PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Norwich Inn was Jasper Murdock's Alehouse - Norwich, VT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 30, 2014 @ 10:20 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VT > Norwich > Norwich Inn was Jasper Murdock's Alehouse
Norwich Inn was Jasper Murdock's Alehouse Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Norwich Inn was Jasper Murdock's Alehouse
Overall: Great    Score: 75.7 / 100
325 Main Street
Post Office Box 908
Norwich, VT 05055
United States
(802) 649-1143
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: July 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Norwich, VT
Beer Guide for Vermont

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
22 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Beaver Meadow Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) THE TRUMBULL HOUSE BED BREAKF
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Beaver Meadow Union Chapel
2) Union Village Covered Bridge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) La Poule A Dents
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
Just came back from a stay at the inn. There were four beers on tap. I especially liked the ESB and oatmeal stout. I agree with an earlier poster that I wouldn't make the trek here just for the beer, but if you're going to be in the area, it's worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eben Halberstam Eben Halberstam, Fairfax, VA
(10/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Very nice Inn. People were very nice and the bartenders were talkitive and friendly. Only had 4 beers on tap. The stout was very good, the Red was good. Purchased a bottle of their Porter for later and it was good. Would like to come back and stay at the Inn when in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cramer David Cramer, Boalsburg, PA
(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
Stopped in for the first time in twelve years during leaf trip. A good crowd on hand. Tried three beer. Stout was okay, nothing special. Red has a funny aftertaste that never disappeared thru the pint. IPA was a good English pale but not exciting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Boise, ID
(10/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Simply the best of everything, and great breweriana to view.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donna Cushman Donna Cushman, Chelsea, VT
(01/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
The beer was average, as is the pub. The Inn itself is beautiful and a nice place to stay.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Whenever we are in the area Jasper Murdocks is a must. The beer is good, the food and staff are great, its just a great brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Bobee Joe Bobee, Hinesburg, VT
(07/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Good Good
If you're going to the Norwich Inn strictly for the beer, and you're driving a ways, I can't say that I would recommend it. However, the beer that I've had (Private Stock, most recently) has generally been good, food very good if perhaps a bit overpriced, and the ambiance is really outta sight. A brewery in an ancient inn, in one of the most picturesque towns in VT? How cool is that? I'd recommend staying at the inn and making it the center of a little excursion which should definitely include Flying Goose in New London, NH about a half hour- 40 minutes away. Note that the pub sometimes has as few as three beers on tap, and both times I've visited they've been totally out of beers for sale. So call ahead!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from muzzlehatch muzzlehatch, Burlington, VT
(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great
Only had the Red, which was good. Great old pub, nice old town. Will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(07/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Awesome! Awesome! Good
Inn was historic, food was great, people were friendly, but the beer was unremarkable - what shame. It was drinkage but lacked any real flavor - unbelievable for a bottle-conditioned, unfiltered offering. With some practice, the brewmaster could make much better stuff. I had the IPA, if they raise hops on premise, why don't they add more of them to their beer??? If you like Coors light- this beer is for you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Reading, PA
(04/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We've returned again and again to this establishment and have never left without big smiles on our faces. While there are usually only 4 or 5 beers on tap at any time, they're all carefully and lovingly crafted by Tim,the brewmaster, in a small brewery at the inn. The food alone is worth a special trip. The staff are, to a man (or woman), terrific - friendly and knowledgeable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review VTTerry, Underhill, VT
(03/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great So So Great
Great brews, good food, good atmosphere. CAn be so busy that service suffers but wel worth waiting for. Service is friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review nEW cITY, NY
(08/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A N/A
I only had a chance to have the Oatmeal Stout but I really really enjoyed it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike I. Mike I., Jeffersonville, PA
(08/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Great So So
Beer seemed flat and boring, but the food and people were great. Small old pub makes for an interesting stop for lunch but that's about it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Pete, New Haven, CT
(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amy Amy, Hartford, VT
(01/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Good So So
We went out of our way to check this place out, and will not return, unfortunately. The beer is head-free with no lace whatsoever. l

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Harris, NJ
(03/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Simply the best

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Cushman ABA Regional Director Gary Cushman ABA Regional Director, Chelsea, VT
(03/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So
Disappointing, considering all of the press they have received. Red ale was "off"; Fuggle&Barleycorn was acceptable; ESB was unpleasantly bitter; Oatmeal stout was unremarkable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Trevor Brown Trevor Brown, New York, NY
(03/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Great
The selections on tap were a little limited when I was there. Stout was OK. I took some bottles back to my room, and preferred the porter (which wasn't on tap). I will definitely go back to check on future selections, though. It's a wonderful inn just across the river from Dartmouth College. I hope they keep the beer brewing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob haskell bob haskell, foster city, CA
(10/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
We had a wonderful visit at the Inn and will be coming back when we can. Great Oatmeal Stout and Red Ale

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David & Cindy Wollner David & Cindy Wollner, Willimantic, CT
(03/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
The beer quality and flavor was excellent. This nice country inn is a little yuppyish and upscale, not your normal brewpub atmosphere. The waitstaff who pour the beer during the day are very nice. The woman on the front desk had an attitude when I questioned the price of a logo pint glass. $16.95?!?!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JQ JQ, Portsmouth, NH
(12/03/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Nice friendly service and staff. Very helpful in getting beer for take-away. Prices a little steep, but for small brewery, not bad. Very nice atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Norvell Doug Norvell, Northfield, VT
(11/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Good Good
Not many selections at a time, but very well brewed offerings. Neat little brewing setup. Porter was excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G Stout G Stout, Newport, NH
(02/11/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.196 seconds) 10:20:32 54.90.227.32, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS