PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Grizzly Paw Pub and Brewing Company - Canmore, AB
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 22, 2014 @ 10:53 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AB > Canmore > Grizzly Paw Pub and Brewing Company
Grizzly Paw Pub and Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Grizzly Paw Pub and Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 76.7 / 100
622 - 8 Street
Canmore, AB T1W 2B5
Canada
(403) 678-9983
Listed Since: February 1997
Last Updated: February 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants


Beer Guide for Alberta

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
12 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Peak Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) The Last Call Pub
(0 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BANFF BOUNDARY LODGE
2) BEST WESTERN POCATERRA INN
3) BW GREEN GABLES INN
4) CANADIAN ROCKIES CHALETS
5) DAYS INN AND SUITES CANMORE
6) GRAND CANADIAN RESORT
7) HOWARD JOHNSON BANFF CANMORE
8) MYSTIC SPRINGS CHALETS
9) RADISSON HOTEL CANMORE
10) RESIDENCE INN CANMORE BANFF
11) WINDTOWER LODGE AND SUITES
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W
2) Brown Richard Photography
3) Canmore Hotel
4) Canmore Inn & Suites
5) Chef's Studio Japan
6) Four Points Hotel Sheraton Canmore
7) Harp Angel - Harpist
8) Hotel Of The Rockies
9) O Bistro
10) Patrinos Steak House & Pub
11) Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Canmore
12) Spring Creek Mountain Village
13) Toshys Family Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Samples were served in shot glasses, 8 total. Waitress fuzzy about the beers. Beers were ok, but the IPA was under hopped. They had the biggest basket of nachos I have ever seen, served all 4 of us, with left overs. Typical pub fare.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Rooney Pat Rooney, Palm Springs, CA
(09/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
We had a very pleasant Father’s Day lunch on the patio of the Grizzly Paw brewpub. The beer sampler offers a taste of eight different house-brewed beers (the six shown on the brewery’s website, plus a lighter summer pilsner and an IPA. One can also order a smaller sampler with four beers from either the lighter or darker side. All of the beers were clean and reasonably true to style. Still, I thought some of the beers were just a bit beneath the level of flavor anticipated for the style. The best beers in my opinion were the Rutting Elk Red Ale, a nice version of a Scottish-style amber ale, and the Big Head Nut Brown. The IPA would have passed for a respectable pale ale but fell short of what I expected for an IPA. The stout was dark but a bit weak in flavor. Our food was good, sandwiches, fish & chips and such. They have some of their beers available to go in six packs of either bottles (three beer choices, I believe) or cans (for two of the beers). As a place to find decent if not outstanding beer and good food in a picturesque mountain town setting, I’d recommend a stop here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(06/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The selection of food is topped only by the quality and variety of beer they offer. Their own brews are among the best I've experienced throughout the Northwest(Us or Canada). If you like a burger and a beer, this place will set a pretty tough standard for anyone else to match.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Terry Terry, Calgary, AB
(12/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Great
I tried the Big Head Nut Brown, the Rutting Elk Red, and a seasonal IPA. They were all tasty, well balanced beers. The red was a good hoppy beer, not what I would have expected from a red ale. I also brought home a six pack of the Beavertail Raspberry for my wife - she thought they were great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Great
I live in Calgary and have been touring brew pubs all over North America for over ten years. It is interesting what others have to say. Most find the beer under hopped. I myself am a fan of Nut Brown Ales so hops are not something I like to be overwhelmed with. I found most of the beer sufficiently hopped. For a small brew pub, the selection is exellent. I drive out to the pub now and then just for a different Brown Ale. An Espresso Stout or Porter would be nice to see. I also like to look at the small photo of Gillespie Bear on the wall. He belongs to me and I think he makes a great mascot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dale Dumont Dale Dumont, Calgary, AB
(04/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
The waitress staff knew nothing about the beer (e.g., one told me she thought they used "two-row" hops in their pale ale), and the brewer was not there for questions or a quick tour. Got the sampler and found the honey wheat to be a pleasant surprise -- not a beer I'd usually try, but for the sampler. Other beers were OK. Not a lot more choices in Canmore.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave B. Dave B., Cary, NC
(06/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So So So Lousy
I was in Canmore for 6 days and looking forward to this place based on the reviews. Locals told me to go here. The waitresses are all young and cute. But service is just plain slow. Mostly the food is very standard pub fare. I ordered a (soup of the day) seafood gumbo that was like a cream of rice soup with some fish parts in it. They did take it back and did not charge me. All of the beers were disappointing. Watery and under hopped. Most had some sort of off taste that I could not identify. After the first visit I could not bring myself to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review chicago, IL
(09/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
A good range of beer for all tastes, from the exellent award winning stout to a pilsner. Flavour for the beers are well - defined and unique, but lack some carbonation. They have also recently begun offering the stout in summertime Food is is standard pub fare done very well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M Dolling M Dolling, Vancouver, BC
(07/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Canmore is a great place to start exploring the Canadian Rockies, and the Grizzly Paw is a good place to start in Canmore. Adequate selection and excellent quality. However, most Canadian brewpubs do not feature stouts and porters in summer. Grizzly Paw brews a stout in October and serves in Dec. It would be nice to have the option of a heavier brew even in summer. The food is contemporary and innovative. A great place to relax after a day of hiking...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dr. John Dr. John, Haughton, LA
(08/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Although there is nothing wrong with any of the beers, they all seem a little under hopped and lacking in malt and flavor; since it is a tourist town they might be trying appeal to a more general market. The Nut Brown Ale is the best beer by far. The wait staff is very friendly and the location can't be beat, near the base of some of the best mountain biking around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob M Bob M, Farmington Hills, MI
(05/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Stopped in for a quick supper, but luckily we picked the Grizzly Paw - Ordered their "Sampler Tray" which gave us a 3 oz glass of each of their products. After sampling all of them we picked our favorites and ordered our dinner. Food was excellent and was only surpassed by the quality of their beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Howard Williamson Howard Williamson, Seattle, WA
(02/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great
Different take on some standard brewpub beers, e.g., pale ale with minimal hopping and wheat beer looking and tasting more like a pilsner. Extremely friendly staff and wonderful location on the main street of scenic Canmore. I believe this is the only brewpub in the Canadian Rockies.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Loew Brian Loew, Riverside, CA
(10/08/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.211 seconds) 22:53:50 54.196.199.118, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS