PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Saint Arnold Brewing Company - Houston, TX
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 17, 2014 @ 10:10 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TX > Houston > Saint Arnold Brewing Company
Saint Arnold Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Saint Arnold Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.2 / 100
2000 Lyons Avenue
Houston, TX 77020
United States
(713) 686-9494
Listed Since: January 1996
Last Updated: May 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Houston, TX
Beer Guide for Texas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
26 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Brewery Tap
(3 miles)

2) Flying Saucer
(3 miles)

3) Front Porch Pub
(3 miles)

4) Beer Island
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Patrician Bed & Breakfast Inn
2) Sycamore Heights
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST VALUE CLASSIC INN
2) BEST WESTERN DOWNTOWN INN SUIT
3) BEST WESTERN HERITAGE INN
4) BRIDGESTREET MURPHYS CAMDEN MID
5) COURTYARD HOUSTON DOWNTOWN
6) DOUBLETREE HOUSTON DOWNTOWN
7) FAIRFIELD INN HOUSTON EAST
8) FOUR SEASONS HOUSTON
9) HAMPTON INN I-10 EAST
10) HILTON AMERICAS
11) HOTEL ICON
12) HOUSTON INN AND SUITES
13) HYATT REGENCY HOUSTON
14) RESIDENCE INN HOUSTON DOWNTOWN
15) SAM HOUSTON HOTEL
16) THE LANCASTER
17) THE MAGNOLIA, HOUSTON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Carden, David A., House
2) Clayton, William L., Summer House
3) Heights State Bank Building
4) House at 1421-1423 Waverly Street
5) House at 1437 Waverly Street
6) Houston Heights Waterworks Reservoir
7) Kronenberger House
8) McCollum, D. C., House
9) Mraz, Bill, Dance Hall
10) Oriental Textile Mill
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & J Soul Food
2) Adrian's Burger Bar
3) Anthony's Taqueria Restaurant
4) Antonio's Mexican Restaurant
5) Bhowani Lounge
6) Burger King
7) C J's Lounge
8) Canal Grill
9) Champ-Burger
10) Chantilly Lounge
11) Chirps Chicken & Rice
12) Church's Chicken
13) Church's Chicken
14) Church's Chicken
15) Cocina Palmers
16) Collingsworth Best Fish
17) Collins Soul Food
18) Dixie Maid
19) Domino's Pizza
20) Donna Burgers & More
21) Dorothy's Lounge
22) Early's Grill & Seafood
23) El Canon II
24) El Eminio Club
25) El Huarache Restaurant
26) El Papaturro
27) El Penjamo
28) Emilianos Cantina
29) Frank's Grill
30) Frenchey's Chicken
31) G & M Restaurant
32) Garcia Brothers Delicatessen
33) Gladys's Soul Food
34) Golden Nuggett
35) Grand Room
36) Green Oak Barbecue
37) Hong Kong Restaurant
38) Hush Hush Lounge
39) J & J Lounge
40) J & J Soul Food Cafe
41) J B's Bar
42) Jack In The Box
43) Jack In The Box
44) Joyce's Club Hole In The Wall
45) Kay's Dream
46) Kfc
47) Kozy Kitchen
48) Lac KIKA Sports Bar
49) Las Casuelas De Mexico
50) Lee's Carousel
51) Libos Sports Bar
52) Linda-Y-Linda Lounge
53) Lockwood Malt Shop
54) Los Jacales Restaurant
55) Los Manjares Taqueria
56) Los Primos Ice House
57) Lunch Pail
58) M J's Italian Ice
59) Macario's Sports Bar
60) Madre Taco
61) Magnabox
62) Mamou Restaurant & Lounge
63) Marcos Taqueria
64) Mason's Catering Svc
65) Mc Donald's
66) Mc Donald's
67) Mcdonald's Restaurants
68) Mi Cosina Mexicana
69) Mike's Lounge
70) Mister Burger
71) Mr A's Club
72) Mucho Mexico Bakery
73) Mucho Mexico Los Molcajetes
74) Mucho Mexico Los Molcajetes
75) Nickel Sandwich Grill
76) Nickel Sandwich Grill
77) Ninfa's Mexican Restaurant
78) Original Timmy Chan
79) Ostioneria 7 Mares
80) Pappas Pizza & Pasta
81) Place
82) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
83) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
84) Ray's Place
85) Refresque Ria Tampico
86) Ruby's Place
87) Salatos Poboys & Pizza
88) Samburger
89) Sesame Cafe
90) Silver Slipper
91) Super Chicken & Rice
92) T's Lounge
93) Taqueria Durango
94) Taqueria El Charro
95) Taqueria Las Margaritas
96) Taqueria Los Reyes
97) Three Sisters Fine Dining
98) Timmy Dangs Chicken & Fried
99) Tommy's Coffee Shop
100) Toot Toot's Soul Food & Bar
101) Velia's Cafe
102) Viola's Homemade Hamburgers
103) Whataburger
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great ? Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Awesome!
St. Arnold's brewery is a great place to spend an afternoon drinking great beer with a few hundred close friends. Tours are held every Saturday at 1PM. Get there early, bring your ID and five bucks. the tour used to be free but the nominal $5 helps to reduce the crowd. You will get a souvenier tasting glass; although you will recieve more beer if you buy or bring a St. Arnold pint glass. Food is not served, but you can bring your own. I also suggest bringing your own chairs since the picnic benches fill up quickly. The crowd is always friendly and I always have a great time. It can get hot in the summer, so autumn through spring are the best times to go. The beer is delicious. I recommend any of the seasonal ales and limited brews. The brown ale is also very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from sshofkom sshofkom, Houston, TX
(02/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
overall a good place...i would not suggest travelling far to do this one....not sure how it got such oustanding marks....doeshave nice selections, but the beer is just good, not great...service was great, nice friendly people to hook you up...don't think food is available, maybe you can bring your own??

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kelly kelly, midland, TX
(11/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
Man a waste of two hours of my life that I will NEVER go back. Had friends in town and tried to treat them to a Texas Brewery Tour. Should have driven to Shiner. The crowd was REALLY big in size, physically and in number and there was not a great deal of deodorant use among the crowd. Not so much of a tour more of some drunk dude in a kilt yammering on about beer for and hour and a half. It was like an airline cattle call except EVEN more drunks, several fights almost broke out. No one knew like ettiquette. Then someone said something about the fire marshall. Finally just gave up tossed my token chips and gave my glass away. I will not make this mistake again and I advise other to steer clear of this place I see bad things on the horizon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chammer chammer, Houston, TE
(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Get there at least 45 minutes before the start of the 1:00 tour on Saturday. That will give you the opportunity to be first in the beer line when the speech is over at about 1:15. You will be joined by as many as 200 friends. Bring your lunch, your family and your St. Arnold pint glass. 5.00 gets you an 8 oz glass and 4 wooden nickels for 4-8 oz fills or 2-16 oz fills. There are picnic tables and a large bar/retail area right in the brewhouse. After you get a beer you are able to roam the brewery freely and check things out for yourself. After tours to numerous to mention this is unique and well worth the 5.00 especially if you bring friends and lunch. Beers and information are excellent. It's a DON"T MISS when in Houston.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from UtahSteve UtahSteve, Ogden, UT
(06/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This was my second time attending the regular Saturday tour. Great atmosphere, and experience overall. Nice tasting/party area where you can bring a lunch, sit down at a picnic table, and spend the afternoon sampling beer while sitting amongst the fermentation tanks. As far as the beer goes, they have always had a great selection, so it should appeal to a wide range of style seekers....I'm partial to the Brown Ale & Winter Stout myself. In any event, if you're in Houston and have a couple spare hours on a Saturday afternoon, this is a great place to spend it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tamc tamc, Prosper, TX
(12/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
I was recently in Houston. I didn't make it to Saint Arnold's for the tour but I did bring a six-pack of Amber and a six-pack of Elissa IPA home with me. Both beers are spectacular. Wow! I hope to get back someday so I can do the brewery tour, get a glass for my collection, and bring home another couple six-packs. Keep up the great work Saint Arnold's!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Carlisle, PA
(09/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
St. Arnold has finally brewed an IPA!! Try the Alyssa IPA-it's a wonderful brew by the best microbrewery in Texas. Good job

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I have supported this brewery avidly for the past few years for several reasons. First, it is Houston's first (and as far as I know, only) microbrewery and it is about 5 minutes from home, but I don't need another when I have this one. Second, they have a beer for all tastes and each variation is excellent. Anyone can find something they like at Saint Arnold. Even the typical Texan who is used to Miller or Bud can enjoy the Fancy Lawnmower, Kristall Weizen, or Summer Pils. Thirdly, and most important, Brock and the rest of the gang remember that the customers are what keeps them going in a town that hasn't supported micros or brewpubs well in the past. It is obvious in the fact that despite what size crowd they have on their weekly Saturday tours (growing every week), they still do it for free when they probably could charge $5-10 and still have the same size crowd. Saint Arnold donates so much to different organizations in Houston and state-wide, and all they ask for in return is for you to tell a friend about them. Outstanding brewery and I can't wait for the IPA!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Lazybrook, TX
(02/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Brock Wagner is still doing his brewery tours every Saturday at 1pm. When you attend you will receive four wooden nickels. Each nickel will get you a 6 ounce sample of beer. If you purchase a souvenir glass then two nickels will get the glass filled up. There is a variety of glassware to chose from and is your best value for free beer. Root Beer is available year round as is the Amber, Brown, Kristall Wiezen, & Fancy Lawnmower (Kolsch). Their season brews are Spring Bock, Summer Pils, Oktoberfest, Christmas Ale & Winter Stout. I must say that the Winter Stout was outstanding this year and most definitly the best they have made so far. They are working on developing an IPA to be released this year. Several GABF medals are on display in the brewery as well as other awards. St. Arnold's also has a recycling program for their used six pack holders. Bring in ten St. Arnold six pack holders and get a free pint glass. Bring in 250,000,000 six pack holders you can take home their Bentley. I keep turning my holders for pint glasses and just can't quite make the 250 million mark.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
No place but Texas!!!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Houston, Tx
(04/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
I've been to microbreweries all over the US and I've found none that pay more attention to quality or that have a better owner than Saint Arnold's. Houston isn't the greatest town to live in, but Saint Arnold's makes it easier. It's a tribute to their quality that they thrive in Texas, where 99% of beer drinkers are happy with Miller Lite. Do yourself a favor. Go to the tour at 1 on Saturday's. You'll be hooked for life. They don't make a bad beer and most are top notch. Long live Saint Arnold!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Murray, Houston, TX
(04/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
The Saturday afternoon tour is still a great time. In addition to an entertaining "tour" and some wonderful free beer, there is often live music (you never know what kind) during the afternoon or other special things going on. During a recent tour, Brock mentioned that sales are up about 25% this year. The Fancy Lawnmower beer seems to be a big hit, and their seasonals never seem to last long on the shelves. The Christmas Ale is out now and is as tasty as ever. Check out Saint Arnold's newly redesigned website.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(11/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
Ok, I'm biased. I live in Houston, so St. Arnolds is MY microbrewery. I would put their beers up against any from the Pac NW. The Amber reminds me alot of RedHook ESB. Fancy Lawnmower is a great beer for the Houston weather. When I eat out, I look for two beers, St. Arnold and Shiner Bock!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Giordino Giordino, houston, TX
(10/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
Just had a party and got a Keg of Spring Bock and it was astounding and led to rave reviews from the crowd. Also been to a party @ the brewery and enjoyed many X-mas ales. It would be a great place for an event during the non-summer..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jason jason, houston, TX
(04/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A N/A
I second the motion regarding their loyalists. Very geeky and that includes the employees. The guy in the garb is a dweeb.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dallas, TX
(02/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
Had beers after tour. Wheat,Brown,Octoberfest and one more I can't remember. They were drinkable but didn't knock my socks off. Tasted like any other beer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(10/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A
Tried Amber Ale at the Astrodome, on tap and bottled. It struck me as a good, well-hopped amber-colored pale ale with good flavor and a clean finish. Missed the tour because the Astros played a day game.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(10/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
Saint Arnold's Saturday afternoon (1 pm) tours should be part of every beer lover's schedule. A favorite Houston pastime is to debate how this year's iteration of the seasonal beers match up to last year's. Their Cask Conditioned Amber Ale, which you have to search for (try the Gingerman) is one of the world's great beers. My opinion IS biased, but I'd be happy to discuss it with you at the tour sometime! :-)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bev Blackwood Bev Blackwood, Houston, TX
(08/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
The Amber is far too light to be considered an amber. The Wheat is pretty unremarkable. I do like the Brown however. Their loyalists seem to be pretty geeky. Especially the guy that wears the hat and robe.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dallas, TX
(07/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
The Christmas Ale has just hit the stores...and not a minute too soon. It's a perfect example of what a holiday beer should be...flavorful, hearty and just a hint of spice. The brown ale is also exceptional. I'd like to see them try their hand at an IPA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Round Rock, TX
(11/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
Their wheat bear is very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Houston, TX
(10/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I shed a tear each time I think of Saint Arnold, and realize I now live in NY. Anyone wanna mail me a six-pack?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, New York, NY
(09/03/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
There really is no better than St. Arnold's. The Brown Ale is so good, it makes me want to do sommersaults and cartwheels every time I taste it. And their Christmas Ale... All I can say is Merry Christmas!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lorenzo Phillips Lorenzo Phillips, Austin, TX
(08/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great
Stout has great chocolate finish. Amber is very drinkable ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Laurin Ken Laurin, Houston, TX
(06/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
St. Arnold's only has 3 permanent brews-the Kristall Weizen, Amber and Brown Ale. Their seasonals are Chirstmas Ale, Stout, Bock, and just released the Summerfest. Kevin and Brock put on a great tour of the plant every Saturday at 1pm and the last time I was there all the beer you could drink afterwards.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, League City, TX
(06/05/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.219 seconds) 22:10:04 54.198.20.215, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS