PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Granite Brewery - Toronto, ON
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 24, 2014 @ 10:21 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > ON > Toronto > Granite Brewery
Granite Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Granite Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 74.7 / 100
245 Eglinton Avenue East
Toronto, ON M4P 3B7
Canada
(416) 322-0723
Listed Since: February 1997
Last Updated: August 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants


Beer Guide for Ontario

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Granite Brewery
38 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(30 within 5 miles)
1) The Unicorn Pub - An Irish Rovers Free House
(0 mile)

2) Bow and Arrow
(1 mile)

3) The Abbott on the Hill
(2 miles)

4) Pheasant and Firkin Pub
(2 miles)

5) Rebel House
(2 miles)

6) The Beer Station
(2 miles)

7) Pour House Irish Pub
(3 miles)

8) The Victory Cafe
(3 miles)

9) Bishop and the Belcher
(3 miles)

10) Volo Birreria
(3 miles)

11) Local 4
(3 miles)

12) The Only Cafe
(3 miles)

13) Paupers Pub
(4 miles)

14) The 3 Brewers
(4 miles)

15) Mill Street Brewery
(4 miles)

16) Elephant and Castle
(4 miles)

17) Ein-stein Cafe and Pub
(4 miles)

18) Sin and Redemption
(4 miles)

19) Village Idiot Pub
(4 miles)

20) Al Frisco's
(4 miles)

21) Duke of Argyle Pub Incorporated - was Acme Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

22) Smokeless Joe
(4 miles)

23) Steam Whistle Brewing
(4 miles)

24) Upper Canada Brewing Company
(4 miles)

25) Elephant and Castle
(5 miles)

26) The Strand Restaurant and Brasserie
(5 miles)

27) Beerbistro
(5 miles)

28) Esplanade Bier Markt
(5 miles)

29) C'est What?
(5 miles)

30) Irish Embassy Pub
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Tortonto Downtown B&B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALEXANDRA HOTEL
2) BEST WESTERN PRIMROSE
3) BEST WESTERN ROEHAMPTON HOTEL
4) BOND PLACE
5) BRIDGESTREET 1121 BAY
6) BRIDGESTREET BELLAGIO
7) BRIDGESTREET GALLERIA
8) BRIDGESTREET PINNACLE
9) BRIDGESTREET QWEST
10) BRIDGESTREET RESIDENCES
11) CAMBRIDGE SUITES HOTEL
12) CLARION HOTEL & SUITES SELBY
13) COMFORT HOTEL
14) COMFORT SUITES CITY CENTRE
15) COURTYARD TORONTO DOWNTOWN
16) CROWNE PLAZA DON VALLEY
17) DAYS HOTEL & CONFERENCE CENTER
18) DOWNTOWN HOWARD JOHNSON HOTEL
19) FOUR SEASONS TORONTO
20) GLEN GROVE RESIDENCES AT 736
21) GLENGROVE SUITES
22) GRANGE APARTMENT HOTEL
23) HILTON TORONTO
24) HOTEL LE GERMAIN TORONTO
25) INN ON THE PARK
26) ISABELLA HOTELS AND SUITES
27) LE ROYAL MERIDIEN KING EDWARD
28) MARRIOTT BLOOR YORKVILLE
29) METROPOLITAN HOTEL
30) MONTE CASSINO HOTEL
31) NOVOTEL TORONTO CENTRE
32) NOVOTEL TORONTO NORTH YORK
33) PARK HYATT TORONTO
34) PEMBROKE RESIDENCE
35) QUALITY HOTEL BLOOR STREET
36) QUALITY HOTEL DOWNTOWN
37) RADISSON HOTEL TORONTO EAST
38) RAMADA HOTEL & CONFERENCE CTR
39) RAMADA HOTEL & SUITES DOWNTOWN
40) RENAISSANCE HOTEL AT SKYDOME
41) SHERATON CENTRE TORONTO
42) SIGNATURES ON BLOOR
43) SKYLINE 8 PARK
44) THE CAMBERLEY CLUB HOTEL
45) THE FAIRMONT ROYAL YORK
46) THE GRAND HOTEL
47) THE SUTTON PLACE HOTEL
48) THE WESTIN HARBOUR CASTLE
49) THE WESTIN PRINCE TORONTO
50) TORONTO DON VALLEY HOTEL
51) TORONTO MARRIOTT EATON CENTRE
52) TOWN INN SUITES
53) TRAVELODGE TORONTO DOWNTOWN W
54) VICTORIA HOTEL
55) WINDSOR ARMS
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1311708 Ontario Inc ON/A
2) A&W Area Restaurants
3) Best Z Inc
4) Blockbuster
5) Blockbuster Video
6) Burger J&I
7) Casa Di Giorgio
8) Celestin De Marc Thobor
9) CIBO E Vino
10) Convenience K
11) D&Y Market
12) Dinah E Cafe
13) Duff's Famous Wings
14) Executive Catering
15) Executive Catering
16) Film Fest Dvd Rentals
17) Fun L Fun
18) Gidon M S Dr
19) Gracefield Orchard Inc
20) Hannah's Kitchen
21) Hannah's Kitchen
22) Healthwinds - The Health & Wellness Spa
23) Ho Su Bistro
24) Honey`s Beestro 288
25) J J's Cafe & Deli
26) Kristapsons On Yonge St
27) La Salumeria
28) La Vecchia
29) Le Gourmand
30) Lettuce Eatery St Clair Inc
31) M & M Shops
32) M Y Hodge Podge Restaurant
33) M&P Variety
34) M&P Variety
35) Millwood Wine Works
36) Movies 4 U
37) Movies For You
38) N S Convenience
39) Penrose Fish & Chips
40) Rangoli Haute Indian Cuisine
41) Rangoli Haute Indian Cuisine
42) Ritché Bridal
43) Rogers Plus
44) Rogers Plus
45) Rogers Plus
46) Rogers Video A Div Of Rogers Cable Communication Inc
47) Sapori Trattoria
48) Sexy Bride Toronto Photography
49) Shawarma`s King Ltd
50) South St Burger Co
51) St Clair Coffee Shop
52) St Clair Ichiban Sushi H
53) St Louis Bar & Grill
54) Stop N Shop Kiosk Ltd
55) The French Spa
56) The Longest Yard Restaurant/Bar
57) Very Video
58) Yonge Eglinton Centre
59) Yonge Eglinton Centre
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
You're a real piece of work Shaun. Exactly why did you rate everything "lousy"? What's wrong with the Granite's selection? They're a brewpub - aren't five different regular beers plus two real ales enough for you? Didn't you enjoy ANY of their beers? Why not? What else didn't you like and why?

Reviews like yours are no help to anyone. From the way you talk, you sound like an inexperienced young kid with an axe to grind.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Tuttle Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(03/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy So So Lousy
Nothing special - I didn't think the service too bad at all but when bringing crap it doesn't matter too much how nicely it's brought-still crap -ain't it?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shaun Wynter Shaun Wynter, Toronto, ON
(02/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Pleasant Decor, perfunctory service, filthy washrooms and bland boring cuisine only marginally preferable to hunger.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Toronto, ON
(01/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Sorry Doug but you're a little confused. The Granite Brewery is at Eglinton and Mt. Pleasant -- nowhere near the Distillery district. It sounds like you visited the Mill St. Brewery or another bar in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Tuttle Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(11/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Kind of out of the way if you are in downtown Toronto, but worth the trip. Great atmosphere in the Distillery District. Great selection of beer. Nothing really stood out and in my opinion they were all dumbed down a little, but they were still pretty decent. The food was excellent and reasonable in price (for Toronto). I had a pizza that was excellent. Service was very good. Waitresses wear catholic school girl outfits. Very interesting. Nice place, I would recommend stopping in for lunch or dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Phillips Doug Phillips , Austin, TX
(11/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Great Lousy
wow, this beer was terrible...the ipa was sweet and flat, the bitter was like syrup....walked quite a ways off the subway to be greatly disappointed....i would not return...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from miki shear miki shear, park forest, IL
(08/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
Wonderful Service, Catherine sp? was very busy , but gave us excellent service. The IPA was not too heavy handed, just right,along with the special bitters, Great! We will stop here again on our next trip to Toronoto. CWG Philadelphia, PA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Philadelphia, PA
(06/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great
This joint was one of the top ten brewpubs I've been to. Its selection was limited, in that they only have their own beers on tap. But you won't go wanting, because they have a great range of styles, including bitters, IPA, and stout (as well as the standards). They had three casked ales, and the Best Bitter Special (a casked, dry-hopped bitter) would be one of my favorite beers, if I lived there. The food was outstanding, with the best stout BBQ sauce I've ever tasted. And they have free parking, so there's that. This is the place to go in Toronto.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Lasher Matt Lasher, Indianapolis, IN
(05/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
The beer served in the Granite is comparible to any I've tasted anywhere in the world. If you're looking for real ale in Toronto this is the place to go.

I love the beer so much I get a 15L keg anytime I have a function.

Very friendly staff and service. The food is probably good, but in all honesty I'm there for the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christopher Dale Christopher Dale, Toronto, ON
(07/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy So So
Went there after the Jays/Tigers game on Sat. Was very disappointed as we've wanted to go there for sometime. The food order was wrong and the fish and chips were cold. The Beer was good so it was not a total wash. I wouldnt go there to eat again though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JohnSta JohnSta, Ferndale, MI
(06/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Awesome!
Re-visited the Granite recently for the first time in years, and by God, it was as great as I remembered. Welcoming bar and staff, very comfortable and well-kept. I got a pint of cask-conditioned IPA, and it was so wonderfully good I downed it rather quickly and had another. The beer was in perfect condition, and clear as a bell, quiveringly fresh and estery, with buoyant clouds of English hop aroma. Just one beautiful beer, the best glass of cask I've had in a while. Bravo, Granite!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(03/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Once again a negative review of he Granite. Makes me wonder if I'm going to the same place! A friend and I were in Toronto again a couple weeks ago and spent several hours there on Sunday afternoon. We both have been into craft beer for years and are knowledgable about it. We have long considered The Granite one of the best pubs in Toronto and love their real ales in particular. As for the several complaints that their beers are weak and bland -- The Granite brews English beers that adhere closely to that style and tradition. As a CAMRA member who has spent many months in Great Britain, I can assure you that Granite's real ales could hold their own at the Great British Beer Festival as well as any good pub. I suspect those who make these complaints are hopheads who's taste in beer has been shaped by overhopped American versions of classic English styles and other extreme types of ales common in North America. If that's your taste, fine, but don't condemn beers that don't conform to it. A British IPA will seem a little weak compared to an American or some Canadian versions but that doesn't mean it's a lousy beer. If you're not experienced with real ale that might be another factor. Cask ales offer subtle nuances that don't overpower your sense of taste like some of our beers do. The cleanliness issue has me puzzled as well. I've probably used the Granite's mens room 30-40 times over the last eight years and always found it very clean and well tended. Flies in the kitchen?? -- how did you close enough to see them? Once again, those considering a first visit to the Granite Brewery should trust the many positive reviews here and enjoy their beers annd food!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Tuttle Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(10/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A So So Lousy
Visited the Granite on a weekend evening for dinner and walked out. It seemed odd that nobody was eating at this restaurant, just drinking the beer. The IPA was yes, thin and VERY bland. Walked out before ordering. Why? The bathroom was filthy and the kitchen wasn't much better, small flies flying around the lamps. This place needs a good sprucing up...very disappointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, hackensack, NJ
(07/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Right on Steve from NY!

I try to find a good brew pub restaurant anytime I travel and this past weekend (with wife and son along on vacation at the Falls) was no exception when I found Granite. I just wish we were in Toronto for more than the afternoon/evening so I could have sampled more than I did.

The IPA was very good and the Summer, which my wife had was good - she finished it and that's saying something since she's a die hard Lager-only drinker.

The food was very good and our waitress was as friendly as you could ask for.

We sat up front, right off the street in the "library". Although I wish we had ventured further in as the dining room in back is a bit more spacious and you won't suffer from the setting sun blaring in through the window.

Definitely a keeper!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ET ET, Oak Lawn, IL
(08/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Being a well-travelled and experienced beer fan (many trips to Britain ,Germany,Belgium,Austria,+ USA),I'm amused at the negative comments the Granite has received from several self-styled experts.John Burns from Toronto said it was about the worst brewpub he's been in. Gee John,who should I listen to? - you or another beer critic by the name of Michael Jackson,who said the Granite makes great beer and considers it one of the best brewpubs in North America. Chappy from Redland,CA and friends are proud of themselves for sampling the Granite's beers and then ordering a bottle of Molson,Labatt,or whatever.Wow guys -- that says alot for your taste!Any beer geeks I know wouldn't touch that crap under any circumstances!! My experience at the Granite has been the same as the vast majority of reviewers here. Ron Keefe makes excellent beer and serves great food to go with it.I'm looking forward to his real ale on my next visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(04/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Lousy Lousy
I have rarely tasted any brewpub beer as poor as this was. The IPA was thin and bland. The server was completely uninterested. Not worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Burns John Burns, Toronto, ON
(01/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Awesome! Good
This was my last stop on my Toronto Beer Tour, and I was a bit disappointed. The cask ales were really pretty non-descript and lacking in character. The staff was absolutely great and friendly. Perhaps my expectations were a bit much.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Seibt Rick Seibt, Mentor, OH
(12/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
The place was very friendly, the beer was outstanding,some of the best ,we had in Toronto, the bar tender Ryan was very nice and informative about the beer & is a Springsteen fan that helped! but over all it was very enjoyable,and we are looking forward to going back....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank & Debby Rizzo Frank & Debby Rizzo, Bricktown, NJ
(12/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I've travelled throughout Ireland, Britain and Belgium hunting down great beers -- I now can save my airfare - The Granite in Toronto can match any ale or stout ANYWHERE! Great selections and excellent service along with reasonably priced food make the Granite the only pub for me. Thanks to Brewer/owner Ron Keefe for putting Canadians on the Beer Map!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Stephens Jack Stephens, Brampton, ON
(11/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A very laid back atmosphere with friendly staff is what makes this establishment so welcoming. The beer is the best you'll find in the city as well as in all surrounding areas. Ron Keefe is always willing to talk to those interested in his work, and will give you a tour of the brewery if you ask. The food is my favourite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Beth Mary Beth, Toronto, ON
(11/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good So So
I have to agree with John from Rochester. The Granite Brewery beers were weak and tasted watered-down. We each tried the 8-beer sampler they offered, hoping to find some really interesting tastes. My hopes were on the IPA, which is usually my favorite. But that was a major disappointment too. When it came time to order a pint, the four of us ordered a bottled Canadian beer, which drew the attention of several staff including our two waitresses, the manager, and another waiter who specifically wanted to know why we didn't like their beers. We told him the IPA was not hoppy and had no real flavor, at which time he pointed to the beer menu and said, "It's hoppy. It says so right here." But the food was delicious.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chappy Chappy, Redlands, CA
(07/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The Toronto landscape is sparse with "Brewpubs" ... If you can only try one, it should be the Granite. The venue is a little out of the downtown, but a short worthwhile cab ride. Good variety in the venue seating atmosphere: Streetside Cafe is a little noisy with vehicle traffic, but had a good flow of non-portentious foot traffic. The patio in back is a good relaxing setting. The inside is spacious and well air conditioned. All of the beers were very drinkable, The standouts for my tastes were the Peculiar and the Special Dry Hopped Bitter on cask. The Stout was a great accompaniment to my meal, not too dry or sweet, very roasty (which I like). The IPA could use a recipe overhaul or just a new name. None of the beers had a true signature unique to this brewery, but none of them will be dissapointing in any way. No commercial tinge to any beers either which always gets good points from me. Would go back in a heartbeat. "Chicken Penne" was a win and not at all average.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Lyman, ME
(07/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I found nothing special here really. The beer was a little weak, the IPA especially, the Best Bitter the most flavorful in a mediocre way.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Rochester, NY
(10/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I was staying at the Roehampton hotel nearby for a few nights so the Granite was homebase. Met up with Ron Keefe who is a super nice guy, he had apologized that they only had one hand pump running at the time of my visit. He was unable to keep the close eye required on the casks of IPA and Special due to a death in the family, but the Summer Cask was primo. Nicely hopped no skunky aftertaste, and very, very refreshing, served a little cooler than most hand pumps I've had, but it was hot out, so it was nice. Had all brews available, the stout is a little too heavy on the roasted flavor, but still a good brew. The Peculiar was a winner as was the Ringwood ale and the Bitter. Brought back a bottle of the Peculiar, bought from the LCBO at 2300 Yonge. Staff was friendly and efficient, food was very good and prepared quickly. Would be back in a heartbeat if I get back to Toronto, eh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bubba Bubba, Glen Cove, NY
(06/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
I am thrilled that The Granite has become a non-smoking establishment! The smell and flavour of the fine ales are even more pronounced. Well done.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Draper Dave Draper, Whitby, ON
(06/06/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.633 seconds) 10:21:17 54.204.218.95, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS