PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Triumph Brewing Company - Princeton, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 17, 2014 @ 08:59 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Princeton > Triumph Brewing Company
Triumph Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Triumph Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
138 Nassau Street
Princeton, NJ 08542
United States
(609) 924-7855
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: February 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Princeton, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Triumph Brewing Company
79 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Main Street Bistro and Bar
(1 mile)

2) The Alchemist and Barrister
(1 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES PRINCETON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bedens Brook Bridge
2) Bedens Brook Road Bridge
3) Cleveland, Grover, Home
4) Drumthwacket
5) Einstein, Albert, House
6) Gulick House
7) Henry, Joseph, House
8) Leigh, Ichabod, House
9) Maplewood
10) Morven
11) Nassau Hall, Princeton University
12) Penns Neck Baptist Church
13) President's House
14) Prospect
15) Reformed Dutch Church of Blawenburg
16) Rockingham
17) University Cottage Club
18) White, John, House
19) Wicoff, John Van Buren, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Ajihei
2) Alchemist & Barrister
3) Alma Mater
4) Annex Restaurant
5) Around The Town
6) Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream & Ygrt
7) Bent Spoon
8) Blue Point Grill
9) Bucks County Coffee Co
10) Burger King
11) Business Bistro Inc
12) Cafe
13) Cafe 500
14) Cafe 650
15) Cambers Cafe
16) Carnegie Center Deli
17) Carousel Luncheonette
18) Carousel Luncheonette
19) Chez Alice
20) Chuck E Cheese's
21) Chuck's Spring Street Cafe
22) Cluck U Chicken
23) Conte's
24) Cox's Market
25) CRP Subs
26) Downtown Deluxe
27) Edy's Place
28) Ferry House
29) Forrestal Steak Inc
30) Gallery Cafe At 100
31) George's Roasters & Ribs
32) Gyro Hut LLC
33) Halo Pub
34) Hoagie Haven
35) Hooters Of Princeton
36) Hunan
37) Ichiban Japanese Cuisine
38) Ivy Inn
39) J B Winberie Restaurant & Bar
40) Jason Michael's Intimate Dnnng
41) Jimmy Duffy & Sons Inc
42) Karen's Chinese Restaurant
43) King's Castle
44) La Mezzaluna
45) La Terraza
46) Lahiere's Restaurant
47) Le Plumet Royal-Peacock Inn
48) Les Compains
49) Lupita's Village
50) Main Street Bistros & Bar
51) Mediterra Restaurant
52) Michel Buffet
53) Molisana Deli
54) Moondoggie Cafe
55) Mountain Lakes House
56) Mr Wraps
57) Nassau Bagel Bakery
58) Nassau Street Caterers
59) Newport Food Svc
60) Noodle Bar
61) Old City Grill
62) Old World Pizza
63) Olives Deli & Bakery
64) Open Book Cafe By Chez Alice
65) Orchid Pavilion
66) P J's Pancake House Restaurant
67) Palmer's Restaurant At Nassau
68) Panera Bread
69) Panera Bread
70) Panera Bread
71) Papa John's Pizza
72) Park Cafe
73) Penang Malaysian & Thai Csn
74) Pizza Colore
75) Pizza Star
76) Princeton Diner
77) Quiznos Sub
78) Quiznos Sub
79) Quiznos Sub
80) Red Onion
81) Rusty Scupper
82) Sakura Express
83) Sakura House
84) Saladworks
85) Sally Lunns Tea Shop
86) Small World Coffee
87) Soonja's Cafe With Sushi
88) Starbucks
89) Starbucks
90) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
91) Sylvester Consulting Group
92) Taste Of Mexico
93) Teresa's Pizzetta Caffe
94) Thai Village
95) Thomas Sweet Ice Cream
96) Thomas Sweet Ice Cream
97) Tiger Noodles
98) Tomo Sushi Restaurant
99) Tortuga's Mexican Village
100) Triumph Brewing Co
101) Twist Rojo
102) Underground Potato
103) Victor's Pizzeria
104) Waikiki
105) Witherspoon Grill
106) Wooden Spoon Catering Co
107) Yankee Doodle Tap Room
108) Yoko's Kitchen
109) Zorba's Brother
110) Zorba's Grill-Takeout
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I was running late and in a hurry; so I wasn't able to spend as much time here as I would have liked. I only had time for a couple appetizers. I parked on the street and ended up two blocks away. The place is hard to miss if one is just looking for a sign. It wasn't until I got inside that I realized that there must be parking behind the building, off the next street over. The Amarillo IPA and the Oatmeal Stout were both very good. The soup of the day was a Guatamalan Chicken Soup; very tasty. I was slightly disappointed in the "Chicken Lollipops" with Thai Sauce. I was expecting something similar to Satay. They were drumsticks. While good for what they were; had I asked, I would have ordered something else. I wish I had had time for a sandwich. The lunch menu looked pretty good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(09/11/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy Great Good
Since the last person to review the food occured two days before the chef changed, I felt an update was needed. I love the beers! Ok, we have resolved we all appreciate the fine brews. BUT, as of March 14, 2008 the chef changed, the prices went up and the quality tanked! The food is slopped in a bowl, the portions are 1/8 of what you got a week earlier and the staff knows it! I wish they still had the great burgers... but they are are gone from the main menu as well. I would go for their brews, but not the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Princeton, NJ
(03/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Thought Id post a more recent review since no one has put one up in a couple of years.

I love this place. It takes almost 90 minutes for me to get down there, but its well worth it. I was there a couple of nights ago  I wanted to catch the Gothic Ale, which they have on the handpump every year around this time. The flavoring is a mixture of spices called gruit, which was widely used in northern Europe before hops became dominant. Probably not to everyones taste, but I really enjoy it, and how many places offer something like this, which is not only creative but highly drinkable? Anyway, enjoyed a couple, had a light meal (the duck quesadillas, which were very good) and even got to talk a little with the brewer, Tom. Really nice guy, and unduly modest about his beers. I think he deserves a lot of credit for his variety, and his ability to execute so many different styles so well. My bartender, Christine, was friendly  all in all, I couldnt ask for a better visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(03/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great N/A Great
I've gone to Triumph quite a few times and havent had any problems thus far! It gets a little crowded around the bar at times but that only means it's the place to be. The beer is fantastic and the food is great. As for those who complain about there not being any bottled beer,....Don't go to a brew pub if your looking for Bud.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Liscinski Paul Liscinski, New Brunswick, NJ
(03/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
They charged me a 10 $$$ cover charge to eat dinner because a band was playing but promised to give it back if I showed proof that I actualy did get a meal.(The band was for the bar crowd. Couldn't even really hear them from where I was sitting) So after having a decent meal that was fairly priced I went to the same bouncer that 45 mins ago just promised me my 10 bucks back if I gave him a receit. Not only did he not give me the money back but he also threatened to kick my ass if I didn't leave because I told him he was scamming me. When I asked to speak with a manager he again said, If you don't leave right now, I will f@*k you up and poked me in my face! So I sucked it up and left. When I got to my car I called and spoke with the manager. I explained to him what happened and all he could say was," why didn't you ask to speak to me". I AGAIN told him that I did ask for you but the bouncer threatened to beat me up! He then turned it around and said it was my fault because I didn't speak with a manager right away. Ummm, I would of if your midget bouncer didn't have a freaking roid rage and threaten me WHEN I ASKED FOR YOU!!! If you feel like getting scammed and threatened I would say give it a go. If you want to have a good time and not worry about the bouncer trying to beat you up, save your money and go to Harvest Moon in New Brunswick. By the way, I only had one beer so it wasn't like he was trying to kick out some drunk college kid.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New Brunswick, NJ
(02/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I so enjoyed this place-- when I wrote my review moments ago-- I failed to spell check.... "restaurant". Now that I am here again. As RUSH fans sometimes say... I will "DITTO" my previous review. Perhaps I should "Double DITTO." Yes. JK

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Kraus Joe Kraus, Geneva, NY
(10/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I rely on Pubcrawler to help me find place like this as I travel in the northeast for work. I have collected nearly 50 pint glasses from places I have visited. I agree with the kind words in the other reviews here. John was my bartender-- he was polite, very pleasant and helpful. I sampled the Octoberfest and IPA both very nice. I stayed with the IPA and-- waited for my internet date (first meeting). I recommend this location (1 of 3) for the beer, the reastaurant and as a great place for a date. She also had the IPA. I know I will have a second visit here. I hope I get a second date with her ;) !!!! JK

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Kraus Joe Kraus, Geneva, NY
(10/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
Before graduating, went here at least once a week with my friends for the past year; generally have about six very good beers on tap, 3 of which tend to be pretty much year round (Amber, Honey Wheat, and IPA, as I recall). The fun part for me was trying the seasonals - the Gothic, Oatmeal Stout (fairly frequent), and a winter brew which I can't remember (hints of cinammon and orange, though) stand out as ones I particularly enjoyed. Good atmosphere, can always get a quality burger, though don't expect too much more from the food. Also, they offer a beer appreciation course in the early spring that is a lot of fun.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Preston Bannard Preston Bannard, Richmond, VA
(07/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Good Great
I knew about it from Pub Crawler but did not know the address. Went walking around on my own and couldn't find it. Found it by asking a local, cool entrance. Don't be put off by the tunnel. Enter and you will find a very cool venue with good atmosphere. Only had time for one beer and no food. The IPA was good enough that I will go back tomorrow night for some grub and a sampler. My woman told me not to bring home another growler bottle though, so I will have to drink what I can on the premisis. Go Longhorns, beat Princeton !-) NullPup

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Greg, georgetown, TX
(02/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Triumph has an excellent American Style Pale Ale on tap these days. The Seven Swans, named for a play currently showing at a local theater, is comparable to Sierra Nevada’s Pale Ale and has a great hop content and just the slightest spice flavor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Holl John Holl, South Orange, NJ
(01/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Good all around

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Silbiger Russ Silbiger, Ashland, OR
(12/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The Gothic Ale is a MUST. You'll want to take some home. The rosemary essence is delicious and mild hallucinogenic effects are no joke.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ana Capone Ana Capone, New York, NY
(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Nice, friendly atmosphere here. Never had a bad beer at Triumph. Another establishment that keeps the beer selection pretty fresh. The Pumpkin Ale comes to mind as a stand out beer for me, personally. If you are at this place in the fall, give it a try. The bartenders have even given me a water with my sampler without being asked. Maybe I was just lucky, I don't know,..anyway.... I was impressed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(07/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Howard M. Howard M., Plainsboro, NJ
(11/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great place to have a great brew and listen to music or just people watch

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Princeton, NJ
(10/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Great Great Good
wish they had some good bottled beer instead of their own brews. Other brew pubs offer both.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob bob, Princeton, NJ
(09/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Been going to Triumph every few months or so over the last few years (it's a long drive). In my opinion, this is how a brewpub should approach brewing - they have offered a very diverse range of styles, although the downside is that they usually only have about 6 available at any given time. I've tried (and most importantly enjoyed) everything from a "Gothic Ale" (brewed with medieval herbs) to a Berliner Weisse (which matched the style perfectly), as well as more standard varieties like stout, IPA, ESB, etc. The food is usually very good (though a little pricey) and the atmosphere is relaxed. Had the Copper Ale on Saturday night - it was described as a darker summer ale, brewed with some wheat malt (which gave it characteristic tartness), and not highly hopped. It was very refreshing. Enjoyed my dinner as well. Would highly recommend a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
This brewery was pricier than I am used to, but the quality of beer is definitely worth it. They have an excellent selection of beers, something for everyone. My usual favorites were solid (IPA and ESB) and their Honey Wheat and Amber Ale were outstanding. Bar seating is limited but we were quickly seated at a dining table and service was great. And, for the non-beer drinker, my fiancé enjoyed their chocolate martinis.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Feesh, Findlay, OH
(05/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
If you want something other than beer, ask Mike the bartender to make you an Expresso Martini, I know it sounds girly but it is damn good. This is a great scene for the 20 and 30s Princeton crowd. The Calamari is wicked good also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joshua Goldman Joshua Goldman, Princeton, NJ
(04/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I'm a little puzzled by the overall rating given here. When I look over the reviews of the beer and discount the repeats, I see:

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Princeton, NJ
(04/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Amber is my ALL TIME favorite!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Stompy, Barnegat, NJ
(03/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(03/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Living in Staten Island, Triumph is not as convienent as some other brewpubs for me, but this is the one that I keep returning to. The town is hip, the beer is great to sip, overall it was worth the trip. If you're brewpub hopping, PA is right over the Delaware Water Gap, but Triumph gave me my fill and gave me a thrill.....and made me wax poetic!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Taverner Joe Taverner, Staten Island, NY
(01/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great
Nice selection of seasonal beers.Worth the trip and hassle of parking. Nice atmosphere and view of the making tanks. Food quality & selection is getting better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gail Klewsaat gail Klewsaat, Neshanic Station, NJ
(11/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
We visited this last weekend and found a place that was not at all what we had expected... After a long walk down a looonnng corridor --and after almost getting knocked out by people leaving, swinging open heavy doors in our faces-- we found what seemed to be a popular place and a fairly long wait ahead of us. After a decent wait we were seated in bar with a nice 'atmosphere', and found a good but limited menu [that was not 'health' oriented in the least] and a small draught beer list. It was before seven o'clock but we found that one of their 'specials' was already no longer available. After another check of the menu I made another selection and found out that I may have been lucky for the pork dish I then selected was excellent... This just may have been my best meal in a long time --but please note that I have been living on 'low fat' dishes for a long, long time-- The waiter was very quick, knowledgeable, attentive and courteous. The beers I had were very good; I am a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale drinker and I first tried their Amber Ale thinking that the 'hoppy' 'West Coast' type ale described on the menu would be to my liking, as opposed to the 'Indian' Pale Ale... but I was mistaken and the IPA was much more to my taste and matched up very well against a Sierra Nevada draught from a beer conscious local pub. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised by my visit and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to throw caution to the wind and forget about their cholesterol for a night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gerald Nigro Gerald Nigro, Gloucester, NJ
(11/11/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.099 seconds) 20:59:56 54.145.209.80, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS