PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Chapter House - Ithaca, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 20, 2014 @ 03:02 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Ithaca > Chapter House
Chapter House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Chapter House
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.6 / 100
400 Stewart Avenue
Ithaca, NY 14850
United States
(607) 277-9782
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: February 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Ithaca, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Chapter House
19 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Ithaca Beer Company
(0 mile)

2) Rulloff's
(0 mile)

3) Ithaca Ale House
(0 mile)

4) Pixel Lounge
(0 mile)

5) Scale House Brewery and Pub
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Amazing Grace Bed & Breakfast
2) Associates-Historic B & B
3) Bed & Breakfast-Foot-Bttrmlk
4) Elmshade Guest Home
5) Grayhaven Motel
6) Grookton Hollow Farm B & B
7) Hanshaw House Bed & Breakfast
8) Hound & Hare Bed & Breakfast
9) Peregrine House Victorian Inn
10) Rita's Country Bed & Breakfast
11) Rose Inn
12) Veralma the 1850 House
13) Welcome Inn Bed & Breakfast
14) William Henry Miller Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY INN
2) CLARION HTL UNIV HTL AND CONF C
3) COMFORT INN ITHACA
4) ECONO LODGE ITHACA
5) HAMPTON INN ITHACA NY
6) RAMADA INN ITHACA AIRPORT
7) STATLER HOTEL AT CORNELL UNIVER
8) SUPER 8 ITHACA NY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bailey Hall
2) Boardman House
3) Caldwell Hall
4) Cascadilla School Boathouse
5) Clinton Hall
6) Clinton House
7) Comstock Hall
8) Deke House
9) Dryden District School No. 5
10) East Robert Hall
11) Fernow Hall
12) Lehigh Valley Railroad Station
13) Llenroc
14) Morrill Hall, Cornell University
15) Rice Hall
16) Roberts Hall
17) Second Tompkins County Courthouse
18) St. James AME Zion Church
19) State Theater
20) Stone Hall
21) US Post Office--Ithaca
22) White, Andrew Dickson, House
23) Wing Hall
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Abc Cafe
2) Aladdins Natural Eatery
3) Andy's Third Street Cafe
4) Angelinz Centini's Italian
5) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
6) Arby's
7) Asia Cuisine
8) Asin Noodle House
9) Banfi's Restaurant
10) Bart-Rich Enterprises Inc
11) Bear Lodge
12) Benchwarmers
13) Big Al's Hilltop Quikstop Inc
14) Billy Bob Jack's Too
15) Bistro Q
16) Blimpie Subs & Salads
17) Burger King
18) Burger King
19) Buzz Coffee
20) Cafe Dewitt
21) Cafe Pacific
22) Capital Corner Chinese Food
23) Carl's Cafe
24) Carriage House Cafe
25) Castaways
26) Cayuga Lake Cruises Inc
27) Celebrations Banquet Facility
28) Chapter House Brew Pub
29) Chariot
30) Chili's
31) College Cafe
32) College Town Pizza Inc
33) Collegetown Convenience Store
34) Collegetown Court Apts
35) Common Ground
36) Commons Delicatessen
37) Conkies Inc
38) Cornell Kosher Dining
39) Corner Store Deli
40) Corners Deli
41) Cosmopolitan Restaurant
42) Creative Catering
43) CTB Appetizers
44) Curry In A Hurry Sri Lankan
45) D P Dough
46) Dano's On Cayuga
47) Dasan J Korean Restaurant
48) Dempsey's Fine Restaurant
49) Diamond Bar & Restaurant
50) Domino's Pizza
51) Dunbar's
52) Fall Creek House Restaurant
53) Felicia's Atomic Lounge
54) Finger Lakes Beverage Ctr
55) Four Seasons
56) Franco's Italian Restuarnat
57) Franco's Restaurant & Catering
58) Friendly's Ice Cream Shop
59) Gazebo Restaurant & Cocktail
60) Gepetto's Pizzeria
61) Gimme Coffee Inc
62) Gino's New York Pizzeria
63) Giovanni's Bar
64) Giovanni's Osteria Paesana
65) Godfather's Pizza
66) Golden Rice Restaurant
67) Gourmet's Delight
68) Greek House Restaurant
69) Hai Hong Restaurant
70) Hal's Delicatessen & Sandwich
71) Harvest Deli
72) Haunt
73) Hong Kong Restaurant
74) Hope's Way
75) Hot Trucks
76) Ichabod Lounge
77) Italian Carry Out
78) Ithaca Diner
79) Jade Garden Restaurants
80) Jason's Grocery & Deli
81) Jiffy King Subs & Wings
82) Joe's Restaurant
83) Johnny O's
84) Joseph A Leonardo Restaurant
85) Juna's Cafe
86) Just A Taste
87) Kayuga Japanese Restaurant
88) Kayuga Japanese Restaurant
89) Kelly's Dock-Side Cafe
90) Kelly's Dock-Side Kafe
91) Kfc
92) King Buffet
93) King David
94) King David's Restaurant
95) King Submarine
96) Kope's Garage
97) Kosher Dining Hall
98) Kyushu Hibachi & Sushi Bar
99) Lehigh Valley Restaurant
100) Ling Ling Garden
101) Ling Ling Restaurant
102) Little Joe's Restaurant
103) Little Thai House
104) Little Thai House
105) Little Tokyo
106) Lost Dog Cafe
107) Louie's Lunch
108) Lucatelli's Ristorante
109) Madeline Patisserie
110) Mahogany Grill
111) Main Moon Chinese Buffet
112) Mama Teresa Pizza & Restaurant
113) Manos Diner
114) Marcel's Fine Dining
115) Mate Factor Cafe
116) Maxie's Supper Club & Oyster
117) Mc Donald's
118) Mi Casita
119) Micawber's
120) Miyake Japanese Restaurant
121) Moonshadow Tavern
122) Moosewood Restaurant
123) Napoli Pizzeria
124) Nardi's Restaurant
125) Ned's Pizza
126) Nines
127) Oak
128) Olivia Restaurant Lounge
129) Ortaggio Catering Co
130) Palace Submarines
131) Pangea
132) Papa John's Pizza
133) Papa John's Pizza
134) Paul's Cafe & Grill
135) Peace Restaurant
136) Peking Chinese Restaurant
137) Pete's Cayuga Bar
138) Pita Pit
139) Pixef
140) Pizza Aroma
141) Pizza Hut
142) Plum Tree Japanese Restaurant
143) Plum Tree Restaurant
144) Pudgie's Pizza
145) Ragmann's
146) Ralph's Ribs
147) Rascal's
148) Renee's Restaurant
149) Rogan's Catering
150) Rogan's Corner Northeast
151) Roma Pizzeria
152) Rose
153) Royal Court Restaurant
154) Royal Palm
155) Rulloff's Restaurant
156) Sadie D's Deli & Coffee Cafe
157) Sal's Pizzeria
158) Sammy's Pizzeria & Restaurant
159) Sangam Indian Cuisine
160) Sangam Indian Curry & Spice
161) Shortstop Deli
162) Simeon's On The Commons
163) Sindbad
164) Smoothie Hut
165) Smoothie Hut
166) Souvlaki House
167) State Diner Of Ithaca Inc
168) Station Restaurant
169) Stella's Kitchen & Cocktails
170) Sticky Rice Carry Out
171) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
172) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
173) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
174) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
175) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
176) Taco Bell
177) Taste Of Thai
178) Taste Of Thai Express
179) Tea Shop 168
180) Thai Cuisine
181) Thai Garden
182) Thanh Restaurant
183) Tower Club
184) Tucker's Catering
185) Uncle Joe's Sports Bar
186) Valentine Cafe
187) Vietnam Restaurant
188) Vito's Pizzeria
189) Viva Taqueria
190) Wendy's
191) Wendy's
192) Wings Over Ithaca
193) Wok Village
194) Za Za's Cucina
195) Ziffy's Lincoln Street Diner
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
This is probably my favorite bar in the world. As a Cornell MBA student in the mid '90s, this was absolutely the place to go if you enjoyed a wide variety of very good beer, good darts and pool, good free popcorn and the old school wooden bar and booths. Seriously - what more could you ask for? If you're looking for food, go to a restaurant. This is a bar and it is one of the best ever. Period.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul V Paul V, Evanston, IL
(09/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
This was a great stop before a basketball game. Although they do not have food, there is popcorn and it was fresh! Always good to have a salty snack when drinking beer! Makes you drink more!

And they had Anchor Porter on draught - one of my favorites. And also Middle Ages (Syracuse) IPA. The beer selection is fantastic. Wish they had food, because we had a long, downhill walk to the restaurant we ate at. And do I mean long and downhill! If you've never been to Cornell, you'll find out soon enough!

But this place is fantastic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Syracuse, NY
(11/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A So So Good
Watched the 2006 World Cup at the Chapter House.

Atmosphere was good with standing room only and many supporters for both Italy and France present.

Beer selection was excellent. Ithaca Apricot Wheat is awesome!! There wasn't waitstaff circulating so you have to go to the bar. No biggie, but with the crowd it would have been nice.

The only drawback came at the end of the day when trying to leave. Following the crowd through the side door we had the door slammed in our face by one of the staff as he spewed explatives about the door being a fire exit -- funny, as most fire exits are alarmed and usaually don't have crowds exiting through them unless there is a fire.

Good college bar with a long history that's worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from greg greg, Denton, TX
(07/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
As is the case for many of the bars in Ithaca, the atmosphere changes significantly after 9:00pm or so when school is in session. The Chapter House is actually a popular after work gathering place for Cornell staff and faculty and other "townies" but turns into just another crowded and noisy "college bar" later in the evening. On the other hand, they also have live music featuring many of the good local talent. The beer selection is very good though while some have noted that they don't brew their own any more, even as a Ithaca resident for 10 years, I wouldn't necessarily recommend the local beers either. They have too many other good beers from other Northeast microbreweries (Victory, Allagash, Smutty Nose, etc) as well as a good selection from Northern California and Oregon (the Northcoast Brewing Co. Pranqster is outstanding).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Fereira John Fereira, Ithaca, NY
(11/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
One of the best bars I have been in. Not much to look at...the first time we visited Ithaca, we had'nt heard of this place, walked past it, and were didn't go in because it looked grungy. But I tell you, the beer selection was great, very decent barkeeps who know what they selling, generous tasting policy. Just a great place to spend an afternoon. We were there during summer when most of the students were gone. I'm told its a bit rowdier during school.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Romano Michael Romano, Morgantown, WV
(06/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
My favorite beer bar. Great atmosphere. Cozy. Friendly, informatove, beer-loving staff. Great beers on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul S Paul S, Binghamton, NY
(04/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Nostalgia Lane: I haven't been to the Chapter House in nearly 40 years! When I attended Cornell it was still called by it's founding owner's name: "Jim's" (a regularly confusing aspect for freshman seeking "Jim's" and finding only the "Chapter House" on the site). From the reviews, it looks as though the specials nights featuring dime drafts of Jenny are a thing of the past! Of course, times change, and freshmen can't drink beer anymore (at least not legally in public houses) so Jim's has grown up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Baltimore, MD
(12/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
This is a great bar. A lot of people are turned off by the somewhat grungy look of this place, but I like it. It is a no frills bar, it's very comfortable and the beer selection is huge with most of it being on tap. It is roomy on the inside and is a great place to hang out. Aparently they used to make their own brews, but now they don't (bummer.) There are good local beers available (Ithaca Brewing Company and Wagner Valley.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Justin Hochgesang Justin Hochgesang, Ithaca, NY
(10/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review London, UK
(07/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
As a graduate of Cornell and a frequent patron of Collegetown establishments I have to say that the Chappy is a relief in a city of dull uninteresting bars. In travelling across the country I constantly looked for this kind of atmosphere. Friendly bartenders, great beer selection, laid back college brew pub atmosphere, darts, pool, Cornell memorabilia, and trivia night on sundays (a blast). It doesn't get any better than this folks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rose Rose, Washington, DC
(01/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ithaca, NY
(07/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
I spent 12/4-6/98 on the Cornell campus attending my nephew's graduation. I found the Chapter House via PubCrawler..as I've found many other brewpubs. ...although Chapter no longer brews its own, it does offer an excellent selection of brews on tap...50+....all excellent choices to offer. ...between Mike, Christine and myself...we sampled 1/3 of the tapped libations. I strongly recommend this establishment for those who like a brew-hall atmosphere....tressle tables and benches....as well as a young/fun crowd. The patrons were respectful and the bartender very knowledgeable...make it a point to stop..you won't be sorry!! cheers! PS. a great restaurant for dinner is the John Thomas Steakhouse 1152 The Danby rd. Ithaca, (607)273-3464 call for resv. a must...best steaks for 100 miles!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Uveges Steve Uveges, Bordentown, NJ
(12/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Made a visit there over Columbus Day weekend. (Hello to GA bar-rat!) Disappointed that they do not brew their own beer anymore. Understand from others that their own brew was always the best in the house. Selection of 30 tap brews and homemade soda. They appear to be planning to expand to 50 taps soon. A must stop when visiting Ithaca, Cornell and Ithaca College.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mr. Sammy Mr. Sammy, Rockville Centre, NY
(10/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Great
I used to work here, so I'm a little biased. Wouldn't suggest eating here (much better food in Collegetown--try the Chariot or the Nines), but the beer can't be beat. Owner and brewmaster know their stuff, and beers rotate seasonally (3 tanks). Sometimes, the most popular brands are sold out, but definitely try the summer wheat and the stout. It's in a college town, but caters mostly to locals, grad students and profs. If you've got a fake ID, don't even try it...some of the others in Collegetown are much more accomodating! Can get really busy Thursday-Saturday nites.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron W. Aaron W., Shreveport, LA
(09/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
The jewel of Cornell Bars! Nothing beats throwing back a few pints and playing some darts. If your THAT hungry for food, the world famous "Hot Truck" is just up the street...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DWT DWT, Lebanon, NH
(05/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Great Great
I always prefer draft to bottled, and all beers & cider are draft. They have the best prices on their own beer, usually $2.00 for the large glass, a 16oz shaker glass, some other places call a pint. The bartenders are very willing to let you sample before purchase. This is the least expensive and most extensive of any brewpub I've visited so far. If management "yuppied" the brewpub up, I'd wager the price would double. I've never been served what I would call a bad beer here, or even an overly bland one. Graffiti in the men's room can get quite academic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Dugan Jim Dugan, Painted Post, NY
(03/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Great
Yeah, it may be dirty, but great atmosphere. Gimme a yard and I'm happy, even with the neighborhood dogs running around my feet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Frontuto John Frontuto, Macedon, NY
(03/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A So So So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ithaca, NY
(02/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So So So
The dirty windows on the outside should have alerted me to what I'd see inside - grungy and shabby. Really in need of a thorough cleaning. I hope the kitchen isn't as dirty as the rest of the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TR TR, Ithaca, NY
(12/16/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.743 seconds) 03:02:35 54.147.196.159, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS