PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Rams Head Tavern / Fordham Brewing Company - Annapolis, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 24, 2014 @ 05:56 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Annapolis > Rams Head Tavern / Fordham Brewing Company
Rams Head Tavern / Fordham Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Rams Head Tavern / Fordham Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 75.7 / 100
33 West Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
United States
(410) 268-4545
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Annapolis, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Rams Head Tavern / Fordham Brewing Company
76 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) Griffin's West Street Grill
(0 mile)

2) McGarvey's
(0 mile)

3) Middleton Tavern
(0 mile)

4) Heroes Pub
(0 mile)

5) Castlebay Irish Pub
(0 mile)

6) Galway Bay
(0 mile)

7) Rams Head Roadhouse
(0 mile)

8) Gordon Biersch Brewery
(0 mile)

9) Killarney House
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 55 East Bed & Breakfast
2) Ark N Dove Bed & Breakfast
3) Barn on Howard's Cove B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ADMIRAL FELL INN
2) BEST WESTERN ANNAPOLIS
3) COUNTRY INN SUITES ANNAPOLIS
4) COURTYARD ANNAPOLIS
5) DAYS INN & SUITES - ANNAPOLIS
6) HISTORIC INNS OF ANNAPOLIS
7) LOEWS ANNAPOLIS
8) MOUNT VERNON HOTEL
9) RADISSON HOTEL
10) RESIDENCE INN ANNAPOLIS
11) SHERATON BARCELO ANNAPOLIS
12) STATE HOUSE INN
13) THE O'CALLAGHAN HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Annapolis National Cemetery
2) Artisan's House
3) Bates, Wiley H., High School
4) Belvoir
5) Brice House
6) Chance Boatyard
7) Chase-Lloyd House
8) CHESAPEAKE BAY BROGAN MUSTANG
9) Creagh, Patrick, House
10) Hammond-Harwood House
11) HELIANTHUS III (yacht)
12) House by the "Town Gates"
13) Howard's Inheritance
14) Iglehart
15) London Town Publik House
16) Maryland Statehouse
17) Mt. Moriah African Methodist Episcopal Church
18) Old City Hall and Engine House
19) OLIVER'S GIFT (log canoe)
20) Paca House and Garden
21) Peggy Stewart House
22) Pinkney-Callahan House
23) Primrose Hill
24) Rising Sun Inn
25) Scott, Upton, House
26) St. Paul's Chapel
27) Stanton Center
28) Summer Hill
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 21 Bun Salute
2) A & W Family Restaurant
3) A Cooks Cafe
4) Annapolis After Five
5) Annapolis Catering
6) Annapolis Cinema Grill
7) Annapolis Gourmet
8) Annapolis Ice Cream
9) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
10) Arby's Annapolis Mall
11) Atlantic Enterprises
12) Auntie Anne's Hand Rolled Soft
13) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
14) Bella Italia
15) Ben & Jerry's
16) Bertucci's Brick Oven Pizzeria
17) Big Easy Cajun
18) Blimpie Subs & Salads
19) Boston Market
20) Breeze
21) Burger King
22) Caffe Pronto Espresso Bar Lws
23) California Pizza Kitchen
24) Calvert House Restaurant
25) Cantina D'italia
26) Capitol House Of Hunan
27) Chee Burger Chee Burger
28) Cheep Cheep Chicken Inc
29) Chesapeake Harbour Hotel Rest
30) Chevys Fresh Mex Of Annapolis
31) Chevys Fresh Mex Restaurant
32) Chick & Ruth's Delly
33) Chick-Fil-A
34) Chili's Grill & Bar
35) China City
36) Chris's Charcoal Pit House
37) Chuck E Cheese's
38) City Roast Cafe
39) Coco Moka Cafe
40) Coffee Beanery LTD
41) Copeland's Of New Orleans
42) Court Of Shanghai
43) Denny's
44) Dinner Masters
45) Double T Diner
46) Double T Diner
47) Everything Yogurt Salad Cafe
48) Famous Daves
49) Fantastic Foods Inc
50) Fred's Tiffany Room Restaurant
51) Friendly Family Restaurant
52) Fuddruckers
53) Giolitti Delicatessen
54) Golden Dragon
55) Great Khans Mongolian Festival
56) Greentree's
57) Griffins West Street Grill
58) Ground Round
59) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
60) Habachi-San
61) Harbor Sound
62) Heritage Park Deli
63) Heroes
64) Hibachi-San
65) Home Tek
66) House Of Hunan
67) Hunan Restaurant
68) Jalapenos Spanish Mexican Rest
69) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
70) Johnny Rockets
71) Joy Luck III Restaurant
72) Ken's Creative Kitchen
73) KFC
74) Lebanese Taverna Cafe
75) Ledo Pizza
76) Ledo Pizza System Inc
77) Ledo Pizza Systems Inc
78) Les Folies Brasserie
79) Luna Blu
80) Machoian Poultry
81) Madeleine's Catering
82) Maggie Moo's Ice Cream
83) Mamma Lucia's Pizzeria
84) Mamma Lucia's Pizzeria
85) Mann's Sandwiches
86) Martihas Restaurant
87) Maza Grill
88) Mc Donald's
89) Mc Donald's
90) Mc Donald's
91) Melting Pot
92) Mid-Atlantic Hospitality
93) Mr Wang Hunan Restuarant
94) Old Country Buffet
95) Orange Julius
96) Orange Julius
97) Outback Steakhouse
98) P J's Cafe
99) Panda Express
100) Papa John's Pizza
101) Paris Caterers
102) Peppercorn Gourmet
103) Piccadilly Cafeteria
104) Pit Boys
105) Pizz-A-Boli's
106) Pizza Express
107) Pizza Factory
108) Pizzaboli's
109) Pony Espresso
110) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
111) Potbelly Sandwich Works
112) Quiznos Sub
113) Ramshead Roadhouse
114) Red Hot & Blue
115) Red Lobster Restaurant
116) Red Robin Gourmet Burgers
117) Regatta
118) Rita's Italian Ice
119) Riverboat Inn
120) Rixie Pizza & Sandwich Shoppe
121) Roly Poly Annapolis
122) Romano's Macaroni Grill
123) Ruby Tuesday
124) Sakura Japanese Steak House
125) Saucy Salamander Cafe
126) Sbarro
127) Sbarro
128) Sly Fox Pub
129) Sol Inc
130) Soupmasters Restaurant
131) St Mary's Cafeteria
132) Starbucks
133) Starbucks
134) Starbucks
135) Steak Escape
136) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
137) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
138) Sunny's Deli
139) Taco Laredo
140) Taqueria Serrano
141) Texas Barbecue Factory
142) Tgi Friday's
143) Three Brothers Pizza
144) Today's Pizza
145) Tom O'Leary Catering
146) Vizzini's Pizza 'n Subs
147) Wendy's
148) Wendy's
149) Wings To Go Inc
150) Wings To Go Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Rams Head no longer brews onsite, stopped a couple of years ago. They still carry their own beer but it is brewed in Dover, DE. All of their styles are pretty good. Really good happy hours.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(08/11/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good Great Great
This place used to have the best beer on tap in town. Then they stopped brewing on site and started filtering the Tavern Ale. Sorry to see another great place forget how to make great beer. They do have Arrogant Bastard on tap though and the food is still worth coming in for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Brad, Newport, RI
(06/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Just an update. The bar location in Rehoboth Del has been sold. The current pub does not carry their beers. SAD Indeed. Baltimore has lost all of its original brewpubs/breweries except What Rat/Olivers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City, MD
(09/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
My husband was down there today and his Tavern was brewed in Delaware. They are phasing-out their Annapolis brewed beers as they go out-of-stock and replacing them with the off-site brews. Needless to say, after tasting his Tavern, he declined another round and told the bartender, "Rams Head will never be the same". Take our names off the beer club wall!

I hope another microbrewery comes into town and is extremely successful. As a local, I am very disappointed with their decision and I will not be going back. If visiting from out-of-town, I don't think the trip is worth it. The Delaware brews are sub-par.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Elizabeth Elizabeth, Annapolis, MD
(06/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The news today is that the German brewery equipment will be shut down to increase seating for the music venue. The merger with A-B to form Coastal Brewing adds up to them bringing beers in fron Old Dominion and Fordham Delaware. Not certain but I believe the growler filling goes away with the lack of a license to brew on premise.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Virginia Beach, VA
(05/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Did I hear that Fordham has been bought by A-B, just like Old Dominion in Virginia? What' up?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al Grossberg Al Grossberg, Severn, MD
(03/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
My previous review was in reference to the Baltimore location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, York, PA
(06/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great
Great pub with their own beers and a few other taps (Sierra Nevada Pale & Pilsner Urquell the night we were there). Decent bottle selection with a beer club to join. House beers were good, not great, but still very drinkable. (Brewed more for the non-beer geek.) Burger and chili I had were very good and my wife loved the large fried shrimp. Wonderful server was very friendly and efficient. Connected concert venue was a great place to see a show, but it lacked seats except a few in the bar area. Can sit in this area if you're there early enough drinking Fordham beers and watching the band. Definatly worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, York, PA
(06/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
A word here about service people: So often we only notice when we get bad service. Good service gets taken for granted because ... well, we all OUGHT to get at least good service, right?

Well, from the moment I contacted the people at Ram's Head to set up dinner and concert tickets, they were EXTREMELY helpful and friendly, downright cheerful even. They really worked with me, and if there was a discount or package or something free, they told me about it. They even helped me set up accommodations for the night -- they have a deal with the Loew's a couple blocks up the street that knocks a chunk off the price of a room if you're attending a concert (and downtown Annapolis is a pretty cool place to wander around).

And from our arrival for dinner on 10/29, the friendly staff made us feel welcome.

Dinner was outstanding. I had fried pork chops over garlic mashed with Granny Smith apple gravy, and it was excellent. My wife had beef medallions, shrimp and mushrooms over angel hair and loved it. And creme brulee cheesecake for dessert was wonderful.

With beers and mixed drinks, the price was reasonable even before the performance package knocked 10 percent off the price of the food.

The Fordham beers were OK -- I had a sampler of six, what appeared to be four-ounce glasses. Copperhead Ale seemed to be the best of the lot, and that's what I drank the rest of the night. (I should mention that "OK" is relative; I had just come from spending three days at Dogfish Head, so it was hard to be objective.)

The concert venue has a tables-and-chairs setup and doesn't appear to have a bad seat anywhere.

We had a terrific time here and though it's a bit of a drive for us we'd be happy to go again if there's a band we want to see.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(10/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I really enjoyed going here. Great happy hour specials (I had free roast beef!). I ordered a sampler and found everything decent. The Tavern Ale & Stout were the best. I ended up drinking pints of stout (both Oyster & Genius). I like the nitro (Genius) the best, but everything was great. Worth stopping by.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paynter Eric Paynter, Richmond, VA
(09/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Great
Copperhead Ale is an immemorable Altbier. Tavern Ale has more hop flavor. Oyster Stout/Genius Stout--same beer served differently. I guess that's the Genius of the operation. At any rate, it's a good Guiness imitation. On a hot July afternoon, sit outside under the trellis, drinking the Wisteria Wheat. Life is grand. Does this place have the best beer in America? No. Is it well worth the stop? You bet. I get to the Rams Head about once a year and find it one of the best places to relax with a pint anywhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Magill Stephen Magill, Moretown, VT
(07/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
It's the atmosphere stupid! Actually the beer is good and the food better. Hang out in the basement for the feel of an English Pub. Hang out upstairs and mix with the locals and navy guys. Buy them drink or two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bismarck Bismarck, west chicago, IL
(12/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
to the gentlemans comments about 2 rootbeers for $5. The rootbeer served at Rams Head is a microbrew from Virginia and is in a keg just like a real beer. You would not expect to have free refills on your real beer would ya? Next time dont let your kid drink so much soda. It's not healthy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review annapolis, MD
(09/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
This was our first trip to Annapolis. We stayed in a B&B and I did my research on where to go for happy hour.I could not have hit upon a better place. Two dollar pints. The tavern ale was aces with me. The genuis stout (nitrogenated) was really smooth. They are doing some renewal on West Street, so you have to dodge construction work as you move down the street. It is well worth it though. Free mussels on Tuesday at 5 P.M. Roast beef on Wednesday. We left town though so I missed the German sausages on Thursday. Things to do. Get back on a Thursday and try the copper ale next time. P.S. My wife and I both enjoyed the service we received from Cindy who was tending bar at the time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Leaman Don Leaman, Toms River, NJ
(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Tavern ale was our favorite. Stout was ok.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oroville, CA
(08/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A great brewpub with a great atmosphere!! Plus great happy hour specials.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Eden Ken Eden, Morgantown, PA
(07/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
Love the beer at the Rams Head! This is one of my favorite places to hang out (note the one in Savage, MD as well, at the old Savage Mills.) We go quite often to concerts at the Rams Head and always take advantage of teh 10% pre show dinner discount.

My personal favorite is the Copperhead Ale--a Hop lover's delight--smooth, rich, and flowery aroma. I also like the OYster stout--a great version of a rich stout, without it being overpowering. My husband prefers the Genius stout, the nitrogen version.

Food is pretty good--I've had better, but they have a lot of variety at decent prices. Last time I was in the Savage, MD location though, I ordered wings and they came half frozen (!).

Definitely one of the better MD breweries, at least in this part of the state.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tara Tara, EC, MD
(01/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Duane was right! I have fired Allen Young as of 2003. Allen Young...Not corporate and certainly not rich

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Meulhauser Bill Meulhauser, Annapolis, MD
(08/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Great
I really enjoy the seasonal Wisteria Wheat beer. Too bad it's only brewed from June through August; I should really convince the brewmaster to use winter wheat so this bear becomes a year-round staple! The unfiltered Wheat has a fullbody aroma and a balanced mixture of malts for a refreshing taste.

I enjoy a few wheat beers with my giant portion of Nachos with everything in it (including black beans, chicken and steak chilis). Even though the Nachos are in the "Appetizers" section, one portion is more than a meal for two-three adults and for $10.95 not a bad deal.

Service on a Friday or Saturday night can be slow, confusing and loud, especially when live music is playing. This is certainly a popular watering holes for both locals and tourists because sometimes I get standing-room only. Try this place during the off hours for best service. There is plenty of seating available front, back and outside in decent weather.

My son, who's only 14, ordered rootbeer with the Nachos during our last trip there. I was a little miffed that I was charged for each refill and paid $5 for two of his drinks. Softdrinks should not be charged by the glass, not in a place such as Rams' Head.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Connie Connie, Pemberton, NJ
(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
certainly worth a visit if you are in Annapolis, though I wasn't particularly impressed with the available beer selections.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New York, NY
(06/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
certainly worth a visit if you are in Annapolis, however neither the number of selections (6 or so)nor the quality of the beer is particularly outstanding. The food was definitely better than your average brewpub fare.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New York, NY
(05/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A good selection of beers to include their own. Happy hour rocks. From 5-7 PM you get $2.00 pints of RH beers and free food. On Weds it is Roast Beef that is just superb.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kerry Hales, Clearfield, UT
(05/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I am truly blessed to live within stumbling distance of Ram's Head. Nothing beats a Tavern Ale in the heat of summer or the chill of winter. If visiting Maryland, please make the trip to Ram's Head... you will not be disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Elizabeth Elizabeth, Annapolis, MD
(01/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
I've been going to the Ram's Head for about 15 years. There beer selection has been consistently outstanding. I was extremely happy to see the Fordham Tavern open as a brewpub. This visit was particularly good. My favorite beer was on tap, the Calvinator dopplebock. I usually will try three or four of the taps but the Calvinator was so good that I stuck with it. It was rich and sweet and went extremely well with my cioppino, a spicy seafood stew. I encourage every beer lover to visit Annapolis, this place is wonderful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Holl Doug Holl, Atlanta, GA
(01/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
Was there with Jon Bernardi (below). In contrast to the experience in buying glassware at Victory Brewing in Downingtown, PA the night before (see review by Jon), when we expressed an interest in buying "Genius Stout" glasses at Fordham at the fully staffed gift shop upon leaving to our waitress, she asked if we would like the glassware added to our check. She brought the glasses each individually wrapped in newspaper for protection in a plastic bag and offered us additional bags if we wanted them separated. As we were leaving, I noticed two employees at a table with taster glasses in front of them as one instructed the other in the beers offered. This attention to detail by management and staff is something others in the industry should follow.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Jarvis Tom Jarvis, North Ridgeville, OH
(12/11/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.44 seconds) 05:56:42 54.83.241.88, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS