PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Granite Brewery - Halifax, NS
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 27, 2014 @ 06:25 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NS > Halifax > Granite Brewery
Granite Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Granite Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.8 / 100
1222 Barrington
Halifax, NS B3J 1Y4
Canada
(902) 423-5660
Listed Since: February 1997
Last Updated: June 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants


Beer Guide for Nova Scotia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
13 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) John Shippey's Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Rogue's Roost
(0 mile)

3) Split Crow Pub
(0 mile)

4) O'Carroll's Restaurant and Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) Maxwell's Plum English Pub
(0 mile)

6) Hart and Thistle Gastropub and Brewery
(0 mile)

7) Garrison Brewing Company
(1 mile)

8) Propeller Brewing Company
(1 mile)

9) Maritime Beer Company
(4 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYVIEW MOTOR INN
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Restaurant
2) A Taste Of India Foods Inc
3) Advanced Rejuvenation Medi - Spa
4) AM Aloha
5) Blockbuster
6) Blockbuster
7) Blockbuster Video Canada Inc
8) Blowers St Paperchase Cafe
9) Bluenose II Restaurant
10) Brothers Meats & Delicatessen Ltd
11) C&s Auto Limited
12) Chabaa Thai Restaurant
13) China Classic Restaurant (1998) Ltd
14) Chives Canadian Bistro
15) Commons Inn
16) da Maurizio Dining Room
17) Darrell's Restaurant
18) Deli Green Bakery & Catering
19) Dino's 2 for 1 Pizza
20) G & D Catering Services
21) Gigantic Video
22) Great Wall Restaurant The
23) Halifax Club
24) I Love Sushi Japanese Restaurant Inc
25) Italian Gourmet
26) J I T Information Systems - Image Group Inc
27) J I T Information Systems Image Group
28) J J Korean Oriental Foods
29) Jean's Chinese Restaurant
30) Julienne's Catering
31) Just New Release Video
32) La Perla Dining Room
33) Landmark Catering
34) Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
35) Michael's Bar & Grill
36) Mongolie Grill The
37) Mr Changs Chinese Food Emporium
38) Nectar Social House
39) NL Jungle Pets Store
40) Old Triangle Irish Ale House The
41) Park Lane
42) Pathfinder Group - Thompson A B Assoc
43) Peter's Pizzeria
44) Petrie's Halifax Feast Dinner Theatre
45) Piccolo Mondo
46) Quinpool Circle K
47) Residence Inn By Marriott
48) Ristorante A Mano
49) Robie Street Circle K
50) Showtime Video & Variety
51) Silver Dragon Restaurant
52) Smith's Bakery & Cafe (Est 1932)
53) Sore Spots Massage Therapy
54) Split Crow
55) St Mary's Boat Club (Apr-Nov)
56) The Press Gang
57) Tomavino's Cellar Ristorante
58) Toulany's Bash Fine Food
59) Triple A Convenience
60) Turkish Delight Restaurant
61) Velos Pizza
62) Video Difference Ltd
63) Viva's Cafe Grill & Pizza
64) Walker's Gas & Electric Ltd
65) Wok Box
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Stopped in for lunch during a swing through Nova Scotia (see my other reveiws). Granite, the house pub for Granite Brewing, is located in a busy commercial area of Halifax, itself being an attractive city with many other fine establishments; it is narrow with a moderate-sized bar on the left and a few high tops by the large front windows where Haligonians hustle about their business. I gather this place has been around since it boasts a fine tin ceiling. (I understand that Henry House, another Granite purveyor, possesses a classier ambience - hey, it's about the beer.)

Granite offers 7 British styles on tap with some on casks. This is a nice place for a hearty lunch and some fine brews. We did not have problems like the previous reveiwer, though. Sometimes it's all about timing. I recommend Granite and Halifax. --

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(11/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
this place has moved around from its old location. its still on main drag downtown but not as nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City(Baltimore), MD
(08/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
The beer was great, but we went expecting the menu they have on their website. Unfortunately that is no longer available. They only had a few snacks and two salads and sandwiches. The bartender said the extensive menu was deleted due to the change in smoking laws some months ago. But the beer was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cathy Miller Cathy Miller, Boothbay, ME
(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Absolutely fantastic beer. Some of the best we've ever tasted. Can't wait to someday get to Toronto and try the other Granite Brewery. Highly recommend this establishment. Unfortunately we were there on Canadian Thanksgiving so we were unable to try the food since the kitchen was closed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Herb Lucas Herb Lucas, Port Saint Lucie, FL
(10/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
The guys below are right: the Peculiar is a splendid English-style real ale. Can't recall what else I had but it was good too. Didn't try the food but judging from the lines of locals waiting for a table it must be good. Feels like a British country pub rather than a slick American bar. Tis a small place, though, and can get very crowded. The best brewpub in Halifax, though...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rupert Metcalf Rupert Metcalf, Plymouth, UK
(10/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
The guys below are right: the Peculiar is a splendid English-style real ale. Can't recall what else I had but it was good too. Didn't try the food but judging from the lines of locals waiting for a table it must be good. Feels like a British country pub rather than a click American brewbar. Tis a small place, though, and can get very crowded. The best brewpub in Halifax, though...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rupert Metcalf Rupert Metcalf, Plymouth, UK
(10/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
All the beers we had were phenominal, but the one that really stood out was the Peculiar. A great tasting beer!!! The location of the microbrewery just added to the great time we had that day. Definitely a must stop if you are in this neck of the woods.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Scheele Eric Scheele, Richmond, VA
(08/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
The Granite Brewery is the perfect spot to have as your local pub. The old masonry, dark wood and beer engines prepare you for what must be some of the best English Ale to be found. Kevin Keefe, the owner and brewer, brews using a Ringwood system complete with open fermentation and cask served ale. The Pecular, Best Bitter, Best Bitter dry hopped and Stout all have such lovely smooth malt flavors that are balanced beautifully. The dry hop bitter makes my mouth water just thinking about it. After a taste of these beers you understand why the British want them warm. The food here is excellent as well, with high end pub grub that never fails to satisify. If you are in Halifax, then you MUST go here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John FitzGerald John FitzGerald, New Minas, NS
(11/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I loved this place! The beer selection is limited (only 4 on tap when I was there) but all 4 were very good English style beers i.e.low carbonation, served just under room temp, very flavorful. (Personally I'd rather have 4 great beers to choose from than 10 so-so ones.) The "dry hop beer" was especially good. The food was great, the servers friendly and attentive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from D. Sullivan D. Sullivan, Hollis, NH
(09/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped in while our cruise ship Triumph was in port. Peculiar Ale was absolutely one of the best beers I've had in the last couple of beers. Smooth taste with a great finish. Cask conditioned was apparent, and well appreciated! Food was better than the cruise ship, and the bartender who also served us was excellent. This stop is one of the HIGHLIGHTS of the stop in Halifax!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Langhorne, PA
(08/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Great Good
The Granite in Halifax is located in an old heritage building downtown near the train station. It's an old stone structure which really sets the atmosphere for enjoying great beers.

The quality of beer here is very high, but the selection the last time I was in (admittedly about 2 years ago) certainly left a fair bit to be desired. At the time it was the only brewpub in Halifax, so I certainly wasn't complaining.

The food is absolutely incredible - almost gourmet quality. Very, very tastey.

I've only given the place a "Good" rating overall, though, because of those damned video-poker machines that the owner felt the need to pollute the basement with. The basement used to be a really nice place to enjoy the beer and food, but now it's been completely ruined.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan McKay Alan McKay, Ottawa, ON
(01/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Check out the desserts, they are fabulous. Their jambalaya is one of my favorites - not too spicy, not bland though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from L.A. Smith L.A. Smith, Halifax, NS
(08/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
A very comfortable atmosphere. You do not feel hurried by the staff or clientele

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Marr Ken Marr, Upper Tantallon, NS
(01/26/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.268 seconds) 18:25:27 54.197.18.132, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS