PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


WildWood Brewing Company - Calgary, AB
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 18, 2014 @ 11:59 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AB > Calgary > WildWood Brewing Company
WildWood Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
WildWood Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.5 / 100
2417 4th Street Southwest
Calgary, AB T2M 2Z8
Canada
(403) 228-0100
Listed Since: December 1996
Last Updated: June 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants


Beer Guide for Alberta

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of WildWood Brewing Company
14 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(15 within 5 miles)
1) Molly Malone's Irish Pub
(1 mile)

2) Kensington Pub
(1 mile)

3) Bottlescrew Bill's Old English Pub
(2 miles)

4) Ceili's Irish Pub and Restaurant
(2 miles)

5) Brewsters Brewing Company and Restaurant
(2 miles)

6) James Joyce Authentic Irish Pub
(2 miles)

7) Unicorn Pub
(2 miles)

8) Elephant and Castle
(2 miles)

9) Bow River Barley Mill
(2 miles)

10) Brew Brothers Restaurant Brewery and Taproom
(3 miles)

11) Hop In Brew Pub House
(3 miles)

12) The Castle Pub
(3 miles)

13) Brewsters Brewing Company and Restaurant
(3 miles)

14) Ship and Anchor
(4 miles)

15) Wild Rose Brewery
(4 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN CALGARY CTR INN
2) BEST WESTERN PORT O CALL INN
3) BEST WESTERN SUITES DOWNTOWN
4) BW VILLAGE PARK INN
5) CALGARY MARRIOTT
6) COMFORT INN AND SUITES SOUTH
7) DELTA BOW VALLEY
8) ECONO LODGE MOTEL VILLAGE
9) ECONO LODGE UNIVERSITY
10) EXECSUITE
11) HAMPTON INN STES CALGARY
12) HYATT REGENCY CALGARY
13) INN ON CROWCHILD
14) INTERNATIONAL HOTEL OF CALGARY
15) KENSINGTON RIVERSIDE INN
16) QUALITY INN AIRPORT
17) QUALITY INN UNIVERSITY
18) RAMADA HOTEL DOWNTOWN CALGARY
19) RAMADA LTD CALGARY AB
20) REGENCY SUITES
21) SANDMAN HOTEL DOWNTOWN CALGARY
22) SHERATON SUITES CALGARY EAU CL
23) SUPER 8 MOTEL VILLAGE CALGARY
24) THE FAIRMONT PALLISER
25) THE WESTIN CALGARY
26) TRAVELODGE CALGARY NORTH
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 4th St Cafe
2) 8 Street Sushi Cafe
3) A & W Restaurants
4) A & W Restaurants
5) A & W Restaurants
6) A Touch Of Ginger
7) A Touch Of Ginger Delight
8) A W
9) A&W Restaurant
10) A&W Restaurant - Calgary
11) Atlas Specialty Supermarket & Persian Cuisine
12) B & C Pizza Group
13) Bed & Breakfast In Kensington
14) Best Western Village Park Inn
15) Best Western Village Park Inn
16) C B Drive Inn
17) Caesar's Steak House
18) Caesar's Steak House
19) Caesar's Steak House
20) Canadas Best Value Inn
21) Chinese Kitchen Restaurant
22) Color Me Mine
23) Eclair De Lune Inc
24) Ever After Bridal & Formal Wear Ltd
25) Food Fare K
26) Green Chili-ca Cuisine
27) Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
28) Home Vintner The
29) Japanese Village Steak House
30) Jimmy's A & A Deli
31) Juan's Mexican Restaurante
32) Julio's Barrio Mexican Restaurant
33) Khublai Mongolian Szechuan Cuisine
34) La Luna Rossa Restaurante
35) La Viena Restaurant
36) Lake Newell Resort Developers Ltd
37) Le Soleil Spa
38) Mango Shiva
39) Maurya Authentic East Indian Cuisine
40) Moraine Lake Lodge
41) Nail J & C Salon & Spa
42) Oceana Restaurant
43) Osteria De Medici
44) Paul's Pizza & Steak House
45) Poco Loco Pizza Inc
46) Q Haute Cuisine
47) Q To Go
48) Quincy's Restaurant
49) Regency Suites
50) Regis Plaza Hotel
51) Roadhouse The
52) Si Senor Pizza Corp
53) Stavros Pizza & Sportsbar
54) Strathcona Square Shopping Centre
55) Sumo Lounge
56) Sushi BBQ Inn
57) Sushi Hiro Japanese Restaurant
58) Teriyaki House Fresh Select No 4
59) Thai Place Restaurant
60) Thai Sa-On Restaurant
61) Thriftlodge Calgary North
62) Town 'n Country Restaurant Ltd
63) Travelodge Calgary University
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Wildwood has the best IPA in town ..... if you like that long lasting bitterness on the palatte. It also has the closest thing to a real Weisbierre in town as well. It SHOULD be cloudy and taste of wheat. Other such as Velvet Frog and Grasshopper are shamefull imposters. The Master Brewer (Brian) is passionate about his beers and does a 'Special' keg usually every Friday night. I've been a bit disappointed with them. They seem like a mixture of one or more of the normal tap beers. Service is good and the barman Ben will keep your glass filled up.

It can get very smoky early evening onwards which has put me off going to any pub in town .... can't wait for 1st Jan when smoking is banned. Time to save drinking money in teh meantime.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Malcolm Harrison Malcolm Harrison, Calgary, AB
(11/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Stout was really good. Lovely proper stout, rather than the lightly flavoured beers that often get made and sold under this name. The setting is really nice, a very upmarket drinking location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Fraser Ben Fraser, Ocean Grove, VI
(10/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great
WildWood Brewing Company has a bit of a split personality, with a fine restaurant above a popular lower level pub. The street level restaurant is definitely upscale with an impressive (and not inexpensive) menu featuring wild game and many other interesting dishes. Our entrees (elk medallions and bison flank steak) were well done and well presented. There was a lot of wine drinking going on around us. I had two house beers – the Altitude Amber (good but not exceptional), and a more interesting red ale (an English-style bitter). They do offer a sampler but there were too many lighter beers to deal with. In hindsight, I do wish I had tried the honey brown as well. The restaurant had a warm feel, filled with wood, brick, and stone, with a fire in the fire place on a rainy Saturday night. The downstairs pub was crowded when we peeked in after our dinner. WildWood has won awards as the best brewpub in Calgary. With two ways to experience this brewpub – the upstairs WildWood Grill and the downstairs WildWood Pub - this seems to be a deservedly popular local establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(06/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Since I wrote my comments, I've been to the Wildwood a bunch. It's just down the street. I've been getting excellent, excellent service both in the pub and the restaurant. The restaurant was never an issue, it was originally in the pub. Seems the personalities causing the "distant" service I was getting are now gone. This is one of my favorite places to eat and have a fine beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Dumont Mark Dumont, Calgary, AB
(08/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Kevin Landsiedel (Executive Chef of Wildwood) is not only the best chef I know because of his professionalism and has an overall flare for cooking but he's also a very nice and down to earth guy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Calgary, AB
(05/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! So So Great
Wildwoods has been a favorite of my boyfriend and I for quite some time. The atmosphere is great except for a horrible hag that passes herself off for a waitress. Other than that it has great pasta on Thursday, and the Bison Burger is to die for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Calgary, AB
(02/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Sub Zero was great. It was a very cold beer that didn't hide the flavor. Enjoyed the Attitude Amber. The bartendress was friendly and very helpful. I would definitely visit this place again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob H Bob H, San Diego, CA
(07/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! So So Great
Although fairly friendly, polite and usually pretty quick, you get the feeling the servers are not overly warm and seem distant. Bouncy, refreshing service would beef up the rating for this place to Awsome! and make it one of, if not THE best place in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mark Dumont, Calgary, AB
(03/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Good N/A
Just after I wrote this, I booked at table and got some "bouncy" friendly service over the phone. So it does happen. Allow me to bump things up to "good" to be fair.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mark again, Calgary, AB
(03/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
An upscale "Brew Pub" Great "professional" service and top quality product from the kitchen

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Calgary, AB
(01/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
I've been there many times. They have finally gotten rid of their incompetent waitress!!

I'll be going back ASAP!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review calgary, AB
(12/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
This is a world class establishment. The food is a must try!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darren Gurr Darren Gurr, Calgary, AB
(09/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
The Bitter is the best beer I have ever tried, a perfect pint, the food is wonderful neveau-pub, and the selection of beers is second to none. My favourite watering hole by far.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Calgary, AB
(02/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Attractive facility in an interesting downtown Calgary neighborhood. Very fine Marzen tasted recently, and other beers were generally good. Excellent food and friendly servers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Riverside, CA
(10/08/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.307 seconds) 23:59:03 54.234.217.247, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS