PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery - Troy, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 24, 2014 @ 04:36 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Troy > Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery
Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 77.8 / 100
425 River Street
Troy, NY 12180
United States
(518) 273-2337
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: January 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Troy, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
138 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Holmes and Watson Limited
(0 mile)

2) Ryan's Wake
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Pinewoods House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN RENSSELAER INN
2) CENTURY HOUSE HOTEL
3) HAMPTON INN ALBANY LATHM
4) RED CARPET INN ALBANY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bussey, Esek, Firehouse
2) Garfield School
3) Glenwood
4) Koon, Henry, House
5) Lansingburgh Academy
6) Powers Home
7) Trinity Church Lansingburgh
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alibaba
2) Anselmo's Restaurants
3) Anthony's Pizzeria
4) Arnet's
5) Artie's Riverstreet Stage
6) Barna's Superette-Delicatessen
7) Bradley's Tavern
8) Cafe Deli-Icious
9) Caribbean First Choice
10) Carol's Place For Pizza & Subs
11) Chubby's Sub East Side
12) Closet Corys
13) Deli & Brew
14) Domino's Pizza
15) Duncan's Dairy Bar
16) Dunkin Donuts
17) East West Gourmet Foods
18) Eatery
19) Eldorado Bar
20) Epicurean
21) Erin's Pub
22) Flavor Cafe & Lounge
23) Francesca's
24) Fresno's Restaurant & Bar
25) Gino's Pizzeria
26) Goomba's
27) Hao Wei
28) Happiness Garden
29) Hire Bean
30) Hudson Duster
31) I Love Ny Pizza
32) I Love Ny Pizza Of Troy Inc
33) Inferno Pizzeria
34) Jefferson Deli & Grocery
35) Jose Malone's Mexican Irish
36) Kennedy's Tavern
37) Little Red School House
38) Luis Deli
39) Mahr's Place
40) Man O War Pub
41) Mario's Banquet House
42) Maselli's Delicatessen
43) Mickey Doyle's Irish Pub Inc
44) Miele's Cafe
45) Miss Troy Diner
46) Mo's Bar-B-Q
47) Nold's Tavern Inc
48) O'Learys Tavern
49) Old Mill Street Pizza
50) Park Place II
51) Patricelli's Deli & Catering
52) Pizza Bella
53) Polish American Club Inc
54) Positivly 4th Street
55) Quiznos Sub
56) Red Front Restaurant & Tavern
57) Ruck
58) Sandra Maries Pizza
59) Silver Lunch Box
60) Stella's Pizzeria
61) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
62) Terminal Tavern
63) Tony's Sycaway Submarine
64) Troy Fried Chicken
65) Valenti's Pizzeria & Pub
66) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Made my 1st visit to Browns this past Saturday nite. I had the pleasure of tasting their Barrel Aged Whiskey Porter at a recent nearby festival and went looking for the Taproom. I took a seat at the bar & requested the porter. Its a wonderful full bodied brew w/ a superb whiskey barrel tannin finish. I ordered the Fish & Chips which is fried in their hefeweizen batter. OUTSTANDING w/ just a little malt vinegar. The bar staff were very friendly and one even brought me a taste of his version of a Black and Tan. It consisted of their Oatmeal Stout (one of the milder and yet quite drinkable stouts I've ever had) atop of their Cherry Raspberry Ale. It made for the perfect dessert. It was a great experience and I look forward to another visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. Scott Thorn G. Scott Thorn, Lake Charles, LA
(09/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy So So
The food and the service at this place is horrible. Only go here after eating somewhere else. We had the IPA and the Dunkleweizen and they were decent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig H Craig H, Fredericksburg, VA
(05/10/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
My first time at the establishment service was great and food was excellent will be on my list of places to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Royce Royce, Hornell, NY
(03/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Good So So
Sat on the patio and had an insipid porter and a bland IPA. The wafting stench from something that must have been dead and rotting on the river bank below didn't help. Beer reminded me of what you'd get at a "brewpub" run by AB or CoorsMolson.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, philadelphia, PA
(08/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I visited Brown's back in February and really enjoyed myself. I liked the location, just off the Hudson in downtown Troy. I liked the building and the staff, the food was good, and the beer was great (maybe because they use northwest hops!). I'll certainly be making this a must visit Brewery along with Evan's that's located down the rvier in Albany.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dustin Dustin, Bend, OR
(05/13/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So
I visited on a Friday night in August. The hostess said there would be a 30 to 40 minute wait for a table. I went to the bar for a pint while waiting. Then I had another pint. After waiting an hour and 20 minutes I went to the hostess and was told "They told me not to seat anyone because the kitchen is so backed up." Obviously the kitchen can't handle the additional outdoor seating during the summer months. The 2 beers I sampled were decent and the bar staff were attentive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Galloway, NJ
(08/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
Beers seemed a bit more "average" than on previous visits where there was always a standout or two. Nothing foul, but nothing that struck my fancy, either. ESB and Pale were the choices from the lot. Sparse crowd for a late lunch and server was completely uninspired. It seemed as though everything he had to do was a great effort. Nothing great to take with from the bottle cooler either. Maybe beter luck next time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have been going to Brown's Brewing Co. a couple times a week for two years and I love it. Now that the deck is open for the summer there is no better place to sit in Troy to enjoy the weather and a great view. The staff has always been nothing but friendly and incredibly personable. There are some new items on the menu that are great as well. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Exeter, NH
(05/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Last night at Brown's every moron on the planet was in town for RPI's graduation today and the place all mucked up. With that said, the bar staff and wait staff did one hell of a job handling it.

Tere (manager) was on top of everything and Tina (chef) came out of the kitchen a hundred times to make sure things were going well.

Gary (owner) made a few trips through and the brewer (Peter) found time to stop and chat. I had service at the bar and had no problem, then moved to a table with again no problem. So I have no clue what the last review was about. I was there four hours (had a DD) and can attest to the whole night.

One final note about Brown's is if there is a problem bring it to Tere and it's handled right there on the spot. If the blonde at the bar shunned your advances, well, don't blame the staff. Try Harry's Bar and Grill next time. Maybe you'll have better luck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(05/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Lousy So So
If you're going to browns brewery for dinner expect slow or non-existant service.

We went there last night. After 15 minutes of sitting at a table and going completely unnoticed by the wait staff... we got up and left.

We were looking forward to some good food and beer. Oh well.

We won't be going to browns brewery for dinner in the future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review troy, NY
(05/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
We had some issues for booking a larger party. My friend called up well in advance and got reservations for around 10 people and then called again to add a few more and the lady was real nasty about it. then when we got there they wrote down the wrong name and my friend had to do all this verification stuff which was fine. the waitress we had was a veteran at the place and she took very good care of our table. she didnt write any orders but did not make any errors. people were arriving late and we had no issues with that. our dinner was a very pleasant experiance after the reservation hassling.

They still brew beer on site, at least they still have equipment around? not sure what earlier posts mean? I did hear a lot about local cops, especially on the other side of the bridge.

Dear Brown's: A CASK IS NOT SERVED BELOW 40 DEGREES!!!!! I am so tired of getting ice cold cask beers at brewpubs. GET IT RIGHT and SERVE IT AT CORRECT TEMPS!!!! Cellar means Cellar. Is the cellar in Brown's a fridge?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(02/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I guess I'm lucky; I never seem to encounter the "issues" that some who have reviewed this place experienced. Most recent visit found me chatting with some beer pilgrims en route to Vermont Brewer's Festival. Beer good, I enjoyed the Brown and ESB especially. A big late lunch, early happy hour crowd, all seemed to be getting into the beer and the positive vibe. It's a must-stop for me if I'm in the Capital region.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
On another note - you can't go to this place anymore without getting hit up by a panhandler out front. Mayor Pinhead wants people to come to Troy yet has his Gestapo running harassment patrols constantly. They can't control the prostitutes in other parts of the city or the low-life's on the street in front of Brown's but we have all the time in the world for sweeps, swarms and roadblocks. If it's not Troy it's the Green Island dipshits on the other side of the bridge with nothing to do.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from IronBox Sara IronBox Sara, Troy, NY
(09/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I frequent Brown's Brewing. I have been going there for several years. I would like to comment on a previous review. I was on the deck on that afternoon. I did not hear the entire conversation until the man stood up yelling at the manager.Everyone heard him call her an A.H.She told him to leave and he continued yelling.It is not fair that this man did not tell the entire story. Brown's has improved over the past few years.The food and service is great. There is live music on the deck every weekend. It is so busy you can not get a table for dinner without a half an hour wait.There is a bar in the beer garden if you are not having dinner. I am sure if you try Brown's you will love the beer, the service and the quality of the new menu.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, N.
(09/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I would like to reply to the remarks from Latham, N.Y. Aug.17th.We are regulars at Brown's. I happened to be there that afternoon.I did not hear the conversation, but I did see you stand up and scream at the lady.When you called her an A.H.she said everyone heard you,to leave. We always sit on the deck. There is a sign that says it is for dining only, please wait to be seated.We were asked once if we were having dinner,we were not.So we sat in the beer garden.It is just as nice as the dining area.Now we know. We used to go to Brown's only for the beer until last year. Since the management and menu changed the quality and service has improved greatly.We have never had a problem. I used to wait tables when I went to school. When a customer did not want to follow policy it always was a problem.Servers depend on tables ordering food, not cocktailing.When they sat for hours and do not order food we didn't make money. The wage is only $4.85 an hour. I think Brown's is a great place for the beer and food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, N.
(09/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
Avoid this place like the plague!! My group and I have been coming here after work on Fridays (about once a month) for the last 5 years. The place no longer is a brewpub, but the beer is still good. However, the management has changed hands and the officious "Pub Lady" (PL) has become a real disincentive.

This Friday (Aug 17, 2007), about 12 of us showed up beginning at 4:15. We sat on the deck overlooking the Hudson and ordered beer, wine, and munchies. As members arrived, we added tables with some help from the staff (but not the PL). About 5:15 the deck was about 1/3 full. This was surprising as before the summer it would have been about 150% full on such a nice Friday!! The PL came by and told us that our group would have to leave as we were not ordering dinners. Well, about half of our group intended to order dinners, the other half did not. But it was 5:15, a bit early for dinner (unless you are the type you goes for the "senior rate" at Denny's"). We told her that we intended to order about 7 or 8 dinners. She became very rude to the group. Our leader (i.e., me) stood up and asked her to apologize saying that we had been coming here for many years and were not used to being treated this one. She became red-in-the-face mad and incoherent. (Accused me of being an "obscenity" whatever she meant by that I have no idea.) We paid the bill (leaving a nice tip for the waitress who was very nice), $120+, and left for Ryan's Wake -- two doors down and also with a nice view of the Hudson.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Latham, NY
(08/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Most horrible service I have EVER recieved!! Didnt even get a chance to eat, the manager came over with an attitude and picked a fight with one of the guys I was with. And they couldnt make a Midori Sour to save their life.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hannacroix, NY
(02/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
My husband and I have been going to Brown's Brewing Company for several years now, even back when it was the Troy Pub & Brewery. Good beer and good food, nice pub atmosphere. The bartender Nicole, was awesome! Always pleasant, greeted you when you arrived, provided excellent and consistent service. Over the years we developed a friendship which still continues. We made sure to visit there when Nicole was working. Recently, circumstances occurred which ended with Nicole leaving her employment as bartender at Brown's. Unfortunately, the atmosphere at the bar is just not the same without her.

Frank & Becky

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Becky Becky, Berlin, NY
(10/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
Peter Martin has done it! He has created an instant classic. NY Harvest IPA is the freshest, hoppiest ale we have EVER tasted! It is ESB ++!! Victory Hop Devil and Dogfish Head could come to Troy, NY and get an education.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from sue sue, cobleskill, NY
(10/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
One of the first out-of-state brewpubs I visited way too many years ago. Tried a few of their current offerings, all of which weren't bad at all. NY Hopped IPA was good, more of a bitter hop than a fruity or citrusy one. Honey Brown wasn't sweet at all, but was very smooth. Cask Whiskey Porter was the pick of the litter today; just the right level of whiskey/oak, very drinkable. It was a bit too cold at first, but improved quickly. My salad was good, and the carrot cake very good. Staff was pleasant and friendly--they were pulling in a good lunch crowd.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy Good
Big time kleptomaniac working the bar nights. Do not put any money on the bar. Run a tab instead even if you are going to pay cash. If you give him a $20, say, "This is a $20 (Dufus)," and don't let it out of your hand until he acknowledges you. This jackass got me four times - the last two times I caught him and he played dumb (easy job there). The last "Happy hour" beer cost me $5.00. If you pay for your beer, put the change in your pocket and do not leave it. He's real cute at "cleaning" the bar off. This guy is real good. But he should be fired.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Troy, NY
(05/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
On our way to TAP we stopped by for a pint or two. Our bartender Nicole was great, she not only directed us to some great beers (I liked the cherry and the porter) but she also made us feel like her regulars. This place has lots of character, great beer and the food looked tasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jobob Jobob, Hinesburg, VT
(05/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
Since my last visit about a year ago I feel that the quality of beer, while still good, has degraded a little.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
good ESB, brown, pumpkin, and Great cherry. i enjoyed my time here due to the keller williams show being sold out. i did like there chipolte wings. the pub food was typical prices and the beer was a nice selection. i would definately go back again to this place. for the time of night we were there, the service was nice. I got a sampler and some other grub and had no problems with my meal. maybe after a few reviews or so, they improved, but i thought the place was fine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(01/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great
Second time in 3 years. Still a great place from our perspective in Baltimore. Be glad you have a few more choices in town...berr was tasty!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(05/07/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.418 seconds) 16:36:48 54.90.231.18, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS