PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Sunday River Brewing Company - Bethel, ME
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 22, 2014 @ 06:40 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > ME > Bethel > Sunday River Brewing Company
Sunday River Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Sunday River Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.6 / 100
1 Sunday River Road
Bethel, ME 04217
United States
(207) 824-3541
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: July 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bethel, ME
Beer Guide for Maine

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
25 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Suds Pub
bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Chapman Inn
2) Holidae House A Country Inn
3) Rivendell House
4) Sudbury Inn
5) Victoria Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BETHEL INN AND COUNTRY CLUB
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Cole Block
2) Gehring Clinic
3) Hall House
4) Mason, Dr. Moses, House
5) Philbrook, John M., House
6) Philbrook, Samuel D., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Backstage Lounge
2) Cho Sun Sushi Restaurant
3) Kowloon Village Chinese
4) Legends Restaurant
5) Liams Restaurant
6) Sliders
7) Tango Mary's Night Club
8) Taste Of Eden Bakery & Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great
Under new ownership.

I had the beer sampler...which tilts toward yellow beer, but there are a coupla darks.

Blueberry: If you like fruity beers, this one isn't very fruity...the berry is present as a subtle flavor, in the background. A pleasant diversion.

The golden was light and crisp and very mild.

Lager: okay...again, very light flavored.

IPA was fairly dark, with good hoppiness...probably my favorite.

Alt: NICE. complex taste, nice and hoppy, an excellent dark beer.

Porter: if I define the best regional porter as Red Hook's (Portsmouth NH), this is a solid B. Good body, fairly complex taste. I'd happily order up a pint the next time.

Stout isn't on the sampler ski.

FOOD: great. My wife, the non-beer gal, loves their food here! We got the smoked pulled pork, I got the Memphis style--DA BEST! Intense smoky flavor, not too sweet. Fries were crisp, onion rings terrif.

When in the area, we eat here. Nuff said.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from david david, old orchard beach, ME
(10/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Went here twice while on vacation in NW Maine. We went for dinner one night and had tons of good food. The other time was in the middle of day just for beers. I lost my notes so this is from memory. It was very slow both times as this is a skiing area and most of their business is in the winter.

Lager-lighter but still very flavorful-especially during the very hot days we had.

IPA-more English style but very good.

I had a couple of other beers that were good but not memorable. Pleasant enough brewpub but don't go out of your way to go here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(07/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
I agree with the earlier review--this place deserves a Good + or a Great -. The drive from Portland the the view from the deck of this place are worth the trip. The beer was very nice. Not exceptional but very solid. The 420 IPA was their best. It had a very sharp hoppy finish. The rest of their beers on tap (sunsplash goldn ale, lager, alt, barely wine and bock) were all true to style but a bit sweet for me. The service was quite good. One of the coolest things is that the sell a shirt with their logo on the front and on the back is the logo of several of the other more well-known breweries/pubs in ME.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
A nice little drive west from Narrow Gauge in Farmington. Obviously caters to the ski crowd in season (guys at bar talking about all-New England passes and what a great deal it was--and it was July!) but a nice mixed crowd when I visited. Family-friendly, with a good assortment of six beers on tap. I always enjoy the IPA, although it didn't seem as hoppy as I remembered. I agree with the previous review regarding the weizen bock. It fills the bill for style, flavor and potential for packing a whallop! It was deceivingly smooth--watch out for this one!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
A great place to go after a long day of skiing. Great selection of beers and real tasty food. Get the wings if you like 'em hot. Skip the crabcakes...changed the recipe and have way too much filling.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom L Tom L, Weymouth, MA
(07/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Beautiful. Great beer and great staff. Had a ball whilst we were in Maine and Bethel

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from GregWA GregWA, Perth, WA
(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
This brewpub is better than the good rating, not as good as great. Some of their beers such as the weizenbock seasonal are fantastic. That rare style was right on, boozy and golden with true clove tones. Amber (Vienna) lager and pils were less impressive. For a remote site at a slow time of year the beers were all fresh and well conditioned. Bar staff was nice, beers slightly above average with a few varieties being really stellar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(10/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Mildly rowdy pub atmosphere with one big room. Apparently an expansion is planned to separate the restaurant and bar crowds. As it is, a very busy and loud apres-ski scene--you can barely hear the Classic Rock being piped in, but hey, you know every note. There is a bit of a lull between dinner and the weekend band. A nice, if a bit light, IPA. Get it while you can: an extraordinary barleywine. No beer has ever done so many things for so long on my tongue. I don't guarantee that you will like it, but I promise you've never had anything quite like it. If you're skiing a weekend at Sunday River, try one night here and one at Suds Pub (qv) in town. The ski area and town are connected by a very handy and free shuttle bus. But be warned: the bonehead shuttle drivers usually run 3-5 minutes ahead of schedule.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mr. Tattie Heid Mr. Tattie Heid, Springfield, MA
(02/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I haven't been here in several and was not disapointed. Great beer and great service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(10/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Having been recalled to active duty for Operation Enduring Freedom and from the Bethel area, I can honestly say that this is one of the best places to eat (and drink) in the Bethel area. If you want a really great waitress, ask for Debbie. Will be real happy to get back to Bethel when my tour is up - whenever that will be. Thanks, Rich Bean

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard Bean Richard Bean, bethel, ME
(10/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So
Beer was a bit over carbonated and lacked any real body. I belive the beer is being setup for a young Bud type crowd. The 420(drug reference) IPA did not live up to all the hype. The food was the only bright spot. Same beer as Stone Coast Brewing just a diff. package. If you want good beer, go back to the coast or get out of the state.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Fair Lawn, NJ
(09/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
After a day of skiing I was so zonked it was hard to have an objective opinion. A warm fire, a cold beer, great atmosphere! Don't let the 4:20 IPA fool you, the real treat here is the porter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Pepper Nate Pepper, Shreveport, LA
(04/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Great atmosphere. Nicely rounded beer selection

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Charlie Huntington Charlie Huntington, Boothbay Harbor, ME
(04/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Warner Bob Warner, Ogunquit, ME
(03/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great
The Black Bear Porter is exceptional

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Edna York Edna York, Bethel, ME
(11/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
After a rainy ski weekend, the brewery was a welcome stop. the 420 IPA was our favorite, but the stout and red were good as well. the food is surprisingly very good, service- excellent!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Laurel Ruma (Brew Union) Laurel Ruma (Brew Union), Brighton, MA
(10/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good N/A Great
This place seemed to appear out of no where when heading to New Hampshire from Maine. It was a welcome sight, with good beer and good food. We would go back if in the area

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tyler hackett tyler hackett, seattle, WA
(09/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Stopped at lunch time and had good wings and a great IPA. Micky the barkeep was knowledgeable and very sociable. Definitely a place to revisit next time I'm in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Lau Bill Lau, Glassboro, NJ
(07/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Overall this is the one place I have to visit when I come home for vacation. The best beer and people you will find in western Maine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Roberts John Roberts, Sumner, ME
(03/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Pleasant atmosphere, friendly service, and great beer... You've got to try the Redstone!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jacob Klee Jacob Klee, Hershey, PA
(09/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Same ownership as Stone Coast in Portland and resultingly similar selection in the beer department. But, when I was there at least, I found the quality at Sunday River to be a small notch above that of Stone Coast. I.e., their light beers didn't all blend in with one another in the sampler set. Wings were plenty hot, though for flavor I've definitely had better. Nice after-ski lodge atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Berg Matt Berg, Pepperell, MA
(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
An excellent place to stop for a refreshing pint of ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Reid Warren Reid Warren, Collegeville, PA
(07/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
An old style brew served at cellar temp and with little carbonation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Shaw Dave Shaw, Sidney, ME
(05/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Good beer, great buffalo wings. A good place to hang after a day on the slopes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don McLeod Don McLeod, Braintree, MA
(01/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
A popular spot at the entrance to Sunday River Skiway. Average quality and atmoshpere but popular with skiers and the tourist crowd.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stoffan Mark Stoffan, Bangor, ME
(12/08/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.444 seconds) 18:40:58 54.235.16.159, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS