PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company - Alexandria, VA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 22, 2014 @ 10:56 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VA > Alexandria > Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company
Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 73.1 / 100
[Closed - January 2006]
607 King Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
United States
(703) 684-5397
Listed Since: January 1996
Last Updated: September 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Alexandria, VA
Beer Guide for Virginia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company
104 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(27 within 5 miles)
1) Bilbo Baggins
(0 mile)

2) Southside 815
(0 mile)

3) Faccia Luna Trattoria
(0 mile)

4) Pat Troy's Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) Rick's Wine and Gourmet
(0 mile)

6) Rustico Restaurant and Bar
(0 mile)

7) Union Street Public House
(0 mile)

8) Sutton Place Cafe
(0 mile)

9) Murphy's Grand Irish Pub
(0 mile)

10) Bullfeathers
(0 mile)

11) King Street Blues
(0 mile)

12) Chadwick's Old Town
(0 mile)

13) Hard Times Cafe
(0 mile)

14) Fireflies Restaurant and Coffee Bar
(1 mile)

15) Ramparts Restaurant
(2 miles)

16) Hops Grill and Brewery
(2 miles)

17) Bistro Bistro
(3 miles)

18) Carlyle Grand Cafe
(3 miles)

19) Capitol City Brewing Company - Shirlington
(3 miles)

20) Capitol City Brewing Corporation
(3 miles)

21) Shenandoah Brewing Company
(3 miles)

22) Port City Brewing Company
(3 miles)

23) Sine Irish Pub and Restaurant
(3 miles)

24) Halyards
(4 miles)

25) Rock Bottom Brewery
(6 miles)

26) CarPool
(6 miles)

27) Slade's American Grill
(6 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN CAPITOL SKYLINE
2) BEST WESTERN OLD COLONY INN
3) BEST WESTERN PENTAGON
4) BEST WESTERN POTOMAC VIEW
5) BRIDGESTREET MERIDIAN BALLSTON
6) BRIDGESTREET MERIDIAN CARLYLE
7) CHANNEL INN
8) COMFORT INN PENTAGON
9) COURTYARD ALEXANDRIA
10) COURTYARD CRYSTAL CITY
11) CRYSTAL CITY MARRIOTT
12) DAYS INN ALEXANDRIA SOUTH
13) DAYS INN NATL AIRPORT CRYSTAL
14) DAYS INN PENTAGON
15) DAYS INN WASHINGTON ARLINGTON
16) DOUBLETREE HOTEL CRYSTAL CITY
17) ECONO LODGE NATIONAL AIRPORT
18) EMBASSY SUITES CRYSTAL CITY
19) EXECUTIVE CLUB SUITES ALEXANDRI
20) EXECUTIVE CLUB SUITES ARLINGTON
21) HAMPTON INN OLD TOWN
22) HAMPTON INN STES REAGAN NATL
23) HAWTHORN SUITES LTD ALEXANDRIA
24) HILTON ALEXANDRIA MARK CENTER
25) HILTON CRYSTAL CITY
26) HILTON OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA
27) HOLIDAY INN & STES ALEXANDRIA
28) HYATT REGENCY CRYSTAL CITY
29) KORMAN COMMUNITIES ARLINGTON
30) MARRIOTT CRYSTAL GATEWAY
31) OAKWOOD EISENHOWER
32) OAKWOOD PENTAGON CITY
33) OXON HILL INN
34) PENTAGON CITY RESIDENCE INN
35) RADISSON OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA
36) RAMADA LIMITED FALLS CHURCH
37) RED ROOF WASHINGTON ALEXANDRIA
38) RED ROOF WASHINGTON OXON HILL
39) RELAIS CHATEAUX MORRISON HOUSE
40) RESIDENCE INN ALEXANDRIA
41) SHERATON CRYSTAL CITY HOTEL
42) SHERATON NATIONAL
43) SHERATON PENTAGON SOUTH HOTEL
44) SHERATON STES OLD TOWN ALEXANDR
45) TRAVELODGE ALEXANDRIA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alexandria City Hall
2) Alexandria National Cemetery
3) Ball-Sellers House
4) Bank of Alexandria
5) Barcroft Community House
6) Bayne--Fowle House
7) Bruin's Slave Jail
8) Carlin Hall
9) Carlyle House
10) Codman-Davis House
11) Commandant's Office, Washington Navy Yard
12) Drew, Charles Richard, House
13) Duncanson-Cranch House
14) Fairfax--Moore House
15) Ford, President Gerald R., Jr., House
16) Franklin and Armfield Office
17) Gadsby's Tavern
18) Hume School
19) Jones Point Lighthouse and District of Columbia South Cornerstone
20) Law, Thomas, House
21) Lee, Robert E., Boyhood Home
22) Lee-Fendall House
23) Lewis, Edward Simon, House
24) Lloyd House
25) Lyndon Baines Johnson Memorial Grove On The Potomac
26) Main Gate, Washington Navy Yard
27) Old Dominion Bank Building
28) Presbyterian Meeting House, Old
29) Protestant Episcopal Theological Seminary
30) Quarters A, Washington Navy Yard
31) Quarters B, Washington Navy Yard
32) Southeast No. 6 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
33) Southeast No. 7 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
34) Southeast No. 9 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
35) Southwest No. 1 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
36) Southwest No. 2 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
37) Southwest No. 3 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
38) Southwest No. 4 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
39) Southwest No. 5 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
40) Southwest No. 6 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
41) St. John's Church
42) St. Paul's Episcopal Church
43) Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Shop
44) U.S. Marine Corps Barracks and Commandant's House
45) USS SEQUOIA (yacht)
46) Wheat Row
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 100 King Restaurant
2) 1001 Catering
3) 101 Royal Steak House
4) A LA Luci
5) Afghan Restaurant
6) Alexandria Catering
7) Alexandria Diner
8) Alexandria Times Pub LLC
9) Angela's Restaurant
10) Antioch Church Diner
11) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
12) Atilla's Restuarant
13) Austin Grill
14) Avenue Food Co
15) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
16) Bangcokok 99
17) Baskin-Robbins
18) Bayoumi' S Cafe
19) Ben & Jerry's
20) Bertucci's Brick Oven Pizzeria
21) Bilbo Baggins Cafe Restaurant
22) Bistrot Lafayette
23) Bittersweet
24) Bland Management Corp
25) Blue & White Carry Out
26) Blue Point Grill
27) Bob Rubin's New York Deli Too
28) Bombay Curry Co
29) Bonitt Builders
30) Boston Market
31) Braddock Cafe
32) Bruscatos Market & Deli
33) Bugsy's Pizza & Sports Bar
34) Bullfeathers
35) Burrito Grill
36) Cafe Aurora
37) Cafe Marianna & Charles
38) Cafe Mocha
39) Cafe Monti
40) Cafe Old Town
41) Cafe Salsa
42) Cajun Bangkok
43) California Pizza Kitchen
44) California Wraps
45) Calvert Grill
46) Cameron Street Cafe
47) Cap Cup Corp
48) Capitol Catering Inc
49) Carlyle Deli Market Inc
50) Casablanca Restaurant
51) Cate's Bistro
52) Catering By Charlene
53) Catering By Mancini
54) Catering By Windows
55) Chadwicks
56) Chart House Restaurant
57) Chequers Restaurant & Lounge
58) Chez Andree Restaurant
59) Chicken Out Rotisserie
60) Chin's Kitchen
61) China House
62) China King Restaurant
63) Chintana Thai Restaurant
64) Chipotle Mexican Grill
65) Chirilagua City
66) Christie's Cafe
67) Chuck E Cheese's
68) Claremont Deli
69) Cold Stone Creamery
70) Cole Bin
71) Colony Caterers
72) Comedor Las Delicias
73) Dandy Restaurant Cruise Ship
74) Del Merei Grill
75) Del Ray Dreamery
76) Dixie Pig Restaurant
77) Domino's Pizza
78) Domino's Pizza
79) Domino's Pizza
80) Don Pablo's Restaurant
81) Dutch Touch
82) E & J Carry Out
83) East Wind Restaurant Ltd
84) Eastern Carryout
85) Eat Good Food LLC
86) Ecco Cafe
87) Edoya Japanese Restaurant
88) El Pugarcito Restaurant
89) Elpollo Ranchero Inc
90) Elysium
91) Empire Buffett
92) Ernie's Original Crab House
93) Esmeralda Restaurant
94) Et Cetera
95) Eve's Place
96) Evening Star Cafe
97) Expresso Cafe
98) Faccia Luna Pizzeria
99) Fairfax Deli & Carry-Out
100) Fairlington Pizza Carry Out
101) Fin & Hoof Bar & Grill
102) Fire Flies
103) Fish Market
104) Five Guys
105) Five Guys
106) Fresh Escape Catering
107) G W Deli
108) Gadsby Tavern Administrative
109) Gadsby's Tavern
110) Ganpati Food
111) Generous George's Positive
112) George King Of Falafel
113) Georgio's Piatsa
114) Geranio Ristorante
115) Ginger Beef Foody Goody
116) Global Cafe
117) Goody's Carryout
118) Great American Steak & Buffet
119) Grill
120) Grind & Brew Kafe
121) Hamburger Hamlet Restaurant
122) Hard Times Cafe
123) Hard Times Cafe
124) Hard Times Catering
125) Ho's Carryout
126) Hoffman Eatery
127) Holiday Inn
128) Holiday Inn
129) Honolulu Restaurant
130) Hops Restaurant & Brewery
131) Huascaran
132) Il Porto Ristorante
133) International Catering Concept
134) International House-Pancakes
135) Jack's Place
136) Jasper P Morgen's Restaurant
137) Jerry's Restaurant
138) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
139) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
140) Joe Theismann's Restaurant
141) John Mosby Inn
142) John's Pizza & Pasta
143) Johnny Mac's
144) June Coffee
145) Kate's Bistro
146) Kenny's Bar-B-Que
147) King Street Blues
148) Kingfish
149) Kings Pizza & Subs
150) Koto Restaurant
151) Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
152) Kyoto Restaurant
153) La Bergerie Restaurant
154) LA Feria Del Pescado
155) La Madeleine French Bakery
156) Landini Brothers Inc
157) Las Tapas
158) Las Vegas Inc
159) Las Vegas Restaurant
160) Laughing Lizzard Lounge
161) Le Bon Cafe
162) Le Gaulois Cafe Restaurant
163) Le Gaulois Cafe Restaurant
164) Le Gualois Restaurant
165) Le Refuge Restaurant
166) Little Dragon Inc
167) Lloyd House
168) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
169) Lonesome Dove Restaurant
170) Los Amigos Restaurant
171) Los Amigos Restaurant
172) Mai Thai
173) Mamma Ilardo's Pizzeria
174) Mancini's Cafe & Bakery
175) Mandarin Inn
176) Marino's Pizza & Subs
177) Masaya Thai Cuisine
178) Mc Donald's
179) Mc Donald's
180) Mc Donald's
181) Mc Donald's
182) Meridian's Restaurant
183) Miguelito Chicken
184) Monroe's An American Trattoria
185) Monterey's Pizza
186) Morrison House Hotel
187) Much Moore Quality Catering
188) Murphy's Grand Irish Pub
189) Nam Viet Restaurant
190) Neighbors Gourmet Delicatessen
191) New China Taste
192) Nickell's & Scheffler
193) Oh's Palace
194) Old Time Cafe
195) Old Town Sandwich Shop
196) Olde Towne Deli
197) Oriental Star Restaurant
198) Paesano Italian Deli Rstrnt
199) Panera Bread
200) Papa Joe's
201) Papa John's Pizza
202) Papa John's Pizza
203) Park Cafe & Catering
204) Pasta Peasant
205) Pat Troy's Restaurant & Pub
206) Perfect Pita
207) Perfect Pita
208) Perk Up Coffe House
209) Perk's Coffee Shops
210) Picca-Deli
211) Pilar's Restaurant
212) Pines Of Florence
213) Pip Cafe
214) Pita House
215) Pizza Boli's
216) Pizza Hut
217) Pizza Hut
218) Pizza Pan
219) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
220) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
221) Pops Old Fashion Ice Cream Co
222) Portner's Restaurant
223) Potowmack Landing
224) Premier Dining Svc
225) Quiznos Sub
226) Quiznos Sub
227) Radio Free Italy
228) Raj Foods Inc
229) Ramparts Restaurant
230) Ranch House Restaurant
231) Red Mei
232) Restaurant Eve
233) Rock It Grill
234) Rocklands Barbeque & Grilling
235) Royal Restaurant & Caterers
236) Ruby Tuesday
237) Ruffino
238) Rustico
239) Santa Fe East Inc
240) Scoop Grill & Homemade Ice
241) Scotland Yard
242) Seagar's Prime Steak & Seafood
243) Second Time Around
244) Senior Chicken
245) Sergeants Restaurant Inc
246) Sgt's Restaurant Inc
247) Siam 815
248) Simply Fish
249) Sizzling Express Vii
250) Skenteris Family Inc 2
251) South China Carry Out Rstrnt
252) Southside 815
253) Speedy's Chicken
254) St Elmo's Coffee Pub
255) Star Catering
256) Starbucks
257) Starbucks
258) Starbucks
259) Starbucks
260) Starbucks
261) Starbucks
262) Starbucks
263) Stardust Restaurant & Lounge
264) Stella's Restaurant
265) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
266) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
267) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
268) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
269) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
270) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
271) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
272) Sue Fischer A Division-Caterng
273) Sun's Cafe
274) Sundae Times
275) Sunrise Carry-Out & Market
276) Table Talk Restaurant Inc
277) Taco Maxi-Pizza Town
278) Taj Palace
279) Taqueria Poblano Inc
280) Taso's Restaurant
281) Taverna Cretekou
282) Tea Cosy
283) Team Washington Inc
284) Tequilla Sunrise Restaurant
285) Thai Old Town Restaurant
286) Thai Peppers
287) Thai Peppers
288) Tiffany Tavern
289) Tippy's Taco House
290) Togo's Eatery
291) Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse
292) Top Wok
293) Torpedo Grill
294) Towngate Deli
295) Trattoria Da Franco
296) Tsim Yung Restaurant
297) Two Nineteen Restaurant
298) Union Street Public House
299) Uptown Cafe
300) Uptowner Cafe
301) Vermilion Restaurant
302) Viet Grill
303) Villa D'este
304) Village Il-Porto Ristorante
305) Virginia Beverage Co
306) Vonne's Catering Svc
307) Warehouse Bar & Grill
308) Waterfront Cafe
309) Waterfront Gourmet
310) Wendy's
311) Wendy's
312) Wharf Restaurant
313) Wing Zone
314) Woodstock Cafe
315) Xando Cosi
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Closed early January 2006; no signs of reactivation at this point. Website points to a wine-tasting site now.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(09/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Officially their last night will be New Year's Eve; however, they're inviting people to help them drain the tanks on Saturday, January 7th from 5:00pm to 9:00pm. All you can drink -- $10 for Mug Club members, $15 for non-members.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gregg Wiggins Gregg Wiggins, Arlington, VA
(12/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
From an email to their Beer club members (not me): "Founders' is closing operations at 607 King Street on December 31, 2005 due to losing our lease."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(12/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
From an email sent to their Beer club members (not me): "Founders' is closing operations at 607 King Street on December 31, 2005 due to losing our lease."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Columbia, MD
(12/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Sad note. I understand Founders is closing as of year end. Hopefully a brewpub will replace it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Alexandria, VA
(12/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I attended the Beer Dinner on October 26th 2005. Absolutely Wonderful! I'm a regular customer at this Brewpub and the beer, food, and service always range from Great to Awesome. For the Beer Dinner, everything was Awsome! My compliments to Barbara (Brewer) and Stephen (Chef) for their excellent work! Don't miss the Dunkel Weiss, Oktoberfest, and Porter--all Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Curt Brewer Curt Brewer, Colorado Springs, CO
(11/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
The kolsch and American Pale Ale were very good.The blackened tuna club and cajun ribeye steak were excellent. A great stop whenever in the DC area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Santeramo Ed Santeramo, Orr's Island, ME
(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Bill Madden has left the building. Translation, the brewer has left for other pursuits. Damm, he is probably one of the most gifted brewers on the East Coast. I just hope that he can find a suitable venue.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, arlington, VA
(08/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good So So
stop if you are near. don't make a special trip

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gene gene, bloomsburg, PA
(06/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
Located in charming Old Town Alexandria, Founders is a nice place to stop for lunch or dinner and sample some of their hand crafted beers. I was a bit disappointed their sampler did not include all the beers on tap. For some reason, they did not include their seasonals as part of it. They had a Raspberry Blonde on tap which I never got a chance to taste. The Scottish Ale was really good though. Had a bit of a bite to it. The food was not expensive and in the lines of TGIFs or one of the other chain restaurants. I liked it, not outstanding, but good enough to stop in and try. Friendly service and a decent atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Nutley, NJ
(05/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
I stopped by this afternoon, I sampled two beers, the Grand Cru, which was a tasty spiced Belgian style beer, and the 80 Shilling Scotch Ale, which was pretty average. It had a very strong yeast flavor. The service was ok, not great, but we were not in any hurry either. We didn't have any food, so can't comment there. The beer list was pretty impressive in terms of selection. I hope the 80 Shilling just is an off batch, the location is great, and the place itself is nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Ware Chris Ware, Fairfax, VA
(02/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
Reading these other reviews reminded me of my own visit to FBC. I have gotten nothing but terrible service and so-so food. Tourists beware! The first time I went, my boyfriend and I waited for 20 minutes and NEVER even got waited on. All the employees walked around with their heads down and continued doing whatever it was that they weren't doing. It wasn't even busy. When we got up to leave, no-one even noticed. We wanted to give it a second chance so we made another attempt and went to their Sunday Brunch. We got seated right away, but then it took the waiter ten minutes to acknowledge us. Again, it was not busy that day. They were out of glasses for the orange juice and the food looked like it had been sitting out all morning without getting refreshed. The coffee was brought to the table after 3 times of asking for it and it looked like tea. In closing, I have been telling friends and family not to go there and wouldn't even recommend this restaurant to my worst enemy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Alexandria, VA
(02/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
I am embarrassed I took my friends to this place. Not only was the food terrible (frozen, not fresh, fishy tasting salmon for $16.95), the services was worse (sorry you haven't got the beer you ordered 10 minutes ago, the bartender is busy talking to his buddies), the beer was flat and old. Run, don't walk away from this place, it is a disaster in every sense of the word.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian R Brian R, Arlington, VA
(02/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great So So Great
My wife & I ventured in looking for good beer and another restaurant to add to our Alexandria favorites list. Our initial impression was not good after waiting 23 minutes for the appetizer to arrive. Then Walt Fleming, the new manager, appeared. He noticed our delay (apparently a process measures order timing and such).After a brief chat our hot crab dip arrived. Excellent. Then the entrees, (rack of lamb and a filet)came screaming hot and cooked exactly to order. World class flavor and texture. Nice presentation. Awesome. My beer glass seemed to stay full too. This demonstration of the importance of customers and the house acceptance of their responsibility will definitely have us coming back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Emmett Greenleaf Emmett Greenleaf, Fairfax, VA
(01/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great
I made the trek down to Old Towne Alexandria to sample the wares. FBC, formerly Virginia Beverage Something Or Other, offers about 8 taps, with their usual beers named after the "founders" of Alexandria. During my visit, I tasted Kolsch, Brown Ale, a delicious (and potent - 8.6 ABV) Scotch Ale and a very tasty and hoppy (IBU 65) American Pale Ale; they also had a few wheat beers, but not being partial to that style, did not imbibe. I even got to chat with the brewer, Bill Madden. The Scotch Ale was his first batch at FBC, since leaving Capitol City. Menu looked pretty diverse, and a little above the pub grub offers. The one negative was the somewhat reluctancy of the bartenders to keep my glass filled. Those of us who spend much (too much, maybe) of our time rating BPs, know that one criteria of service is not having to ask for another pint! Nevertheless, the beer was excellent and makes another trip a probability.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(09/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
The service at the bar was fantastic. They have really improved their bartenders over the past couple of months. The food has always been up to my standard and they have really added more beers on tap than the previous five. The had eight the last time I was in. As for the comment on the owner's wife, he isn't even engaged so please give truthful comments. All in all, a great place to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Palmer Josh Palmer, Alexandria, VA
(09/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A So So Lousy Lousy
review by "natalie"? ha! don't be fooled people,this is the chef/owner's wife who wasn't even smart enough to change her name. lame. everyone, if an employee has to write a good review, what does that tell you? give it up

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from not fooled not fooled, alexandria, VA
(08/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Bill Madden, formerly the executive brewer of the Capitol City Brewing Co. brewpub chain, became brewer and part owner here in June. This is very good news for Founders; to see why, read the reviews of the 'Cap City' in Arlington, Virginia.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gregg Wiggins Gregg Wiggins, Arlington, VA
(07/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good
Founder's Pub is at 607 King Street in Alexandria. It's not a bad walk from the King Street Metro station.

I hadn't been to Founders for almost a year. At the time, it had just begun its transformation under its new management and name, and I was distinctly unimpressed with a number of aspects of the place.

However, much of that has changed for the better. The staff now seems to know something about beer. They offer only house beers: a kolsch, an alt, a stout, a weiss, a pale ale, and ... one more that slips my mind. My wife and I tried the first three, and they were all quite nice in their different ways. The beer is served chilled but not cold. That is as it should be--although I would have forgiven them for serving it colder on a steamy July evening!

The menu has gone distinctly upmarket. This isn't pub food anymore. Entrees start at about $15 and go up to about $23. My wife had the sea scallops with pesto mashed potatoes and vegetables. I had the blackened chicken pasta, which also included bits of ham, andoullie sausage, peppers, and onions, in a light cream sauce. Both were quite nice. For dessert we shared the stout chocolate mousse. Other entrees available for dinner were barbecued pork chops, a veal chop, the usual variety of steaks, chicken Marsala, and some other things.

The menu also features a large variety of sandwiches and appetizers. It looks like it would be a good place for lunch.

The service was reasonably fast, but we didn't feel rushed, either. The waitress knew about the beers and could make recommendations.

The room is pretty much the same as it was before: all woody and rustic. There is some kind of music playing, but it was easy to ignore. When we went, early on a week night, the dining area was mostly empty. As we left, just before seven o'clock, the bar area seemed well populated. If you do go for dinner, try to get a seat by the window. You get a great view of humanity (and not a few dogs) parading up and down King Street.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David A. Vandenbroucke David A. Vandenbroucke, Alexandria, VA
(07/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
Visited twice last month. Beers were surprisingly good, very hoppy pale ale and the kolsch was clean and tasty; obviously learned something from Cap City. Service was competent, although the other servers kept standing around the front door in a weird way; not waiting for customers, just talking and ignoring people. Didn't have food, though it looked good and people seemed to be enjoying it. If the reviewers who gave this a "Lousy" rating are serious, and not just jumped-up eejits who are still pissed about their mug club (guys, it was a different business...let it go), all I can say is that if you think this is a lousy brewpub, you're lucky. And spoiled. This place is good, better than some of the brewpubs in the DC Metro area. You need to get out more.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(06/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
I enjoyed the beer I had very much. But I was extremely disappointed when my server informed me they were out of three of their five house brews. I found this to be extraordinary. I have never been to a brewpub where they were out of more than one type of beer. Management should make sure this sort of thing never happens again. I am willing to return to give their other brews a shot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daniel Grazier Daniel Grazier, Millheim, PA
(03/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So Lousy
So, I've given it some time since my last visit. Wishing for improvement, I found none. This continues to be a sub-par brewpub.

new owner + new name + new coat of paint = small improvement

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from unimpressed unimpressed, Alexandria, VA
(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
Well, I too was there on Superbowl Sunday. I too had the Amber which I thought was good but not great. I then pretty much had the Pale Ale the rest of the evening and thoughly enjoyed it. Also had the chicken wings and their Pepper Soup; both of which were very good. Staff was great; friendly and accommodating.!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(02/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
Okay, I was there with a date on Superbowl Sunday night (Feb.1), had planned on going somewhere else but we walked by and it looked like they were open and having fun, so we tried it.

Now, they had specials that night which were really good, so we tried a few things. She had a hamburger, she said was very good. That was 1/2 price at $3.25. I had a half dozen barbecued wings at only 24 cents each, those were also good. I sampled pints of their pale ale, hefelsweizen and amber beers, again at only $2.50 a pint (nice specials). I would rate the first two as good to very good, the amber was - say - fair to good.

Service was very good, I would say they staffed up for the crowd which was pretty good but not so busy they couldn't handle it. They have a big screen TV and several regular sized ones so the game was visible from just about anywhere you sat. I liked the crowd too - not rowdy but lively. Just right. Ranged from 20-50, with some couples, some groups, some drinking buddies etc.

All in all I rated the place as GREAT and get the happy hour specials if you can from 5-7 pm, and also 12-4 on Saturday and Sunday. $2.50 a pint for their brews is a good deal indeed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dr. Hans Wanker Dr. Hans Wanker, Fairfax, VA
(02/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
Took a few friends from visiting over Christmas to Founders in Old Town. This was my first visit since it was Virginia Beverage Company, and found the atmosphere to still be warm, inviting, and very cozy. I enjoyed three pints of beer including their Winter seasonal weizenbock, their stout, and their pale ale. All three beers were stylistically accurate and very well done examples of their respective styles. The weizenbock was very impressive with those signature clove and estery fruit notes of a good hefe, with lots of big sweet malt heft and alcohol heat. The stout was rich and full and loaded with big dark malt and chocolate malt aromas and flavors, with some nice dry roasty notes as well. The pale ale had really great hop aromas and flavors on a nice malt backbone. I was impressed with the beer here, and it is the GREAT beer that will keep me coming back. Can't comment on the food as I just visited the bar. The only real knock on my visit was the slow to almost non-existant service. The bartender explained because of Christmas break they were short staffed, and she was't lying. The staff was her, and one waitress from what I could see. That being said, this place is well worth a visit if you love good craft beer. I'll be back for sure next time I hit Old Town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John T. Sherman John T. Sherman, Washington, DC
(01/20/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.235 seconds) 22:56:44 54.227.40.166, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS