCOUVER
47) OCEANSIDE SUITE HOTEL
48) OPUS HOTEL
49) PACIFIC PALISADES
50) QUALITY INN AIRPORT
51) QUALITY INN AT FALSE CREEK
52) RAMADA HOTEL AND SUITES
53) RAMADA INN & SUITES
54) RAMADA INN NORTH SHORE
55) RAMADA LIMITED
56) RAMADA VANCOUVER CENTRE
57) RENAISSANCE HOTEL HARBOURSIDE
58) RIVIERA HOTEL
59) ROSEDALE ON ROBSON SUITE HOTEL
60) SANDMAN HOTEL DWTWN VANCOUVER
61) SANDMAN HOTEL VANCOUVER ARPT
62) SANDMAN VANCOUVER AIRPORT
63) SHERATON VANCOUVER WALL CENTRE
64) ST REGIS HOTEL
65) SUITES AT CONFERENCE PLAZA
66) SUNSET INN & SUITES
67) SUTTON PLACE HOTEL
68) TERMINAL CITY TOWER HOTEL
69) THE FAIRMONT WATERFRONT
70) THE MERIDIAN AT 910 BEACH
71) THE WESTIN BAYSHORE RESORT AND
72) THE WESTIN GRAND VANCOUVER
73) TRAVELODGE VANCOUVER HOWE ST
74) TROPICANA STES ROBSON
75) VANCOUVER MARRIOTT PINNACLE
76) WEDGEWOOD HOTEL
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1075 W Georgia Tobacconists
2) A & L Market
3) A & M Food Market Ltd
4) A & W Restaurants
5) A & W Restaurants
6) A & W Restaurants
7) A & W Restaurants
8) A & W Restaurants
9) A & W Restaurants
10) A & W Restaurants
11) A & W Restaurants
12) A & W Restaurants
13) A & W Restaurants
14) A Catered Affair
15) A la Mode
16) A la Mode
17) A Taste Of India Restaurant Inc
18) A Taste Of Vietnam Restaurant Inc
19) AM PM Grocery Store Ltd
20) Atlantis Night Club
21) Barclay Hotel
22) Bean So Good Bakery Cafe Inc
23) Beatty St Bar & Grill
24) Ben Z Noodle House
25) Black Dog Video
26) Blockbuster
27) Blockbuster
28) Blockbuster
29) Blockbuster
30) Bosman's Hotel
31) Brookfield Properties (Vancouver) Ltd
32) Burgoo Bistro Main St
33) Burrard Inn
34) Burrard St Deli
35) Butler Did It Catering Co The
36) C Restaurant
37) Cafe De France
38) Cafe La Cantina
39) Celebrities Nightclub
40) Charlie's Fish n Chips
41) Cinema Happy Bats
42) Cinephile Video
43) Cipriano's Ristorante & Pizzeria
44) Commodore Lanes
45) Corner Suite Bistro De Luxe The
46) Crepe De France
47) Culinary Capers Catering Inc
48) D & S Bubble Tea Co Ltd
49) D J's On Pender
50) D M Kitchenette
51) Dan Sung Sa Korean Restaurant
52) Daniel Le Chocolat Belge
53) De Dutch Pannekoek House
54) Deli O
55) Di Fior Gelato Enterprises Ltd
56) DM Grocery
57) Dr Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden
58) Dunlevy Food Equipment Ltd
59) DVD Xpert
60) E-Mo Restaurant
61) Elks Lodge Vancouver No 1
62) Finest At Sea Granville Island Smokery
63) Firewood Cafe The
64) Flying Wedge Pizza Co
65) Fogg 'N' Suds Restaurants
66) Formosa Video
67) G 7 Food Stop
68) G 8 Food Store
69) G B Market
70) G Sports Bar & Grill
71) Georgia Video
72) GH Restaurant
73) Gigi's Pizza & Spaghetti House
74) Grade A Shakes & Seafoods Restaurant Ltd
75) H & L Canada Limited
76) Happy Bats Cinema
77) Hotel Le Soleil
78) House L & G Bubble Tea
79) I Cafe
80) I Sushi
81) Independent Flixx
82) J R R Enterprises Ltd
83) Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
84) Kettle Of Fish A
85) L B Maple Treat Inc
86) La Bodega Restaurante & Tapa Bar
87) La Bodega Restaurante & Tapa Bar
88) La Bretagne The Original Creperie Ltd
89) La Casita Mexican Restaurant
90) La Fourchette
91) La Hacienda Mexican Grill Ltd
92) La Salza Mexican Deli Inc
93) La Terrazza
94) La Tortilleria
95) Le Crocodile Restaurant
96) Luxmiis Enterprises
97) M & A Cafe
98) M & T Grocery
99) M Bar
100) Mario's Gelati Ltd
101) Meridian At 910 Beach The
102) Milestones Grill & Bar
103) Mink A Chocolate Cafe (01) Ltd
104) Mongolie Grill-Broadway
105) N W Grocery
106) Nikkyu Japanese Restaurant
107) Nu
108) NW Grocery
109) Oak St Mohawk
110) Olie's Pizzeria
111) ONE-O-ONE Deli & Bulk Foods
112) Pacific Palisades Hotel- A Kimpton Hotel
113) Peake Of Catering Ltd The
114) Penny Lane Neighbourhood Pub The
115) Penthouse The
116) Plaza Club The
117) PM AM
118) Purdy's Chocolates
119) R & J Wedding Bell
120) R & J Wedding Bell
121) Red Room On Richards The
122) Red Square Tapas Lounge
123) Restaurant La Faim Du Monde
124) Ristorante Da Gino
125) Riviera Hotel
126) Rogers
127) Rogers
128) Rogers
129) Rogers
130) Rogers
131) Rogers Plus Jervis
132) Rosedale On Robson Suite Hotel
133) Sakura Media
134) Salade de Fruits Inc
135) Salmon Shop
136) Sammy J Peppers Grill & Bar
137) Seafood City
138) Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver
139) Shato Inn Hotel
140) Shaughnessy Village
141) Shiro Japanese Restaurant
142) Simply Natural Raw Pet Food
143) Soho Billiards
144) Som Visao 3D Ultrasound Spa and Wellness Centre
145) Sport Fishing Institute Of B C
146) St Clair Hotel
147) St Mary's Ukrainian Catholic Centre
148) St Regis Bar & Grill
149) St Regis Hotel
150) Stepho's Souvlaki Greek Taverna
151) Sure First Seafood Market Ltd
152) T & T Restaurant
153) The Reel Bulldog Video
154) Third Eye Enterprises Ltd
155) Tropicana Suites On Robson
156) V & C Oriental Restaurant
157) Vancouver Used Food Equipment Warehouse Inc
158) Video Magic Entertainment
159) Video World
160) W G's General Store
161) Water St Cafe
162) White Tower Restaurant Enterprises Ltd
163) Y J Lin & Co Ltd
164) Yaletown Video Ltd
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
This is a tasting room, so only snacks for food and only 1 pint, or 3 beer tasters, per customer. Beers were better than Dockside, but you only got one. The IPA was British style with subdued hops.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MARK MARK, palm harbor, , FL
(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
On a Friday afternoon in late August, we found four Granville Island beers available on draft at the tap room. Other styles were available in bottles for take out in the adjacent retail store, along with apparel, glassware, and other brewery-related stuff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(09/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good
My expectations were low based on the other reviews, but they were exceeded. The beers are not as bad as some I tasted on this trip and given the obvious tourist orientation of the area a nice respite. The adjacent bottle shop was nice to find too. The menu is brief, but what we had was excellent. My party only tried the Stout and Amber, which were not robust examples of the style, but certainly drinkable and we took bottles of both back to our hotel. Their scotch ale in the bottle was the best of the bunch. Again, if you go in hoping for a place to sit down, drink a beer and get away from the crowds outside you will be pleasantly surprised. If you go in looking for a diverse range of exceptional ales, boldly made you will be disappointed. As for me, after escorting children through the maze of shops and attractions, I was delighted with the place and on that basis wish I could justify a higher rating.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Irvine Bob Irvine, Athena, OR
(04/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A So So
I agree with the recent reviewers. The four beers on tap are not good. The bartender told me the beers made on site go into bomber bottles and can't be consumed there; the tap beers being produced at a different facility. Take a pass on this one - it's strictly for uninformed tourists.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Chicago, IL
(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So
For my third attempt, I'm actually writing about the right palce this time. I'm glad I didn't go out of my wat to go here. The Pale Ale, Rasbery, Honey and Maple cream were available the day I was there. I thought all of them were somewhat disapointing. And the food menu was fairly brief.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St. Louis, MO
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Great
I messed up the last review so here it is again. The food was good but a little pricy and beer were fair. It's part of a hotel, but they have a nice outside area by the water when the weather is nice. The Pale Ale was good, but I didn't care for the brown as much, and if I had others they were not vary memorable. Parking was not too difficult in the evening when the market closed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St. Louis, MO
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
The food and beer were good. It's part of a hotel, but they have a nice outside area by the water when the weather is nice. I only managed to try the Red, IPA and Stout and I seem to remember them all being good. Parking was not too difficult in the evening when the market closed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St. Louis, MO
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A So So So So
Mediocre beer and selection. Only 4 available when I stopped by including 1 seasonal (Lions winter). It tasted like cream soda. Don't go out of your way to visit this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Simmer John Simmer, Lacey, WA
(11/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Good
I enjoyed the Pale Ale and the Hefe. It is in an interesting location. We took a small boat across the harbor to get their. Give this place a try. If you want something lively try Yale house brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from L de Leon L de Leon, Redlands, CA
(05/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So
Nice place to stop for beer if you're on Granville Island, but not worth the visit as a destination by itself.

The day I visited they only had four brews available -- honey lager, hefe-weizen, maple creme ale and a "seasonal" nut brown ale. In my opinion that's a low number and poor variety for a brew pub.

I tried the sampler of all four. I found most to be rather pedestrian and simple - didn't have distinct taste finish.. The hefe was a decent attempt at a belgian-style wit, but I'd prefer a Hoegarden.

Food offerings are limited.

Save the trip to the Island. I prefered Steamworks in Gastown.

WTH

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WT WT, Seattle, WA
(06/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
The lager is a classic Bavarian brew. Slighly hoppy, full bodied. Goes down easy. Very nice. The Amber and Pale Ale are also well craftet beers. I wasn't too crazy about the atmosphere, which is a bit generic and sterile. Doesn't have the feel of a true brewpub. Neverless, there is good beer to be had here. Worth a visit while in Vancouver, but I still prefer Steamworks and Yaletown Brewing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff K Jeff K, Boca Raton, FL
(08/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Loved the maple cream ale

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review NYC, NY
(05/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Good Great
I took the tour, and I found it absolutely astonishing. Granted, the only brewery I had toured before was Coors in Denver, CO. The beers themselves are the best I've ever had. I still wish that they were imported into the US; in that case, it would be the only beer I'd buy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Andrew LeDoux, Omaha, NE
(05/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good So So
Atmosphere is too sterile to spend much time, but it is fine for an afternoon beer. The Winter Ale is good and tastes of nutmeg and other spices. Best beer was the Xmas ale, which has vanilla aroma and taste. Appetizers were average but I would head to Dockside Brewery (5 minutes away) if food is what you want.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Lucas Jay Lucas, Eastsound, WA
(01/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
My friend and I popped into the Brewery for a tour but missed the last one so we just had a try of the beers...very good! Service was great and the food was delicious. Well worth a visit

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Moscow, ID
(12/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
what a bunch of flakes!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jackson jackson, toronto, ON
(12/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A So So
Tried the Golden Amber and Cream Ale both bottled for a nearby restaurant on Granville Island. I thought both were rather shallow products for my taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry Block Henry Block, Miami, FL
(08/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
Less a brewpub than a brewery with tours, gift shop and large tasting room. I don't think there was any food (but I could be wrong about that.) Granville brew most of its beer elsewhere, but does make brews here onsite consumption, along with the liter bottled beers. The tour, $7 Canadian, is a good deal - you get a round of samples of all beers and a souvenir glass. To see this, and other brewpub's pix I've taken, visit http://NWBrewpubs.homestead.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rutledge Tom Rutledge, Knoxville, TN
(08/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good
Tried bottles of Pale Ale and Amber Ale while vacationing in Whistler, BC. Nice beers, largely similar to each other, except that the slightly-hoppy Pale was a bit hoppier than the Amber.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(04/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
I was dissappointed, after 5 PM they close the tasting room and only have a retail store open with tons of gifty stuff. Located on beautiful Granville Island, and to not be serving beer after 5PM is an absolute waste. Beers are sold pretty much all over Vancouver, so you can taste them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Skok Robert Skok, Danville, CA
(09/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
Granville Island's bottled beers are decent and the selection is innovative but do not be fooled by its location and image as a fresh microbrewery (no pub is attached). In the 1980s, this pioneering microbrewery was bought by western Canada's main bottler of cheap beer. Much of the stock for sale at the lovely gift shop and retail outlet on Granville Island is actually bottled in Kelowna. The casks supplied to local restaurants are the best source of this beer. The specialty/seasonal beers made on Granville Island are also worthwhile, but in general the marketers, not the brewers, are ascendant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lauren Banerd Lauren Banerd, Vancouver, BC
(01/06/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.471 seconds) 05:41:50 54.198.201.44, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS