PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Lost Coast Brewery and Cafe - Eureka, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 22, 2014 @ 09:21 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Eureka > Lost Coast Brewery and Cafe
Lost Coast Brewery and Cafe Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Lost Coast Brewery and Cafe
Overall: Great    Score: 79.2 / 100
617 Fourth Street
Eureka, CA 95501
United States
(707) 445-4480
Last Updated: November 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Eureka, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
37 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Weaver's Inn
2) Abigails Victorian Bed & Bkfst
3) Campton House
4) Carter Properties
5) Cornelius Daly Inn
6) Halcyon Inn A 1920's Guest
7) Houseboat Inn
8) Old Town Bed & Breakfast Inn
9) Samoa Airport Bed & Breakfast
10) Waterfront Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BAYSHORE INN
2) BEST WESTERN HUMBOLDT BAY INN
3) CARTER HOUSE INNS
4) CASUALLY ELEGANT COZY HOME
5) CLARION RESORT EUREKA
6) COMFORT INN EURRKA
7) DALY INN
8) DAYS INN MARINA REDWOODS
9) ECONO LODGE DOWNTOWN
10) QUALITY INN EUREKA
11) RAMADA LTD
12) RED LION HOTEL EUREKA
13) SUPER 8 EUREKA CA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bank of Eureka Building
2) Carnegie Free Library
3) Clark, William S., House
4) Eureka Inn
5) First and F Street Building
6) Humboldt Bay Woolen Mill
7) Janssen, E., Building
8) McDonald, D. C., Building
9) McFarlan, George, House
10) Odd Fellows Hall
11) Ricks, Thomas F., House
12) Simpson--Vance House
13) U.S. Post Office and Courthouse
14) Washington School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 321 Coffee
2) B C's
3) BBQ Allstars
4) Bev's Cafe
5) Cal Pacific Restaurants Inc
6) Cin Cin All'Italiana
7) Club West
8) Coastline Coffee
9) Dave's Place
10) Deb's Kitchen
11) Deo's Sandwich Shop
12) Ernie's
13) Flour Garden
14) Gallagher's
15) Has Beans Internet Cafe
16) Hole In The Wall
17) Ijal's Jamaican Kitchen
18) Isidro's Tacos
19) Jitter Bean Coffee Co
20) Jitter Bean Coffee Co
21) LA Paloma Mexican Restaurant
22) Liquid Cafe Donuts & Deli
23) Los Gallos Taqueria
24) Mazzottis Catering
25) Mocha Motion Coffee Co
26) Ms M's
27) Myrtle Avenue Market
28) Off Broadway
29) Old Town Coffee & Chocolates
30) Old Town Market & Deli
31) Panda Cafe
32) Philly Cheese Steak Shoppe
33) Pips Gourmet Coffee Co
34) Pub Cocktail Lounge
35) Quiznos Sub
36) Ritz Teppamyaki & Sushi Bar
37) Rusty Hanger Cafe
38) Sal's Myrtlewood Lounge
39) Samraat Cuisine India
40) Schooner Saloon
41) Shanty
42) Starbucks
43) Starbucks
44) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
45) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
46) Thai Cuisine
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Great
The beer is so clean and crisp! Food is just good but who goes to a brewey for food? This must be one of the most happining places in town. I sat at the bar and bartender Shelley was awesome! She was knowledgeable about the beer she was serving. Also had some good tips for us tourists! We went to all of the breweries in the county and Loast Coast Brewery was by far the best! I will return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Huntington Beach , CA
(12/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So So So So So
Stay away from Lost Coast Brewery & Cafe. After a hot day of shopping in Eureka some of us like to break their day with a good microbrew and quality lunch. At this establishment you will receive a good brew and unsatisfactory lunch complete with indifferent service. Right off the bat, I want to say that this is a certified one star experience. It started when they seated our group of six (4 adults, 2 kids) in the back breezeway between the exit and proper restaurant. We were in the center of a thoroughfare beside the pool table. Strike one. The ill fitting classic music from the 50's was strike two. Next came an indifferent waiter which wasn't strike three until later. Meanwhile my beer arrived almost 10 minutes after it was ordered. We tasted the IPA and the Pale. Both were average beers. As a homebrewer I've recently learned that it's a rare microbrew that tops my own. The food arrived 45 minutes or more after it was ordered - nothing complex really - a burger, quesadillas and a pair of garden burgers. Everyones fries were lukewarm and it was agreed that the quality of the food was average if not mediocre. How many strikes is this? The waiter tried to blame the kitchen and atoned for the hoddy meal by knocking off $3.50 from the tab. It all but ruined the Eureka experience. If I were an analyst I'd guess that quality has been sacrificed to quality. I'd also venture to say that this restaurant preys on the unsuspecting tourist who wanders into this brewpub and expects what the name implies - which to me is atmosphere, above average beer and music appropriate to my state of salivation. Lost Coast had nothing of the sort. I really can't believe that one of our party actually left a tip but thus is human habit. So, if by chance you read this review be forewarned and opt for some establishment that actually cares about the restaurant business!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Pi Tom Pi, Darrington, WA
(06/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I enjoyed this place so much I stopped coming and going from the Redwoods. What a goofy wacky fun place to stop, from the giant pouncing spider that greets you at the door, to all the wacky characters hanging from the walls and ceiling. as well as at the bar. Sampled all the beers and really enjoyed the Great White, Lost Coast Pale Ale, and the Rasberry Brown. Open 7 days a week at 11 AM

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, Redlands, CA
(07/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
We stopped here on our way to Redwood National Park. I always try to stop here because it is great. We had:

Scotch Ale: Very malty, sweet and strong. I liked it. Brian tasted chili pepper, and Jan said it wasn't that great.

Berry Pilsner: Light and crisp. Berry aroma, but little berry flavor. Good.

IPA: Balanced, bitter, hoppy, though no distinct hoppy notes, so no guesses as to the hop; no citrus, no pine, no flowers, no grass. Just generic hop. What did they use?

Pale: Decent, balanced, light, nicely dry, clean finish.

Raspberry Brown: Good! Very dry, with just a little malty sweetness, and raspberry aroma.

Tangerine Wheat: Good, very tangerine, crisp finish.

The food was good, though the Halibut Fish and Chips was a small portion for the price.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Campbell Jeff Campbell, Redwood City, CA
(07/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
Visited 11/17 early afternoon. Right in the heart of the big city on 4th St. (aka #101 southbound). Funky atmosphere with no shortage of locals to add to the ambiance.With a great range of beers, tried a pint each of the Alleycat Amber, Winterbraun and the Chocolate Porter. All were great especially the Winterbraun. Picked the Navajo chicken sandwich out of the diverse menu. Came on Indian fry bread hence the Navajo. It was excellent. The service was a little spotty and seemed to be a little local friendly but still was good enough not to detract from an enjoyable experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(11/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Interesting decor and clientele. Only had time for an Indica IPA and a quick bite. Excellent IPA and the meal was filling and tasty. Overall, a great experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Moore Michael Moore, Oro Valley, AZ
(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Westlake Village, CA
(07/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy Good
When you walk in to this funky atmosphere you realize you are in for something different. The locals are here in droves, bellying up to the bar for a beer. The menu is a little different for a brewery, offering a welcome change to the ordinary.

Jason's comments: Good beer, fairly good food, kinda pricey. Don't forget to check out the chalkboard in the men's bathroom above the urinals! Megan's comments: The locals come here, service needs great improvement, food was okay. Will we come back? Maybe, just to pick up some beer though. The overall feeling was that it felt pricey and the service wasn't good.

We were able to purchase some beer at a great discount due to minor packaging problems, at $20 plus tax and CRV for 24 bottles, it was practically a steal!

Food is served from 11am until midnight and drinks are served until 1am. There is a happy hour Monday-Friday from 4-6pm. There is free WiFi available at all hours. Park in the back, 50 cents for 10 hours or on a side street, free for 2 hours.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Megan Megan, Bay Point, CA
(06/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
While staying near Eureka I tried the amber in a bottle and found it smooth and tastefull, I later had a chance to stop at the bar and found that the brown and the amber on tap where great and the food was excelent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Todd, Sheboygan Falls, WI
(04/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
It is worth a trip to Eureka just to enjoy this brewery. The Great White Ale was excellent. The Downtown Brown ranks up there too. Food was excellent. Fun place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Warfield James Warfield, Castle Rock, CO
(12/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Pitcher is a good bargain. The beer was average, nothing memorable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from harry harry, philly, PA
(10/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I like every beer that is brewed at Lost Coast. The food was very good. The waitresses were very friendly and willing to offer suggestions.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Gambrall Mike Gambrall, Crescent City, CA
(05/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is by far my favorite brew pub in the area. I have 3 favorite beers at Lost Coast: for drinking with a meal, Downtown Brown, for drinking all by itself, Alley cat Amber or 8-Ball stout, depending on my mood. My mom swears by the Great White Ale as do most people I know. I think it tastes a bit like lemonade so I don't drink it unless thats all that's left in the fridge. I think the merchandise is great. I mean Duane Flatmo is a local legend. He can usually be found sitting at his favorite table with his cohorts during happy hour. The food is absolutely great! I usually go with the 8-Ball stew or the Fish and Chips which is usually made with fresh local fish. All in all, I would live @ Lost Coast if I could afford to, but as it is, I don't get there nearly often enough!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrea Andrea, Eureka, CA
(04/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
Also on my brewery tour. Was there on St. Patty's day for dinner. Very crowded with a long wait. Corned beef and cabbage was very good. Beers are awesome! Being a hophead, I really loved the IPA. True west coast style with a great hoppiness. Did not true the "fruity beers" though. Not my style. You can by distressed cases at a fraction of the cost at the restaurant. Nothing wrong with the beer, just labels, packageing, etc. A must stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Diane Van Wagner Diane Van Wagner, Burbank, CA
(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The seasonal beers keep it interesting with some great old standbys. The chili cheese fries(not on the menu) are the best around, and a full meal in themselves. Great atmosphere, stop in for a half hour or a full night....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amber Amber, McKinleyville, CA
(10/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good Good
This place has a nice atmosphere and a good vibe, but the beer is very average. The varieties are standard, and there's just no sparkle to any of them. The food is probably a bit above average for a brewpub. It's a nice place to stop on a trip, but the beer is definitely forgetable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd McComb Todd McComb, Mountain View, CA
(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
A good selection with above average beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Overall, the Lost Coast portfolio is fine (nice artwork on the labels if you go in for that kind of thing.) I would say that of the beers that I sampled I found the 8 Ball Stout to be the most impressive. Nice darkness, almost a midnight black in appearance. The nose and taste were reminiscent of black coffee. All in all, very pleasant. I guess I should have sampled the Downtown Brown, which seems to be the flagship ale, but you can only have so much, right?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Downtown Brown was OK but I think a little overrated by some. The Lost Coast Pale was the best of the ones I tasted here a very well balanced Pale, not overly hopped like a lot of the micro brew pales. The service was a little on the impersonal side but efficent. If there is a negative side its the presence of kids running around the bar area - a real turn off if you want some adult beer tasing time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Glover Jeff Glover, Cincinnati, OH
(07/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Here is a must stop before heading up into the costal redwoods! They served a plethora of beers, 14 came out on the sampler mat, 12 reuglars and 2 specials. Many notable gems such as 8 Ball stout, Downtown Brown, Indica IPA, Great White Belgian, and a few others, there were a couple of so-so's but hay....14 beers?! The food was great but leaned a bit towards pub food, which sometimes hits the spot. The menu is substantially large as well. BTW This brewery has the nack for transfering their great product into the bottles. Some brews don't hold up as well as Lost Coast does. My only complaint here is the label art. I enjoy buying brewery merchandise and their loud style just doesn't stand up for me as say North Coast Brewery, though it does understandably stand out and for this they must be forgiven.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Orion Jack Orion, Long Beach, CA
(07/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Great beers, cool merchandise, and very friendly bartender and manager. Thank you guys! Oh yeah, we recommend the special red and amber ales. 12/13/03 12:30pm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
how can I find "downtown brown" beer here is southern california (los angeles suburb)???????

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from april april, van nuys, CA
(08/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
This brewery had a lot of good beers,I liked their Bilbos butter beer{sorry if I didnt get the name right} and I loved the barleywine so much I bought a growler to take home. The food was good pub fare.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ratman Ratman, Arvada, CO
(07/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So So So
I have stopped here three times this year. The beer is as good as always, with the 8 Ball Stout and the Lost Coast Downtown Brown the big names here. My favorite is the Indica IPA, which is a very big and hoppy IPA. The food is way above average pub fare. With this stated I don't like this micro anymore and the reason is the crowds. They are always full with dining customers who don't drink beer. I will sit at the bar and watch the drink orders come in and 10% are for beer the rest soda water tea etc. My point is that this has turned into a family dining place, not a micro. Call me traditional but when I go to a micro or a pub I want to be with a bunch of beer drinking people drinking beer and talking about beer and sure some food is served, its the atmosphere that counts. Lost Coast has turned into a family restaurant that serves great beer and food, what a shame.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Wallace Allen Wallace, Las Vegas, NV
(12/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
ALL OF THE BEER WAS VERY GOOD, EVEN MY WIFE LIKED IT (THAT SAYS ALOT). THE FOOD WAS GREAT, AND NOT OVER PRICED. THE STAFF WAS HELPFULL AND MADE THE RIGHT SUGGESTIONS. A REASON IN IYS SELF TO GO BACK TO EUREKA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WEASEL WEASEL, ANTIOCH, CA
(08/19/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.549 seconds) 21:21:42 54.81.166.199, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS