PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Federal Jack's Restaurant and Brewpub - Kennebunk, ME
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 23, 2014 @ 09:39 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > ME > Kennebunk > Federal Jack's Restaurant and Brewpub
Federal Jack's Restaurant and Brewpub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Federal Jack's Restaurant and Brewpub
Overall: Great    Score: 79.2 / 100
8 Western Avenue
Kennebunk, ME 04043
United States
(207) 967-4322
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: June 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kennebunk, ME
Beer Guide for Maine

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
41 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Duffy's Tavern and Grill
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Brendan Inn
2) Christmas Tide Inn
3) English Meadows Inn
4) Inn At Grasshopper Lane
5) Spofford Inn
6) Summer House Bed & Breakfast
7) Waldo Emerson Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) SHORELANDS GUEST RESORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Austin-Hennessey Homestead
2) Bourne Mansion
3) Dorfield Farm
4) Laudholm Farm
5) Littlefield Homestead
6) Lord Farm
7) Lord Mansion
8) Smith, James, Homestead
9) Wells Baptist Church Parsonage
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Absolutely Perfect
2) Atlantic Pizza
3) Cherie's Bistro
4) Cherie's Sweet Treats
5) Coffee Gourmet Cafe
6) Dairy Queen
7) Kennebunk House Of Pizza
8) Old Fashioned Lobster Bake
9) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
10) Squaretoe's Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Lousy Good
food was ok. but expected for pub food...service slow but the place was packed --Posted from the Android PubCrawler app!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anonymous Anonymous, N/A, NA
(10/17/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Visited on a Thursday afternoon at 2:00 PM and the place was packed. We had to wait for a table. Beautiful view of the harbor. I could find nothing negative to say about the place (OK, the waiter did forget to tell us they were sold out of the $19.95 twin lobster special.) But she made up for it with a comp pint. I only had two, but they were both extremely good. The Fuggles IPA on cask was hoppy but still well balanced and served at just the right "cellar" temperature. The Longfellow Winter Ale (seasonal) was even better with complex flavors and a perfect balance of hops and malt. I bought two 22oz bottles to take home. More establishments on the east coast of the US could learn a thing or two from the KBC brewer. Highly recommended if you ever are in SE Maine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Hoey Jim Hoey, Leonardtown, MD
(10/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So Good
The fresh smell of malted barley had me excited at the front door. I sat down upstairs (beautiful view) as one of 3 people at the bar. As slow as the bar was, it took a full 10 minutes to get a beer. I would have rated the service as lousy except that the barkeep was very polite - when he was around. I asked for a sampler and was told they usually have these, but no glasses were around at the time - again, what??? there was hardly anyone there...a little frustrating for someone who came up from St. Louis to try some local brews. Well, ok, so I get a half pint with the intent to try a few in that manner. The service was so unattentive that I only had time to try the IPA. At first I was really disappointed, not very hoppy, really shouldn't even be called an IPA. Then later as I decided to leave, I threw down the last couple of gulps and realized that this is a good gulper beer - some nice malts came through from the back of the mouth. The food appeared to be reasonably priced for the area, didn't try any though. So overall, not real impressed at the moment. I did buy a take-home sampler bottle pack from downstairs so I can give them a fair shot with the rest of the beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kally Kally, St Louis, MO
(09/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
They must have improved from the last review. Arrived early lunch, good selection of ales, all of good quality. Nothing awesome, but a nice line. Services was good with a large food selection. Wife had the a salad and I had beer. Would recommend the shop downstairs also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cramer David Cramer, Boalsburg, PA
(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Nice location, nice town Kennebunk. Maybe it was due to tourist season, but the food was lousy, service was poor. They told us 10 min wait,it was over an hour for a deck table. I don't mind waiting but just tell me how long it will be. Waitress was not attentive at all. Beers are just ok. Next time I will try Gritty Mcduffs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Dover, DE
(08/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
BEEN TO THIS PUP SEVERAL TIMES.WOULD NOT BE A TRIP TO MAINE WITHOUT A STOP AT FEDERAL JACKS.THE SHIPYARD BRANDS AND MORE ON TAP.GREAT FOOD,GREAT SERVICE

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ, PRESTON, CT
(08/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Had a great meal with a very nice IPA on my recent visit in Sept, this is one of the places I miss now that I have moved away from New England!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McCarthy Mike McCarthy, North Port, FL
(10/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
On tap the day I was there (6-17-05) were: Goat island light, export ale, tainttown brown, old thumper, fuggles IPA, Blue fin stout, raspberry wheat, and summer wheat. The IPA was not as hoppy as a lot of IPAs but there was a really nice mix of malt and hops. My favorite was the stout. It had a nice creamy haed with hints of chocolate and coffee. It had that nice "majic window" effect. This place is a "child" or "sibling" of Shipyard thus some of the beer is Shipyard's. Below is a store that sells their beer, shirts, etc. and coffee. A nice respite out of the bustle of touris traffic. Friendly service and nice view.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Sitting outdoors eating and drinking fine crafted beer in New England.... Does not get any better! Nice t-shirts too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from brian harto brian harto, milltown, NJ
(04/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
They had a large selection of beer and all the beers were good, worth a visit. nice pub and location, although a little touristy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped on my way to Portland on a busy Sunday afternoon. Plenty of room at the bar and 9 taps to pick from. Got a sampler of all and some food. While I'm not fanatic about the Shipyard beers, they are always well-made and very clean. My choice for this sampling was between the Old Thumper and the Fuggles IPA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Visited on 1/1/2004

Prelude Ale - Really good. Sweet and aromatic. Top notch. Longfellow Winter Ale - very rich, very flavorful, very roasty and malty. Intense, but I loved every second. Goat Island Light - very drinkable with a solid easy hop aroma. Shipyard Export Ale - great. Execellent hop aroma, slightly sweet. Taintown Pale Ale - Good beer, though a little soft for a Pale Ale. It had a very unique flavor profile. Brown Ale - Not as sweet as a typical brown. Rather clear and bright for a brown, but still drinkable. Old Thumper - Really good. Similar to a British bitter. Fuggles IPA - A little soft in hop aroma and bitterness for an IPA, but a great Pale Ale. Blue Fin Stout - A solid Stout. Rich and roasty. Thumbs up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mattrazzo Mattrazzo, Chandler, AZ
(01/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
well worth a stop if in southern maine.ipa not overly aggressive,but decent.their old thumper bitter was outstanding.one of new englands best brewpubs!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tim hardin tim hardin, seaside, OR
(10/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
A showcase site for Shipyard Brewing Co.'s beers. All of their beers on tap and good pub food with a New England flare. Nice view overlooking the small harbor in Kennebunk.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt zaccheo matt zaccheo, bethlehem, PA
(08/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Good So So
The beers were all basically the same Pale Ale recipe with slight grain or hop modifications. The Shipyard Export, Taint Town Pale and and Raspberry Wheat were the best of the (9) samples I tasted. None of the beers had any real hop aroma, the increased bitterness in the Fuggles IPA was not balanced with additional body; most of the beers had a too much diacetyl (buttery) present for my taste. The bluefin stout had a lingering smoky / burnt sugar aftertaste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Southern, NH
(05/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
I've been coming here for a long time (my parents live in nearby Wells), and it's always a pleasant experience. I'm a huge fan of the Blue Fin Stout, not too sweet and a wonderful body. And it went so well with the delicious chowder and onion rings I had last time I was there. The Old Thumper is one of my all-time favorites as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Guinness Fan, New City, NY
(05/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Stopped there with my wife ( not a beer lover but she liked it) on a crisp Spring day. Great fresh beer selection, very good food- seafood & non-seafood creations-friendly service. Right on a harbor.Plus, if you're interested in Civil War history, the street this brewpub is on has some interesting antique & art shops.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roy Roy, Suffield, CT
(06/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We have been coming here for years; awesome beer,awesome staff and awesome food. Blue Fin and Old Thumper,you can't beat them. Greatest place in the area to relax and have a few.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Franzese Dave Franzese, Medford, MA
(05/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
First of all, the weather and location were perfect. I had the Fuggles IPA and the Pale Ale with my "Federal Jack's Feast." Both were excellent, as was the food. Since I don't drink coffee, I had a Blue Fin Stout with my crème brulée. Very nice combination.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Baumgart John Baumgart, Hoffman Estates, IL
(09/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped for lunch on a sunny Sunday afternoon. Cask conditioned Old Thumper was outstanding! My wife tried the wheat beer and was equally pleased. Also tried their bitter--not bad at all. Menu was interesting, food and service great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Lambert Peter Lambert, West Ossipee, NH
(07/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Been to many brewpubs in our travels but I have to rate this as my number one. There is a couple of close seconds but this place has exceptional food and some greatttt beers and the view can't be beat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neal Neal, Waukesha, WI
(06/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
The Nitro on cask was decent, but not memorable. The IPA was okay, but the Stout was a killer, well worth the trouble to find. I only tried an appetizer, which was quite good. The wait staff was very friendly. The location is second to none, worth a stop if you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(02/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
finally docked at the birthplace of Shipyard beer, and celebrated the recent repurchase of shipyard stock from miller with 2 Blue Fin Stouts, which are a bit creamier her at the source.

light fare of chowdah, chili, and hummus was very good. outstanding view of the river/docks traffic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Del  Vaglio Peter Del Vaglio, Thomaston, CT
(07/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Great beers and friendly staff. A must is a visit around Christmas for the Prelude Ale, a "religious experience". The Brown Ale and Old Thumper will do for the rest of the year.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Malte Lukas Malte Lukas, Littleton, MA
(06/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Good place to spend a few evenings on my trips to the Maine Coast. IPA & stout are my favourates. The service is a little slow when they get too busy, but they are very friendly, food ok

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from HARRY HUGHEN HARRY HUGHEN, Campton, NH
(03/20/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.39 seconds) 09:39:14 54.196.195.207, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS