PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Lowell Brewing Company was Brewhouse Cafe and Grille - Lowell, MA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 30, 2014 @ 01:28 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MA > Lowell > Lowell Brewing Company was Brewhouse Cafe and Grille
Lowell Brewing Company was Brewhouse Cafe and Grille Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Lowell Brewing Company was Brewhouse Cafe and Grille
Overall: Good    Score: 69.6 / 100
The Brewery Exchange
201 Cabot Street
Lowell, MA 01854
United States
(978) 937-2690
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: November 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lowell, MA
Beer Guide for Massachusetts

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
27 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Lowell Beer Works
(0 mile)

2) Dubliner
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Commonwealth House
2) Hoyt House Bed & Breakfast Ltd
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN CHELMSFORD INN
2) COURTYARD LOWELL/CHELMSFORD
3) DOUBLETREE RIVERFRONT LOWELL
4) HAWTHORN SUITES HOTEL
5) RADISSON HOTEL AND SUITES
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allen House
2) Bowers, Jerathmell, House
3) Bowers, Jonathan, House
4) Brown--Maynard House
5) Butler School
6) Chelmsford Glass Works' Long House
7) City Hall Historic District (Boundary Increase)
8) Colburn School
9) Fiske House
10) Flagg--Coburn House
11) Fox, Warren, Building
12) Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Church
13) Howe Building
14) Lowell Post Office
15) Manning Manse
16) Musketaquid Mills
17) Old Chelmsford Garrison House Complex
18) St. Joseph's Convent and School
19) St. Patrick's Church
20) US Post Office
21) Varnum Building
22) Varnum School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Acres Sports Pub
2) Andrade's Family Restaurant
3) Apsara Restaurant
4) Auto Snack Caterers Inc
5) Avenue Grill
6) Bainbridge's Restaurant
7) Boston Market
8) Broadway Pizza
9) Brother's Pizza
10) Burbeck's Ice Cream
11) Burger King
12) Cafe Pisa
13) Captain Jason's
14) Captain John's
15) Chen's Kitchen
16) Chili's Grill & Bar
17) China Maxim
18) Conrad's Pizza
19) Creative Gourmet
20) D'Amico's Pizza Plus
21) D'angelo's
22) Deb's Place
23) Domino's Pizza
24) Domino's Pizza
25) Elliot's Famous Hot Dogs
26) Evzon
27) Figgy's Breakfast Cafe
28) Fio's Express
29) Furey's Cafe
30) Gaelic Club
31) Garlic Bistro
32) Glenview Pub & Grill
33) Highland Tap
34) Highland's Pizza & Seafood
35) J J Boomers
36) J J Boomers Of Lowell
37) Jimmy's Pizza Too
38) Jimmy's Restaurant Iv
39) Kfc
40) Khemara Restaurant
41) Lena's Sub Shop
42) Lo Kai Restaurant
43) Lorry's Bar-B-Q Beef
44) Lowell House Of Pizza Inc
45) Lunch Box
46) Mandarine Lowell
47) Mc Donald's
48) Mc Donald's
49) Menghour Sandwich
50) New Paradise
51) Nhu Y Vietnamese Sandwich Shop
52) O'hara's Tavern
53) Omkar Pure Vegetarian Indian
54) Outback Steakhouse
55) Papa Gino's
56) Pawtucketville Diner
57) Peephup Tmei Restaurant
58) Phien's Kitchen
59) Phnom Penh Restaurant
60) Pho 88
61) Pizza Palace
62) Princeton Station
63) Queen's Pizza
64) Rabiang Corp
65) Rafael's Restaurant
66) Rosso's Italian Style Pizza
67) Seafood Connections
68) Senmonorom Restaurant
69) Spartan Pizza
70) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
71) Sunny Da Restaurant
72) Suppa's Pizza & Subs
73) Szechuan Chef's Restaurant
74) Timbo Restaurant
75) Togo's Great Sandwiches
76) Two Chefs Inc
77) Udupi Bhavan Lowell
78) Viet Cafe
79) Wendy's
80) Westford St Diner
81) White Eagle Cafe
82) Yummy Express
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
A good and frequently changing rotation of beers in a variety of styles. Growlers available.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from SteveO SteveO, Billerica, MA
(12/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Great So So
Sorry Lowell Brewpub. I have been coming here since it opened and the quality has gone down hill. There have been 4 different Breweries here since then. The latest will be the Boston Beer Works. Kudos to them if they can make it work! The beer is the usual canoe beer swill. The mechanical bull shakes the floor and makes conversation difficult. The TVs are everywhere, not that that is bad. It looks like the waitresses are having a competition as to how prominent their bust can be "featured" to get tips. No Kidding, my wife overheard a conversation between the help in the bathroom. I did like the service, no problems on the help now. No, not because of the clothing either. We won't be coming back to the sports bar due to the shaking. I guess I got old. Yes it has become low rent here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lowell, MA
(06/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
A party of 4 arrived at 6:15, 3 received their beers within 15 mins. & it took 30 mins. for the 4th one to arrive. We placed our order 4 chicken sandwiches & at 7:45 still no food. The server we had was the WORST I have ever dealt with. No excuses, No I'm sorry it's taking so long - NOTHING - we had to chase her down. At 7:45 we spoke with the host & we left without eating. I would not go back to be treated like that again. It was the worst experience I have every had in any establishment. Also, you are a brewery - WITHOUT YOUR OWN BEER - what's up with that. Rating in my opinion is below LOUSY!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Woburn, MA
(12/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Good
Currently undergoing a change in brewers. Rapscallion beers are wonderful, rest of selection good to medium commercial beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from SteveO SteveO, Billerica, MA
(11/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from reginald dawson reginald dawson, Nashua, NH
(12/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy Good
This place is a good nearby joint to hear some great music and see some hot UMASS college guys ! beer is good about anywhere, the bartenders SUCK! they dont wait on you and when they do it takes a hour. but who am i to say, this place is where i met the love of my life! muah!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from val val, pelham, NH
(03/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Nice review. One guy is rude to you and the place as a whole gets slammed. Next time, call the police and let them deal with it - then security will have egg on their face if the ID is real.

And your bud's radio was stolen, so that has something to do with the brewery? It's Lowell, not Pleasantville. Get a detachable faceplate or take your chances.

Glad you mentioned the beer quality (Concord Brewers are very well respected), beer selection (usually no less than 8-9 house brews when I've been) and food (average pub grub). I'll agree with you on the service (usually lacking) but your review just sounds like sour grapes.

Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Bristol, RI
(01/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Two HORRIBLE experiences at the Brewery are enough for me to try to SHUT IT DOWN! Security made us wait in the COLD for no reason, acting like this “club” is hot sh*t. I have an out-of-state license and the head of security, MIKE, had to look at it meticulously with a flashlight and reference his book of IDs, and proving his ignorance, confiscated it and refused to return my REAL license to me. My man and I argued that I was driving back the next night and needed my REAL license. After multiple times ignoring and disregarding the situation he put me in, he threatened to escort us out if we didn’t leave. MIKE was RUDE, INCONSIDERATE, INEXPERIENCED and an IDIOT. He talked down to us like he knew everything when my license was obviously REAL. I'm over 21 yrs old and would have much rather preferred to be ANYWHERE sipping on a COKE rather than getting into this spot. Not only did he ruin my NIGHT but my WHOLE weekend and any other night I want to go out! Previously at the Brewery, the place is SO GHETTO my man’s radio was stolen out of the parking lot right outside! Where was the SECURITY then?! Brewery = Ghetto-fab, over-hyped, bad music, crowded, rude people.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New York, NY
(01/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
No bartender for at least 10 minutes. Two customers walked out, so I asked an employee working outside if there was a bar person. A manager came in and was clueless about how to pour a sampler (?!) The bartender showed up from a beer stocking chore and I finished receiving my sampler. Mostly Mill City products with a few Concord selections. Maybe it's the same outfit, I don't know. And neither did the server--"I don't hang out here and I really haven't gotten around to trying the beer." The beers were unimpressive, with the Mill City Oatmeal Stout as my favorite. I wasted an extra 10 minutes when they couldn't figure out how to reprint a bill when the machine ran out of paper. With service that borders on laughable, it didn't surprise me that I was the only person at the bar for almost an hour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I was back in my old college area for a training meeting and had the opportunity to have lunch here. It appears that Lowell Brewing has been replaced/supplemented by the Concorde Brewery. I enjoyed the Concord Grape Ale with my lunch of Pork Tenderloin medalions (very good!). I am not a fan of fruit beers, but I very much enjoyed this Grape Ale! I did not have the chance to sample other offering, but, next time I am in town I will mack a point of stopping in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Valis Ed Valis, Hudson Falls, NY
(04/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
The pumpkin ale was mildly spicy with kind of a dusty off-flavor. It had a sharp astringency also present in the Octoberfest. Seven house beers on tap. Only this customer in the whole place on a beautiful fall day at 12:15 PM. Don't the mill workers get grog with their lunch anymore?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(10/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
This is a brewpub with a little more - namely the game rooms, etc upstairs that caters to the local college crowd and pre- and post-game people. A lot quiter and civil downstairs. Nice outdoor patio area. The beer is top-notch. We've always had pretty decent (not great) food at a fair price. Service has been fine too - never a problem for us and we've been there at least 10 times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from PT PT, Chelmsford, MA
(08/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Lousy Good
The stout is good, but can't hold up to Ipswich Oatmeal Stout. The Boarding House Ale smells like lipstick, but the IPA and seasonals pass. The food is poor, only matched by the service. But, hey, beer and pool, how can you go wrong. Just eat before you go.-Peter/Georgetown, MA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Georgetown, MA
(07/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy Good
I hang out here every Saturday almost, sometimes fridays too. The bouncers are mean, and the bartenders are slow, I often ask myself why I am such a wall flower here. I think maybe bacause the music is good and the college guys are HOT. I have never been to the resturant, only the upstairs lounge, oh well. See ya there!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from SlshPuppi SlshPuppi, Pelham, NH
(10/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy So So
We have been to a lot of brewpubs and this was one of my least favorite. The food was really bad and the services was spotty at best. It's pretty bad when I'm straving and I don't eat my meal

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Collegeville, PA
(07/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Lousy So So
Weekend nights a bit crowded. Service real spotty, but if you go on a weekday night you'll have much better luck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Briscoe Briscoe, Chelmsford, MA
(06/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Lousy So So
I should have read Exeter Nh's comments first. Went before a Lockmonsters game. Waitress never showed. Got a round from the bar. Ah...a waitress...ordered food....95 minutes later...no food....got another round - from the bar. Hire more/better help please.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Dionne David Dionne, Nashua, NH
(03/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
DO NOT EXPECT GOOD SERVICE BEFORE A LOCKMONSTERS GAME GOOD BEERS NEAT ATMOSPHERE LOOKING FORWARD TO A TOUR

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Exeter, NH
(03/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
Beer quality varies, but is generally good. Service can be spotty. This place can get very loud and crowded on weekend nights.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Andover, MA
(07/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(07/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Visiting from Halifax,Nova Scotia for Winston Cup race at N.H.I.S. Went there with friends from the area and was worth the drive.Loved the wheat beer and the stout.Also good food at fair price.Will go back next year.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jamie Jamie, Halifax Nova Scotia Canada, NS
(01/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
The beer is mostly average. Good stout (once again: it's hard to screw up a stout, isn't it?). Good atmosphere with indoor and some of the only outdoor seating left in Lol. [sic]

Fun place to enjoy yourself outside after work when the weather's nice. Wouldn't come to Lowell to go there, but if you're already there, I'd stop by.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Berg Matt Berg, Pepperell, MA
(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Two words... Old Nutcracker. Excellent winter seasonal ale. I usually buy my beer in 6 packs (to try as many as possible), but I buy Nutcracker by the case every year (and usually have to pick up more!) That said, the Boarding House Ale is a great English style Pale (amber) Ale. The IPA is nice, but the roasty malt flavor hides the hops a bit too much. The Spindle Porter and the Oatmeal Stout are both great, Porter edging Stout by a bit. Seasonally, the Octoberfest is great, the Summer Wheat is typical of most summer micros, and the spring Chocolate (malt, not cocoa) Raspberry Wheat is a decent Brown ale with raspberry overtones. They also make a Pumpkin Ale, but I hate pumpkin! The food is good, but of the ten or so times I've been there, the service has been horrible. With few exceptions, it seems like every person on the waitstaff was hired yesterday. But don't let this keep you from the beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Doherty John Doherty, Arlington, MA
(06/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Best in town. Although the competition is bleak in the area for a true brew house. Enjoyable. Never get bored.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Lowell, MA
(05/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Great
Their IPA and Oatmeal Stout are hands-down the best beers available in the greater Boston area. IPA is very hoppy and potent. The Stout has chocolate and coffee flavors and is very smooth.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark D. Mark D., Andover, MA
(02/12/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.327 seconds) 13:28:56 54.83.141.145, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS