PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brandywine Brewing Company - Wilmington, DE
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 28, 2014 @ 01:56 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > DE > Wilmington > Brandywine Brewing Company
Brandywine Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Brandywine Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 72.3 / 100
[Closed - January 2005]
3801 Kennett Pike
Wilmington, DE 19807
United States
(302) 655-8000
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: February 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Wilmington, DE
Beer Guide for Delaware

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
38 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Buckley's Tavern
(0 mile)

2) Twin Lake Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Kelly's Logan House
(4 miles)

4) Stoney's British Pub
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Fairville Inn
2) Flower Farm Inn
3) Hedgerow Bed & Breakfast
4) White House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BRANDYWINE VALLEY
2) BRANDYWINE SUITES
3) COURTYARD WILMINGTON DOWNTOWN
4) DAYS INN WILMINGTON NEWARK
5) DOUBLETREE HOTEL WILMINGTON
6) HOMEWOOD SUITE WILMINGTON
7) HOTEL DU PONT
8) MCINTOSH INN OF WILMINGTON
9) SHERATON SUITES WILMINGTON
10) WYNDHAM WILMINGTON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Armor, James, House
2) Armstrong, A., Farm
3) Ashland Bridge
4) Brandywine Manufacturers Sunday School
5) Braunstein's Building
6) Broom, Jacob, House
7) Carpenter-Lippincott House
8) Center Meeting and Schoolhouse
9) Chandler, Joseph, House
10) Cloud--Reese House
11) Coffee Run Mission Site
12) Continental Army Encampment Site
13) Crosby and Hill Building
14) Delaware Avenue Historic District
15) Delmarva Power and Light Building
16) Dingee, Jacob, House
17) Dingee, Obadiah, House
18) Dixon, S. P., Farm
19) Ferris, Zachariah, House
20) Friends Meetinghouse
21) Gibraltar
22) Glynrich
23) Govatos'/McVey Building
24) Grace United Methodist Church
25) Gray, Charles, Printing Shop
26) Greenbank Historic Area
27) Harlan and Hollingsworth Office Building
28) Harlan Log House
29) Harvey, Peter, House and Barn
30) Hersey--Duncan House
31) Hickman Blacksmith Shop and House
32) Hockessin Friends Meetinghouse
33) Howard High School
34) Johnson, William Julius "Judy" House
35) Justis, Thomas, House
36) Justis--Jones House
37) Keil, Max, Building
38) Keil, Max, Building
39) Logan House
40) Lombardy Hall
41) Lore, Charles B., Elementary School
42) Louviers
43) Main Office of the New Castle Leather Company
44) Marshallton United Methodist Church
45) Masonic Hall and Grand Theater
46) McLane, Louis, House
47) Montgomery House
48) Mount Lebanon Methodist Episcopal Church
49) Mt. Airy School No. 27
50) New Castle Leather Raw Stock Warehouse
51) New Century Club
52) Oakdale
53) Old Asbury Methodist Church
54) Old Customshouse
55) Old First Presbyterian Church of Wilmington
56) Old Town Hall
57) Peters, William, House
58) Philips-Thompson Buildings
59) Postles House
60) Public School No. 19
61) Pyle, Howard, Studios
62) Red Clay Creek Presbyterian Church
63) Reynold's Candy Company Building
64) Rodney Court
65) Schagrin, Charles, Building
66) Schoonover, Frank E., Studios
67) Springer, Charles, Tavern
68) Springer--Cranston House
69) St. Anthony's Roman Catholic Church
70) St. Hedwig's Roman Catholic Church
71) St. Joseph's on the Brandywine
72) St. Mary of the Immaculate Conception Church
73) St. Mary's School
74) Starr House
75) STATE OF PENNSYLVANIA (steamboat)
76) Torbert Street Livery Stables
77) Townsend, Henry, Building
78) Trinity Episcopal Church
79) U.S. Post Office, Courthouse, and Customhouse
80) Walker's Mill and Walker's Bank
81) Walnut Green School
82) Wilmington Amtrak Station
83) Wilmington Savings Fund Society
84) Wilmington YMCA
85) Wooddale Bridge
86) Woodward Houses
87) Woolworth, F. W., Company Building
88) Young, William, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Amalfi Ristorante
2) Brandywine Brewing Co Rstrnt
3) Brew-Haha
4) Buckley's Tavern
5) Country Mouse Caterers
6) Cromwell's Tavern
7) Jackson Inn Inc
8) Pizza By Elizabeths
9) Purebread Deli
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
As reported on their website - closure for now with planned reopening at a new location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Baltimore, md
(11/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
So that other out-of-towners do not fall into a similar trap, I just wanted to do my civic duty and notify the pubcrawling public that the Brandywine Brewing Company is no longer open at this location. The website lists a possible new location, so you may want to follow up there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(02/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Currently there's some major construction in the shopping center all around Brandywine. This did not detract an excellent lunch crowd enjoying live jazz on the Friday I visited. Only five beers on tap was a bit disappointing, but I tried the two stouts they had. The wheat stout was unique, I probably would have called it a dunkelweizen, as that was the taste I got from it. The coffee stout was OK, but there really wasn't a whole lot of coffee in either the aroma or the flavor. They do make some killer sinus-clearing mustards, if you're just going for some beer and munchies. I'll stop again, because on my other trips here the selection has beer much better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So So So So So
Have visited this establishment a couple times, and to be honest it's nothing to piss the bed over. Last time, ordered the Soft Pretzles, and Pot Pie. Mustard was very good, but the pot pie was way too shallow and devoid and any real substance for the price they charged. (Believe it was over $8). Most of the food sounds great, but the prices are a bit too high. The beer selection is typical of a brew pub, but not of the quality that you would expect. Would place Stewarts or Iron Hill above them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hops Dreibelbis Jr. Hops Dreibelbis Jr., Newark, DE
(10/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
A nice find, actualy in Greenville DE in the scenic Brandywine River Valley. Very good seasonal, although a wheat stout for summer was unique. Other taps had AMber, regular stout, light wheat, IPA, lager, and raspberry wheat. Growlers are $10 new, $7 refill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Awesome! Good
Visited April 2003 -- Large beer menu with decent quality. Extremely friendly staff. I'd go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Braudog Braudog, Las Vegas, NV
(07/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good So So
Every time I have a beer here, it has the same detergent-ish after taste, no matter which selection I try. I've been to this place every year or so since it opened. My advice: continue up the road to Buckley's Tavern.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wilmington, DE
(07/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
go on wednesday nights, half price pitchers of excellent beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Zach Zach, Stanton, DE
(07/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good So So
Solid selection of 8 beers however the majority were similar tasting lagers. Best of the offerings were a nicely nuanced stout, a nearly ester free wheat, and a crisp, though slightly under hopped, IPA . Service was adequate. Pub design is reminiscent of open chalet, with attractive booths along the walls. And, as mentioned in a prior review, a bit more vacuuming can't hurt.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review VinceC, Madison, NJ
(04/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is a great place to entertain clients. The restaurant/ bar are always packed with upscale business professional locals, so this is a great place to bring my out-of-town clients. The food is always wonderful, I have had the chance to become acquainted with many of the servers who are pleasant and professional. This is a casual place but upscale. I entertain clients as a major part of my job, and I can fully recommend Brandywine Brewing Company- Great Food, great beer, fun place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Jackson Dave Jackson, Wilmington, DE
(01/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So
Service is ok; food is over-priced and not nearly as good as at many other area restaurants. Downtown Brewing Co. and Iron Hill are MUCH better overall...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New Castle, DE
(10/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So So So So So
All the beer tasted like it had some kind of Wheat beer character. Not good when you think you are getting a Lager.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Fox Aaron Fox, Wilmington, DE
(07/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
Been there a number of times and each time service is not what it use to be years back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Aston, PA
(01/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
I only had a 4 beer sampler but what I had was pretty drinkable. The food was tasty. A little hard to find since its in a strip mall/office complex. Worth a visit on your way to Longwood Gardens/museums.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(12/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
Nothing special about this place. Had a sampler of 4 types. Stout was the best. Had a little flavor. Other 3 didn't taste like anything but a beer. Chicken sandwich was good but overpriced for the size. Don't go out of you way to go here. www5.50megs.com/danjohnbeer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(08/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So
After my first visit to BBC, I was unimpressed. But since I usually give a brewpub 2 visits before forming a final opinion, I went back for lunch this week. Being a big fan of IPA, I was happy to see it on the Brewers Board. However, I was disappointed by what I got. I didn't even think it was an IPA by the look of it. It was almost as dark as a porter. The taste was disappointing too, hardly any hop flavor at all. The food was good, but a bit over-priced. A burger cost me $8.50. After my second visit to BBC I concluded that I was right the first time, I don't like this place and I don't recommend it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Walkowiak Eric Walkowiak, Prospect Park, PA
(05/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Was in for the Jazz Bunch (Fridays), the entertainment was fansatic as was the food and drink. The BBC sure proves that a packed restuarant doesn't mean a quick meal! See ya soon.....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Bispham Ed Bispham, Wilmington, DE
(04/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Really enjoy the B.B.C.! The beer is always great, no matter the flavor, and there is always a good selection. As for the menu, the corn & crab chowder and the chili are among my favorites, as well as the selection of burgers they offer. If you're looking for a full meal, they have several tasty entrees on the menu, in addition to nightly specials, which are always served with nicely done potatos and vegetables. They have some wonderful desserts, as well, (creme brulee is my husband's favorite) but I'm usually pleasantly full by the end of the meal and prefer to enjoy the rest (or another) of whatever beer I am having that particular night and relax in the comfortable setting of the bar area with its cozy fireplace and high tables for peering about. It's also a great place for meeting friends & family with their large booths and tables in the dining room.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marybeth Testerman Marybeth Testerman, Greenville, DE
(04/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
I had an IPA - it was the same color and taste as my wifes non IPA - VERY dark and I think that they forgot the hops. Not recommended

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo Miller Geo Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A N/A Lousy
I lied last time. My wife had a work event here, and although I was smart enough not to order food, I tried the IPA which they were pouring out of the amber tap. We had them side by side and they were identical. I guess when they run out, they just give you what they think you will like. Only in Delaware could this place stay in business, and in fact they are opening a second location in Wilmington for the lunch crowd, amazing. The stout was equally as uninspired.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Wood Paul Wood, Fairhill, MD
(02/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A N/A
I tried the IPA. It was almost as dark as a porter and had little hop flavor. It was still drinkable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greenmon Greenmon, Asheboro, NC
(08/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Levittown, PA
(08/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
Hophead IPA was neither hopped or pale. Someone forgot to dry hop. Amber was better but nothing to brag about. Food OK but overpriced for quality and quantity. Nice atmosphere. This was my first AND LAST visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Newman Rich Newman, Jim Thorpe, PA
(06/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Lousy Lousy
Well I was here for my fourth and final time. I wonder why everytime I go, it is not crowded, oh yeah, it's not good. They probably stay in business on the happy hour crowd. Briefly, I hope, every time the service has been so so to extremely poor. The beer has always had off flavors of one kind or another. For example, I had the smoked porter, tasted like a lean london at best with too much residual sweetness. The IPA was cloying and totally devoid of hop content. The food was so so this time, which is the best it has been. A crab stuffed portabella showed absolutely no creativity besides, veggie egg rolls were adequate. Hot wings were all fire and no flavor and the thai were tasty, but not what I would call thai.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Wood Paul Wood, Fairhill, MD
(06/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Very good beer and food. Very interesting atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart J. Fellin Bart J. Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(03/17/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.353 seconds) 13:56:44 54.83.233.11, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS