PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


North Coast Brewing Company - Fort Bragg, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 30, 2014 @ 10:41 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Fort Bragg > North Coast Brewing Company
North Coast Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
North Coast Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.6 / 100
444 North Main Street
Fort Bragg, CA 95437
United States
(707) 964-3400
Last Updated: May 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Fort Bragg, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of North Coast Brewing Company
46 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Cleone Gardens Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Olinsky Building
2) Weller House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A LA Heart Catering
2) Chapter & Moon
3) Chester Fried Chicken
4) Cirino's Sandwhich Shop
5) Cowlick's Ice Cream Cafe
6) Empress Seafood Co
7) Golden West Saloon
8) Gourmet Treat
9) Headlands Coffeehouse
10) Laurel Deli & Desserts
11) Milano Hotel
12) Nemo's Fish Market & Grill
13) Nit's Cafe
14) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
15) Smokys's Bbq & Grill
16) Taka's Grill
17) Tip-Top Lounge
18) Welcome Inn Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great food, great beer, great location. Friendly, attentive staff. Had thier burger lunch special along with a sampling of Red Seal, Old No. 38 Stout, Scimshaw, Blue Star wheat, Acme IPA, acme Calif IPA, Russian Imperial Stout, And Something called Brother Thelonious, a belgianstyle abbey ale. Very good beers, great colors and flavors. I enjoyed a couple of glasses of ACME CAL IPA. What a beautiful part of California. The drive up the coast AWESOME

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, Redlands, CA
(07/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Visited 11/21 just after opening. Slow but business picked up as time wore on. Had a pint of Scrimshaw and cask-condioned Red Seal Ale. The Scimshaw was okay for a pilsner. The Red Seal was excellent. Kept it's head 'til the last sip. Ordered a Kobe beef burger from the limited bar menu. Great stuff. The coleslaw even came with an edible flower (hope it was edible!). For dessert,went with a 10 oz. of the Old Rasputin Imperial Stout. Good way to finish off a visit. Lots of merchandise in the gift shops; one in the restaurant and one across the street. North Coast will always be personal favorite since it was`one of the first brewpubs I'd ever visited. And Fort Bragg is a special part of California. And they're the only game in town for many a mile.

k

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(11/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
High marks all the way across. I was pleasantly suprised at how great this place was. It's worth the trip to Fort Bragg.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Westlake Village, CA
(07/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Lousy Good
Take the brewery tour across the street, it is not to be missed, plus they are adding a tasting garden.

The place was packed and crowded with others from our tour. $5 buys you 4 tasters or $12 for 10 of them. Soda was $2.50, even though Megan was the designated driver and soda was supposedly free for them. We looked at the food, but the prices were crazy! $9 for a burger and $12 to $15 for a lunch entree all for what was pretty standard pub fare.

Jason thought that PranQster was awesome, followed only slightly behind by the Old Stock Ale.

Thursdays they have a good special on pints and there's also a gift shop with bottle brew.

Hours: Wednesday-Sunday 12-9:30, Friday and Saturday until 10:30.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Megan Megan, Bay Point, CA
(06/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great brews, great food, great gift shop. I highly recommend this if anyone is looking for a road-trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Mendonca Rob Mendonca, Turlock, CA
(10/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Great
The quality of North Coast's beer is as good as any microbrewery I have ever been to. The food is fantastic too. I never go to Fort Bragg without visiting North Coast.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bud Miller Bud Miller, Orangevale, CA
(10/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So
We took a trip to stay in Fort Bragg for a few days, and unfortunately, North Coast was only open one of those days (it being the winter). The day they were open, they expressed dismay at the crowds (I sat at the bar all afternoon, pretty much), and were understaffed. So I'm not sure what they're thinking. Their Red Seal is a very nice amber, and they have many selections on tap, but most are really mediocre, especially the "Acme" offerings. In fairness, many people seemed to like their Scrimshaw pilsener, which isn't a style I like. Having the Red Seal also available in a cask is a nice touch. The pork chili was great, the pulled pork was interesting, and the cioppino was good too. The fried fingerfoods were so-so. This place could really use some renewed energy and creativity from ownership and brewmaster.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd McComb Todd McComb, Mountain View, CA
(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Good Good
Another stop on my brewery tour. I was really looking forward to this stop. The brewery and the restaurant are across the street from each other. Went to the restaurant for dinner and was extremly dismayed with the food. I like spicy and hot, but it seems that the shaker top of the chile powder fell off when the food was prepared. All I could taste was chile powder! It was even in my coleslaw, and it garnished the plate edge. Saving grace was the Red Seal Ale cask conditioned. It was served on a hand pump at celler temperature. Delicious.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Diane Van Wagner Diane Van Wagner, Burbank, CA
(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Good
The IPA and Red Seal Cask Conditioned were excellent. My wife enjoyed the Blue Star Wheat. The seafood was great... Enjoyed dinner there on a Sunday night. The lower service rating is for the disappointment that we tried to go back on Monday AND Tuesday and they were closed both days due to "Winter hours". Never heard of brewpub closed for winter hours.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dawesworld dawesworld, The California Delta, CA
(01/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
The Red Seal Cask Conditioned is simply the best, absolute nectar. The food selection was really excellent matched by the faultless service. I am not sure where they get their oysters from but they are some of the best I have ever had. Tough to come up with any negatives at this place. Even my CIA trained wife rated the food as excellent and wine selection as "decent" & we just came in from the Napa Valley wine tours.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Glover Jeff Glover, Cincinnati, OH
(07/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
OK, this is where sea food and beer come togather better then I have ever experienced. To me North Coast is about a few outstanding beers, ie: Old Ras, Pranqster, Red Seal, Old Stock Ale, and of course thier amazing food, which is only rivaled by Firestone in Buellton. I found myself sticking with the cask conditioned Seal on both visits, as you can only get it pulled here, what a treat indeed, and is prompting me to plan out my next visit back!!

The Acme line left me a bit empty as the Pale Ale and IPA were lacking in hops. Though I did walk away thinking, does the world need another Sierra Navada, or Firestone, or Stone? Do I need to have another hop dominator? Maybe so, but I left it at that and came to the conclusion that here was a remarkable little magical place that would rank as my #1 destination for the elusive one two punch pairing of food and beer. Top notch all the way around, and yes I wear my black Old Rasputin hoody whenever weather permits!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Orion Jack Orion, Long Beach, CA
(07/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
I stumbled across this restaurant/pub by accident but I am glad I did. Their cask-conditioned Red Seal Ale is the best beer I have had since school in England. It is the closest I have found to real beer in the U.S. They apparently don't get much call for it, but if it is available when you are there, it is a must-try! Their other beers are very, very good, but the cask-conditioned Red Seal is amazing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Torgny Nilsson Torgny Nilsson, Davis, CA
(05/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Visited three times between 1991 and 1997. Always a treat. Red Seal was my favorite APA, but I think it has slipped a notch or two. Old Rasputin on tap is nothing short of excellent (mashed with invert sugar!). Though they had a limit on how many you could order...they let us have lots of tasters! The Belgians they had on tap were called "swishy beers" by the bartender. Go figure. Only in Ft Bragg can huge beers be swishy! They were great, by the way. Downside is the ride home the next morning on that winding road to Ukiah. Only time I've ever been car sick (twice!).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mr. Weekend Mr. Weekend, Middleton, WI
(04/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I'm form Chico and nothing comes close to the Old Rasputin, nothing!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cole De Lair Cole De Lair, Chico, CA
(11/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Mark, Please don't take this the wrong way but you're a beer idiot. You obviously don't know a good brewpub (pub is spelled p-u-b by the way)when you see one. It's not just my opinion, read the reviews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Schmidt Rick Schmidt, Eldridge, IA
(10/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy
you call that crap beer? I've drank beer all over the world and when i visited your oub i had to ask myself- do these brewers ever get out and drink something else besides this???

Mark Swanson: Seattle Washington

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mark mark, Seattle, Wa
(09/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
WARNING:

This stuff isnt beer...its something else, and its not good...imagine Budweiser making a stout or a pale ale, uuurrrgggg!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mark mark, Seattle, WA
(09/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
We made the drive up the coast specifically for the Old Rasputin Imperial Stout and Red Seal Ale - both were outstanding. We sampled every brew on tap and none disappointed. The menu was a great combination of pub fare and California cuisine. We were either starving after the long drive, or it was fantastic! This is our favorite brewpub in Northern California.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Susan Susan, Petaluma, CA
(06/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
Came here only for the Old Rasputen Russian Imperial Stout and was absolutely blown away (this was the definate surprise of the 2003 beer tour). We took the 1/2 hour tour and had a great time listening to an experienced brewer talk about his passion. Also tool a walk through the hop cooler and smelled a lot of different hops (why is that fresh hops smell so much better than the pellets??). Walked across the street to the pub/restaurant and sat down with a small sampler that knocked my socks off...only 2 beers below 4*'s...wow!!

Beers: Blue Star****(biscuity, fruity and light...a great wheat beer), Scrimshaw***(light and smooth but nothing special), Acme Pale****(a great malty start with a nice hoppy ending), Acme IPA***(strong hops flavor, but I was hoping for something a little more aromatic), Acme Brown****(a very smokey aftertaste, almost scottish), Pranqster*****(wonderful fruity Belgian ale), Old #38****(great chocolate malt taste and arome, and stronger than the bottled version that I've tasted before), Old Rasputen*****(Complex beyond description...well worth the trip)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred Allen Fred Allen, Columbia, SC
(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I first tasted the "Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout" at a restaurant in Napa Valley years ago, and I loved it so much, my lovely wife gave me a case of it for Christmas. Visited the brewery last year and enjoyed the Old 38 so much, I bought a case from across the street.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Joe McPherson, Salinas, CA
(03/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
My husband and I were visiting from out of town and really enjoyed your restaurant. Your mud cake was awesome--wonderful--out of this world. Is there any chance I could get the recipe? It's to die for!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Margie, Carmichael, CA
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good
The beer is great but not so for the food. They have a full menu with fresh fish,steaks,pasta and pub fare. I had a fresh fish entree and it was average at best. Went back the next day for lunch,don't know why, and had a burger and it was OK. The beer is great, I love the Red Seal Ale, the strong even raw hop flavor is great.My second favorite is the IPA , the slight alcohol burn mixed with the sweet flavor is the reason why. Fort Bragg is a small town but there are some other places to eat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Wallace Allen Wallace, Las Vegas, NV
(12/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The best we found in Fort Bragg!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review orangevale, CA
(11/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My boyfreind and I come here every chance we get! They have excellent beers and great food to match! I would reccomend this place to anyone who truly appreciates good beer. The pranqster belgian style ale is excellent and of course the old rasputin stout is one of the best. They also had cask conditioned red seal... incredible. (head's up, this place seems to always be busy...)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jen Jen, sacramento, CA
(04/06/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.966 seconds) 10:41:29 54.90.227.32, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS