PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Long Valley Pub and Brewery - Long Valley, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 17, 2014 @ 12:56 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Long Valley > Long Valley Pub and Brewery
Long Valley Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Long Valley Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 75.2 / 100
1 West Mill Road
Long Valley, NJ 07853
United States
(908) 876-1122
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: September 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Long Valley, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Long Valley Pub and Brewery
69 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Everitt House
2) Neighbour House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN HACKETTSTOWN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Apgar, J. K., Farmhouse
2) Cenetary Collegiate Institute
3) Cooper, Nathan, Gristmill
4) Craft--Clausen House
5) Flock--Stephens Farmstead
6) Flocktown Schoolhouse
7) Frog Hollow Road Bridge over minor tributary of the South Branch, Raritan River
8) Hollow Brook Road Bridge over tributary of the Lamington River
9) Johnson, James Weldon, House
10) Rarick--Kellihan House
11) Trimmer--Dufford Farmstead
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Apgar's 1778
2) Asia Gourmet
3) Deena's Deli
4) Greene's Beans Cafe Long Vly
5) Hunan Wok Long Valley
6) Long Valley Inn
7) Mountain Tea Rooms
8) Mountainview Bar & Grill
9) Old Fashion Meat & Deli
10) Phil's Pizzeria & Italian Rest
11) Salerno's
12) Valley Restaurant & Pub
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great So So Good
We went to the brewery on a beautiful fall day, and sat outside. Great locale and view, but the outside was loaded with flies! Very strange.

Looked like a good selection of brews, so we got the sampler, and, as others have mentioned, the selections were essentially indistinguishable from each other.

The food was good, and they were accomodating to my children. However, the service turned me off. Our server was very nice and prompt for most of the meal, but as soon as we finished eating (plates still on the table) she dropped off our check without asking if we wanted anything else (eg, another beer as my glass was empty). I later asked her for another beer, and she took back the check. Then I saw her walk out of the restaurant, get in her car and leave! Obviously, her shift was over and she wanted to get her tip from us before she left. The right move to make here is to let us know that she is leaving and who our server will be, rather than try and rush us into tipping her.

Finally, I wanted to take 2 growlers home, so I brought 1 to fill and planned on buying another. Server told me that since the growler I brought was not from the brewery, they wouldn't fill it. I've never heard of this before, and have done this numerous times at other brew pubs. I would up being off-put by this policy, and only bought 1 growler (pale ale).

I would like to head out to here again, and give it another chance, as it's a nice drive and great locale, but they need to increase the quality of the beer and properly train their staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew  S. Andrew S., westfield, NJ
(10/18/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great So So
The beer is just not good. I really wanted to like it but each one tasted like the next, just varying levels of lightness/darkness. Their IPA is missing floral tones and malty sweetness. It had a skunky aroma. Their Porter is probably the best of the bunch. It had a good roasted malt taste with some sweetness. The food and setting are pretty good so it can still be a relaxing visit, just look elsewhere for beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Centereach, NY
(08/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
They did not have the bitter available when we visited, so this review is incomplete. The porter and nut brown were pretty good beers, but the others only decent but forgettable. The sandwiches are another matter though -- they are outstanding. And you can't complain about the atmosphere -- beautiful building. Looking forward to returning with the completion of the smokehouse.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Staten Island, NY
(12/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
This might be my favorite NJ brewpub. I've always had good luck with my food selection and the beer are always good. The bartender is very knowledgeable and amicable.

The building is beautiful and provides great ambiance, whether upstairs or at the bar itself.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Bedford Rob Bedford, Branchburg, NJ
(11/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
For some reason, it took over an hour to get our food today. The server, Zach, was very polite and apologetic over the matter and came to us several times to apologize during our wait.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, New York, NY
(10/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
Some good beers, not great but definitely worth a visit.Look forward to going back a testing the food.Service real good and friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Warren, NJ
(07/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
I stopped in this beautiful place and thoroughly enjoyed the way they converted a barn into a pub. the food was goo that i had and the service was ok.

i tried the sampler and found the beers to be average. the amber had some taste to it as well as the bitter. the light and the golden were really not that good at all. the nut brown was so-so. i thought there porter was their strongest show. the celebration was on "cask"(they do not have a pump) and it was off a nitrous tap.

i plan on going back to this establishment during the summer months because the place looks very nice to hangout at and the beers were half decent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(12/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good
I think the overall atmosphere is more of a draw than the food or the beer for which this place is named. The ales are good, but nothing extraordinary. I wasn't thrilled with the menu selection, but found what I ordered to be o.k.. This is a place I'd go to if someone else really wanted to go, but not a place I'd pick.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David  Heimroth David Heimroth, Hopatcong, NJ
(07/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I like this place a lot. Its like an old barn. There is a comfortable feel to it as soon as you walk in. We went with friends recently. On the way to the pub,they told us about this ghost, with a hook for a hand, that used to walk the railroad tracks nearby. it was called the Hookerman. Of course, we thought they were nuts. When we looked at the menu, one of the beers was named Hookerman. Cool.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FineToonin FineToonin, Kenvil, NJ
(07/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Lousy So So
Our first brewery attempt since moving to NJ. They have a good selection of beers, the only problem, there is just nothing special about them. Every beer had a watered down taste. No beer really had any flavors that came out that really made you excited. I call this place, beer wise, a brewery for bud drinkers.

As for food, it was ok. However, my wife's salad came with a stick in it, and the waiter spilled my food all over me.

If you like bud, and want to try a step up, this is the place for you. If you like good, unwatered down, flavorful beers, this place is a waste and I suggest avoiding it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Josh, Morristown, NJ
(06/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I LOVE THE BEER AND THE HOT GUYS!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alen Shepard Alen Shepard, Mexico, JG
(02/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
We stopped here for dinner with my parents on the way back from Delaware Water Gap. The brewery is in a really cool stone building that apparently is a restored two story barn. Both the food and the beers here were excellent. I started with the Cask Conditioned Best Bitter which was excellent; smooth with a nice amber color and bitter flavor. My wife had the German Valley Amber; an amber colored ale with a nice citrusy hop finish. My dad had the Hookerman’s Light; a bitter light beer with a decent hop flavor. I next ordered the Nut Brown Ale, which I really wanted to try since it was a 2005 GABF winner. The waiter brought a beer that was light amber in color and I immediately asked if this was really the nut brown. He assured me it was. The nut brown was described as having a nutty sweetness with toffee and caramel flavors. This beer, while very good, was more of a hoppy beer with no noticeable toffee or caramel flavors; perhaps a slightly nutty finish. It did have a malty aroma. To me it tasted very much like the amber my wife just had, though she had finished it so we couldn’t compare them side by side. I asked the waiter a second time if this really was the nut brown ale. He said maybe he had made a mistake and brought me a new beer (I had pretty well finished the other already). The beer he brought back was the same as the one I’d just drank, so either he screwed up again, or this really was the nut brown. Whatever it was, it really was an excellent beer, and I thoroughly enjoyed it (especially the second one since it was free).

I had an excellent fish and chips dinner made with really good, battered cod. My wife had mussels on linguini that was also very good. We all enjoyed everything we ate and drank here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So Lousy
I had been going to the Long Valley brew pub for a few years now and found it to be a heaven from the world. I took freinds and relatives there on a regular basis and went out of my way to be in the area for happy hour and such. Apparently they have changed ownership sometime in early 2005 and, it tears at my gut when I say this, the place has gone completely to hell. My favorite award winning Porter is now nothing but glorified dark water... The food is terrible and the service is lousy. I should have known something was up the last time I went there and the place was mostly empty. One of the waiters told me it was bought out by the owner of the local dinner. I hope he sells it again ASAP cause it is now currently worthless...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Kubs Kyle Kubs, Jefferson, NJ
(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
I have been to this place many times and I have noticed that the service is not as good in the off peak hours as it is during the busy times. Staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. I really enjoyed the Best Bitter and the German Valley Red is always good. The only was you are going to find a bad beer in this place is if they don't rinse the soap out of the glasses.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glen Glen, Staten Island, NY
(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Good
We wanted quick service so we sat at the bar. The bartender completely ignored us sitting there and when he finally noticed us he said he would be right back as he needed to get something in the basement. I was very disappointed as I was bringing someone there for her first time. Its most likely my last time!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Estell Manor, NJ
(01/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Awesome!
Treated a friend for her birthday - she has just discovered GREAT BEER (never too late). Porter, Stout, Bitter excellent. Food was very good. Overall, a terrific, relaxing time in this lovely place. The Birthday Girl never stopped smiling!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Liz Keenan Liz Keenan, New York, NY
(11/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
My wife and I went to this place about six months ago, and this past Saturday was our second trip. There were a few things which did not go as well as I would have liked. First, they have a slimmed down menu between 3-5, and the menu we were shown did not match the one on the outside of the pub. We were looking forward to the pub pretzels from looking at their website, but when I asked for two of them, they would not do them since they were not on the menu. Lastly, when I asked for the pale ale, I was told they were not carrying it. This is despite the fact that the placard on the table boasted it. I guess the lesson here is don't go in the middle of the afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Hopewell, NJ
(03/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Awesome cask-conditioned 'Best Bitter' on the hand pump! I didn't think I could get an ale that good outside of England! So smooth! Just right! The pub menu is still great, and the service is excellent if somewhat risky, if you sit at the bar while Tom "Mudslinger" is presiding! The Best of the Wurst was burned to perfection: crunchy and brittle on the outside and full of roasted-in flavor on the inside. My compliments to the chef and the brewer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(01/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
The location is really cool, an old mill. The bar is a little tight and the lady bartender was not overly friendly, but you can't beat the Happy Hour $2 pints along with free wings. I enjoyed the German Valley Amber and Grist Mill Golden Ale the most. $6 was not too bad of a cost for the sample either. Food was pretty good, with a decent selection and an ok price. Certainly worth seeking out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Brick, NJ
(11/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Awesome! So So
The service was awesome! The mild wings we got was still too hot for my 3 yr old son so they exchanged it for us no problem. The hot wings however was very very salty! I guess they made it that way to make people thirsty thus drink more beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geroge Geroge, Hackettstown, NJ
(09/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
They seemed a little short handed at 1:45 on a Saturday, but the manager had us back on track. My wife and I both had salads, which were tasty enough. The cask ale was quite tasty, and the wooded interior and fireplace is enough for us to make the trip back in cooler weather

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Hopewell, NJ
(08/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
I stopped in for the first time in a couple of years to have a couple of quick pints. The beer was sensational and I almost fell over when I heard the price of 2 bucks a pint. The bartender explained it was "happy hour". The price made me very happy. Absolutely lovely establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(06/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
While the amber and the porter are really good, the other regualrs are not very distinctive. They did have 2 others on tap, i'm not sure if they were visiting brews or made there. The Irsih Stout was somewhat weak and tasteless, the Scotch Ale was hearty and had pretty good character, in style. Been here before and the food was excellent, this round the food was nothing to write home about, good company made up for it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beer Snob, Parsippany, NJ
(03/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Good
I was very disappointed that the bartender wouldn't fill my growler because it didn't have the Long Valley logo on it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert F Melegh Robert F Melegh, west milford, nj
(03/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Love this place!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chester, NJ
(03/12/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.385 seconds) 00:56:40 54.82.58.198, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS