PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Ocean Brewing Company - Laguna Beach, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 27, 2014 @ 04:56 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Laguna Beach > Ocean Brewing Company
Ocean Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Ocean Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.5 / 100
237 Ocean Avenue
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
United States
(949) 497-3381
Listed Since: January 1996
Last Updated: January 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Laguna Beach, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
20 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Laguna Beach Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Marine Room Tavern
(0 mile)

3) The Place
(4 miles)

4) Steelhead Brewing Company
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Carriage House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALISO CREEK INN
2) AMERICAS BEST INN LAGUNA BEACH
3) BEST VALUE INN-IRVINE
4) BEST WESTERN LAGUNA BRISAS SPA
5) BEST WESTERN LAGUNA EL TORO IN
6) BEST WESTERN LAGUNA REEF INN
7) BY THE SEA INN
8) CAPRI LAGUNA INN ON THE BEACH
9) COMFORT INN AT LAGUNA HILLS
10) COURTYARD LAGUNA HILLS
11) INN AT LAGUNA BEACH
12) IRVINE SUITES HOTEL
13) LA CASA DEL CAMINO
14) LAGUNA SHORES RESORT
15) MONTAGE RESORT AND SPA
16) SURF AND SAND HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Mariona
2) St. Francis by-the-Sea American Catholic Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Anat Falafel Inc
2) Bamboo Bar & Grill
3) Baskin-Robbins
4) Brussels Bistro
5) Cafe Vienna
6) Cafe Zinc & Market
7) Chantilly
8) Chapleau Restaurant
9) Chef's Delivery
10) Clae's Seafood Etc
11) Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf
12) Coffee Pub
13) Crystal Cove Shake Shack
14) Diedrich Coffee
15) Domino's Pizza
16) Gg's Cafe Bistro
17) Gina's Pizza & Pastaria
18) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
19) Hush Restaurant
20) Husky Boy Burgers
21) Jack In The Box
22) Koffee Klatch
23) LA Sirena Grill
24) Laguna Beach Brewing
25) Laguna Soup Inc
26) Laguna Taco Bowl
27) Laguna Thai By The Sea
28) Mandarin King
29) Marine Room Tavern
30) Mario's Pizza
31) Overnite Coffee
32) Papa's Tacos
33) Pasta Pomodoro
34) Picayo
35) R & R Corp
36) Saloon
37) Sammy's Burgers & Subs
38) Savoury's Restaurant & Bar
39) Serra's Bar & Grill
40) Shoreline Restaurant
41) Stalker's Fine Foods
42) Starbucks
43) Sundried Tomato Cafe
44) Sushi Laguna
45) Taco LA Guna
46) Z Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
Ocean had three of their own beers on tap this afternoon: red, a pale, and a wheat. Guest beers included Guiness, Stella and Warsteiner. The bases were covered, but with beer from other suppliers. I did drink their pale and it is a serviceable pale, a session beer.

This is a restaurant that also brews its own beer. The food is excellent and reasonably priced for Laguna Beach. The beer is a quality beer, but I'd like to see better variety. This is a local place and you can't go wrong with a local clientele.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gezelius John Gezelius, Orange, CA
(11/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Great
I live somewhat nearby and so i have a chance to stop in now and then. The food is good, as is the beer tho they run low often and sometimes only have two or three. The red and the pale are nice. Last time in i had the IPA which was not the crisp one i normally taste but an 8% wonder of full flavor. I had two pints with their great calimari (with two great dips) and wood fired pizza. a pleasant lunch for sure. I have had good service everytime i have been in, even when i am sandy and bedraggled after surfing! Best-Dan

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Dan, el toro, CA
(04/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Awesome! Great Great
We went for the beer and the food blew us away! We had a prociutto sandwich that was probably the best we've ever eaten. The atmosphere is really nice and so was the staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review P & J, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy
This establishment had 3 beers on the menu and 10 martinis - maybe a sign they are not really into beer. And there was more attitude than I can tolerate. I will not be going back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Susan King Susan King, San Diego, CA
(03/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
Cute, coffee shop atmosphere, looks kinda like a Starbucks on the inside. Seems to favor the local scene. Good service, good beers. 08/20/03 2pm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(08/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Thomas Paul Thomas, Bristol, VA
(07/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Great So So Good
The help act as if this is a seen and be seen place. There were only two beers on tap when I visited - the Blonde was not very good, but the Red was excellent. The best pizza I've ever had in California also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gregg Bieri Gregg Bieri, Bailey, CO
(06/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Fairly tasty red beer (amber) and the pale ale was okay. This is good beer, but not great beer. The food was very good. We had sandwiches one time and the sausage appetizer another time. The sausages were particularly good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kathy Kathy, tucson, AZ
(03/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Awesome!
I was on vacation and hanging out in Southern California. Laguna Beach is one of my favorite areas it is very upscale and I like the scenery. I stopped in and had a few beers and enjoyed them and also had some nice italian dishes. The night I was there there as some nice jazz. When I go back out to Southern California I'm definitely coming back to Ocean Brewing! Loved the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric K Eric K, St Petersburg, FL
(10/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
I agree with those who say to skip the 'other' brewpub in Laguna. This one was fun & had a nice selection of beer and food (try the desserts). We asked the manager if she would make us a stout float. They were out of vanilla ice cream but said that if we ran over to the ice cream store around the corner & brought some back that they would make them for us. Ummm. Let's see if they add this to their menu.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sammi Griffiths Sammi Griffiths, Anaheim, CA
(03/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
By far the class of the two Laguna breweries. Excellent brews and food that is some of the best in restaurant rich area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gavin McKiernan Gavin McKiernan, Huntington Beach, CA
(02/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
One of the best little restaurants I know. Ocean has it all from great food and beer(s) combined with a wonderful atmoshpere and superb service. This is the one you've been looking for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hayner Hayner, Laguna Beach, CA
(11/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
Looks very trendy/yuppy-fied, but this place does know beer, and serves up several tasty brews. Parking is a hassle, but, then again, this is Laguna Beach...//TSB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bis Bis, San Diego, CA
(10/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Complete agreement with the other reviewers. An excellent place. The IPA is carbonated with Nitrogen not CO2 which made it a pleasure to drink, nice hop taste with a smooth creamy head. The Holiday beer was flavored with Spruce, which gave it a small pineappley sort of aftertaste. The brewer, and I forget his name, has done an excellent job. Very well done beers. The food was good sized portions and tasty. The bartenders knew their beers and were happy to give a taste of anyone of them and discuss them when they were not busy. Only fault was I bought a case of their Red Beer, and asked why it said Amber on the case only to be assured it was the Red and took it home 3,000 miles back to Baltimore, opened it and found out it was Amber. Buyer Beware! But overall an excellent place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Gnatowski Mark Gnatowski, Baltimore, MD
(11/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Good Awesome!
Unassuming place with outstanding beers and food. First impression may be trendy but a taste of the product will convince you that the brewmaster is talented and the chef outstanding

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Lenow Patrick Lenow, Tustin Ranch, CA
(10/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from SAJ SAJ, Hingham, MA
(09/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
This is a very laid back place that has a nice atmoshpere. The beer and the food was good. I do recommend visiting this place

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mo Harmon Mo Harmon, Kansas City, MO
(08/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Small, unassuming place, with an average atmosphere at best. BUT, the food was incredible, and one of the beers was inspired: a "Honey Basil." Sound trendy? WAS, but it was also a) one of the most successful "experimental" beers I've ever tasted, b) certainly the best example of "spicing" a beer and doing it right, and c) a successful implementation of honey in the beer (Normally, I'm not a huge "honey-beer" fan--my guess is the brewer at this place added honey after fermentation so you don't get that canked character caused by the yeast's consuming the honey).

Their Porter was also good and I actually ended up getting a nice tall old-fashioned glass pitcher of it (over the Basil Honey).

Service was notable--had a great, fun waitress.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Berg Matt Berg, Pepperell, MA
(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Small selection of beer.

Ran out of a favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fullerton, CA
(02/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Very good brews, Excellent food, Atmospehere was sort of Artsy, Avante Garde. Clientele made for good free entertainment! Sunshine Red was a good well balanced Red Ale, Pale Ale had a nice hoppy bite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bannan Bill Bannan, Underhill Center, VT
(11/07/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.223 seconds) 04:56:43 54.204.94.254, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS