PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Mickey Finn's Brew Pub was Libertyville Brewing - Libertyville, IL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 19, 2014 @ 02:58 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IL > Libertyville > Mickey Finn's Brew Pub was Libertyville Brewing
Mickey Finn's Brew Pub was Libertyville Brewing Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Mickey Finn's Brew Pub was Libertyville Brewing
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.2 / 100
412 North Milwaukee Avenue
Libertyville, IL 60048
United States
(847) 362-6688
Listed Since: May 1996
Last Updated: November 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Libertyville, IL
Beer Guide for Illinois

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Mickey Finn's Brew Pub was Libertyville Brewing
56 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 90:0PM
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Tavern in the Town
(0 mile)

2) Firkin
(0 mile)

3) WhirlyBall
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Round-Robin Guesthouse Bed Inn
2) Sweet Basil Hill Farm Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES VERNON HILLS
2) BEST WESTERN OF WAUKEGAN
3) BW HITCH-INN POST MOTOR INN
4) COMFORT INN NAVAL TRAINING CTR
5) COURTYARD CHICAGO WAUKEGAN
6) CROSSLAND CHICAGO WAUKEGAN
7) DAYS INN NORTH CHICAGO
8) HAWTHORN SUITES LTD.
9) RAMADA INN GRAND COURT
10) RAMADA INN WAUKEGAN GURNEE
11) RESIDENCE INN CHICAGO WAUKEGAN
12) SLEEP INN LAKE BLUFF
13) SUPER 8 MUNDELEIN LIBERTYVILLE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Adler, Mrs. Isaac D., House
2) Armour, J. Ogden, House
3) Church of the St. Sava Serbian Orthodox Monastery
4) Cook Memorial Library
5) Leonard, Clifford Milton, Farm
6) Lewis, Lloyd, House
7) Morse, Robert Hosmer, House
8) Proctor Building
9) Public Service Building
10) Shorecrest Hotel
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Bakers Square
2) Banzai Japanese Restaurant
3) Bauer's Party Masters Catering
4) Bellini's Italian Restaurant
5) Burger King
6) Burt's Deli
7) Cafe Aldenette
8) Caribou Coffee House Co
9) Centre Lights Cafe
10) Chen's Urban Cuisine
11) China Buffet
12) Cousin's Subs
13) Culver's
14) Dairy Queen
15) Denny's
16) Domino's Pizza
17) Downing's
18) Edwardo's Natural Pizza
19) Einstein Bagels
20) Events At Independence Grove
21) Firkin
22) Fodrak's
23) Grill On 21
24) Hanakana Japanese Steakhouse
25) Henry Yee's Restaurant
26) Hong Kong Chop Suey
27) Jake's Pizza
28) Jimmy John's
29) Kfc
30) Lee Donut
31) Liberty Restaurant
32) Loft
33) Lou Malnati's Pizzeria
34) Mama Jo Jo's Pastabilities
35) Marble Slab Creamery
36) Mc Donald's
37) Mickey Finn's
38) Morgan's
39) Nana's Pizzeria
40) Panera Bread
41) Picnic Basket
42) Pizza Italia
43) Qdoba Mexican Grill
44) Quiznos Sub
45) Rancho Grande
46) Ristorante Bottaio
47) Rosati's Pizza
48) Sir Rocky's
49) Slott's Hots
50) Starbucks
51) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
52) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
53) Taco Bell
54) Tatos El Reydeoro
55) Tavern
56) Thai Noodles Cafe
57) Tivoli Cafe
58) Townee Square Restaurant
59) Trattoria Pomigliano
60) Wendy's
61) Wild Berry Pancakes & Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Real good selection of pub food. The fried pickles are a must have, only things that havent been really good are the dressings, but mabey i shold be skipping thise anyways. id recommend the Nitro Pale Ale and the Stout when they have it

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from sam sam, Round Lake Beach, IL
(11/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Very good IPA. We tasted a couple of others and they were good. Food and service were very good. We would return, if in the area again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(07/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Fun place to be, I was only able to try the hef. and the IPA the hef was a good beer but a bit sweet but the IPA was awsome true to flavor. I tried a rueben sand. and a friend tried the turkey sand. and we both thought the food was awsome.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Todd, Sheboygan Falls, WI
(09/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(05/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Awesome!
The beers are very true to style. Lagers and Ales on tap (7). The Wee Heavy was a very nice malty, some smoke notes, with a nice alcohol balance. I had blackened white fish (name?) that was the best blackening seasoning I ever ate! The home made potato chips are the best crispy homemader's I ever had also - and that is a lot of pub's chips.... Try their Old Rondout Pale Ale. One very good American Pale with great hop flavor, aroma, a an enjoyable dry bitter finish - Very fresh!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bloombrews bloombrews, Pittsburgh, PA
(12/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
We always try all the beers. All were good. Food was good. Service was good. Located in a (now) surburb of Chicago which is a up-scale, long established area with a small-town feeling. Good experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Seven Nike Seven Nike, St. Louis, MO
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
That's right John. The whole Chicago area is experiencing a brain drain. Almost every brewpub is way down. Piece's brewmaster specials are still very good, and Goose Island Clybourn only (no goofy Wrigleyville) has a good beer once in a while. Moonshine has Rev. William Kittrell,Expert, turning out one(uno) hell of a beer. The Onion makes an occasional good beer. Let's congratulate the shrewd, owners of these bastardized brewpubs. Americans just want to get fat not experience craft and art. I could tell you where the future is but I'd have to kill you. It's the first exit across the Indiana border and 2 miles south.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from South Side Sully South Side Sully, country club hills, IL
(08/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Wow has this place slipped!! I used to make pilgrimages here when I still lived in the Chicago area - they always had their excellent Bayrish-style hefeweizen and a number of good ales and stouts. I visited on a Wed. night and tried all of the beers. The hefe is still excellent, but the Pale has almost no taste, the stout is not nearly as good as before, the American wheat was even blander than most versions of this style, and the seasonal belgian was ok, but certainly not as good as what other area brewers (Goose Island, Lunar) produce or, more importantly, as good as Mickey's used to. I don't know if any of this has to do with the change in ownership, but it is sad to see. I always considered Mickey's to be one of the 3 best brewpubs in the area (w/ Goose & Flossmoor Station), I hope this is just a brief downturn.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Seattle, WA
(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Tried samplers of everything... Hefeweizen had a good citrus finish, spicy nose of the Wheat Ale was also there in the finish, IPA was full and hoppy without making my entire face contort on the finish. The Ballpark Dark was fantastic -- rich chocolate and caramel, full-bodied, smooth finish. We took home a growler of that. The stout was a little disappointing, as was the Amber Ale. The food was good brewpub fare, reasonably priced, and the service was outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Arnold Ron Arnold, Bellevue, WA
(06/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I don't know who this Ashley fellow is, but this is a pretty good brewpub; great selection of lagers and ales (Abana Amber Ale, Old Rondout Pale Ale, Nitro Pale, Irish Ale and two ales on cask: American Pale Ale & Irish Stout). Worth the Metra ride from Chicago - responsible beer geeks don't drive when imbibing. If you have the time, check out The Firkin place across the street.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Jerry, Gaithersburg, MD
(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Looks like Ryan Ashley failed at his "Cowboy Up" Restaurant in AZ. He will probably want to come back to MF's and bring his little sister Colin. Back in the saddle again...The Ashley Sisters!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Ashley Ryan Ashley, Chicago, IL
(05/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
I should get to Mickey Finn's more often. I had heard various things since longtime brewer Ryan Ashley departed for Arizona and his own pub. In truth we found the beer to be slightly less inspired but still considerably above average. The hefeweizen continues to be excellent and a companion weizenbock was perhaps even better and more full-flavored. But what continues to impress me about Mickey Finn's is the comfortable, casual atmosphere that accommodates a wide range of clientèle. The food is an excellent value; for $10 I enjoyed a grilled pork chop that was served to near perfection. You really can't go wrong at Mickey Finn's, which knows how to do it consistently and right.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Pierce Bill Pierce, Highwood, IL
(05/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Stopped in for a hefe and nitro pale. Both were great. Also had the grilled salmon, excellent. They continue to brew great beers, making this one of the better brewpubs around the Chicago area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Daryl VB, Huntley, IL
(05/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
They had an awesome Imperial Stout on tap, a great hefe, and a good pale ale. The food was all right, nothing to write home about. This is a fine brewpub overall, I make it a point to get down here at least a couple of times per year.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gargantua, Madison, WI
(04/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Lousy So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Waukegan, il
(04/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
I have to admit I'm willing to visit the in-laws only because they are so close to Libertyville and Mickey Finn's will refill my growler for the long weekends... Great Kolsch but make sure you try the wee heavy as it is as close to the real thing from overseas that I've come to. Skip the wheat in my opinion and stay with the brown ales.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Daren Perrero, Springfield, IL
(02/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Nice place - good sandwiches- very good beer. We Particularly likie the scotch ale and the kolsch

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from halada halada, milwaukee, WI
(12/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Great place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Kwak Alan Kwak, Odessa, FL
(07/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
I'm sorry, but I just wasn't crazy about any of the beers this time. The cask IPA was pretty good, but that was about it. It's not that there were any BAD beers, they just seemed...uninspired. The food and atmosphere haven't changed but I've learned to expect to be blown away by the beer here and it just seemed kind of ordinary this time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gargantua Gargantua, Madison, WI
(06/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Great
NICE ESTABLISHMENT - BEER SEEMED TO BE VERY FILTERED OR TO REFINED - NICE PLACE THOUGH!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review DEERFIELD, IL
(04/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Nice, large two level place with two bars and a restaurant area. Go upstairs to simulate a college bar and downstairs for the classy bar. They are very heavy on the German weiss styles which isn't my thing. They also had a ale and lager on tap which were average tasting. Oh oh. I think I've been spotted as a Southsider even though I wore my cool pullover. I better go before John Hughes puts me in one of his Cub friendly films.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from South Side Sully South Side Sully, chicago, IL
(04/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
Mickey Finn's is one of the best brewpubs in the country. They combine quality brewing, great selection, and great amtosphere very well. They have a nice bar area, upstairs bar, dining area, and a patio for a wide variety of atmospheres. Another bonus is that they always have something on the beer engine and do a pretty good job with it. I believe the brewmaster here recently left for Arizona, hopefully the beer will not drop in quality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew L. Buteyn Matthew L. Buteyn, New Berlin, WI
(01/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The Wee Heavy is a scotch ale served in a fish bowl sized glass goblet. The flavor was powerful- smokey and a bit of caramel- and it wasn't so heavy that I couln't have another. Great atmosphere and service. No question its worth the trip north of the city!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ANB ANB, Minnetonka, MN
(11/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kett Carr Kett Carr, grayslake, IL
(10/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
Ever since a visit to Cologne, I've been looking for their signature beer- Kolsch. It is crisp, clear, and very refreshing. Ryan Ashley has put it on tap at Mickey Finns, and it's the best in the Chicago area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Cutler Dick Cutler, Libertyville, IL
(08/24/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.435 seconds) 14:58:02 54.166.8.138, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS