PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Los Gatos Brewing Company - Los Gatos, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 30, 2014 @ 06:25 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Los Gatos > Los Gatos Brewing Company
Los Gatos Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall: Good    Score: 68.1 / 100
130G North Santa Cruz Avenue
Los Gatos, CA 95030
United States
(408) 395-9929
Last Updated: January 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Los Gatos, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
21 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) C.B. Hannegan's Restaurant
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Saratoga Oaks Lodge
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) GARDEN INN HOTEL - LOS GATOS
2) HOTEL LOS GATOS & SPA
3) LOS GATOS LODGE
4) TOLL HOUSE, A LARKSPUR HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Forbes Mill Annex
2) Los Gatos Historic Commercial District
3) McCullagh-Jones House
4) Steinbeck, John, House
5) Yung See San Fong House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 180 Restaurant & Lounge
2) Andale Taqueria
3) Black Watch
4) Cafe De Flore
5) Carry Nations
6) Coldstone Creamery
7) Creating Flavors Catering
8) Dep 3D
9) Forbes Mills Steak House
10) Goguen's Last Call
11) Great Bear Coffee
12) Hannegan Cb Bodacious Bbq
13) Hearts Delight Intl Cuisine
14) LA Esquina
15) Los Gatos Opera House
16) Main Street Burgers
17) Manresa Restaurant
18) Mountain Charley's
19) Number One Broadway
20) Splendid Feast Catering
21) Steamers Fish Again
22) Tandoori Oven
23) TCBY
24) Thai-Rific
25) Transilvania
26) Village Caterers
27) Willow Street Wood-Fired Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Awesome! Good
We went there after hiking in Big Basin, so we were 9 smelly grad students. We got seated in only a few minutes, so that was great! The waitstaff was friendly and efficient with us. The food is the sort of thing that was trendy a couple of years ago, high end and a little dated if you are a foodie. We mostly had burgers, which were in the ten dollar range, and were good.

I had three of their half-dozen brews.

The Dog Tale Pale was too bitter for the body of the beer, so I thought it was unbalanced; it get's a C.

The Oktoberfest was malty and refreshing, I would give it a B.

The maibock (which may have been the beer on the board named Nabockov, but I am not sure) was good as well. Another B.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Campbell Jeff Campbell, Redwood City, CA
(06/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good So So
The first bartender we had was not at all knowledgable about any of the beers on tap. I'd kind of think that was mandatory in a brewpub. Luckily, the second bartender obviously knew what he was talking about. And I know it's Los Gatos but still the food was quite overpriced and nothing to write home about. Except for the clam chowder - one of the best I've ever had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from April Paddock April Paddock, Campbell, CA
(01/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So So So
Don't get me wrong. Having spent most of my life in the Santa Clara Valley, Lo$ Gato$ is a good place to enjoy the sights, sounds and smells but if you want a good beer go somewhere else. If you want to yack about your latest real estate venture or pending trip to Fiji, then LGB is the place for you. If beer is your focus, go a couple miles down the road to the Rock Bottom or Sonoma Chicken Coop in Campbell or Tied House in downtown San Jose. Of the five beers they offered on tap, went with the Oktoberfest which is usually my favorite. This batch had seen better days. Switched to the cask conditioned Golden Ale which tasted a bit like dirt. Had to order another Oktoberfest to wash away the flavor. The bartender never bothered to ask if I wanted to eat anything but I grabbed a menu anyway. The appetizers were about the same price as most meals at any other brewpub. Passed on that one.The whole experience wasn't a total loss. I only got charged for two of the three beers. Maybe my blue collar mannerisms displayed I actually "work" for a living.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(03/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So So So
Only a brewpub by accident. More concerned about yuppie clientelle.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
They spent a lot on the interior decorations. A yuppie hangout focued more on the masses and not on true beer drinkers. the seafood was good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shane Hollett Shane Hollett, Las Cruces, NM
(02/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Awesome! Good Good
I have always enjoyed the food at LGB, however the beer has always been average. However, during my last visit, the beer was not up to their usual standards. The Octoberfest had a metallic taste and the IPA was sour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Bernard David Bernard, Dana Point, CA
(12/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
This is a rather upscale restaurant in a vintage 1920’s building that also brews its own beer. There seem to be three full time beers: Pilsner, Hefeweizen, and the Oktoberfest Marzen (their most popular according to the bartender). On the night I visited, there were three seasonals or brewer’s specials as well: a golden ale, Morgan’s Maibock, and Sherman’s Stout on cask. None of the six seemed likely to stimulate the senses of a hophead. I opted for the maibock, which delivered a sweet taste and full mouth feel that had it nearing some of the qualities of a dopplebock. I had a somewhat unusual smoked salmon pizza, which was good but probably not the best pairing for the sweetness of the maibock. The brewpub is pretty easy to find in downtown Los Gatos not far off of Route 17.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(05/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
It's just an expensive restaurant that also brews a few ordinary beers. I like Los Gatos but not for drinking beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Des Plaines, IL
(07/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
Their pilsner is one of two American pilsners i've had that i would recommend. Their food is fantastic; i recently had their slow-roasted pork loin, which was superb. I had my wedding rehearsal dinner here. They carry Tokaji Aszú, which you should definitely have at least once in your lifetime. Yes, it's a bit yuppified, but c'mon, it's in Los Gatos!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Echeverri Ron Echeverri, San Jose, CA
(12/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Awesome! Great Good
The beer pretty much sucks, but this place is a high class restaurant first and a brewpub 2nd. The food is unbelievable, yet pricey. Go for the food and bring your own beer. :o)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dennis Welch Dennis Welch, Fremont, CA
(08/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Very classy place. Nice atmosphere! This brewery served a Pilsner, Oktoberfest, Hefeweizen and a Cask. The hefeweizen was the best. This was a very god banana clover flaver. The Cask was also very good. Try their pizza. It's terrific.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Moreno Valley, CA
(08/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Good Lousy
As a homebrewer, the beer is bad. I'm sure the yuppies in the group think it's great. As a Los Gatos resident, I am disappointed and ashamed that this is the bes LG can do. Best in the area: Tied House followed by Rock Bottom.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from markH markH, Los Gatos, CA
(06/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Good
I whole-heartedly respect the fact that the LGBC follows the "German-Beer-Purity-Law" to the book!! But, they seem to have an identity crisis.....just read the menu, then remind yourself that this is a brewpub?!?!?!? The food is excellent even if it's out of place.....they do, however, need to lighten up on the dress code and the managers need to stop staring at your table when they want you to leave!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hockeylunatic Hockeylunatic, Los Gatos, CA
(01/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Awesome! Good
We got the chicken and feta cheese pizza. Mistake! Green olives don't belong on pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Jose, CA
(12/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Nice selection...

Beers are rather pedestrian for the most part. The Sherman Stout and the Hefe Weiss are both excellent.

Food was good but not fantastic.

Service was great..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Skotrat Skotrat, East Kingston, NH
(10/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Good So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review santa clara, CA
(06/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy Lousy
Agree with Ray: extremly yuppy-fied and up-scale. With of the brew-pubs in the Bay Area, you'd think that all that competition would wise-up this place and make them re-think such oddities as a fairly strict dress-code, or the concept that you came for a beer or two, not a five course meal...!//TSB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bis Bis, San Diego, CA
(10/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Lousy So So
Skip it, Anyone ever heard of a snobby brew pub ? well this is it. 4 or 5 boring lagers....head up the street to hanigans for some good beer and friendly people

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ray fugitt ray fugitt, santa cruz, CA
(10/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Javier Hernandez Javier Hernandez, Monterrey, NL
(01/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Situated in an old warehouse, this outstanding brewpub is very noisy when crowded. Popular with singles of all ages.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Porter Dick Porter, Seattle, WA
(07/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Perhaps one of the best b/ps I've ever been to. The focus is on food, but they do a remarkably good job at some tough lager styles. Tough to find, even if you know the address -- look for the side street entrance

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chas P. Chas P., Laytonsville, MD
(12/08/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.29 seconds) 18:25:06 54.83.230.137, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS